Wednesday, July 31, 2013

test

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Join Author Karen Swart’s Secret Society!

Facebook Banner 2 

Hi Guys! Author Karen Swart is looking for members for her street team. But this isn't just another street team, these members will get VIP seats and join her on her journey in writing. So if you want to be part of this behind the scenes society just hit me with an email.

New Release! Winter Night Falling by Bryan R South

wfn banner

 

WNFFC Eng C Book Title: Winter Night Falling

Series: Ti-aran Chronicles: Rise of the Guardians Book One

Edition: Second

Author: Bryan R. South

Publisher: Freaky Fiction Writing - http://freakyfictionwriting.wordpress.com/

Cover Art: Bryan Rainey

Tour Organizer:Cu’s Ebook Giveaways - http://cuhelpingauthors.blogspot.com/

Book Blurb:

The Four Kingdoms are in peril. A demon Lord thought forever imprisoned in limbo has escaped and begins to summon his Horde once again to take his revenge. In his twisted black iron tower he summons a massive wall of darkness that brings the winter storms in the fullest.

Now the Four Kingdoms are each proud and full of themselves.  All the races of the realms must come together and fight the demon lord once again. Magic has been outlawed, and it is up to the reawakened Grand Mage, an eccentric old man, and what is left of the Mage Knights, as well as a budding Guardian to try to keep the peace.

Can the Grand Mage and his friends get the other kingdoms to move in time to stop the Demon Lord? Does the Demon Lord have more than one objective now that he is free? Only time will tell.

 

Book Links -

Smashwords - https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/338289

 

Create Space - https://www.createspace.com/4258065?ref=1147694&utm_id=6026


Amazon - http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00E1JHW1Q/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=211189&creative=373489&creativeASIN=B00E1JHW1Q&link_code=as3&tag=cusebgiaw-20 

 

Author

IMG565 Bryan R South  was born and Raised in the Pacific Northwest. He Graduated Kamiakin Highschool  in 1993 . Bryan has had several poems published and has been working on the Rise of the Guardians Series since he was 16, and did his senior year paper on being a fantasy novelist.   He has worked as a Linecook, in construction, and other odd jobs. He resides with his wife and fell author, S. Cu’Anam Policar, and their children in the Pacific Northwest still.

Author Links:

Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/BryanRSouth?fref=ts

Good Reads - https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1196582.Bryan_R_South

Website - http://bryanrsouth.blogspot.com/

Smashwords - http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/brsouth

Hellhound Awakened Tour! Our final stop is over at…

Kasadya-Hellhound-Twisted-banner_thu

The tour continues! Today our stop is over at A Backwards Story and Marietta Homeschooling Zoo. Head on over and say Hi!

We would like to thank all our tour host for joining the tour and making it such a wonderful experience!

Tuesday, July 30, 2013

New Release and Giveaway: Starfire by Michele N Zugnoni

Starfire Banner RDB





clip_image002Starfire
Chronicles of Shadow Mist

Book One
Michele N. Zugnoni

Genre: new adult paranormal romance

Publisher: Forbidden Press

Date of Publication: July 30

ISBN 978-0-9895690-0-2

ASIN: Not assigned yet

Number of pages: 400

Word Count: 110,000

Cover Artist: Michele N. Zugnoni

www.starfireseries.com

Book Description:
From an ancient battle comes a forbidden love … and the chance to hope again.
Destined to destroy vampires, or refuse and be executed, seventeen-year-old Julia Kirkwood finds herself drawn to two things: a life of partying and rebelling against the law, and Clay Blackwell. The trouble is, Clay happens to be the son of the Lumince high priestess, the leader of a race of peace-loving vampires, and Julia’s father’s unspoken enemy. For Julia isn’t just a Reaver, she’s the daughter of the Reaver Chief. And Julia’s father is furious to discover she’s secretly dating and falling in love with a Lumince, particularly after an attempt at peace crumbles in bloodshed.
When her father intensifies his attack against the Luminces, endangering the lives of Clay’s people, Julia’s forced to take a stand. She must choose to accept her destiny as a Reaver, or claim her heart and find the inward strength to declare war against her own flesh and blood. Interwoven with her fate are the ramifications of a love story as forbidden and passionate as her own: the ancient romance that sparked the creation of Reavers and Luminces, igniting this centuries-old feud. Will Julia’s feelings for Clay be enough to transcend centuries of love-turned-hate? Or will their final hope for peace be incinerated in a fiery war?

Book Trailer : http://youtu.be/ZuqcFliSRr4

Excerpt


“You know,” Josh tugged Julia into his arms, “I’ve been waiting to get you alone all night. I didn’t think I’d ever get the chance.”
            “And so you chose a dance floor crowded with people. Smart plan.” Yanking his hands further up her waist, she glanced at a father Lumince dancing with his little girl.
            The child’s brown ringlets swirled around her ebony cheeks as her daddy lifted her onto his toes, twirling her around the room. Catching Julia’s gaze, the girl flashed her fangs and broke into an infectious grin.
Josh wrinkled his nose with a disdainful sniff. “I don’t know if I’d call them people.”
Julia’s grin faded. “And what exactly would you call them, Josh?”
            “More like creatures. Or abominations. Take your choice.” He gripped her hips and tugged her closer to his groin.
            Julia sneered and stumbled backward. “I think I’d prefer to stick with Luminces. Or, you know, vampires. The people we invited to this party.”
            “That’s the problem.” Josh curled his lip and glanced at a twenty-something Lumince couple coiled together within the shadows. They swayed to the beat of the music as the brunette raked his fangs down his date’s exposed throat. “No matter how many invites we extend, they’re always gonna be the same. A bunch of soulless blood suckers.”
            “Nice.” She turned Josh from the couple, suppressing a groan when the action brought her closer to his chest. “Can I ask you a question?”
            “Sure.” He nodded, his mouth against her ear. “You can ask me anything.”
            “Great.” Julia jerked her head to the side, avoiding the wet brush of his lips. “Is there anyone in the world—and I do mean anyone—that you care about more than you care about yourself? Be honest. It’s okay; I think I already know your answer.”
            Josh’s hands convulsed around her hips. “What happened to you, anyway? You used to be … cool. Fun, even. Where did all this love for vampires come from?”
            “People change.” Julia shrugged. “I did.”
            He shook his head. “Not that much. I’ll bet you still have the same desires you used to. The same … cravings.” He yanked her hips so close to his groin, she could feel him bulging hard against her thigh. Bending lower, he snared her lips within his mouth: a stolen kiss that died with the sharp groan that ripped from his throat.
            “Ouch! You bit me.” His eyes wet with pain, Josh pinched his swollen lip. “You frickin’ bit me!”
            “Gods, Josh!” Julia swiped her hand across her mouth. “Could you be any more disgusting?”
            “I don’t know, Jules.” Josh sneered. “Could you be any more obvious?”
            “What the hell is that supposed to mean?”
            “You tell me.” Stalking forward, he jabbed his finger at her chest. “You think I don’t know what you and your little friends are up to? That I don’t know you tried to hide Brennan before we could catch him? That you’re all a bunch of—” he leaned so close, she swore she could feel his anger radiate in livid waves, “disgusting sympathizers?”
            “I have no idea what you’re talking about.” Digging her fingernails into his shoulder, she pushed him back.
            People were watching; vampires had stopped dancing, the father and daughter had swept from the floor. The emerald-eyed blond crept from the shadows, flexing his fists and flashing his fangs. Glancing at their audience, Josh curled his bruised lips into a synthetic smile: the rubbery grin of a snake. “People are staring, Julia,” he whispered, stepping forward to trap her within his arms. “Smile pretty now.”
            “Why should I?” She stepped on his foot.
            “Because,” he hissed, kicking her off and tightening his grip, “I’m the only person in the world standing between you and certain punishment. You think just ‘cause your daddy’s Chief Reaver, it’s gonna spare you the pain of rebellion? You think you can go against everything you are and emerge unscathed? Think again, little girl. It doesn’t work that way.”
            “You’re an ass.” She clawed her nails into the taut skin of his neck.
            “And you’re a rebel.” He grimaced, tilting away from her touch. “Last I checked, the punishment for that was execution or banishment. You ready for that, Jules? Or do you want to play nice now?”
            Julia broke out of his arms. “You want to know what I want?”
            “I do.”

            “What I want,” her heels clacked against the floor as she stepped forward with a jerk of her hips, “is to dig my spiked heel into that small, hard thing you call a—”


 
Giveaway
 
Starfire is coming out July 30, and to celebrate, we're lookin' to give away some loot. To enter
this rockin' contest, simply follow the actions below, and you'll receive the corresponding
number of entries!!!

1 ENTRY
*Comment on any tour or Facebook post (see
www.starfireseries.com for tour dates and info)
*Like Michele's Facebook page (
www.facebook.com/MicheleNZugnoni)
*Share Michele's Facebook page on your own Facebook or blog
*Like Michele's Twitter account (
www.twitter.com/Michele_ZZZ)
3 ENTRIES
*Purchase Starfire and comment on Michele's Facebook page "I just purchased this fiery new
paranormal romance! Can't wait to read."

5 ENTRIES
*Review Starfire at Goodreads, Amazon, on your blog, or anywhere else on the web (but be
sure to let us know on Michele's facebook page).
*Host Michele on any virtual tour stop (interview, review, spotlight, etc.)

*1 Starfire shot glass
* 3 Starfire mugs (2 Julia/Clay, 1 Mia/Brennan)
*5 autographed copies of Goddess Kissed, the Starfire short-story prequel coming out Sept. 1
*10 red or black velvet bookmarks (with assorted charms)
*2 $25 gift cards to Amazon.com
AND THE GRAND PRIZE...
*1 $50 gift card to Amazon.com!!!


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Author
 
clip_image004
Michele is a recovering demon (AKA attorney) who left the legal field to follow her dreams of writing and teaching college-level English. In her spare time, she enjoys traveling as far as her credit card will take her, reading an assortment of fantasy and paranormal, and playing with her frisky animals (two black cats and two loud-mouthed cockatiels).
She’s loved vampires since she was four, when her BFF confided that her older sister was a vamp who enjoyed drinking blood. Like any four-year old, Michele thought this was the most awesome thing ever. Michele currently lives in Modesto, California, but will move to Santa Barbara to begin a Ph.D. program in education and literacy this fall.
www.facebook.com/MicheleNZugnoni
www.starfireseries.com
www.twitter.com/Michele_ZZZ








































































Monday, July 29, 2013

Book Blast: The Island by Jen Minkman

The Island Blast

 

Island - High Resolution Book Info-

Title-The Island

By- Jen Minkman

Publication Date-June 1, 2013

*Novella* (80 pages)

Genre- YA Dystopian

Blurb-

‘I walk toward the sea. The endless surface of the water extends to the horizon, whichever way I look.

Our world is small. We are on our own, and we only have ourselves to depend on. We rely on the Force deep within us, as taught to us by our forefathers.

If I were to walk westward from here, I would come across a barrier – the Wall.

Behind it, there are Fools. At least, that’s what everyone says.

I have never seen one.’

Leia lives on the Island, a world in which children leave their parents to take care of themselves when they are ten years old. Across this Island runs a wall that no one has ever crossed. The Fools living behind it are not amenable to reason – they believe in illusions. That’s what The Book says, the only thing left to the Eastern Islanders by their ancestors.

But when a strange man washes ashore and Leia meets a Fool face to face, her life will never be the same. Is what she and her friends believe about the Island really true?

Or is everyone in their world, in fact, a Fool?

Links-

Goodreads- http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17825118-the-island

Amazon Kindle- http://www.amazon.com/The-Island-ebook/dp/B00D3GNJWY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1370283182&sr=8-1&keywords=The+Island+Jen+Minkman

Amazon Paperback- http://www.amazon.com/The-Island-Jen-Minkman/dp/1483959813/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1370283182&sr=8-1

Barnes & Noble Paperback- http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-island-jen-minkman/1115469783?ean=9781483959818

Book trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RmOfSXPMN98

 

Author

Jen Minkman Jen Minkman (1978) was born in Holland, in the town of Alphen aan den Rijn. When she was 19, she moved between The Hague, Salzburg (Austria), Brussels (Belgium) and Cambridge (UK) to complete her studies in intercultural communication. She is currently a teacher of English, career counsellor and teenage coach at a secondary school in Voorburg, Holland. She tries to read at least 100 books a year (and write a few, too!). She is a published author in her own country, and translates her own books from Dutch into English for self-publication.

In her spare time, she plays the piano, the guitar and the violin. For every novel she writes, she creates a soundtrack.

'I have always been drawn to writing. My first book was a sci-fi novel at the age of eight, which I painstakingly typed out on my dad's typewriter and illustrated myself. Nowadays, I stick to poetry, paranormal romance, chicklit and/or fantasy. In my home country, I am the first-ever published writer of paranormal romance, and I will gradually make my books also available in English (seeing I have to re-write and translate the books myself, this will take some time!).

Links-

Goodreads- http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5808037.Jen_Minkman

Website-http://www.nwelsaturay.com/jenminkman/index.html

Twitter- https://twitter.com/JenMinkman

Facebook- https://www.facebook.com/JenMinkmanYAParanormal?fref=ts

Guest Author and Book Blitz: Victoria Bright author of Love Unbroken

Love Unbroken Tour

guest post

Today we have Victoria Bright author of Love Unbroken here today to share with us her Top Ten Favorite Authors -

(In no particular order)

Ellen Hopkins

Brenda Jackson

Lemony Snicket

Scott Westerfeld

V.C. Andrews

Louise Rennison

RJ Parker

Leslie Kelly

Tracy Madison

Sarah Dessen

 

More about her novel Love Unbroken…

blitz

 

Love Unbroken Book Info-

Title-Love Unbroken

By Victoria Bright

Genre-Spicy/ New Adult Contemporary Romance

Blurb-

Love...it can be a beautiful dream or a disastrous nightmare. What happens to a love bond that is constantly strained by lies, betrayal, cheating, and pain? Will it eventually corrode, or will love and trust keep it together?

Camille Anderson, a beautiful, sassy, curly-haired college student only has eyes for one man, Ahmad. She sees herself with no one else...that is until she meets Keith, her new study partner. Will she be able to fight temptation or will one small mistake cause her to lose Ahmad's trust and their relationship?

Ahmad Dawson, a sizzling hot, athletic personal trainer is obsessed with his girlfriend Camille. Not really the marriage type of guy, he is considering changing that mentality for her. Things were going smooth until Kelly, one of his clients, began to intrude on his relationship as well as his career. Will the desire of promotion lead him to do things that he shouldn't? Or will he stay true to his woman and his values?

The new people in Ahmad and Camille's lives are starting to create chaos and are slowly tearing them apart. After a deceptive plan is put into action, everything is turned upside down. Will this bring Ahmad and Camille closer together? Or has enough damage been done to break their bond?

Links-

Goodreads- http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17280091-love-unbroken?ac=1

Amazon - http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DCG3Q1Y

Smashwords - http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/326828http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/326828

 

Author

 

Victoria Bright "Writing is my escape...come run away with me."

Victoria Bright is from a small town in North Carolina and currently resides in Greenville, South Carolina. Victoria has been writing since she was in the eighth grade, starting with small short stories. As her classmates began showing interest in her work, she began to write longer stories, filling multiple spiral notebooks with her thoughts. During her freshman year in high school, her English teacher encouraged her to enter a writing contest in which she won local, region and state levels. She entered many writing contests since and have won a few. Figuring out she had a passion to share stories with anyone who would listen, she set out to write her first book Love Unbroken (available June 12, 2013).

Victoria is very versatile in the genre of books she likes to read. Her book choice mostly varies on her mood but she is particularly interested in crime stories, romance, teen fiction, scifi, and is now venturing a little in paranormal fiction. As for her own writing, she doesn't really put it into a category or genre. She just writes whatever is on her mind and lets it create itself!

Links-

Facebook- www.facebook.com/VictoriaBrightAuthor

Goodreads- www.goodreads.com/VBrightAuthor

Blog- author-victoria-bright.blogspot.com

Twitter- www.twitter.com/itsvictoria_Bhttp://www.twitter.com/itsvictoria_B

Facebook Event- https://www.facebook.com/events/423055407809827/

Friday, July 26, 2013

Book Blitz: Radiant by Christina Daley

RadiantBlitzBanner1

 

blitz

Radiant

Book Details:

Radiant by Christina Daley  
Publication date: February 12th 2013
Genre: YA Paranormal Romance

Synopsis:

Mary is part Vietnamese. Carter is a complete jerk. Normally, they don't talk much.
But when Mary's in an accident on the way to school one morning, Carter nearly dies saving her life. The doctors say his chances of living are slim, and Mary's feeling the full weight of survivor's guilt.
However, Carter's back at school in a matter of days, as if nothing had happened. Although, he is a little "glitchy," and he's developed a sudden and intense interest in Mary. She thinks he's suffering from major brain trauma from the accident. Or that he's been possessed.
As it so happens, Carter really is possessed. And the thing controlling him is having the time of its life learning to be human.
Featuring a diverse cast of characters, RADIANT is a funny "paranormal-lite" story about being human, being in love, and being healed.

Goodreads / Amazon

GIVEAWAY

Grand Prize Giveaway

5 winners: paperback of Radiant + a bookmark (US/CAN)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Excerpt :

A voice called to her. It seemed close, and it was getting louder as the pain got sharper. "Hey? Hey! Are you all right?" it asked.

Mary blinked several times before she could finally see again. She was in the middle of the street. The cars had stopped and people on the sidewalk were staring.

"Are you all right?" the voice asked again. It was coming from a man wearing some type of uniform.

"What…?" Mary tried to say more, but her voice suddenly stopped working.

"Careful," he said as he helped her up. "Looks like you can move all right. Here, let's get you out of the street."

He helped her over to the sidewalk. "Stay here. Someone's calling the paramedics." And then he was gone.

Mary sat there, still in a daze. She started noticing familiar stuff all over the ground—an open book bag, books, folders, unused tampons, a shoe, and an apple with one bite mark. Her eyes followed the trail of debris to a brilliant red sports car, half of which was smashed in by a city bus.

What had happened? Mary studied the whole scene, trying to puzzle together the pieces. Then it dawned on her. The car had hit her. Not intentionally. She had run in front of the bus without knowing it. It was about to hit her, but the car had gotten in the way first. It had saved her life.

Mary thought about looking in the car. Then her feet sorta moved without her meaning them to, and she made her way to the passenger door. She recognized the person inside. Carter. She knew his last name, but she couldn't think of what it was. He was slumped over the seat with blood oozing all over his face. His eyes were shut.

Mary knocked on the window. The tears in her hand stung.

No response.

She beat the window with her fist.

Still nothing.

Mary stared. She couldn't believe it. On any other day, she wouldn't exchange two words with this guy. Just yesterday, he nearly mowed down an elderly couple while driving out of the school lot. Mary had secretly wished he'd be taught a lesson. But she didn't mean this.

She tried the door handle, but it was still locked. Suddenly, Carter's eyes flickered opened. He looked straight at her.

Mary gasped and pressed her face against the window.

Carter's eyes closed.

She stared at him, waiting for him to open them again. Waiting for any sign of life. But he was still like he was before.

Hands suddenly took hold of Mary, pulling her away from the car. Her feet moved on their own again. Someone was yelling "Miss" a lot. Parts of her brain found other noises too, like sirens, voices, beeping, and other things. The hands directed her to sit on something hard and cold.

"Miss? Can you hear me? Can you tell me your name?"

Mary didn't answer. She still hadn't found her voice, and her mind was fuzzy, too.

"Is that her bag there? Does she have a driver's license?"

A different person spoke. "No license, but I found a student ID. Her name's Mary Phan. She's seventeen and a junior here at Lewis Prep."

Mary heard a third voice. "I just talked with some of the kids on the sidewalk. One of them said her mom's a nurse at the memorial hospital."

"Find out how to contact the mom. Anyone see what happened?"

"Cops are questioning witnesses right now. Looks like she ran in front of the bus. It would've nailed her if that sportster hadn't gotten in the way."

"Anything on the bus or the driver of the car?"

"Everyone on the bus looks fine. The car belongs to a kid named Carter Maxwell. Also a junior." A sigh. "I wouldn't hold my breath. He looks really bad in there."

Mary tuned out everything else. All sights. All sounds. The only thing she could see in her mind was Carter staring at her.

Author

photo1

Christina Daley made her first book with neighborhood friends when she was four years old. They "wrote" out some semblance of lettering with crayons, cut up a cardboard box for the cover, and bound it all together with clear adhesive tape. It was brilliant.
Quite a few years later, Christina is trying her hand at writing "real" books. She lives in Dallas, Texas, with a pet plant named Herb.

Author Links:

Website /  Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

Hellhound Twisted Tour! Today our stop is over at…

Kasadya-Hellhound-Twisted-banner_thu_thumb

The tour continues! Today our stop is over at Books and their Worldly Realm. Head on over and say Hi!

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Interview with Patricia A Knight author of Hers To Command

 

Hers to Command Banner 450 x 169

 

interview

Today we interview Patricia A Knight author of Hers to Command. I would like to thank Patricia for joining us for this interview. No without further ado…

 

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I always wanted to jump horses, which I did. I worked as a contract legal assistant/secretary to corporate trial attorneys to finance it. All the while I read voraciously as a form of stress relief.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

I still don’t. I consider myself a “story-teller.” The stories just happen to be written down. Occasionally, someone likes one well enough to publish it for me.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

Three years. Persist, persist, persist.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

When I got tired of being abused by attorneys, I started a pottery studio. Fifteen years later, I sold a very prosperous pottery business and started writing full-time. I thought it would give me more time to garden and ride my horses. HA! The weeds are six feet high and I suppose my horse is still there. I pay his bills every month.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

My latest book to be released is Hers To Choose. In less than 20 words: An violated innocent and a disillusioned warrior join intimately to protect a world and people in peril. Yeah! I made it in under 20!

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

A wonderful micro-publisher out of Los Angeles, CA. Troll River Publications. Stephanie McKibben is the owner. Can’t say enough good things about her. I also have some guidance with social media. TL Luedke, a successful, self-published author, is my guru.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

Three to six months.

What can we expect from you in the future? ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

I have one more title in the Verdantian series, Hers To Cherish, that will be released on August 26th. THEN!!! In spring of next year my western, The Dry Season, will be released. It is a “HOT historical” about a Texas cowboy returning home after the civil war. He starts a remount business for the U.S. Government with his partner. This is book one of a 3-book series.

What genre would you place your books into?

My Verdantian series nests somewhere into the science-fiction-fantasy-erotic-romance-kinky-sex, genre. (I think I just made a genre up!) And The Dry Season is a conventional western with very non-conventional sex.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

I love explicit sex but I require there be a story-line to support it. I want my hero and heroine to fall in love and have a happy ever after ending. And I love fantasy/sci-fi. So I just put the two together. My western is a natural. I have lived in Texas all my adult life and because I showed horses, I hung around hunky cowboys all day long. Doesn’t take a great stretch of the imagination to write about them. Of course, the sex must be in there, too.

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

My favorite character in all my books is Eric. He is the one character I think I could ACTUALLY live with in real life! LOL I think he would be a good “life partner.”

How long have you been writing?, and who or what inspired you to write?

I have been telling stories since childhood. The neighborhood kids used to come over in the summer evenings and sit on our porch steps while I told stories of knights and ladies and horses and cowboys. I got inspired to write as an adult because I couldn’t find the books that I wanted to read. I could find sci-fi, but they didn’t have sex. I could find erotica, but it wasn’t “mystical.”

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I sit at my computer every day and make myself put down a minimum of 1,200 words. Some books write themselves. Hers To Cherish wrote itself in about three weeks. Other books, I struggle with.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Yes. Soon or later! LOL I try not to “drink the cool-aide” of good reviews and I try not to fall on my sword when I get bad reviews.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

Both. With the “Hers To” series, after the first two books, I knew I was going to have to maintain the “Hers To” in the title. I sent out an appeal for every verb in the English language that began with a “C”!!!

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

Wow. Good question. It is torturous. I usually try to find a list of names for men and look at the meanings of the names – and go from there. Women the same way. I have been known to change a name because my critique partners didn’t like it. I also avoid names that end with “s” – it makes the possessive sound like snakes have been released.

Are character names and place names decided after their creation? Or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?

Most definitely after the character. The character comes first and then the name. The place comes first and then the name.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

All my characters have a complete backstory that never gets into the book. It is similar to what you do in the theater when you are acting. You imagine an entire history for your character and then bring it to the lines that you speak. Similar for me with my characters. I know who they are, who their parents are, all their little quirks and peculiarities before the book ever beings.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

Yes. My critique partners are always teasing me about being incapable of “just writing a story.” No. . . I have to save the world – right wrongs – avenge injustice. LOL

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

Personally, I love hardback books. They have become so expensive that I do buy them when I have already read the ebook and liked the story so well that I want it for my “keeper” shelf. Otherwise . . . it’s ebook.

What is your favorite book and Why? Have you read it more than once?

The Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase. I have read it many, many times.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

I don’t like books to movies. My mind is infinitely more creative in picturing a story and its characters than any producer and I regularly look at who is cast as my hero and heroine and tilt my head sideways with a “HUH?” The worst case of this was Dune, by Frank Herbert and the best case was Lord of the Rings, by Tolkien.

Your favorite food is?

Gin and Tonics!! The cure-all for stress, arthritis, boring people and intimidating life events.

Your favorite singer/group is?

Wow. I simply could not narrow it down. I’m a sucker for “epica” – you know the music you hear at the end of movies like Star Trek and the Lord of the Rings and such. But then I also like heavy metal and The Beachboys and Josh Groban and opera and Gregorian Chant and . . . well you get the idea.

Your favorite color is?

Magenta or Indigo Blue.

Your favorite Author is?

I have put about one hundred and fifty names in a hat. All legitimate contenders for “my favorite author.” I am now closing my eyes and putting my hand in and stirring the contents of the hat. Drum roll please . . . . and the winner is!!!! Loretta Chase! Yeah! Confetti, pigeons, red balloons!

blitz

 

clip_image002

blitz

Hers To Command
Verdantia Series Book One

Patricia A. Knight

Genre: ♂♀♂ Erotic Romance, Sci-fi/futuristic

Publisher: Troll River Publications

Date of Publication: 6/4/2013

ISBN: 978-1-939564-10-8

ASIN: B00D5KVIV2

Number of pages: 193

Word Count: 73,428

Cover Artist: Truenotdreams

Book Description:

Conte Camliel Aristos deTano, Ari, has long spurned the marriage forced upon him. Princess Fleur Constante, his contractual bride and the beautiful future queen, though young and inexperienced, is willing to risk everything – including her own sanity – to save her planet.

The inhabitants of the sentient planet, Verdantia, are poised on the precipice of extinction following a brutal invasion by an off-world, nomadic horde. Verdantia’s capital, Sylvan Mintoth, must have its failing energy shield restored, or the planet is doomed. The Elders know the shield can draw energy from only one thing—a very arduous and grueling coupling of two specific people pre-chosen by the planet, Herself, and promised by prearranged marriage contract.

Verdantia draws strength from the duo, but the sentient planet whispers to Ari that a third is necessary – Ari’s aide de camp, Visconte Doral deLorion, an angelically handsome, skilled assassin who silently surrendered his heart to Ari long ago.

The trio struggles to make this surprising partnership harmonious, pushing through pride, scars of past abuse, fears of inexperience and distrust. To save Verdantia, they must overcome their individual weaknesses and realize their full potential. Only the tetriarch and their combined synergy, can harness Verdantia’s immense power to shield its citizens from invasion.

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/sRt_mpFuenc

Amazon Goodreads Kobo

 

Author 

Patricia A. Knight is the pen name for an eternal romantic who lives in Dallas, Texas surrounded by her horses, dogs and the best man on the face of the earth – oh yeah, and the most enormous bullfrogs you will ever see. Word to the wise: don’t swim in the pool after dark.


I love to hear from my readers and can be reached at http://www.trollriverpub.com/ or  http://www.patriciaaknight.com

Check out my latest “Hunk of the Day,” book releases, contests and other fun stuff on my face book page: https://www.facebook.com/patricia.knight.71619

Website: http://www.patriciaaknight.com/home.html

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/patricia.knight.71619

Twitter: https://twitter.com/patriciaaknight

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7093656.Patricia_A_Knight

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/patriciak4394/

Hellhound Twisted Tour! Today our stop is over at…

Kasadya Hellhound Twisted banner_thumb[2]_thumb

The tour continues! Today our stop is over at As You Wish Reviews. Head on over and say Hi!

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Guest Author: Sarah Makela author of Surrendered

Surrendered-Banner-450-x-169_thumb2

guest post

Today we have Sarah Makela author of Surrendered here as an guest author to share some important elements of her writing.

Thank you for having me here!

Music is one of the most important aspects to my creative process. I always listen to music when I write. Music has been my muse by giving me ideas for stories or characters or motivations. Knowing that it’ll come as no surprise that I had a particular song I listened to while writing Surrendered.

With Surrendered being the Seelie based companion story to Captivated, I already knew the world pretty well, but I had no idea what characters I’d be hanging out with. With both of the stories revolving around the fae courts, I figured I’d be playing with some nobles again, but what exactly would the story consist of?

The song that helped me was Lights by Ellie Goulding (Bassnectar remix). I knew the heroine would be Seelie, but the idea of there being darkness in her life and the hero needing to shine the light for her started my mind rolling. It really helped me get a clear view into the heroine’s head and to help feel her emotions while she was going through the pain and fear of being attacked and then dealing with a bodyguard who intimidates her a little but intriguing her a whole lot.

If you’d like to listen to it, here’s the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGlIDlOqurA.

Sarah

 

blitz

 

clip_image002_thumb1

Surrendered
Titania’s Court, Book 4

Sarah Mäkelä

Genre: Erotic Fantasy Romance

Publisher: Total-e-Bound Publishing

Date of Publication: July 12, 2013

ISBN: 978-1-78184-376-5

ASIN: TBD

Number of pages: 47

Cover Artist: Posh Gosh

Total E Bound

Book Description:

A mercenary who skirts light and dark must protect a reclusive Seelie noblewoman, but when they discover a common link, they must surrender…

Niamh McNamara has always been a little different from the rest of the Seelie Court. Their natural mirth and playfulness is something she has to force, so she won’t stand out much during the midsummer’s festivities. That becomes nearly impossible when an attempt is made on her life by a violent masked fae. Content with seclusion, she’s unhappy when the queen requests her back at court to meet her new bodyguard.

Doyle Kearney is mercenary who skirts the light and dark courts. Some think he’s Unseelie, while others are sure he’s Seelie. When Queen Titania brings him to protect a sullen noble, he almost refuses—he’s a warrior, not a bodyguard—until he sees Niamh. His body reacts to the golden goddess, but he can’t forget how his noble parents had easily tossed him aside to protect their titles. He questions if she’ll do the same if he surrenders his heart.

Short Excerpt:

Summer’s warm magic glittered in the night air. Nature drank deep of it and flourished with life and growth. The delightful party playing out around Niamh McNamara didn’t interest her one bit. As a member of the light court, she should’ve enjoyed the merry festivities that Midsummer’s Eve brought on, but her sour mood wouldn’t let go of her. Then again, she’d never been like the rest of her people.

Darkness constantly ached within her chest beneath her golden appearance. Before she’d been able to ignore it, but now it wasn’t so easy, especially after overhearing whispers about her from the other members of court. Hiding away had helped, but she couldn’t always stay hidden.

Queen Titania had requested her presence back at court for a while, and when the queen asked, one didn’t say no. The queen held a special interest in seeing Niamh, as a female noble, commit to a worthy relationship. At Niamh’s age, she should’ve at least had one potential suitor, yet she did her best to avoid them and had been fairly successful.

Niamh took another sip from her goblet. The faeries around her sang, laughed and danced, yet she could barely gather the enthusiasm to smile. How cruel life was that she had to watch their happiness while she didn’t share their feelings.

There were men who seemed determined to court her. The more she dissuaded them, the more eagerly they flocked to her. A familiar male elf took her elbow to sweep her off to dance, but she brushed off his hand. "Sorry, I’m not interested in dancing at the moment."

Another reason why she preferred to stay away from court these days. She hated presumptuousness and what tended to happen next.

His face fell, and confusion creased his brow. The lady next to Niamh gawked at her like she was crazy before grabbing the male’s hand and waltzing away with him. The lady leaned close to him and whispered something, causing them to both break out into laughter.

Niamh bristled. She didn’t want to feel like an outsider amongst her own people.

A happy, albeit drunken, pixie flew by her, nearly colliding with her shoulder. The tiny being apologised in a high-pitched tinkling voice, then it was gone, darting away to join a group of pixies near the mead.

Most of the pixies there had already drunk their share. Their amorous personalities, combined with the summer’s fertility magic, heated the group until their moans of pleasure chimed through the warm breeze. Others nearby reacted to the intimacy, their clothes slipping off in their fervour.

Yet another sign of how nature’s power innately affected the Seelie.

The group she stood with were still chatting merrily amongst themselves, though their attention was beginning to drift to the playful fledgling orgy.

Niamh slipped away into the forest, making sure no one saw her. She needed a break from the laughter and shallow niceties. Her face ached from the plastic smile she wore for the party. Once safely out of view, she leaned against a tree and let out a ragged breath. Her fake smile fell, and she stared into the sky between the leaves. If only she were home, away from the misery of joy she had to force. Warmth and happiness permeated the air around her, but a part buried within her retracted from those emotions, shying away from the silky caress. Most of the time, she wondered if she had something wrong with her. Darkness held solace for her while light made her aware of what she lacked.

The snap of a branch startled her, and she peeked around the tree. No one was there. Thoughts about her inner darkness dissipated. Her shoulders tensed, and she strained her ears to hear more signs of movement. Another twig snapped behind her, and she nearly jumped out of her skin.

Before her stood a man in an elaborately decorated mask, which covered most of his face. A dark hood and cape cloaked the rest of him, making it impossible to distinguish any of his features. He was most definitely fae like her—he had that kind of aura. He must’ve hidden his wings beneath his grand cape.

She looked him over with a frown. Why was he here, away from the party? Especially dressed as he was? I left the party behind to rest, not to give someone the opportunity to make my acquaintance in private. She sighed but forced herself to smile.

A scream caught her attention from the party, turning her towards the sound, but the laughter that followed reassured her that everything was still safe.

The foreboding man spun her to face him. He clasped his hands around her throat, and slammed her folded wings back against the tree. Her head bounced against the hard oak. She clawed at his glove-covered hands, trying to get him off her, trying to draw air into her lungs.

He smashed her against the tree again, but his grip slipped slightly.

"What do you want?" she squeaked, gulping in air.

"You. That’s what I wanted."

She’d never heard this man’s voice before. How could he want her while she couldn’t figure out who he was? He must’ve used glamour so she wouldn’t recognise him.

Tour wide giveaway

1 ebook copy of Surrendered, 1 $5 Amazon gift card

a Rafflecopter giveaway

   

Author

 

clip_image004_thumb

 

Sarah Mäkelä lives in North Carolina with her husband and cats. When she’s not writing, she enjoys reading, computer and video games, and travelling all over the world. She is a member of Romance Writers of America, as well as the Heart of Carolina Romance Writers and the Fantasy, Futuristic, and Paranormal chapters.

http://www.sarahmakela.com

http://blog.sarahmakela.com

http://www.twitter.com/sarahmakela

http://www.facebook.com/authorsarahmakela

http://www.goodreads.com/sarahmakela

Monday, July 22, 2013

Release Blitz: Goldi and the Bear by Jessica Aspen

Goldie and the Bear Banner 450 x 169

clip_image002_thumb[9]

Goldi and the Bear
Twisted Tales: Come Into the Woods Series

Book Three

Jessica Aspen

Genre: Spicy New Adult paranormal fairy tale romance

Publisher: Passion in Print

Date of Publication: July 2013

Word Count: 35,000 words

Cover Artist: Lex Valentine

Book Description:

Goldi Lycan’s father has gone wild wolf. Goldi is desperate because without his help the bank is threatening to foreclose on the family ranch. Even worse, she suspects the secret buyer is her ex-boyfriend, Zeke, whose heart she crushed in high school.

Zeke has a secret. He’s never stopped loving Goldi, or forgotten their steamy nights together, and he’s determined to make her pay. When Goldi is injured in a Rocky Mountain blizzard she’s forced to take shelter in Zeke’s empty house. But look out! When Zeke arrives home to find a naked she-wolf in his bed, all hell will break loose.

Excerpt:

The truck sputtered.

“Come on, you piece of junk, come on.” Goldi hit the dash with her palm. “You can do it!”

The engine gave off a few guttural growls, coughed, and died.

“Noooo!” she wailed, and with the truck’s last rolling effort she guided it to the side of the road and into the high grass. She checked the mileage. One hundred and fifty-two miles. Nowhere near the two hundred and twenty mile mark that she needed to get gas. With the old truck’s speedometer broken as long as she could remember, they’d always re-set the odometer so they could get gas before they reached the two hundred mark. The twenty was just in case.

There should be an extra sixty-eight miles left before she ran out of gas.

She turned the car over and over, the grinding sound of the starter wearing on her nerves. No gas. And no one in sight on this lonely road that led nowhere but bear territory and Lycan Ranch. No one would be coming, and she only had half-an-hour to make it to town. On her own two feet. Or four.

She hopped out of the car and, for a fleeting moment, considered stripping off her clothes, tying them to her back, and running in wolf-form all the way to town. But, before she could put it into practice, she heard a motor. Someone was coming from the direction of Rover’s Corner. She turned. And as the expensive, shiny black pickup approached, dust blowing from its rear wheels, her lungs tightened and her heart sank.

Only one person in this area drove a new, black pickup.

The truck rolled to a stop next to the old, stalled truck, and the automatic window rolled down. Zeke Beresford leaned across the seat and asked, “Heading into town? Need a lift?”

At the sound of his voice, her heart skittered.

It had been over five-and-a-half years since she’d heard Zeke Beresford speak, and he sounded just the same. Sexy. Hot. Tempting. But he looked different. Way different. He still had thick, dark brown, straight hair, and deep, rich, chocolate brown eyes, but everything else had changed.

She couldn’t even get enough air to speak.

“I won’t bite.” His words were soft, almost flirty. But he wasn’t smiling. His face was hard, his eyes cold and assessing as he checked out her conservative clothes. And by the small shake of his head and sardonic lift to his brow, he found her wanting.

She looked up the road at the long, dusty walk to town and knew she had no choice. She had to take him up on his offer.

He started to pull his head back into the pick-up.

“No, wait.” She got the words out, grabbed her purse off the front seat, and slammed the creaky door of the betraying old truck. “I would love a lift into town.” Opening the door of the too tall truck, she raised her heeled foot up high, tugged her skirt down, and hauled her ass into the cab. “Thank you,” she said, with all the sophistication and air she could muster as she stared into the dark, dangerous brown eyes of her ex-boyfriend.

The one she’d stopped talking to when her mother had died and she’d dropped out of her junior year of high school. The one who had begged and pleaded with her to re-consider and whom she’d told she never wanted to speak to again.

Zeke Beresford, bad bear made good.

Goldi huddled on her side of the luxurious cab, working on breathing past the tight squeeze of her heart, as they drove to town. Zeke’s capable, large hands expertly handled the powerful truck and she caught herself staring at them, remembering the way they’d felt on her skin. How, a full year older, he’d taught her inexperienced high school self all the things her parents never wanted to know she’d learned. Especially at the hands of a bear.

Old desires, long forgotten, tingled along her skin. She yanked her gaze from Zeke’s hands.

“Why didn’t your date pick you up at the ranch? Afraid Daddy dear might see?” Zeke’s mocking tone raised her ruff.

“I don’t have a date,” she said, her voice stiff.

She darted a look at his hard face as he stared straight down the road. No one except Ned knew how close her father was to permanently turning wild wolf, and she wasn’t about to tell Zeke. Not now. Not with that callous tone in his voice telling her he’d never forgive her for dumping him.

He darted a look at her as they rounded the curve heading down the valley and into town. “Why are you all dressed up if it’s not a date? I don’t remember you being the kind to wear a skirt to grocery shop.”

“For your information, I have an appointment.” She didn’t want to tell him about her mission. But she was damned if she’d let him make fun of her. She felt uncomfortable enough as it was in the skirt and heels, and now being in his car was the icing on the cherry.

“Oh? What kind of an appointment?”

“A none-of-your-business kind.” That’s just what she needed, Zeke to know that she was begging the bank for time to pay off the mortgage. Her nerves pushed the tension from her tight chest into her throat. She swallowed past the lump.

“Well, you just let me know where you want to be dropped off.” Zeke eased the truck onto Main.

“Right here would be fine.” She pushed the words out past the straight jacket of her lungs, the lump in her throat, and her tightly clenched teeth.

“Here?” He pulled into an empty parking space and was out of the truck and around to her side before she could figure out which of the fancy buttons unlocked the door. He yanked the door open, and she was faced with Zeke Beresford at eye level. Anxiety clamped down on her chest and she couldn’t get any air.

“Let me help you,” he growled.

She had no choice.

She turned her knees to the side and slid out. He caught her and held her tight, pressed against his hard, muscular body. She gripped her purse in one hand, the other one landing on his shoulder as her breasts caught on his chest and he eased her down. Past his eyes, his lips, the dip of his throat, her pelvis and abdomen sliding down the thrust of his erection.

Her feet touched the pavement, but he didn’t let go. She gasped for air, drowning in the rich, spicy, familiar scent of Zeke and wished her traitor skin didn’t reveal everything she felt.

“Let me go,” she wheezed.

He didn’t move. His deep brown eyes held hers. Her chest fluttered with the unfamiliarity of being trapped.

Then he let go, and without the support of his strong arms she stumbled on the cement. Clutching her purse, she stood on shaky legs and mustered her voice. “Thanks for the ride.”

“No problem.” He backed up and bowed. “At your service, princess.”

Her already hot skin burned. She put her nose in the air and walked as fast as she could on her unfamiliar heels across the sidewalk and into the bank, putting Zeke and the past behind her. Right where he had to stay.

 

Author

 

clip_image004_thumb

 

Jessica Aspen has always wanted to be spirited away to a world inhabited by elves, were-wolves and sexy men who walk on the dark side of the knife.

Luckily, she’s able to explore her fantasy side and delve into new worlds by writing paranormal romance. She loves indulging in dark chocolate, reading eclectic novels, and dreaming of ocean vacations, but instead spends most of her time, writing, walking the dog, and hiking in the Colorado Rockies.

To sign up for Jessica Aspen’s new release email please go to: http://eepurl.com/zs4Sj

Website: http://jessicaaspen.com

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5759763.Jessica_Aspen

https://twitter.com/JessicaAspen

https://www.facebook.com/JessicaAspenAuthor

http://pinterest.com/jessicaaspen/