Saturday, May 31, 2014

Happy Birthday Little Dakota @raebethmcgee

banner


Presented by:
Sparkle Blog Button

z537b1c6c0a313


book info
Saying Goodbye without Saying Hello is my journey through my pregnancy in 2012-2013 with my second daughter, Dakota Emily. Everything went well throughout the pregnancy and when I went into labor, I found out she had passed. The autopsy revealed no reason for her death despite all the concerns that I had during the pregnancy. This book captures my entire journey and each feeling I had during the pregnancy, her passing, and after.
 
 
 
covergifTitle: Saying Goodbye Without Saying Hello
Author: RaeBeth McGee-Buda
Genre: Non-Fiction
Audience:  Adult
Formats: mobi & epub
Publisher: Self-Published; Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
Cover By: Marcy Rachel Designs
Editor: Lee Ryder
Pages: 230
ISBN-10: 1492110884
ASIN: B00FWTKRTI
Date Published: October 15, 2013








blurb
The journey of pregnancy brings hope, joy, and love for the expecting mother. The hope of giving birth to a new life. The joy of feeling this new life grow inside of her. The love that starts with a test that doesn’t ever end. Dreams for the unborn child flood the new mother’s mind, as well as those around her. Each step of the pregnancy is a cherished moment. The anticipation of meeting her cherished baby builds from the very first month and ends after birth.
This is the story of one mother and how a few words changed her life forever. How a piece of her faded when she heard these words: “There’s no heartbeat.” When RaeBeth Buda laid in the hospital in labor, she and her husband heard those dreaded words.
What happens when all of those dreams are shattered in a moment’s notice? How does one cope with the loss of their child? This is the story of their journey and of the devastating grief of the loss of her daughter, Dakota Emily Buda.


book links
Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/1eo1KsS


94884507b
 
party
Come and join Dakota’s Birthday Celebration with us.
 
excerpt
  Around 1:00 on the morning of the 27th, a person from the OB floor called my name. I motioned him over. He grabbed the wheelchair and pushed me through the halls. Mom and Greg followed closely behind. When we finally got to the sixth floor, they took me into triage room one.
“Hello, what brings you in?” The woman asked as she came in.
“I think we’re about to have a baby.” I answered her with a smile.
Why else would we be there? It’s not everyday people like to hang out in the OB part of the hospital for no reason at all.
“Okay, you’ll need to strip from your waste down. I’ll need a sample of your urine here in this cup and put the rest in the plastic bin. I’ll be back in a few minutes to hook you up.” She instructed as she pointed to the small toilet in the room.
It was a good thing I had to go. I looked over at my mom and Greg as I said, “Hope I can do this without peeing all over the place.” Of course, I tried to make both laugh and succeeded. As I pulled down my panties, I noticed a small amount of blood. My mom and Greg noticed too.
“The bloody show. You’re definitely not going anywhere any time soon.” My mom said with a smile. “We’re gonna have a baby!” She chanted excitedly.
The only thing I could come back with was, “Or she’s in distress.”
“Don’t think like that. All will be fine. Have some faith.” My mom said to calm me down and comfort me.
Once I was ready to get on to the bed, I slowly made my way with Greg’s help. I laid back and the contractions were much stronger. Around one in the morning, the nurse finally came back in, shut the door, and walk to the left side of the bed. She grabbed a strap and placed it on my belly. “This will monitor the contractions, which I see you’re definitely having.”
Once the strap was in place, she fiddled with the machine for a few minutes and said, “Let’s find that heartbeat.”
She grabbed the gel, put a good bit on my belly, and grabbed the Doppler. Once she spread out the gel, she started searching for Dakota’s heartbeat. I couldn’t wait to hear it. It was only a matter of seconds before I’d hear it.
She kept moving around on my belly. I pointed to right side of my belly button and said, “This is usually where my doctor found her heartbeat without a problem.” She moved the device there. We still didn’t hear anything.
After another squirt of gel on my belly, she searched again. My heart raced and panic overtook me. Something was wrong. I could feel it. I glanced at my mom and Greg. They were worried too. I saw Greg swallow hard and turned my attention back to the nurse.
“Sometimes it takes time to find the heartbeat. The baby could be lying with her back towards yours, which makes it hard for the machine to pick it up. I’m going to get an ultrasound machine. That will definitely pick it up.” The nurse said, as she placed the Doppler back and walked out of the room.
My mom saw worry and panic cross my face. She stood up from her chair and walked over to me. “Let’s pray” she said. My mom, Greg, and I said a quick prayer while we waited on the nurse. Within a few minutes, the door opened and the nurse pushed in an ultrasound machine. She plugged it in and turned it on.
As she stood to the right of me, Greg and my mom were on my left. My mom held my leg and Greg took a hold of my hand. I eagerly wanted the nurse to put a fire under her ass and hurry up. It seemed like everyone and everything started moving in slow motion. The nurse began looking at Dakota through the ultrasound.
At first, I couldn’t tell what was on the screen. What I noticed was that she was not trying to hear her heart but to see it. That was when it came into view. My daughter’s heart was not beating. I rubbed my eyes, thinking they were playing a trick on me. The nurse stood up and walked out of the room without saying a word.
Moments later, three other medical personnel walked into the room. They whispered in their small circle where we couldn’t hear and continued looking at the screen. The room was quiet. I heard the ultrasound machine running and could have heard a pin drop. I knew my baby was gone by the look on their faces, but no one said anything.
“Ummm, hello? Someone tell me what’s going on?” I yelled. I was tired of it. I knew what this meant, but I wanted them to say it. It was not final until someone had said it.
The doctor closest to me said, “I’m sorry. She’s gone.”
 
trailer
 
lp.aspx 
 
 
poem
 
poemgif 
 
  patry
 
anigif 
 
  playlist
 
 
   
giveaway
1 x Signed Copy of Saying Goodbye Without Saying Hello (US Only)
1 x Signed Postcard
1 x Magnet
1 x $5 Amazon GC
 
 



about
clip_image004Best Selling Author, RaeBeth McGee-Buda is resides in a tiny valley at the ridges of the Application Mountains in Fairchance, Pennsylvania, with her husband and daughter, her dog, Cody, and her newest family addition, Romeow her pure white cat.
She’s been writing in some form her entire life, but loving young sister, Audra McGee noticed her talent, and gave her the reassurance she needed to start her writing career. After many months of deliberation, RaeBeth decided to trust her sister’s word and expand her short story into what we all know and love as The Silenced Series.
RaeBeth is a mother to an angel in Heaven...Miss Dakota, whom she honored in Saying Goodbye Without Saying Hello. Her goals for her books are to inspire and give hope. She is a Christian author, who firmly believes in God and incorporates her faith into some of her work.


media
 
follow
Tour Schedule - One Week Blog Tour for Saying Goodbye… Without Saying Hello by RaeBeth McGee-Buda from May 26 to June 1, 2014.
May 26
Blushing Divas Book Reviews - Spotlight with Excerpt
Bound 2 Escape - Spotlight with Excerpt
Karen Swart - Spotlight with Excerpt, Dakota's Birthday Party, Dakota's Playlist & Dakota's Poem
Movies, Shows & Books - Spotlight with Excerpt & Dakota's Playlist
May 27
Crazy Beautiful Reviews - Review, Dakota's Playlist & Dakota's Poem
Idle Musings of a Writer's Mind - Spotlight with Excerpt, Review & Author Interview
A Book Addict's Delight - Spotlight with Excerpt
May 28
Book Hostage - Spotlight with Excerpt
JeanzBookReadNReview - Spotlight with Excerpt, Review (TBA) , Author Interview, Dakota's Birthday Party, Dakota's Playlist & Dakota's Poem
May 29
Kim's Book Blog - Spotlight with Excerpt, Review & Dakota's Birthday Party
For The Love of Books - Spotlight with Excerpt, Review, Dakota's Birthday Party, Dakota's Playlist & Dakota's Poem
May 30
Cajun Book Lover - Spotlight with Excerpt, Dakota's Playlist & Dakota's Poem
As You Wish Reviews - Spotlight with Excerpt, Dakota's Birthday Party, Dakota's Playlist & Dakota's Poem
Darkest Cravings - Spotlight with Excerpt, Dakota's Birthday Party, Dakota's Playlist & Dakota's Poem
May 31
Bottles & Books Reviews - Review, Dakota's Birthday Party, Dakota's Playlist & Dakota's Poem
Fallen Over Book Reviews - Dakota's Birthday Party, Dakota's Playlist & Dakota's Poem
Eclipse Reviews - Spotlight with Excerpt, Dakota's Birthday Party, Dakota's Playlist & Dakota's Poem
June 1
Book Nook Nuts - Spotlight with Excerpt & Review
Our New Generation for Reading - Spotlight with Excerpt
Kitty Muse and Me - Spotlight with Excerpt, Dakota's Birthday Party, Dakota's Playlist & Dakota's Poem
Debbie Jeans - Review

Friday, May 30, 2014

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Shunned No More by @CMcKnightWriter

Shunned No More Banner 450 x 169

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002Shunned No More

A Lady Forsaken

Book 1

Christina McKnight

Genre: Historical Romance, Regency

Publisher: La Loma Elite Publishing

Date of Publication: May 30, 2014

ISBN: 9780988261723

Number of pages: 300 Approximate

Word Count: 75,000 Approximate

Cover Artist: LFD Designs for Authors

Book Description:

A Lady Shunned by All…

Lady Viola Oberbrook only wanted to forget the ill-fated early morning duel that took the lives of two young, wealthy, promising men of the ton and sent her fleeing for her father’s country estate. Eight years later, she has her life in order: a fulfilling business, a few trusted friends, and no plans to return to London society. What she doesn’t expect is to come face to face with her past.

A Lord Betrayed by One…

Brock Spencer, Earl of Haversham, only wants vengeance. Recently returned from his military service to the King, his plans include repairing his family estate, finding a bride, and destroying the girl responsible for the untimely death of his twin brothers. What he doesn’t anticipate is falling in love with the only woman who should never be part of his future.

An Impossible Match, Destined to Be…

Add Shunned No More to your Goodreads Shelf  or get it now on Amazon !

  authorinterview

 

How long did it take to get your first book published?

I started writing Only In Her Dreams for NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) November 2011 and published it August of 2012. Wow! That’s less than a year! This wasn’t the first novel I wrote (by any means), but my first publishable piece.

 

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

My latest completed book is Shunned No More, A Lady Forsaken (Book One). The best way for me to develop a story is to ask myself questions. Here are some of the questions I asked myself when plotting Shunned No More:

 

What if a young girl was responsible for a man’s death because of a duel she egged on?

Then...what if BOTH men died?

I took it one step further...what if the men were brothers?

 

Okay, that’s 34 words! I tried, I really, really did, but it usually takes me 75,000 words (minimum) to tell a story.

 

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

I self-publish under La Loma Elite Publishing.

 

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

From original idea to completed first draft is usually 45 days. I write fast…the problem is I edit slow, LOL.

 

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

Currently, I’m focusing on my favorite genre, Historical Romance. I have two more books out in the next year in my A Lady Forsaken series, plus a novella…oh, and I’ve been plotting TWO more Historical Romance series.

 

What genre would you place your books into?

Shunned No More, A Lady Forsaken (Book One) is a Regency Era Historical Romance. Many would call it a Sweet Historical Romance.

 

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

I grew up pilfering my mom’s Historical Romance novels off her bookshelf. I fell in love with the time period and characters created by great authors, including Amanda Quick and Christina Dodd. Regency England was a time and place full of dashing men and elegant woman who lived grand lifestyles. This was truly a magical time in history.

 

How long have you been writing?, and who or what inspired you to write?

Growing up, I was the student who wrote ten pages for a two page book report. In college my dissertation was twice the required page count. My mom hounded me for years to write fiction. We frequently read the same books and I’d guess the ending half way through…to both our surprise, I was right most of the time. If I wasn’t right, my mom said my ending was better. I think I’ve always been a writer, but it’s only been in the last eleven years that I’ve really applied myself to developing complete stories.

 

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

My days are pretty chaotic. To best use my time, I edit in the early morning hours, usually from 4:45am to 6:15am during the week and I write in the evenings and on weekends. For me, it is hard to write a love scene first thing in the morning…all I want is to brush my teeth and take a shower; do you know what I mean? LOL. Now, in the evening after my daughter is in bed, the clothes come off, so to speak.

 

I can write pretty much anywhere I have internet access, but my favorite place in on my front porch--with a glass of wine.

 

 

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Ummmm, no…I mean, yes. How can a writer NOT read their reviews? I think it makes me a better writer to know where readers think I fall short. I want to tell the best story I can in each of my books.

 

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I use mostly family names in my books. Shunned No More’s heroine is named Viola, which is my daughter’s middle name. In my first book, Only In Her Dreams (The Oneiroi Series), most of my characters are named after my mother’s Italian relatives (i.e. Lucessa Sarcona).

 

I select the locale of my books based on my knowledge of certain areas. Shunned No More is set in Regency England, a place and time period I’ve spent years researching. My Oneiroi Series is set in my home town of Modesto, CA. 

 

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

I bought my first Kindle in 2010 and love the convenience of it. With that said, I do buy every JR Ward book in hardback. There is something to be said about going to bed with sore hands from holding a 500+ page book open for hours at a time. 

 

Your favorite food is?

PIZZA! I can never turn down pizza. It is my kryptonite. Pepperoni and black olive with extra red sauce! Thick crust is a total bonus.

 

Your favorite color is?

Anyone who knows me knows I have enough purple in my wardrobe to last for at least 20 days. My toenails are purple, my license plate frame is purple…and my cats have jeweled purple collars.

 

But if I had to pick a favorite color it would be teal. JK!

 

Your favorite Author is?

I wish I could commit to having one favorite author; unfortunately I can’t pick just one! I adore all the great Historical Romance writers, including Stephanie Laurens, Amanda Quick, Christina Dodd, Julia Quinn, Pamela Britton, Catherine Gayle, and Julie Garwood.

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

abouttheauthor 

 

clip_image004

Christina McKnight is a book lover turned writer. From a young age, her mother encouraged her to tell her own stories. She’s been writing ever since. Currently, she focuses on Historical Romance, Urban Fantasy, and Paranormal Romance.

Christina enjoys a quiet life in Northern California with her family, her wine, and lots of coffee. Oh, and her books…don’t forget her books! Most days she can be found writing, reading, or traveling the great state of California.

Twitter! https://twitter.com/#!/CMcKnightWriter

Blog: www.christinamcknight.com

FB: https://www.facebook.com/ChristinaMcKnightWriter

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Freakquency by Caddell Brown

Freakquency Banner 450 x 169_thumb[1]

 

bookblast

 

 

clip_image002_thumb[1]Freakquency

Caddell Brown

Genre: Speculative, Supernatural, Horror, Erotica

Publisher: NomaBlack

Date of Publication: 02/14/2014

ASIN: B00I7JJN1I

Number of pages: 187

Word Count: 47000

Cover Artist: NomaBlack

Purchase at Amazon

Book Description:

What southern-grown, rock star Rick Chamberland doesn’t know about his family’s dark past comes to light when he returns home to Louisiana at the request of his mother. Rick has spent the last fifteen years of his life dedicated to music, touring the world, completely oblivious to the secrets coded in his legacy.

Meanwhile, Song Peters, a dutiful daughter taking care of a dying mother, dreams of the day she can break free of small town life and pursue her one true passion, singing. Rick meets Song and instantly sparks ignite.

They make beautiful music together and soon find that they share similar upbringings. Rick comes to learn that their families are supernaturally intertwined and that the one denominator (a demon by the name Nova) connected to both families threatens to destroy them all if they do not obey.

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/3GNhCI_vMyE

character

 

Character Name: Rick Chamberland

Character Bio: Rick (Richard Jean-Louis) Chamberland is a southern boy turned international superstar, born in southern Louisiana in the fictitious town of DeCharles. Rick was born to two parents: Jonathan Edward Chamberland and Rose Marie (Adellaide) Chamberland. Rick's father died when Rick was four years old. As a result of his father's death, Rick was raised by his mother and watched over from time to time by his mother's maid and confidant, Lucretia Bouvier. Rick was home-schooled for most of his life by private tutors hired by his mother. He showed signs at an early age of talent in singing and playing musical instruments. His mother fostered his abilities and set her sights on creating a name and a career for her son.

Rick today is internationally known as a popstar singer/songwriter/musician. When he isn't in the recording studio, he is crisscrossing the globe touring constantly. He has a reputation as a ladies' man, a reputation he upholds. He never settles for one woman longer than a couple of weeks. He is something of a commitment-phobe. Early in his career he was called affectionately so, a mama's boy, because his mother managed the start of his singing career. But now that she hasn't been his manager for some time, the press has let up on that moniker. He is private where concerns his family and his mother. He visits her only on occasion so as to keep the paparazzi from pestering her, his past and his home. He is very protective of his mother and his life away from the spotlight.

 

 

clip_image002 Take this image, then imagine singer Justin Timberlake. He is my Rick Chamberland.

 

Describe yourself what is your worst and best quality?

Best quality – my looks and my talent. Worst quality – indecisiveness.

What is the one thing you wish other people knew about you?

Nothing. They already know too much.

What is your biggest secret something no one knows about?

I don’t have any secrets.

What are you most afraid of?

The ocean.

What do you want more than anything?

To be the first singer to broadcast a concert from space.

What is your relationship status?

Single

How would you describe your sense of fashion?

International country-boy, if there is such a fashion style. You know I once wore a silver suit for a music video. It was terribly hot but I looked good while wearing it.

How much of a rebel are you?

On a scale from one to ten about a seven. My mom would kill me if I go too far.

What do you considered to be your greatest achievement?

Singing for the President and his wife. And, singing for the Queen of England. That was…that was nuts.

What is your idea of happiness?

The ocean. Okay, not the ocean but the beach, the sand, wind, tropical climates. No noise, no phones, no photographers just quiet. Gee, I think I need to schedule a vacation. [laughs]

What is your current state of mind?

My current state of mind…I need a vacation. [laughs again]

What is your most treasured possession?

My mother. I mean, like my family. She’s all the family I have. But you want something inanimate, like a material possession. Okay, let’s see, my army jeep. I bought one recently. It’s the kind that has no top; kinda like those guys drove on the television series M.A.S.H. I’m having it restored. I can’t wait to drive it around while on vacation on a beach somewhere.

What is your most marked characteristic?

My eyes. Most women like it. My nose. I get from my Dad, as well as my height. My talent. I can’t tell you where that came from.

What is it that you, most dislike?

Lots of personal, invasive questions. Kinda like this interview. [smile] Just kidding. I don’t do these type interviews a lot, so…you’re welcome.

Which living person do you, most despise?

Living? Um, no one. Dead? Well, there’s one that comes to mind, but I won’t say who.

What is your greatest regret?

I missed out on the normal stuff growing up. You know, from going to school, to softball practices, summer camp. Stuff like that I didn’t get to do like other kids.

What is the quality you most like in a man?

In a man? Loyalty. Standing by your woman. Not running off…or dying and leaving her to fend for herself. That’s tough.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?

You want me to answer honestly? [laughs] Um, I like humor. If she can make me laugh…that’s a start.

Who is your favorite hero in fiction?

Batman

Which living person do you most admire?

Obama. I mean, President Obama.

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

Nothing. I’m perfect. [grins]

What is your motto?

All or nothing.

 

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

abouttheauthor

 

clip_image004_thumb

Caddell Brown, born and raised in East Texas, authors a range of speculative fiction. Among her early influences are artist Rene Magritte, film director Andrei Tarkovsky and author Dan Simmons.

Web Blog Twitter

Facebook Goodreads Amazon

Freakquency Facebook Tumblr Pinterest

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

New Release!! Crane by @Rourkewrites

releasebanner


Presented by:

New release

covergif
Title: Crane
Series: Legends Saga Book 1
Author: Stacey Rourke
Genre: NA paranormal 
Audience: Older teens and up 
Formats: eBook and print 
Publisher: Anchor Group Publishing 
Cover By: Najla Qamber Designs 
Editor: There for You Editing 
Date Published: May 26, 2014
 
 
 
 
 










 


green2
The Horseman is unending,
his presence shan’t lessen.
If you break the curse,
you become the legend.
Washington Irving and Rip Van Winkle had no choice but to cover up the deadly truth behind Ichabod Crane’s disappearance. Centuries later, a Crane returns to Sleepy Hollow awakening macabre secrets once believed to be buried deep.
What if the monster that spawned the legend lived within you?
Now, Ireland Crane, reeling from a break-up and seeking a fresh start, must rely on the newly awakened Rip Van Winkle to discover the key to channeling the darkness swirling within her. Bodies are piling high and Ireland is the only one that can save Sleepy Hollow by embracing her own damning curse.
But is anyone truly safe when the Horseman rides?


green3
clip_image004smashwords iconbarnes and noble iconamazon-black-icon
bannergif

trailer
youtube



giveaway
green4
 
authorgifThe Gryphon Series is written by Stacey Rourke. She lives in Michigan with her husband, two beautiful daughters, and two giant, drooly dogs. Stacey loves to travel, has an unhealthy shoe addiction and considers herself blessed to make a career out of talking to the imaginary people that live in her head. She is currently hard at work on the continuations of this series as well as other literary projects. The Gryphon Series is available wherever fine books are sold.








media links
Contact Info: Visit the author at www.staceyrourke.com
Twitter @Rourkewrites
clip_image007clip_image008clip_image010
release join
Three Day Release Blast Schedule - Crane, Legends Saga #1 by Stacey Rourke on May 26, 27 and 28, 2014.
May 26
Crazy Beautiful Reviews - www.crazybeautifulreviews.blogspot.com
Mommy's Late Night Book-up - http://mommyslatenightbookup.blogspot.com/
Sweet Treat Reading Reviews - http://strreviews.blogspot.com/
Blushing Divas Book Reviews - http://www.blushingdivasbookreviews.com
That Bites-Book Talk Reviews - http://www.michelle808205.blogspot.com/
May 27
Clarissa Wild's Blog - http://clarissawild.blogspot.com
Cu's Ebook Giveaways - http://cusebookgiveaways.us
Our New Generation for Reading - http://jessica13bridgers.blogspot.com/
For The Love of Books - http://www.ftlobblog.blogspot.com
Lindsay And Janes Views And Reviews -http://lindsayandjaneviewsandreviews.blogspot.co.uk/
Becca Anne's Book Reviews - http://beccaannesbookreviews.blogspot.com
Because Reading Is Better Than Real Life - http://www.becausereading.com
May 28
Patricia D. Eddy - http://www.pdeddy.com
Booky Ramblings of a Neurotic Mom -http://bookyramblingsofaneuroticmom.blogspot.co.uk/
Angee's After Thoughts - www.angeesafterthoughts.com