Friday, May 31, 2013

Cover Reveal: Child of The Sacred Earth by Alicia Michaels

Cover Reveal

Title: Child of the Sacred Earth
Series: The Lost Kingdom of Fallada, Book #2
By: Alicia Michaels
Publisher: Anchor Group Publishing


Release Date: June 2013 (Exact Date TBA)


Blurb:
Get a degree, get a job, save adorable foster siblings from the clutches of the evil foster mom …


These are Jocylene Sanders’ top priorities as she enters her sophomore year of college. The last thing she expects is to find herself the champion of an entire kingdom. However, that is just what happens when the mysterious Faerie, Rothatin Longspear, appears to her tasking her with saving a parallel world full of creatures from her wildest dreams.


Jocylene journeys with him into the world of Fallada, hoping for answers about her birth parents and background. What she finds is a mystifying past, and an even more uncertain future, as her heart becomes entangled with the stoic, battle-hardened Rothatin, as well as Eli, the untroubled Panther Shifter with no loyalties and no home. With her heart and soul pulled in so many directions, can Jocylene find the strength needed to become the savior one nation so desperately needs?



Excerpt:
Okay,” Jocylene held her hands up to halt Jake’s speech. “Let me get this straight. My mother is the bitch queen of all evil and wants to take over the world. You think that me and a band of teenage princesses have enough combined power to stop her, and you expect me to lead battles in this epic war against a hostile takeover?”

Jake cleared his throat again and blushed, nodded his head slowly. “That about sums it up, Princess.”

“Hell. No. Hell-to-the-no. Forget it. There is no way you can convince me that I’ve got what it takes to lead a freaking army, let alone go up against a woman evil and sadistic enough to kidnap seven girls and cast them into another world. Her doing that was obviously a warning; ‘stay away little princesses’. Fine by me!”

“You are being irrational,” Rothatin said in that infuriatingly arrogant way of his. Jocylene turned her narrowed eyes on him.

“Says a man who flew to my rescue tonight on a gigantic owl! If your world is separate from mine, then it’s all the better for me because I have no desire to go there or become part of anyone else's plans.”

“Do you have any idea how powerful you are?” Wil asked, his hands on his hips as he came forward and stared down at her from behind the smoke trailing out of his pipe.

“I do,” Rothatin muttered as he stared out over the blanket of pine trees beneath them.
“I’ve seen it with my own eyes. It is easy to see why Eranna would be afraid of her.”

“Sounds to me like she doesn’t have much to fear,” Jocylene countered. “If she’s as powerful as you’re telling me, I don’t stand a chance in Hell.”

“Not by yourself,” Jake agreed. “But with the others—“

“Where are they?” she asked, her arms spread wide. “Where are these others girls? As far as I can tell, you guys are just casting your net out to see who you can catch. Sure, you got lucky once and now you’ve done it a second time. But seven seems like a big number when we’re talking about the possible end of the world here. Besides, things happen in this world too; cancer, car wrecks … who says these other girls are even alive? I’m having a hard time believing your luck will hold out. And then what happens? I’ve given up what’s left of my life fighting for a lost cause.”

“Do not think to question the powers of the Fae Queen,” Rothatin growled, coming up from his relaxed pose against the ship’s rail, his shoulders squared and his jaw gone hard and tight. “Her power is ten times that of the dark queen and her all-seeing eyes are everywhere. She will find them, just as she found you.”

“I’m sure your queen is a nice lady, and I mean no disrespect to her when I ask this but, if she’s so dang powerful, why hasn’t she stopped my mother herself?”

“Because the Fae are the keepers of fate and destiny,” Rothatin answered with an agitated eye-roll, as if this were information she should already be privy to. “We do everything we can to guide those in our realm on the right path but in the end their decisions are ultimately their own. We cannot interfere. And even if we wanted to, Eranna’s iron fortress keeps us out.”

“The Fae’s only weakness is the element of iron,” Jake supplied from behind Rothatin’s hulking form. “Her fortress is surrounded by it.”

“Well, you just said yourself that you can’t force me,” Jocylene huffed. “So, do whatever you need to do to turn this ship around and take me home. Or, let me off here for all I care. I can find my own way back home.”

“That is foolish, as well as dangerous,” Wil said to her retreating back as she turned to make her way back across the deck. “Eranna will not stop sending her minions after you. Of all the princesses of Fallada, she fears her own daughters the most!”

She paused and turned, shooting a glance at the three men watching her walk away with expressions of horror, anger, and dismay on their faces. “In case your friend here didn’t tell you, I am more than capable of protecting myself and those kids in there. Send whoever you want; they won’t get far. Once Michael, Vincent, and Gracie wake up, I’m out of here whether you want to give me a ride home or not.”



Other Books In The Series:
Prequel: Beyond The Iron Gate (A Lost Kingdom of Fallada Novella)
Blurb: In the year 1845, before the mystical land of Fallada was separated from the realm of men forever, the two worlds coexisted in harmony. Man could mingle freely in the world of the Elves and Faeries at will and peace reigned. In the hills of Shropshire, England, just miles from the gate separating the village of Ludlow from the world of mystical creatures, farmer’s daughter Zara Wells longs for answers.
It is not only the golden hair that trail feet behind her, or the strange hue of her violet eyes that separates her from the other girls her village. There is something inside of her, something touched by magic that longs to know more about what lies on the other side of the gate. In Fallada, darkness has begun to spread. As the youngest and most beautiful girls of her village begin to disappear, Zara comes closer to discovering the true circumstances surrounding her birth. Little does she know, that the closer she comes to the answers she so desperately desires, the closer she will come to being ensnared in the dark queen’s web of growing treachery.
 
Purchase Links



Book 1: Daughter of the Red Dawn

Blurb: These are dark times in the land of Fallada, and I fear that they will only continue to grow darker. Only the return of those we’ve lost will even the score.
It will begin with first line of the prophecy, which foretells of a red sun over the desert sky…
--Adrah, Queen of the Fae


On the outside, seventeen year-old Selena McKinley is like any other teenage girl. Yet Selena has always felt as if she doesn’t belong and is counting the days to graduation and her freedom from the small town that makes her feel so out of place, when the arrival of a stranger turns her world upside down. Selena will learn just how different she is and the truth of where she comes from.
A lost princess, they call her, the catalyst for a war involving a world that Selena was taken from as a child. An evil queen obsessed with her own beauty with a plan to enslave the human race.…the notion seems so silly, yet Selena knows in her heart that it is true. Then there is Titus, the shape shifter whose blue eyes and claims of destiny hold her heart captive. Can Selena find the strength to do what she must while following her heart?
Purchase Links


About The Author:
Ever since she first read books like Chronicles of Narnia or Goosebumps, Alicia has been a lover of mind-bending fiction. Wherever imagination takes her, she is more than happy to call that place her home. The mother of two and wife to an Army sergeant loves chocolate, coffee, and of course good books. When not writing, you can usually find her with her nose in a book, shopping for shoes and fabulous jewelry, or spending time with her loving family.





Author Links:

Thursday, May 30, 2013

Cover Reveal:I'm Not Crazy, I'm on Lupron by Stacey Rourke




Blurb -
Basal body temperatures. Hormone injections. Invasive procedures - that leave no room for modesty. Tips on “effective positions” from well-meaning grandparents. 

When the natural way fails to work these are all added to the so called “fun” process of making a baby. Walk this rocky path to motherhood with author Stacey Rourke as she openly and honestly shares every good, bad, and awkward step of her three-year long journey. Using humor to break through the perils of infertility, she gives the lowdown on all the strange, embarrassing, and heartbreaking aspects. Stacey guides us through an unforgettable path that ends with a kid on each hip and hope for all those suffering with infertility. 

BONUS MATERIAL: “Morsels of Hope”
Success Stories from Infertility Survivors

Goodreads

About The Author -

Bio:

Young Adult and Teen Reader voted Author of the Year 2012.
Stacey Rourke is the author of the Gryphon Series. She lives in Michigan with her husband, two beautiful daughters, and two giant, drooly dogs. Stacey loves to travel, has an unhealthy shoe addiction and considers herself blessed to make a career out of talking to the imaginary people that live in her head. She is currently hard at work on the continuations of this series as well as other literary projects.

Stalker Links:
Twitter: @Rourkewrites

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Cover Reveal: Dawn's Early Light by PIP Ballantine & Tee Morris




Dawn's Early Light
Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences Book Three
Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris

Cover Reveal May 29

Working for the Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences, one sees innumerable technological wonders. But even veteran agents Braun and Books are unprepared for what the electrifying future holds…

After being ignominiously shipped out of England following their participation in the Janus affair, Braun and Books are ready to prove their worth as agents. But what starts as a simple mission in the States—intended to keep them out of trouble—suddenly turns into a scandalous and convoluted case that has connections reaching as far as Her Majesty the Queen.

Even with the help of two American agents from the Office of the Supernatural and the Metaphysical, Braun and Books have their work cut out for them as their chief suspect in a rash of nautical and aerial disasters is none other than Thomas Edison. Between the fantastic electric machines of Edison, the eccentricities of MoPO consultant Nikola Tesla, and the mysterious machinations of a new threat known only as the Maestro, they may find themselves in far worse danger than they ever have been in before…





About the Authors:

Philippa (Pip) Ballantine
Born in Wellington, New Zealand, Philippa has always had her head in a book. For this she blames her father who thought Lord of the Rings was suitable bedtime reading for an eight year old. At the age of thirteen she began writing fantasy stories for herself.
She first earned a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature and Political Science and then a Bachelor of Applied Science in Library and Information Science. So soon enough she found herself working in the magical world of libraries where she stayed for over a decade
Her first professional sale was in 1997, and since then she has gone on to produce mostly novel length fiction. In 2006 she became New Zealand’s first podcast novelist, and she has voiced and produced Weaver’s Web, Chasing the Bard, Weather Child and Digital Magic as podiobooks. Her podcasts have been short listed for the Parsec Awards, and won a Sir Julius Vogel award.
Philippa is the author of the Books of the Order series with Ace- Geist and Spectyr and Wrayth out now, and Harbinger to follow. She is also the co-author of the Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences series with Tee Morris. Phoenix Rising debuted in May 2011 and The Janus Affair came out in May 2012. She also has the Shifted World series with Pyr Books, with the first book Hunter and Fox out now.
When not writing or podcasting, Philippa loves reading, gardening, and whenever possible traveling. With her husband, Tee and her daughter, she is looked after by a mighty clowder of three cats.



Tee Morris
Tee Morris began his writing career with his 2002 historical epic fantasy, MOREVI The Chronicles of Rafe & Askana. In 2005 Tee took MOREVI into the then-unknown podosphere, making his novel the first book podcast in its entirety.
That experience led to the founding of Podiobooks.com and collaborating with Evo Terra and Chuck Tomasi on Podcasting for Dummies and its follow-up, Expert Podcasting Practices for Dummies.
He won acclaim and accolades for his cross-genre fantasy-detective Billibub Baddings Mysteries, the podcast of The Case of the Singing Swordwinning him the 2008 Parsec Award for Best Audio Drama. Along with those titles, Tee has written articles and short stories for BenBella Books’s Farscape Forever: Sex, Drugs, and Killer Muppets, the podcast anthology VOICES: New Media Fiction, BenBella Books’ So Say We All: Collected Thoughts and Opinions of Battlestar Galactica, and Dragon Moon Press’ Podthology: The Pod Complex.
Tee bought all these skills to the award-winning Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences series which he wrote with his wife, Pip Ballantine. When he is not writing, Tee enjoys life in Virginia alongside Philippa Ballantine, his daughter, and three cats.

"Right now Pip and Tee are also running a Kickstarter for a brand new anthology and a roleplaying game set in the world of the Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences. Check out the project here http://bit.ly/ministry-initiative "


Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Character Interview: Prince of Shadows's Cale and Kendra



Welcome to our first character interview!  Today we have Cale and Kendra from Prince of Shadows novel by author Nancy Gideon. 

            Describe yourself.  What is your worst and best quality?
Cale: Loyalty, in both cases. My bond to my family and clan have put me into some unpleasant situations where I ‘ve had to go against what I know was right. It puts my head and heart at odds. 

Kendra:  My worst quality has been allowing others assume control of my life. They meant well but I’m taking back those reins now.  My best quality has always been my devotion to family. I would sacrifice anything for them.

What is the one thing you wish other people knew about you?

Cale: That I care about the Lessers of our clan.  It’s not just about the power, the money, the control.  I want a better life for all our people. I want them to know that they can come to me for fairness and justice.

Kendra:  That I’m more than just a trophy that comes with a crown. I don’t want to bond with any male for less than love.

What is your biggest secret,  something no one knows about?

Cale:  The reason I stayed on the mountain with my father when my mother left when I was a boy. I’ve never shared that with anyone.

Kendra:  Something Cale’s mother showed me.  It’s not my secret to tell.

What are you most afraid of?

Cale:  Failing to protect those I love.

Kendra:  Not having the courage to do the right thing.

What do you want more than anything?

Kendra:  The freedom to make my own choices and live my own life.

Cale: (staring at Kendra) I’m looking at it.

What is your relationship status?

Cale:  Totally committed.

Kendra:  Totally conflicted.

How would you describe your sense of fashion?

Cale: My father insists upon designer dress when my brothers and I are about his business. Pitbulls in rhinestone collars is what Kendra and her cousin Silas call us, because of the diamond earstuds we wear as a sign of clan fealty.  But I prefer basic butt-kicking black everyday wear. Things I can move in.

Kendra:  My flashy cousin Brigit always pushed mousy conservative clothes on me so I wouldn’t draw the attention of the aggressive males of our clan.  Now I’m finding that I don’t mind a little attention.

How much of a rebel are you?

Cale:  How much is too much?

Kendra:  I’m a rebellious work in progress.  Baby steps.

What do you considered to be your greatest achievement?

Cale:  When it happens, it will be restoring harmony within our clan by repairing the damage done by my father. My goal is to rule through respect instead of fear.

Kendra:  And I’ll be proud to do my part to help you.

What is your idea of happiness?
Cale:  When she smiles at me without the shadows of the past in her eyes.
Kendra:  Remembering how things were before my world fell apart.

What is your current state of mind?

Cale:  Frustrated by the roadblocks that constantly prevent Kendra and I from getting together, if you know what I mean.

Kendra:  Equal parts anxious and anticipating . . . that getting together thing.

What is your most treasured possession?

Cale:  I don’t treasure possessions.

Kendra:  The diamond earstud that Cale gave me when we were young as a sign that I had an equal share of his love and devotion.

What is your most marked characteristic?

Cale:  I’m a Terriot.  I’m a take no prisoners warrior.

Kendra:  Meek and virginal.  Geez, who wants to be that after their mid-twenties.

What is it that you most dislike?

Cale: Agendas.  I’m a straight shooter.  I hate deception.

Kendra:  Violence.  I’ve seen more than enough of it in my lifetime and there’s no escaping it considering where I’m forced to live.

Which living person do you most despise?

Cale:  Silas MacCreedy.  He made my life miserable and now I’ve heard he’s a threat to my future with the female I love. I don’t deal well with threats.

Kendra: Cale’s father, Bram.  He’s the monster responsible for murdering most of my family.

What is your greatest regret?

Cale:  Not being the man Kendra needed me to be.

Kendra: Not dealing with my personal pain sooner.

What is the quality you most like in a man?

Kendra:  Honor.

Cale: Yeah, and it killed most of them.

Kendra:  You’re honorable.

Cale:  It just hasn’t killed me yet.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?

Cale: Honesty. I want to be able to trust the female I spend the rest of my life with to have my back, not to try to stick a knife in it.

Who is your favorite hero in fiction?

Cale:  (to Kendra) You’d better say me!

Kendra:  (smiling) Yes, my prince.

Which living person do you most admire?

Cale:  My momma.  She gave up so much to protect me.

Kendra: It used to be my father but he’s gone now.  I guess my cousin Silas. He’s noble and self-sacrificing.

Cale: (rolling eyes) Saint Silas.  What’s not to admire.  I’m going to be that man you admire. That’s a promise.

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

Kendra: I wish I could have my family back.

Cale: I can’t change anything that’s happened, but I’m going to do everything I can to make sure that history doesn’t repeat itself.

What is your motto?

Cale:  Never give up. Never back down. Never walk away. What don’t kill you . . .
                Kendra:  Survive.

A huge thank you to both Cale and Kendra for the interview.

More about Cale and Kendra's world.


Prince of Shadows       
By Moonlight Series Book Eight
Nancy Gideon    

Genre:  paranormal

Publisher:  Pocket Star
Date of Publication: 5/27/13

ISBN:  9781451689488
ASIN: B009K54NPE

Number of pages: 384
Word Count: 93,000



Book Description:
A gentle female held hostage in a deadly play for power, Kendra Terriot’s only means of survival for herself and her family is to play to a careful courtship game. The one she chooses from her clan’s dangerous heirs will inherit the coveted crown, keeping her their prisoner forever . . . unless she can retain her virtue until rescue arrives.

Favored son of their brutal Shifter leader, the only calm in Cale Terriot’s violent world is a childhood love for his delicate distant cousin whom he’s pledged to make his queen. With Kendra at his side, he knows he can become the kind of ruler his clan needs, but first he must learn how to become the kind of mate she desires.

In a treacherous race for control, where weakness means death, Cale must prove he’s not the beast his beauty fears and still protect her, especially once her unrequited love returns to free her. The only way to win her respect could mean surrendering his throne.

The only way to win her heart could mean letting her go…even if she no longer wants to be saved.


About the Author:


Nancy Gideon is the author of over 54 novels ranging from historical and contemporary suspense to paranormal with a couple of horror screenplays thrown in.  When not at the keyboard or working full time as a legal assistant, she can be found feeding her addictions for Netflix and all things fur, feather and fin.


Website     Blog     Facebook     Twitter       Goodreads





Saturday, May 25, 2013

Spotlight and Giveaway: Playing The Maestro by Aubrie Dionne




Book Info-
Title-Playing the Maestro
By Aubrie Dionne
Publication Date: February 11, 2013
Published By: Entangled Publishing: Bliss

Blurb-Melody Mires has sworn off dating musicians, but when the sexy European conductor Wolf Braun takes over her struggling symphony, her hesitation almost flies out the window with the notes of her flute—until he opens his mouth. Wolf is arrogant, haughty, and seems to have a personal vendetta against Melody. Oh, and he’s her boss. If she wants to keep her job as principal flutist, she’ll have to impress Wolf while simultaneously keeping her undeniable attraction to herself.

Wolf came to America to get as far away from his past as possible, and to recover some of the swagger he had as one of the world’s best maestros. He never imagined being forced to reassess the entire orchestra’s talent—and potentially fire anyone who doesn’t make his cut. Dating the attractive flutist is out of the question, but as their feelings reach a fever pitch, can they risk both their careers for a chance at love?

Links-


Excerpt # 1

"The orchestra quieted around them. A man with dark chestnut hair flowing in waves around his broad shoulders took the conductor’s podium and tapped his baton on the music stand. Blue eyes that reminded Melody of the Atlantic Ocean on a sunny day surveyed the orchestra. He pursed curvy lips framed by a strong-ridged jaw and gorgeously high cheekbones and gestured to Carly to give the tuning pitch..."



Excerpt # 2

"Wolf threaded his arms behind her waist. His golden brown eyelashes framed a wild sparkle in his eyes, and Melody couldn’t believe she’d put it there. Every thought in her rational mind told her to end the date now before it got complicated, but the passionate feelings radiating from her wild heart planted her firmly in place.

What was the harm in one kiss?"


About the Author-

Aubrie grew up watching the original Star Wars movies over and over again until she could recite and reenact every single scene in her backyard. She also loved The Goonies, Star Trek the Next Generation-favorite character was Data by far-, and Indiana Jones. But, her all time favorite movie was The Last Unicorn. She still wonders why the unicorn decided to change back to a unicorn in the end.

Aubrie wrote in her junior high yearbook that she wanted to be "A concert flutist" when she grew up. When she made that happen, she decided one career was not enough and embarked as a fantasy, sci fi author. Two careers seems to keep her busy. For now.

Now for the professional bio:

Aubrie Dionne is an author and flutist in New England. Her writings have appeared in Mindflights, Niteblade, Silver Blade, Emerald Tales, Hazard Cat, Moon Drenched Fables, A Fly in Amber, and Aurora Wolf. Her books are published by Entangled Publishing, Lyrical Press, and Gypsy Shadow Publishing. She recently signed her YA sci fi novel with Inkspell Publishing titled: Colonization: Paradise Reclaimed, which will release in October 2012. When she's not writing, Aubrie teaches flute and plays in orchestras. She's a big Star Trek TNG fan, as well as Star Wars and Serenity.

Author Links-

Giveaway Info-
Author is giving away 2 ‘Key to My Heart’ Necklaces
US ONLY

 a Rafflecopter giveaway