Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Another Shot At Love Blog Tour–Kicking off the tour with a jammed packed day!!

Tourbanner_thumb[2]

 

We have a jammed packed tour kick off for Another Shot At Love, hop on over and check it out!!

 

First Class Books

http://firstclassbooksfb.blogspot.com/

Kelly P's Blog

http://kellyatx.blogspot.com/

A Love Affair With Books

http://www.aloveaffairwithbooks.com/

Don’t forgot to enter the rafflecopter!!

rafflecopter_thumb

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, December 19, 2013

New Release: The Other Me by Suzanne van Rooyen

newrelease

 

The Other Me

by Suzanne van Rooyen

OtherMeFS

Title: The Other Me

Author: Suzanne van Rooyen

Publisher: Harmony Ink Press

Release Date: 19 Dec, 2013

Length: 216 pages

Genre: YA, LGBT, contemporary

Blurb:

Fifteen-year-old Treasa Prescott thinks she’s an alien. She doesn’t fit in with the preppy South African private school crowd and feels claustrophobic in her own skin. Treasa is worried she might spend life as a social pariah when she meets Gabriel du Preez. Gabriel plays the piano better than Beethoven, has a black belt in karate, and would look good wearing a garbage bag. Treasa thinks he’s perfect. It might even be love, as long as Gabriel doesn’t find out she’s a freak.
As Treasa spends time with Gabriel, she realizes she might not love him as much as she wants to be him, and that the reason she feels uncomfortable in her skin might have less to do with extra-terrestrial origins and more to do with being born in the wrong body.

But Gabriel is not the perfect boy Treasa imagines. He harbors dark secrets and self-destructive tendencies. Still, Treasa might be able to accept Gabriel’s baggage if he can accept who she longs to be.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18809290-the-other-me

Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00HEYFWYY

Giveaway: International Rafflecopter for $15 Amazon giftcard

  a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Suzanne van RooyenAbout the Author:

Suzanne is an author and peanut-butter addict from South Africa. She currently lives in Finland and finds the cold, dark forests nothing if not inspiring. Although she has a Master’s degree in music, Suzanne prefers conjuring strange worlds and creating quirky characters. When not writing you can find her teaching dance and music to middle-schoolers or playing in the snow with her shiba inu. She is rep'd by Jordy Albert of the Booker Albert Agency.

Author Links:

Website – http://suzannevanrooyen.com

Twitter - https://twitter.com/Suzanne_Writer

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/pages/Suzanne-van-Rooyen/304965232847874

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Freebie Blitz: The Conduit (#1, The Gryphon Series) By Stacey Rourke - YA PNR

 
 
 

NOW FREE ON AMAZON AND OTHER SALE PLATFORMS!!!

 
 
 

Book Info-
Title: The Conduit
Pages: 212
ISBN-10: 0985266368
ISBN-13: 978-0985266363
ASIN: B007H7UMR0
Date Published: November 2011 (rereleased November 13, 2013)

 Blurb-

All 18-year-old Celeste Garrett wants is to head off to college and make those fun, yet ill-advised, choices college kids are known for. And maybe to spend some time with the hot cameraman she just met. Instead, because of a pact her ancestors made in the 17th century with a mythical creature, she has to save the world. While normal kids are slamming energy drinks and cramming for exams, Celeste will get her adrenaline rush fighting a fire breathing dragon. She wants to meet friends in the quad to exchange lecture notes, but first she must exchange blows with a shapeshifting demon on the rooftop. Life isn’t always fair for a superhero, but at least she doesn’t have to do it alone. With her brother and sister as sidekicks, they alternate between saving lives and getting on each others’ nerves. Together the trio encounters unspeakable odds, mystical forces and comes face-to-face with an image that will haunt them forever—their grandmother in a leopard print bikini.

Book Links-

http://www.amazon.com/Conduit-Gryphon-Stacey-Rourke-ebook/dp/B007H7UMR0/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=&qid=
 


Book Blitz and Giveaway: Desire (The Seductors Series Vol. 1) By B.L. Wilde

 
 
 
Desire (The Seductors Series Vol. 1)
By B.L. Wilde
 

 
Cover Design by Jo Matthews
Genre: Erotica
Scheduled Release: December 6, 2013
<!--[if !supportLineBreakNewLine]-->
<!--[endif]-->
 
 
 
Summary:

Jade has worked as a Seductor in a secret organization for five years now. Her main job? To earn the trust of her targets and secure the object or information her company was hired to steal—by any means necessary. She’s damn good at it, too. With five years left on her contract, she is handed an assignment that turns her world upside down.

Oliver Kirkham is the attractive, young CEO of Kirkham Industries, a weapons manufacturing company, and is currently in possession of some very important blueprints—blueprints that could change the way war, as we know it, works. He’s extremely focused and doesn’t have time to date, at least until he comes to the rescue of a shy but very alluring Jade Gibbs.

What happens when one night of passion turns into more? Will Jade allow her feelings for Oliver to get in the way of her mission? Or will she do what she was hired to do and secure the steal?


Excerpt:

Oliver wined and dined me with style. The conversation followed effortlessly, and a few hours later we were back in the bar having a nightcap.

“I really can’t thank you enough for dinner, Oliver.”

“It was my pleasure, Jade. I’ve enjoyed your companionship immensely tonight.”

“Do you really own your own company?”

“Why do you ask that?” he chuckled into his coffee.

“You’re so young and…fun. I thought CEOs were supposed to be bald with beer bellies, and be too stressed out to even crack a smile.”

“Are those the kind of CEOs you have as your clients?”

“Yes,” I laughed.

“These interior art skills of yours—how much do they cost?”

“Are you interested in utilizing my skills, Oliver?”

“I’m very interested, Miss Gibbs.” Oliver’s look became almost predatory.

“Maybe we should take this conversation elsewhere, then?” I suggested, looking around the bar.

“Where did you have in mind?” he asked, moving a little closer, his hand lightly skimming my leg.

“I was thinking of retiring for the night. It’s getting quite late,” I breathed, stretching out to play with his tie.

“Alone?”

“Actually, I was kind of hoping for some company,” I whispered timidly, pushing off my stool and slowly walking toward the lobby area. Counting to five, I turned to see Oliver walking toward me, looking dark and dangerously handsome. I was actually looking forward to seeing if this guy was any good in bed.

I pushed the button for the elevator and leaned against the wall just as he caught up with me.

“I hope I’m reading these signs correctly,” he grinned just as the elevator doors opened. With a small grin, I stepped in and pulled him with me. Oliver crashed his lips against mine right as the doors closed behind us.

Kissing was second nature to me. I could fake desire, even if it felt like I was kissing a wet fish, but as Oliver lifted me by my ass and pinned me against the elevator wall, I groaned in actual pleasure. I didn’t have to fake it. Desire flooded through my veins as I ran my hands into his dark hair.

“Christ, you’re beautiful,” he groaned, his lips moving down my neck while his hands began to fumble for the hem of my dress. I was about to start dry humping the guy if he kept on like he was.

“Ugh…” I groaned as his hands worked their way under my dress and he gripped my ass cheeks roughly. “Oliver…ugh…which floor?” He leaned toward the elevator buttons with me still wrapped around him, and pressed a button before quickly returning to attacking my neck.

“I saw you the moment I walked into the bar tonight,” he purred, his hands running slowly down my chest. Both my legs were wrapped around his waist. “And I wanted you.”

“Ugh…I…I’m flattered,” I said, forcing a blush. The elevator opened and Oliver finally let me go. As I slid down his body, I could feel his muscles through his shirt. Mm…it really was going to be a fun few months.

“I want you to know I don’t usually do this sort of thing,” I muttered, playing with the zipper on my purse while he opened his bedroom door.

“Neither do I.” He shook his head as if to clear it from a random thought, and somehow, I didn’t believe him. He was too smooth and confident to have never picked a girl up in a bar before.

“Wow, your room is so much bigger than mine!” I acted awestruck, gazing around as I placed my bag on a table. “Is this just the living area?” I gasped, turning to see that he was suddenly right in front of me. He responded by crashing his lips against mine while backing me against the wall.

“I don’t want to make small talk anymore. I just want to fuck you, Jade,” he growled into my ear. Holy crap! I was so turned on; I could feel the wetness between my legs begin to flow. His hands came back up underneath my dress, but rather than grab my ass like he had in the elevator, he simply pulled my panties down. “Do you want me to fuck you?”

“YES!” It was a plea, because in that moment, I’d never wanted anything more. I heard his belt buckle and the sound of foil before he was suddenly slamming me hard against the wall. Fuck, I’d dreamed of being taken this way, but never once had I thought it would happen. Who was this guy?

“I’m going to make you cum harder than you’ve ever cum before,” he smoldered into my ear. His fingers slowly teased my entrance and I arched my back, needing more. “I can feel how much you want this. I know your kind—shy and withdrawn. Let me free you. Let me release the desire I know is inside you.” Oh, this guy had no idea just how much desire was inside me. I wrapped my legs tightly around his waist, drawing him toward me before I bit down on his neck.

“Fuck, yes,” Oliver growled, and with one deep thrust he was inside me.

I’d never been fucked this hard before. I was wanton. I needed everything the guy could give me as he slammed into me over and over again while I was pinned against the wall. “You feel so good,” he panted between thrusts.

“Fuck me harder!” I was totally breaking character, but I’d never had a man bring me to orgasm without my help before, and right now, I needed that moment more than the air I breathed.

“Harder? You better brace yourself then.” Oliver gripped my legs and rotated his hips before pushing deeper and faster inside me.

Before I could make sense of what was happening, I felt myself begin to build—the feeling becoming warmer and more intense with each of his movements. This guy was going to make me cum. Jade Phillips—top Seductor—was finally going to cum by the power of a man!

“Give it to me, Jade. Don’t you fucking dare deny yourself!” Oliver could feel my orgasm begin to take control, so he slid his fingers between us, circling my clit to help ease my release out.

When I did explode, it was earth shattering.

“Ugh…fuck…fuck…fuck,” I groaned, my entire body trembling.

Oliver continued to pound into me until he found his own release. “Fuck, yes, Jade…ugh…ugh…I knew you’d make me cum this hard!” Oh my God! He looked so hot when he climaxed.

I was still pinned against the wall, held up by his arms as we regulated our breathing.

“You see?” Oliver finally spoke. “I knew there was a wild girl in there somewhere.”
 


About the Author:
B.L. Wilde is a British author obsessed with many things, including heated love stories. Supported fully by her husband, she can often be found at her desk working on her next project.

Her journey into the world of erotica began when she started writing online stories over three years ago, and she hasn't looked back since.


Author Links:
Goodreads     |      Facebook     |      Twitter     |      Blog     |      Website

Giveaway


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, December 13, 2013

Book Blitz and Giveaway: BLOOD REBORN -The Progeny Series #4 by Ashlynne Laynne

TOUR-BANNER_Ashlynne-Laynne

 

* WARNING: Adults Only. This series contains adult sensuality, language, and themes. 

 

BR MEDIUM

BLOOD REBORN (The Progeny Series #4)

“Hell hath no fury like a Wiccan reborn.”

Shauna McCutchin and Ascher Rousseau share a deep and passionate bond that merges their Wiccan and vampire worlds. Destined, they’ve endured trials and suffered unimaginable pain in their quest for a happily ever after.

Endowed with amazing supernatural abilities and the added attributes of her new vampire existence, Shauna is a force to rival all others—a dangerous new breed of vampire that defies conventional wisdom.

Darkness shrouds the couple’s pasts and enemies are determined to ruin their future. Will Shauna surrender to the evil side of her nature, or will she stand by Ascher’s side as the Rousseaus prepare for the revolution?

Shauna will either be an immortal miracle or an unholy menace.

Excerpt from Blood Reborn:

A house full of guests were gathered in the next room, but Ascher became too impassioned to stop. He swept her into his arms, walking them to the wall farthest from the living room. Wrapping his fingers around the pink cotton, he tore the panties from beneath her matching gown and murmured against the hollow of her throat, “We have people in the living room.”

Her hand swiped across the black double dresser, scattering crystal figurines and papers onto the floor, adding to the mess from her earlier rage. “Ash, I so don’t care right now.” She squeezed his dick through the jeans, her tongue slipping along the pale skin of his neck. “I won’t scream if you don’t. You can be quiet, can’t you?” She grazed the razor point of one fang across the two moles near his throat.

Her action caused his cock to jump in response. Grasping a handful of her hair to lift her gaze to his, he growled, “You know what that does to me.”

“I know exactly what it does to you. Question is, what are you going to do about it?”

Ascher tossed her on the dresser, spreading her legs to allow his fingers access to her clit. His thumb circling the swollen button, he moaned, “I’m going to take you right here on this dresser.”

“Good, because I can’t wait until tonight.” Her fingers undid the button-fly in his jeans, her hand freeing his hard on from its denim prison. She nipped at his bottom lip, drawing blood, and then sucked on the soft flesh until the sting travelled the length of his body, making his erection pain in her hand.

Ascher knotted his fingers into the loose hair at the crown of her head. “You keep that up and you’re going to get it.”

“You promise?” With a careless lash of her clawed digits, Shauna stripped the nightgown from her body. Her bare breasts sprang free, the velvety nipples pointed with excitement. Her stare grew serious and flashed a stormy gray. “Come and get me, Ascher.”

He pulled on the French braid in her head, running his fingers along the plait until loose ribbons of dark flowing locks spilled down her back and over her face. She looked so fucking sexy, and he used every ounce of his restraint to hold back the urge to screw her into exhaustion.

Seizing her face in his hands, he took her mouth, pulling her against him and pinning his shaft to her soaked folds. “You’re mine,” he growled, edging his hips forward to feel her. The heat of her sex taunted his cock, firing an inferno in his blood. “I can’t believe you’re finally mine.”

Her head fell back in submission. “Yes. Yours. I’ll always be yours, Ascher.” She breathed winded pants. “Now fuck me.”

One minute she was restrained beneath him, her body writhing and arching against him, begging for his dick. The next, she pushed him beneath her, taking matters into her own hands. “Lie back,” she demanded, sinking to her knees and pushing him back against the wall. “I have a surprise for you.”

“Shauna, there are people in the next—Ahhh, baby what are you doing?”

“Pleasuring you.” She caught him with the full force of her silvery gaze. “Do you want me to stop?”

He felt powerless to stop her. “No.” His hands gripped the edge of the dresser, his claws shredding the black lacquered finish. “Don’t stop.”

The Progeny Series Extras

THE PROGENY/BLOOD BONDS TRAILER

THE PROGENY SERIES DREAMCAST

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Books 1-4 of The Progeny Series and the Trilogy Box Set are available for purchase at Amazon US Amazon UK BN Smashwords i books Kobo

About The Progeny Series

At its core, The Progeny Series is simply about a man and woman who fall in love. The fact that he’s a half-blood (half-human, half vampire) and she’s a Wiccan human are secondary factors. When we meet Ascher, he’s grumpy. Frankly, who could blame him? He’s engaged to seal to Ursula—a cold and careless vampire who wants nothing more than to get her hands on a bloodstone— and he feels conflicted about his existence.

All of that changes when he meets Shawnette McCutchin. She’s beautiful, intriguing and possesses some of the most potent blood that he’s ever smelled. A war immediately begins inside Ascher. He craves Shauna’s blood just as much as he craves her body and the closer they get, the harder it is for him to control his urges. After Ascher calls off the sealing to Ursula, the trouble begins. His family’s peaceful period ends when Ursula’s army attacks the Rousseaus.

This series encompasses a family dynamic of which we’ve never seen. The Rousseaus share a common mortal and immortal bloodline, but loyalty is the thread binding this clan. Shauna and Ascher’s dissuaded love only strengthens the family bonds. Their unique union transcends bloodlines and completes the prophecy, defying the beliefs of centuries old covenants while shattering the wall between the Wiccan and vampire worlds that has existed for ages. This series is erotic paranormal romance intended for adults, as it contains adult sensuality, language and themes.

 

Author

Ashlynne Laynne/Q. Lane is a songwriter, poet and author of erotic paranormal and contemporary romance, who has always had a soft spot in her heart for vampires but grew tired of the garlic fearing, sun-loathing creatures of old. An avid horror movie fan, she tends to enjoy media and music that is of a younger, more eclectic nature. This was the catalyst for her writing The Progeny.

She loves writing on the edge—combining the erotica and romance genres—and thinks of Ascher and Shauna as the wicked, damned version of Romeo and Juliet. She is currently working on book six of her Progeny Series, book one of her upcoming Alterity Series, and several novella spin offs. In her spare time, she enjoys cooking, reading and spending time with her family. She juggles the hats of wife, mother, full time employee and part-time writer, hoping to write exclusively one day soon. Find and follow her online on Twitter. Check out her Manic Readers page, Blog and Website, or leave a note in her Reader Email.

Fall of 2013, Ashlynne Laynne started her own publishing, Q-Rotic Press. The remainder of her Progeny Series and all future projects will release through this new entity.

She lives in North Carolina with her husband and son.

Ashlynne/Q on FB * The Progeny Series on FB * Twitter * Website * Reader Email * IAN* Vampire Book Realm * Amazon Author Page * GR * Ascher and Shauna's FB Page *Paranormal Romance and Beyond Blog * Fangs, Romance & Erotica Blog

Thursday, December 12, 2013

Book Blitz and Giveaway: Time for Love by Emma Kaye

Time for Love Banner 450 X 169

 

clip_image002Time for Love
Emma Kaye

Genre: Time travel romance

Publisher:The Wild Rose Press

Date of Publication: December 2013

ISBN 978-1-62830-072-7

ISBN 978-1-62830-073-4

Number of pages: 354

Word Count: 92,194

Cover Artist: Debbie Taylor

Amazon Wild Rose Publishing

Book Description:

Alexandra Turner will do anything to save her twin sister. Even when she’s transported back in time to Regency England. Rescuing her sister and finding her way back to her own time will take all her concentration. Falling in love is not an option.

With the death of his brother, Nicholas Somerville became the ninth Marquess of Oakleigh and must return to England to take his place in society. Part of his responsibility will be to find a wife. It never occurs to him he might actually discover a woman he could love--until he meets Alex on his voyage home.

Can Alex and Nicholas find a way to bridge the gap of time and circumstance? Can they overcome their fears to realize that true love transcends time? Or will a dark secret from Alex's past rear up to separate them forever?

Excerpt

Her gaze drifted to his mouth as he spoke, fascinated by the way the scar pulled slightly at the corner. She felt a strong urge to kiss that corner, to run her tongue along the seam and dip between his lips, along his teeth.

He turned away, and she blinked herself back to reality. She couldn’t believe the thoughts that kept popping into her head when she looked at him.

And she was going to be stuck on a ship with him for almost a month.

Dressed like a boy.

Wonderful.

He set off, and she rushed after him, thankful he couldn’t see the blush heating her cheeks. It was going to be a long month.

She caught up, practically jogging to keep pace with his long strides.

He looked her briefly up and down in an assessing manner that strained Alex’s nerves. “You don’t look like much of a sailor, and you’re too young to have any skill as a carpenter.”

She was surprised he hadn’t already uncovered her disguise. Her instincts warned her he wouldn’t be easy to fool, and she would be smart to keep her distance, even if distance was the last thing she wanted right now. Of course, it wouldn’t be a problem if he decided she wasn’t qualified to work on his ship.

“You’re wondering what possessed him to hire me. Perhaps he took pity on me, or maybe I’m better qualified than I look,” she replied haughtily, and immediately wished she could take the last part back. Now he might think she had some sailing skill.

He snorted, and she got the feeling amusement had replaced his annoyance, though his expression hadn’t changed.

“My guess would be pity. He sometimes has more heart than sense.” He sighed. “Despite some of his more—emotional—decisions, he’s a good first mate and has served me well. We’ll have to see how you fare.” He gave her a slightly puzzled look. “There’s something about you though. I can’t quite put my finger on it.”

Alex breathed a sigh of relief when they arrived at the tavern where she’d met the Adonis the night before. This time of the morning everything was quiet, and they had to wait a few moments before anyone came to see what they wanted.

A sour-faced woman entered the room, muttering about the hour and cursing under her breath. But after a quick glance at Nicholas’s face, she quieted and listened to his request. She told them which room the first mate was in then quickly disappeared through the door by which she had entered.

“Follow me.” Nicholas climbed the stairs and knocked loudly on the appropriate door. He didn’t wait for an answer before pushing it open.

The Adonis slept soundly in the middle of the large bed that dominated the room. A blanket draped around his hips didn’t disguise the fact he was naked.

Alex had a difficult time deciding where to look. On his left, the pretty waitress from the night before was hastily pulling the covers up to her chin, while another woman on his right merely reached over to try to waken her bed partner, as though the appearance of two people at the door was hardly cause to cover up.

“I can see why he didn’t show,” Alex muttered under her breath. She hadn’t meant to be heard, but apparently Nicholas had good hearing and laughed.

“Quite understandable,” he said, still chuckling.

Meanwhile, the first mate opened his eyes and looked up at the captain. “Bloody hell. Am I late?”

Giveaway

Amazon gift card: $25

Digital copy of Timeless Keepsakes: A Collection of Christmas Stories

a Rafflecopter giveaway

  

 

Author

clip_image004

Emma Kaye is married to her high school sweetheart and has two beautiful kids that she spends an insane amount of time driving around central New Jersey. Before ballet classes and soccer entered her life, she decided to try writing one of those romances she loved to read and discovered a new passion. She has been writing ever since. Add in a playful puppy and an extremely patient cat and she's living her own happily ever after while making her characters work hard to reach theirs

www.emma-kaye.com

www.Facebook.com/emmakayewrites

www.Twitter.com/emmakayewrites

www.Goodreads.com/emma-kaye

4 Star Review and Giveaway: Sleeper by S.M. Johnston

 

 

sleeper-HighResSleeper

by S.M. Johnston

Title: Sleeper (Book I in the Toy Soldiers series)

Author: S. M. Johnston

Release Date: December 2, 2013

Publisher: Entranced Publishing, Rush

Genre: Upper YA/NA speculative fiction
Blurb: A new heart should mean new life, not a living nightmare.
Mishca Richardson’s life is at an all-time high after her heart transplant. With new boyfriend, Ryder, the two of them have the perfect summer romance. Even the nightmares that have been plaguing her sleep since her operation can’t dull the high she’s on.


Things start to unravel as Mishca develops superhuman abilities. She does her best to hide them so as not to end up a science experiment in a lab. But she can’t ignore the instant attraction she experiences when she meets her university professor, Colin Reed.
Torn between the blossoming love and the obsession, Mishca must decide if she wants Ryder or Colin. But the organization responsible for her changes and her connection to Colin, is moving to secure Mishca for himself so that she can be the weapon he always intended her to be. If Mishca can’t resist her programming she’ll have a lot more to worry about than romance.


Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17837453-sleeper?from_search=true

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Sleeper-Toy-Soldiers-Series-Johnston-ebook/dp/B00H1IKYXW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1385976418&sr=8-1&keywords=sleeper+sm+johnston

Excerpts:

We drive in silence. I’m consumed by a nagging feeling that I’ve done something wrong. I replay the night over and over in my head, at times substituting Sophitia for me—I bet she would have kept the party going.

Ahhh!

I want to scream.

When we finally pull up, Ryder turns to me. “I am so sorry. I do not want you to be scared off. I really like you, Mishca.”

Wow!

“I really like you too, Ryder.” It feels so good to say his name. I shift uncomfortably in my seat. It’s D-day and I know it.

“There is something I should tell you. Well, two things actually.”

Okay, easy one first. “I am not very, oh, how do I put this…experienced. Before this it was just kissing. Which leads me to the next thing.”

I can see Ryder’s mind racing. No words come, so I decide to show him. Hastily, I pull my top over my head and sit before him in my skirt with my scar and bra. The shocked look on Ryder’s face is compounded when a firm hand opens the driver’s side door and pulls him from the car.

“Get. Your. Hands. Off. My. Daughter.”

I race out, grappling with my top, and continue around the car to pull Dad off Ryder, who is cringing away from the clenched fist above him. At first, I scream incoherently at my father, even though Dad has opted to throw my date to the ground instead of pummeling him. Then I look pleadingly at Mum, who has also appeared from nowhere.

“Make yourself decent.” Dad spits the words at me.

“He didn’t touch me, Dad! I was showing him my scar.”

Dad, brought up short, glares. Mum reaches out and puts a hand on his shoulder.

“She’s serious, Tom. Come inside.”

Dad spins around and stomps into the house. Mum follows him with an apologetic look.

I look at Ryder ruefully. “I’m so sorry about Dad. I thought it would be easier to show you my scar than explain.”

“Scar?” says Ryder straight-faced. “What scar? I only saw a pair of beautiful breasts.”

I hit him with my handbag. He laughs for a moment, until I hit him again. Once I’m satisfied he’s suffered enough for the “breasts” comment, I hand him an unused, but scrunched-up tissue from my clutch to clean his face where it connected with the ground.

“So,” Ryder begins tentatively, his eyes flicking skywards for a moment, “were you in an accident?”

I indicate that’s a “no” and I can immediately see the curiosity rising in his eyes. “A heart transplant.”

“Really? Sorry that was not…um…okay…wow…when?”

I give him the abridged version, hoping that he isn’t going to be scared away. The last thing I want is to be put back in the fragile box.

“Ahhh dang,” Ryder says at last. “Now that scar I got on my butt loses the number one ‘scar story’ spot. ”That cheeky grin is back. “But I guess seeing as we are sharing war stories …” He begins to unbuckle his belt.

I quickly stand in front of him and place my hands atop his to prevent further belt removal. He takes advantage and brushes his lips gently against mine, and then saunters to his car. “I’ll call you. Just let me know when it’s safe to show my face around here again.”

review

4 out of 5 Stars

SLEEPER

Sharon Johnston

Intriguing Twist In This Plot

Mishca Richardson have been walking on egg shells all her life. With a defective heart, she prays for a miracle and try to brave her world. When that miracle finally comes, a new life with new trails comes with it.

She meets Ryder who catches her attention immediately. Soon she falls head over heels for him, and life is good. Really good. Well except for a few little problems, like super human abilities that sort of make her life a little more epic. Every night since her heart transplant she’s have been having really bad dreams, thought to be from the medication she had to take. She pushes it aside and try to live her life. But when Colin comes into her life, he starts a ride she can’t get off and soon discovers the real truth behind her life and her origins.

Mischa grows up uncertain of life and because of this her steps at first are small, but as she progress into her new life her character grows with all the things being slowly exposed to her. Near the end, you start seeing a girl sick of being a freak and ready to stand up and fight back.

Ryder was the dazzling hero, sweeping in to rescue her and give her a happily ever after, or so he thought. I have to say his character wiggled its way into my heart pretty quick. I just love the hero type. When Colin steps into the plot I was pretty pissed and really not happy at all, but the more you read the more you understand each character. Although there is still much I would like to learn about Ryder.

At first it was hard to really dig into this one. I was riding from intrigued to bored and back again. As Mishca’s life unfolds, you start picking up on a few things that has you raising an eyebrow. It was near the end that the plot turns hectic and you are blown away with what really is going on with this girl. But the plot also have a few other interesting things that I hope will be revealed with the next one. I was really impressed with the turn of this plot, I wasn’t really expecting such a turn, and it was pretty awesome. All in all, the story was intriguing and left me curios with what would be happening next in this girl’s life.


Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Author

Sharon
Sharon is a writer from Mackay in Queensland, Australia who has short stories published in anthologies and was also runner-up in the Australian Literary Review's Young Adult short story contest with KARMA. By day she is a public relations executive and by night she writes weird fiction and soulful contemporaries while her husband, two sons and cat are fast asleep.

Social Media Links:
Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/authorsmjohnston
Twitter: https://twitter.com/S_M_Johnston
Website: www.smjohnston.com
Blog: www.downunderwonderings.blogspot.com

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4019418.S_M_Johnston

Goodreads Sleeper Page: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17837453-sleeper

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Author Interview with AC James, author of Eternal Ever After.

Eternal Ever After Banner 450 x 169

Today on the blog we have AC James, author of Eternal Ever After. I would like to thank AC for stopping by for the interview. Now sit back and enjoy the interview.

 

Author In

 

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I always wrote… I didn’t know I wanted to be a writer until I started typing and all of the sudden it turned into 50K and I started nodding, saying, “Yes, I do believe it looks a little bit like a book.” And then I kept going.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

I’m still not sure that I do. I tell stories. I make stuff up. And then I share stories that I hope make a connection with readers.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

Oh, I’ve done lots of things. I’ve beta tested video games. I worked in the finance department at a hospital doing medical billing and ICD-9 coding. But these days I’m just a blogger, reviewer, and I suppose I’m a storyteller.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

Eternal Ever After is a steamy Gothic Cinderella re-telling with vampires and BDSM.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

I’m an indie author. Although, I still submit to agents and publishers. I’d love to be a hybrid author.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

It depends on the book. I finished the first draft of Eternal Ever After in three months but at that point I was still considering traditional publishing. And it took me a significant amount of time to get booked with an editor. Then there were lots of revisions. The book is very different than the first draft which is how it should be.

What can we expect from you in the future? ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

I stick to paranormal romance, bdsm romance, or both. My heat levels range from steamy to erotica. I consider steamy romance the development of a romantic relationship that contains more explicit language and sex. But the sex is not an inherent part of the story, character growth, or relationship development, and if removed you still have an amazing plot and hopefully characters that readers will care about as much as I do.

Cursed Ever After will be translated into German. That’s coming out next. The second book in the Ever After series will be out either late spring or early summer. I also have some notes jotted down for a particular side character from the series that I think deserves her own book. I do have a soft spot for Victoria. And I’m toying with an idea for a supernatural rendition of a Shakespeare classic.

How long have you been writing?, and who or what inspired you to write?

I’ve been writing since I was a teenager. Mostly, poems that weren’t very good and short stories.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Yes. But I don’t respond to them. I think there’s been a lot of controversy on different reading sites and I like to stay out of all that. However, I think there’s a lot you can learn from reading reviews. I want people reading and discussing my books. If readers don’t feel comfortable discussing a book because an author inserts themselves into that online discussion—the discussion stops. That’s the last thing *I* want ;) Everyone is entitled to their opinion.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

I definitely choose the title after the book is written.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

Character names aren’t always concrete with me. But I tend to keep the setting the same. Sometimes elements within a setting change as the story progresses. Then I have to make sure the changes don’t impact the storyline on revision. Google maps is a wonderful thing.

Are character names and place names decided after their creation? Or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?

No, characters are usually the first thing I think about and then I drop them into a situation with a conflict and I write until they figure out a way out of that conflict.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

A little bit of both.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

Well it’s your typical good conquering evil archetype. But I usually don’t get too hung up on worrying about theme. That tends to write itself. I just tell the story ;)

 

Remember to check out today’s book blitz to find out more about AC James and her novel Eternal Ever After.

Book Blitz and Giveaway: Eternal Ever After - Ever After Series Book 1 by A.C. James

Eternal Ever After Banner 450 x 169

 

 

clip_image002Eternal Ever After
Ever After Series Book 1

A.C. James

Genre: Erotic Paranormal Romance

Publisher: Wandering Impulse Press

Date of Publication: 11/23/13

E-Book: 978-0-9911485-0-9

Print: 978-0-9911485-1-6

ASIN:

Number of pages: 307

Word Count: 88K

Cover Artist: Ramona Lockwood

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/VefnxkHGiXM

Book Description:

His past holds a secret…

Arie Cush has a secret that he thought he’d left behind. When his past follows him to Chicago he must protect someone that reminds him of all the painful memories he’s tried so hard to forget. But when every touch from her sets his heart and body on fire—he finds it hard to maintain his aloof fa├žade.

That becomes her nightmare.

Holly Ellis has secrets of her own. An encounter with the handsome stranger who frequents her coffee shop reveals a vampire with baggage. Even though it might be more than she bargained for, she can’t resist the one person who understands her. But her life is in danger and a supernatural threat could reveal the underground world of vampires to humankind in this Gothic Cinderella re-telling.

Inside Scoop: This story contains bondage, anal play, a M/F primary romance with mild F/F situations.

Warning: This book is fictitious. The bdsm portrayed in this story does not portray the lifestyle. Vampires will be vampires. They don’t exactly stop to discuss a scene, pain thresholds, and there is no aftercare involved. Trust is an intrinsic part of the lifestyle. Use due diligence and research before deciding to make fiction into reality.

Heat Level: This book is a steamy romance. It’s the development of a romantic relationship that contains more explicit language and sex. The sex is not an inherent part of the story, character growth, or relationship development, and if removed you still have an amazing plot.

Excerpt:

“If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink.”

–Holy Bible: King James Version

PREFACE

I never guessed that I could die with a sea of faces surrounding me, all cheering for my death. A woman wearing a jacket dress made of brocade only laughed louder when blood splattered the low square neckline. Where is Arie? I scanned the crowded club but all I could see were pale faces, some half covered by masks.

My time had come and I prayed she would finish me off quickly. The warm trickle of blood ran down my neck and chest, saturating the corset bustier of my gown. It seemed like a shame to ruin such a pretty dress. Strangely, I felt relieved the bodice was black and not a light color that would show a stain.

The fear of dying or more accurately, the fear of not existing, scared me stiff. Perhaps if I had satisfied this existential anxiety with faith I wouldn’t jump from panic to ambivalence. I should be angry at everyone who simply watched. They must think the gruesome display is part of the entertainment for tonight. After the bloody burlesque show I could hardly blame them.

Holly, I gave you the chance to leave. The telepathic transference hardly seemed relevant at this point. I knew if I’d never gone to the Hellfire Club, I wouldn’t be facing death now. Still, if my death meant the killings would stop it seemed justifiable.

“No!” I could barely hear Arie scream above the cheering voices clamoring for attention. The constant drone defies my effort to form coherent thoughts. I looked up and could see him on the balcony. When I blinked he had disappeared into the throng. I could feel the blood continue to trickle down my neck as she drained me. Dizziness threatened to pull me under. The audience applauded her brutality. I crumpled at her feet, looking up at her smile as thin as paper.

Blood. So much blood. My blood.

I didn’t want this to be the story of my death but this part is only a fragment of a narrative as old as time. Its voices fill the shadows with whispers of legend. We are told that the damned cease to exist and those absolved from sin are given eternal life. The damned can never be saved. They walk the earth in an eternal hell. I fear it will be my curse if death doesn’t claim me instead.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Author

 

clip_image004

A.C. James—author of erotic paranormal romance and erotica featuring bdsm. Wife, mother, sushi lover, and storyteller extraordinaire. She resides in northeast Pennsylvania drinking large vats of coffee while taming two toddlers by day and writing by night. 

Web/Blog: www.acjames.com

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/ApQ7z

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ACJamesauthor

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/AC-James/129228540578101

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/17238073-ac-james

clip_image006

Series Blitz and Giveaway: The Alchemy Series by Donna Augustine

ALCHEMY SERIES TOUR BUTTON

 

 

The Keepers coverThe Keepers

The Alchemy Series, #1

Two days ago, Jo Davids was a waitress by night and a college kid by day, with the unnerving problem of objects floating around her.
One Day ago, Jo's sexy boss, Cormac, noticed her for all the wrong reasons when she witnessed a man transform into a monster in the basement of his casino.
Today, Cormac ordered her shot.
If he's real lucky, she won't die. Because if she does, all hope is lost.

Amazon (Paperback & eBook):

http://www.amazon.com/The-Keepers-Alchemy-Series-ebook/dp/B00CBNM3X6/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1

Barnes & Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-keepers-donna-augustine/1116010035?ean=2940148123590

 

Keepers & Killers coverKeepers and Killers

The Alchemy Series, #2

The story of Jo and Cormac continues on in this fast paced drama.
It's very hard to work with someone who tried to murder me. But when the mysterious senator reappears on the scene, I'm desperate enough to take whatever help I can get, even if it is from Cormac. Dealing with him is nothing compared to losing a few hundred lives and that's the best case scenario. Worst case? I lose them all.

Amazon (Paperback & eBook):

http://www.amazon.com/Keepers-Killers-Alchemy-Series-ebook/dp/B00E5O75RS

Barnes & Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/keepers-killers-donna-augustine/1116214538?ean=2940148777700

 

Shattered coverShattered

Alchemy Series Book #3
I thought I could be a hero. That was before I helped destroy the world. Now, as I stand among the rubble of what used to be, I wonder how we're ever going to pick up the pieces.
Everyday is a struggle, and people are getting desperate. Creatures that never should have existed are picking away at the dwindling numbers of the human race. And the knowledge that could be our salvation lies with the senator who reigns supreme on the other half of the globe.
Barnes Link:
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/shattered-donna-augustine/1117397917?ean=2940148961765
Amazon Link:
http://www.amazon.com/Shattered-Alchemy-Series-Donna-Augustine-ebook/dp/B00GNJB1CS/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1384486081&sr=8-2&keywords=shattered+augustine

Giveaway

 

GRAND PRIZE: a Signed paperback set of THE ALCHEMY series & a $10.00 Gift Card to Amazon (international winner will get eBooks instead of paperbacks)

RUNNERS-UP: 3 runners up will receive an eBook of choice from THE ALCHEMY series

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Author

Donna Augustine’s lifelong ambition was to become the crazy cat lady. Unfortunately, when family allergies cut short her dream of living in a house full of furries, she turned her ambitions toward writing. Combining her love of fantasy, sci-fi, horror and romance, she tries to string together interesting twists on urban fantasy.

A native of New Jersey, when she isn’t writing or over dosing on caffeine, she can occasionally be spotted in disguise at the local dog park.

Website: Www.donnaaugustine.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Donnaaugustinebooks

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DonnAugustine

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6604148.Donna_Augustine

Donna Augustine Banner

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Character Interview with Drake Devilin from Devil’s Play by author Kenya

Devils Play Banner 450 x 169 DEC

Holy heck girls, today we have Drake Devilin from Devil’s Play, by author  Kenya Carlton for an interview. Now no licking the screen, let’s keep it nice and clean girls.

Character

Character Name: Drake Devilin

Character Bio: WWI Captain of a team of genetically engineered beast

 

clip_image002Describe yourself, what is your worst and best quality?

Loyalty and loyalty.

What is the one thing you wish other people knew about you?

Where my heart really is.

What is your biggest secret, something no one knows about?

If I tell you I would have to eat you.

What are you most afraid of?

Losing.

What do you want more than anything?

Peace of mind.

What is your relationship status?

Married, very happily (;

clip_image004

How would you describe your sense of fashion?

What’s clean and nearby.

How much of a rebel are you?

Rules are for other people.

What do you consider to be your greatest achievement?

Understanding where I’m supposed to be and when I’m supposed to be there.

What is your idea of happiness?

Peace, did I say that earlier? Then you get the picture.

What is your current state of mind?

Gratitude.

What is your most treasured possession?

My family.

Which living person do you most despise?

He’s not worth mentioning.

What is your greatest regret?

Wasting time, and she knows what I mean.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?

A challenge, but if you would have asked me that before my wife it would have been a different answer entirely.

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

My focus is unyielding it can sometimes get in the way.

Remember to check out today’s book blitz to find out more about him and his world.

Book Blitz and Giveaway: Devil’s Play - Sweet as Sin Series Book Two by Kenya Carlton

Devils Play Banner 450 x 169 DEC

 

clip_image002Devil’s Play
Sweet as Sin Series Book Two

Kenya Carlton

Genre: Paranormal Multicultural Erotic

Publisher: Parker Publishing

Date of Publication: May 25, 2013

ISBN: 978-1-60043-130-2

Number of pages: 169

Book Description:

Snuggled within the warm embrace of marital bliss, biologically altered army Captain Drake Devilin and his supernatural bride Sienna face their biggest challenge to date. Called back for duty in World War II, Drake must leave his amazing life behind and join his troop to fight the Nazis.  Although he’s certain his new mission is merely a rouse to obtain his most precious commodity, his wife, Drake leaves, but not before giving Sienna a magical necklace in the hope it will protect her against unknown enemies.

Lured from her prosperous island by a sorcerer who is convinced she was always meant to be his bride. Sienna is challenged to play three magical games to ensure her husband’s safe return. In each game, a limited time is given to Sienna to immerse herself into a new world, situation, and persona; find Drake; and have him acknowledge her by name. And she can’t use her powers to make it happen.

Everything dear to Sienna’s heart is put in jeopardy. Willing to fight for the love of her life and her happiness, Sienna takes on the sorcerer in his own game of cat and mouse.

Giveaway

 

5-$5 Amazon or Starbucks- winner’s choice

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Author

Native of Chicago Illinois, Kenya worked in the Network operation Center for PBS and TLN television stations. Executive producer of her own production company Black R.O.K Productions Kenya produced a pilot for travel series Destination Everywhere, Independent short film Dawn shown at the Chicago Latino film Festival, and wrote and directed the documentary Our Africa. Writing titles available; Jaded, Sweet as Sin, Brazil re-issue, Devil’s Play, and Remember This.

Kcbookcafe.com

Twitter @kcbookcafe