Thursday, April 17, 2014

Book Blast, Giveaway and more: Nightmare Ink by @marcellaburnard

Nightmare Ink Banner 450 x 169

 

bookblast

 

 

clip_image002Nightmare Ink

Marcella Burnard

Release Date: April 2014

Publisher: Intermix

Genre: Urban Fantasy

ISBN: 91101630228

Book Description:

With the needle of a tattoo gun, Isa Romanchzyk has the power to create and destroy. In her shop Nightmare Ink, Isa helps those in need by binding the powers embedded in their Live Ink—the magical tattoos that can enhance the life of the wearer, or end it. But binding tattoos has earned Isa the contempt of her fellow artists—including her former lover Daniel.

When a friend comes to the shop with a tattoo on the verge of killing him, Isa can’t turn him away. For the first time in years, she works Live Ink into someone’s skin—something she swore she’d never do again. But breaking her vow soon becomes the least of her problems.

Isa is horrified to discover her friend’s body in the shop, but the real nightmare begins when she’s abducted and inked against her will. Now, as she seeks retribution from the man who betrayed her, Isa must figure out how to bind her Living Tattoo before it consumes her completely...

excerpt

Isa refused to let the multiple puncture wounds in her thigh paralyze her. Entirely. Especially not when Troy texted that someone wanted a flat ink tattoo from her.

She hobbled through the snow to Nightmare Ink.

A tall, slender young man with neat black hair and dark eyes opened the shop door as if he’d been watching for her. He wore dress slacks, a crisp white shirt, and a navy sweater.

“Ria,” Isa said. “You look—”

“Like I belong in church with my grandmother?” he interrupted, smiling. “I will be shortly. Your coat. Allow me.”

“Thank you.”

As Ria took her jacket, Isa caught Troy Daschel, a flat ink artist leasing shop space from her, eyeing the pair of them from where he sat behind the reception desk. He rose and held out a hand. “Here. I’ll hang that up.”

“Gracias.” Ria gave Troy her coat. “I understand you are injured, seƱora. I am sorry to hear this. You are well enough to do a tattoo for me?”

“It’s nothing serious,” Isa said. “Come on back. We’ll get the paperwork filled out . . .”

“Already done,” Troy said over his shoulder as he hung her coat in the back hallway.

“Have a seat,” Isa said, leading Ria around the reception desk to her station. “What are we doing?”

He settled into the chair as she switched on her work light. His gaze on hers, Ria turned his face so the overhead lamp spotlighted his left cheekbone. The light caught the three ink teardrops tattooed there.

“A fourth.”

Isa’s heart bumped down her ribs to her toes.

Teardrop tattoos were supposed to represent a tally of the murders the wearer had committed. It didn’t stop thug wannabes and stars promoting an image from getting teardrops inked on their faces.

But Ria wasn’t a wannabe.

Isa didn’t know what the young gang leader and his gang did in Ballard. Didn’t want to know. It was enough that Ria had been her first customer at Nightmare Ink. He came to her when he wanted tattoos. He brought his people suffering Ink Madness to her for binding.

Still watching her, he put a hand in his pocket and brought forth a gold and onyx ring like the one he wore, like all of his people wore.

“Emilio,” he said. “Tragic, senseless waste. Stupid. His funeral is in two hours.”

Isa rubbed the heel of one hand up her forehead.

“A quarter of the Seattle Police Department is inspecting my basement, Ria,” she whispered. “Do you really want to advertise the fact that you killed one of your own people with cops crawling all over?”

His fist closed on the ring until his knuckles turned white. “Yes. I do. Think of the stories that will be told. Police watch while I get another tattoo for another tool that failed me. A powerful message to the rest of them. Do not tell me you won’t do it.”

Refusing to work on Ria wouldn’t change anything. She turned on her tattoo machine and drew the iridescent black outline of a fourth teardrop into the skin over his cheekbone.

As if she weren’t jabbing him repeatedly with needles, Ria didn’t move a muscle until she finished and handed him a mirror.

“Bueno,” he said, inspecting the work. “I will go to the funeral with a warning label written by your hand. You save lives.”

He rose and walked away.

Troy, working not four feet away from Isa’s station, shut off his tattoo machine and straightened.

At the reception desk, Ria pulled a couple of folded bills out of a pocket, counted off three, and tossed them to the counter.

Isa stood.

With a glance back at her, he flicked something else to the countertop. It clinked, hollow and metallic as it hit and rolled.

A bullet casing.

IsaPic

 

playlist

The writing playlist leans to the creepy. Usually, I don’t want someone else’s words competing with writing, so most of the music is instrumental. Lisa Gerrard is the exception. The Myst soundtracks in my mp3 player are Myst, Riven and Exile. Exile is my favorite (Peter Gabriel had a bit of a hand in that soundtrack and that’s a huge win from my perspective.) The Halo soundtrack is usually reserved for writing science fiction, but there were scenes in NIGHTMARE INK that called for some fight music. By far, however, Nox Arcana got the most play. Nox Arcana defines creepy. Every one of their albums is a concept album built around a theme. But here. YouTube links so you can sample the music I piped directly to my brain while I wrote NIGHTMARE INK.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4BXNRwxNeNM – Lisa Gerrard from The Silver Tree

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q5Wo5-B0rQ8&list=PLBEE96531EF4D95CB – Myst III Soundtrack

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z5eobV_zyrc - Halo soundtrack

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xP3zLExMIzE – Nox Arcana

 

giveaway

5 ecopies Nightmare Ink by Marcella Burnard

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

  The tattoo shop’s inspiration came from here.

TattooShop

 

Marcella’s writing fuel, inside the teashop above.

WritingFuel

 

abouttheauthor

 

 

clip_image004

Marcella Burnard graduated from Cornish College of the Arts with a degree in acting. She writes science fiction romance for Berkley Sensation.

Her first book, Enemy Within won the Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice award for Best Futuristic of 2010. The second book in the series, Enemy Games, released on May 3, 2011.

An erotica novella, Enemy Mine, set in the same world as the novels was released as an e-special edition by Berkley was released in April 2012. Emissary, a sword and sorcery short story released in the two volume Thunder on the Battlefield Anthology in the second half of 2013.

http://www.marcellaburnard.com/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Marcella-Burnard/

https://twitter.com/marcellaburnard

http://www.amazon.com/Marcella-Burnard/e/B003E75420

http://word-whores.blogspot.com/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3409619.Marcella_Burnard

http://www.marcellaburnard.tumblr.com

Book Blast & Giveaway ~ Earthen: A Dragon’s Keep Story by @raelynnblue

Earthen Banner 450 x 169

 

bookblast

 

 

clip_image002Earthen:

A Dragon’s Keep Story

Book Three

Raelynn Blue

Genre: Urban Fantasy/Shifter/IR

Publisher: Shara Azod LLC

Date of Publication: February 14, 2014

ISBN: 9781312008984

Number of pages:140

Word Count: 29,000

Cover Artist: Marteeka

Book Description:

Sonya Gou has a major issue. Her guardian keeps her safe from threats against her life and his heart. How can she survive being so close to the one man she cannot have?

Zihao Liang. Guardian. Warrior. Earthen. Blood sworn to protect the Gou's treasure, Sonya, he has put his love for her beneath a sacred vow to protect her at all cost.

Zihao and Sonya must put their love to the test when a powerful enemy threatens all they hold dear.

Purchase at: Amazon Shara Azod and ARe

excerpt

“You’re of age this year.” Zihao said.

“Don’t remind me.” She glanced at him from the corners of her eyes to see his reaction. Like usual, he didn’t have one.

Instead he said, “Mating is not a death sentence.”

“That remains to be seen.”

“Don’t worry.”

“I’m not worried.”

Oh, liar, liar. She battled back the pinprick of tears in her eyes. Zihao read her like an open book.

She hated the idea of mating to someone she did not love. Her inner dragon rose at the thought of being pinned to some arrogant shifter, but what could she do? Her clan’s power and prestige made her a trophy for others looking to move up the political ranks of the dragon shifter world. Her father made good use of this knowledge and accepted many gifts from other clans whose sons hoped to be mated to her.

Inside her dragon rumbled angrily, and she blew out a slow sigh to settle her down.

At the root of her heartbreak lay Ziaho. Her pride in her clan stood only to be challenged by her love for him. As an earthen dragon, a dilong, Ziaho could only control the earth and when his kind shifted, they tended to resemble more garden snake than dragon. To quote her father, Zihao’s clan lacked the grace of flight, the fierceness of firebreathing, or the elegance of seadragons. If earthen dragons ranked lower on the list of dragon abilities, Zihao’s family held up the rear.

“It’s an old fashion idea, using women as pawns in a modern day chess set. We live in a new millennium. I’m an independent woman. We’re long removed from the keep and into the human world. In this country, women have rights, freedoms…” Sonya turned to look at Zihao.

Would her words reach his heart? Damn it. She couldn’t keep her voice from trembling with unshed tears. Sighing, she caught her rant before it grew a tail and wrapped itself around her throat. Even the walls had ears and mouths in the keep.

They spoke to her parents about everything that occurred.

And her uncle, Elder Gou.

With a weary glance at Zihao, she realized the irony of the situation. Assigned to be her protector, he hailed from the origin country, China like most of the dragon shifters’ rulers and the royal court, to which her family had once belonged. Zihao’s flawless English hid his guardian rank. Most earth dragons never spoke at all—only guarded what they’d been ordered to protect or spent decades digging out mountains and hills, to create keeps for dragons of a higher caste.

“It may be traditional, but it is our way. It keeps you safe.”

“You have kept me safe.”

Hearing the sharpness of her tone, Zihao’s face hardened. Narrow eyes, flat nose, thin but kissable lips he resembled most of Longwei tribe. His dark burning eyes flashed, his own dragon rising at the bitterness in her tone, no doubt, but he quickly calmed. Falling into silence, he crossed his arms over his muscular chest and faded back into the cavern’s shadows.

“I’m sorry. I’m just annoyed. It’s a double standard and it’s inconsistent.”

“Shush, Sonya…” Zihao’s voice rumbled in warning just loud enough for her to hear.

“No, hear me out…” Sonya left the window’s light and ventured further into the room. Candles lapped at the quiet. “No one finds it odd that you are here alone with me, a single 28 year old woman—in my bedroom. I’m of mating age and you’re a dragon too.”

She stopped directly in front of him. Her chin came to the top of his well-defined adnominal muscles, a foot shorter. Taking a deep breath, Sonya looked up and like always her heart whirled in joy.

Hands on her hips. “See my point?”

“I am your dilong. You are the Gou’s treasure. I am blood sworn to protect you.”

She touched his face, cupping his cheek in her open palm. His new growth scratched her palm.

“Does that mean you wouldn’t lay down with me, in that bed?” She inclined her head to her king¬size bed draped in seafoam green linens. It had become her only saving grace in the sparsely¬furnished space, the one piece of furniture no dragon’s nest went without—a mating bed.

Zihao became more still. Only a year older, he’d been charged with her protection since she turned 16. Her older dilong died during yet another assassination attempt on her life. He’d been Zihao’s father.

After the violent loss of his father, he’d been made her protector, her earthen wall, her mountain.

“To do so, Son, is death,” he croaked.

“Zihao…” She tiptoed and tried to kiss him.

He gently held her shoulders and moved her back a few steps before returning to his original position. “We cannot be as we once were.”

“Why?” She bit her lip to stem the sob of regret in her throat.

“Because we are not what we once were. I am your dilong. Nothing more.”

Tears gathered but she did not let them fall. Anger burned them away within seconds. They had been young, but they were in love. She loved him still. Her parents forbid it, but they loved anyway. When Zihao’s father died, they took pleasure in making him her bodyguard. They wanted it to be a lifetime of torment and torture—to be so close to what he could not have—all because she and Zihao had defied their orders. Her parents believed themselves to be protecting her, but in fact they had only succeeded in making her resent them more.

#

Zihao shook his head as he dusted off her dress. “You had to push it.”

Sonya swallowed the remnants of pain. The burning sensation had gone now that its source had

left too. How could she make him understand that she loved him and no other dragon would ever do? Ever?

Her dragon only glowed and warmed for him—at the sound of his voice, at the thud of his steps, and the glance from his eyes and the sound of her name on his tongue.

She didn’t say any of those things, but instead gave the answer that would invoke the least amount of emotional anguish.

“I had to stand my ground.”

“So you did.”

Sonya nodded. “No matter how many breaths I take, I still feel like I’m drowning here.”

“I would never let that happen,” Zihao vowed.

giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

clip_image004

abouttheauthor

RaeLynn Blue is the author of numerous tales of erotic interracial romance and speculative romance. With an imagination that's varied and diverse, her tales explores love in all its many shades, situations and scenarios. She fell into romance stories at the ripe age of eleven and has been writing stories ever since. A humble scribbler of tales, RaeLynn is actively writing another story of lust, love, and romance.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/raelynn.blue.5

Blog: http://raelynnblue.blogspot.com

Twitter: @raelynnblue

Web: http://www.amazon.com/RaeLynn-Blue/e/B007FIXC6Y

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Guest Author Julia Debski –The Music That Wrote The Hazel Tree

 

The Hazel Tree Banner 450 x 169

 

Today on the blog guest author Julia Debski shares her writing journey with us, and what music influenced her while writing The Hazel Tree.

 

guestpost

 The Music That Wrote The Hazel Tree

by Julia Debski

I write to music constantly. I am one of those writers who cannot stand the silence, but rather must have noise and sound and music around me at all times. This is why I write best in busy places, like restaurants and coffee shops.

Pandora is basically my best friend. My Pandora station consists of OneRepublic, Coldplay, Postal Service, Florence & The Machine, Lorde, Lana Del Ray, the Xx, etc… That’s what I listen to when I write at home, as well as just play pretty much constantly. (Who doesn’t love a constant soundtrack to their life? - or rather, just hates the silence.) I have also found a playlist on 8track which includes some of the songs my local Starbucks plays. It’s simply called “Starbucks Playlist” and can be found with an easy search.

While each Starbucks playlist varies (some baristas have more influence than others), they have the same general sound, which oddly enough is pretty close to what I listen too, with some John Mayer and Johnny Cash thrown in.

I created a playlist for The Hazel Tree in the last few months, thanks to suggestions from fans and songs I’d come across in the past couple years that I felt matched the tone of the story perfectly.

The Hazel Tree Playlist

Seven Devils by Florence and the Machine

Paradise by Coldplay

Animal by Kopecky Family Band

Hazy by Rosi Golan

Breath of Life by Florence and the Machine

Stay Alive by Jose Gonzalez

Come Away To The Water by Maroon 5

Start Shootin by Little People

Book Blast & Giveaway: The Hazel Tree by @juliadebski

The Hazel Tree Banner 450 x 169

 

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002The Hazel Tree

Julia Debski

Genre: YA Fantasy Romance

ISBN: 1493510789

59,990 words

282 pages

Cover Artist: Julia Debski

Available at Amazon and BN

Book Description:

The Hazel Tree revisits a classic Cinderella tale of abuse and sought after freedom from the confines of a cruel life.

Ivy Lune is not your ordinary girl for within her blood flows the secrets of an ancient species of werewolf; a secret that also foretells of a great war and a struggle for ultimate supremacy.

Ivy lives a life of isolation torment at the hands of her aunt and cousins for the majority of her life. Mistreated and neglected, she longs to escape the shackles of her prison-like life. And in that longing, she learns the truth of her identity. She learns her place in a long line of events that were set into motion many years ago. She finds intimacy and belonging in a much larger family.

All the while, unknown to her, there are dangerous forces are at work; old blood ties and murderous plots threaten her chance at happiness beyond her current life.

The Hazel Tree is a tale of mystery and romance set against a supernatural backdrop of terrifying and awesome power.

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/a6y2fro8eG8

excerpt

Prologue

Nestled deep within the dark mountains that neighbor the Black Sea lay an ancient castle in a valley, forever hooded by a swirl of thunderous clouds. It looked as though some god or deity had taken an inkbottle and poured the contents into the dip between the mountains. It cloaked the ground, the water, the stone, and even the air. To each molecule of oxygen clung a droplet of shadow, tinting the air so black no torch could pierce it. The air hung heavy, masking Waelwulf Castle and its residents. Any sign of Mother Nature’s beauty had long escaped this land, all vegetation long gone. In its place resided an evil force, something far more vicious and deadly than any visitor could imagine. It belonged to the family who lived within the impenetrable stonewalls: the royal family of Wulf, the head of the Black Sea Pack, the sole survivor of the Great Wars, the most ancient and powerful pack on planet Earth.

In front of their home was a vast plain, stretching deep into the darkness. Two massive wolves emerged from the shadows simultaneously. Upon catching sight of each other’s glittering eyes in the blackness, their hackles rose and growls erupted from deep within their chests. Circling slowly with teeth bared, each step was calculated, measured, carefully placed. Wolves crossing paths on the barren grounds that surrounded the castle were rare. A direct challenge such as this was always met with death for the offending party. Both wolves had this in mind as they faced each other off.

A howling wind brushed across them then, curling around their paws and tails and the hills of their tense raised shoulders before sweeping into the darkness. With it though the wolves caught each other’s scents and relaxed with recognition. They moved in unison towards the castle.

They reached the scarred metal gates that stood a few dozen paces from the castle’s front door. For centuries all that had stood between the foe in battles and the castle had been these gates, somehow untouchable by the enemy. Warriors believed it was protected by magic.

The wolves shifted into their human forms. "Axel," one said, nodding. His appearance was much like his wolf: black hair, confident brown eyes, square jaw, long legs and a tall frame. Even his gait was like his wolf’s, the slow cadence of a predator.

"Robinson," Axel said in return. He was short with a brush of red hair across his head and jaw, and small, nervous eyes. He didn’t have any of the grace his comrade had, due to his short stature.

After the brief exchange, they took the time to make themselves presentable, straightening the rumples in their clothing. The old gate creaked open, allowing them to pass and approach the castle’s front doors. Robinson stepped forward then and knocked evenly three times.

After a long pause, one of the doors slowly creaked open, revealing a thin young man dressed in plain black clothing with royal red embroidering, leaning heavily on a wooden cane. Recognizing the two men, he quickly hobbled aside. They strode past him without any acknowledgement. It was later, after they had moved out of earshot of the handicapped porter, that Axel said something.

"Learn a lesson from Dane, Robinson. Never ever question your superiors. Look at him, once one of the kingdom’s finest warriors. And now condemned to a life of servitude, and with a damaged leg! He doesn’t even have the option of marrying, poor fellow."

Robinson merely nodded. There was not much too be said, in any case, as he knew more about Dane’s offense than Axel thought or knew himself.

Any chance to continue the conversation was ended as they reached the end of the cold corridor. Axel reached out almost hesitantly, and knocked a specific beat on the plain little door. A peephole was opened, revealing a menacing eye staring down upon the two men.

“I am here to see King Cronan. He is expecting me,” Robinson said confidently, silently challenging the eye to deny him.

“I am also here to see His Majesty,” Axel added, a slight quaver to his voice.

The eye flickered from one spy to the other several times before taking a few slow, long blinks. After a long minute, the eye finally withdrew itself and the peephole slammed shut. Then the door opened to reveal the owner of the eye, a large man, taller than Robinson and thicker than Axel’s height, with an array of battle scars that shone in the light as he grunted at them and led them down a narrow hallway.

It eventually opened into a large, majestic room. The walls were covered in looted swords, shields, heads of enemies, and other treasures; priceless paintings of the kings who had ruled over Waelwulf Castle long ago were hung over the multiple crackling fireplaces. Yet even with the candlelight and the fires burning, the room was still dark, darker than much of the castle Robinson and Axel had traveled through.

The most ornate chandelier hung over a painting of a bearded man standing beside a dark brown wolf, their shoulders touching. In the center of the room was almost an exact replica of the portrait, minus the wolf, who had simply been the same man posing in his other form. In fact, it appeared as if the King had barely aged a day since the portrait was finished over sixty years ago.

"Axel. Robinson. I trust you bring news?" King Cronan asked, sipping wine from a silver goblet.

"Yes, Your Highness. I have returned with information of the Orarius Pack, as you requested," Axel announced puffing his chest out grandly.

"And you, Robinson? What do you return with?"

"I return with good news, Your Highness," Robinson replied with a shadow of a smirk. Cronan chuckled slightly, mildly impressed by Robinson’s word choice. Axel didn't find it amusing.

"Your Highness, the descendant we have been watching—his mate is with child," Axel said, disgruntled.

The King’s expression grew somber once more and he focused a penetrating gaze on Axel. "And do you know the sex of the child?"

Axel hesitated before bowing his head. "I do not, Your Highness. My deepest apologies." 

"Your apologies will not tell us the gender of the offspring, Axel, no matter how deep they may be," the King said in a cold, detached voice. Axel swallowed audibly.

Suddenly the King snapped his fingers and a dozen wolves emerged from the shadows of the room. They prowled forward, snarls erupting from them one by one as they closed in on Axel.

"It will be a she-wolf, Your Highness," Robinson said calmly, as if the proceedings around him didn't bother him in the slightest—which, knowing Robinson, actually didn’t. He knew that in light of Axel’s disappointing performance, he would be rewarded for the morsel of information.

King Cronan held up a hand, signaling the wolves to halt and return to their designated spots. "And do we know anything about the garden?" he asked, looking thoroughly pleased at the vague wording of his question.

But Robinson understood perfectly. "The tree has sprouted, but it can barely be distinguished from the weeds," Robinson replied.

"So we will have to wait," said the King, making it sound more like a statement than a question. He locked his eyes onto his spy’s. Robinson did not waver, holding his gaze calmly as the atmosphere in the room grew tense until, finally the King began to chuckle and they both looked away at once.

With a flick of his wrist, King Cronan dismissed the two men. Axel was the fastest to bow and turn his back on the king. Eager to leave the room, he didn’t notice the change of his superior’s expression.

Robinson had been slower, and paused at the subtle shift in the air. “You must be wondering why I told both of you to report to me at the same time.” While the question was directed at both of them, the king’s gaze did not waver from Axel’s back. The ginger man had frozen, eyes closed, still facing the door, though there was no denying the fear that trembled through his body. Cronan continued as if he had not noticed. “You see, I suspected that one of you was, perhaps, a spy. An infiltrator.”

Robinson froze as well, despite his best efforts. No, surely no…

Another snap of Cronan’s fingers and the wolves re-emerged, more aggressive and terrifying than before. Half moved towards Axel, the others towards Robinson. Axel turned to his king. “Your Highness—please—I don’t understand.” The words slipped from his tongue and into the room before he had a chance to stop them.

That was a mistake.

Cronan’s nostrils flared and a hand twitched towards the goblet. “How can I be more clear, Axel?”

“Yes Axel, what has His Majesty said that you find so difficult to understand?” Robinson said, against his better judgment. The king’s eyes snapped to Robinson, growing ever more black but still holding a sparkle of amusement. What boring company he must keep for Robinson’s words to hold such humor.

Axel looked at Robinson, eyes full of betrayal and fear. In return Robinson looked back with remorse.

A second snap of fingers signaled two wolves to grab each of Axel’s arms. The cries echoed around the room as sharp teeth sunk into tender flesh. “You see, I think that you know more than you are revealing to me. If Robinson was able to discover the gender of the child and find the tree, surely you would be able to as well. So why not tell me? Ah, yes. Because you had something to protect. Because your loyalties lie elsewhere—with the Orarius Pack, the Coastal Pack,” Cronan spat at Axel.

“You are mistaken, Y-your Highness.” Axel’s voice hitched as the wolf holding his right arm tightened his grip, sinking his teeth deeper into the muscle. Axel’s knees gave out, and his face paled.

“I am not mistaken, Axel. You are. You pledged allegiance to the wrong pack,” the King deadpanned before drinking the rest of the liquid in his goblet. He smacked his lips a couple of times before returning his gaze to the man on his knees, now quietly sobbing. Robinson discreetly bowed his head, but turned it at a slight angle so he could catch Axel’s eye. Through the tears, the doomed man watched as Robinson mouthed sacred words to him: Father Moon, may you carry my brother’s spirit and his wolf safely to the Sacred Land and may you-

Robinson stopped and turned his head away as droplets of blood splattered across his face and screams pierced the air. The sound of tearing flesh was not unfamiliar, but it still made Robinson feel a deep, inconsolable sadness. He finished the prayer in his head, hoping it caught onto Axel’s spirit in time. Soon the screams stopped and silence fell, except for the quiet drip-drop of blood. Robinson slowly raised one hand and wiped away the red stain on his cheek. It smeared instead.

“Well then, I suppose we will just have to pay them a visit. Go find Prince Naples and tell him to get ready,” Cronan, said, continuing the conversation as if nothing had happened. And indeed, it appeared as if nothing had, the wolves having returned to the shadows while King Cronan and Robinson stood facing one another. The stench of death was easy to ignore if you tried hard enough. The sound of dripping blood, however, still echoed.

“Yes, Your Highness,” Robinson said. He stowed away his remorse and grief for Axel. They had only known each other briefly and compassion was not welcome in the Mara Negra’s court. Turning his head away, Robinson allowed himself a small triumphant smile. Everything was going according to plan.

The king rose from his seat, empty goblet in hand. He approached Axel’s torn and mangled body and lowered the goblet into one of the deeper pools of blood, making sure to fill it as much as he could before he took a sip. So perhaps it had not been wine.


 

giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

abouttheauthor

 

clip_image004

Julia Debski was born in Warsaw, Poland in 1996. Her family moved around a lot during her childhood before finally settling down in Chattanooga, Tennessee. It wasn't until the 8th grade that she found her passion for writing. It was thanks to a particularly inspiring English teacher and a story that needed to be told. So she began to write, and she never stopped.

Four years later she found herself with nearly a dozen started novels and short stories. As junior in high school she was introduced to Greg Wilkey, a self-published independent author of four novels. He soon became a mentor to her as she worked to write and self-publish her own novel. After two years of hard work, and a nearly a year of mentorship The Hazel Tree was published in October 2013.

Website: http://juliadebski.weebly.com

Blog: http://spotofinkandstory.blogspot.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/juliadebski (@juliadebski)

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorjuliadebski

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7351439.Julia_Debski

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/julponey/

http://www.pinterest.com/julponey/the-hazel-tree/

Cover Reveal: Fruits of Misfortune by @nelycab


 
 
COMING MAY 1ST
 
T H E   C R E A T U R A   S E R I E S
B O O K   2

 

TITLE: Fruit of Misfortune
RELEASE: May 1, 2014
AUTHOR: Nely Cab
GENRE: Young Adult Fantasy/Paranormal

Isis and her boyfriend, David, are on the brink of a horrible transformation and they are eager to stop it. Together, they set out on a quest to Greece to find Isis’ biological father—the only person that may be able to help them. Their journey comes to an abrupt stop before it even begins when Isis falls ill, and Eros, David’s best friend, arrives in Athens, unannounced and curious…with a plan of his own.

The hunt for her father leads Isis on the turbulent path of deceit, death, and demons as she anticipates the dawning of the beast that stirs inside her.
 

FRUIT OF MISFORTUNE IS THE SEQUEL TO

Creatura is available in audio, print, and ebook formats on
Audible, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and iTunes



Check out Prelude, a Creatura prequel novella, on Amazon.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Nely Cab has lived and resided in a small, quiet South Texas town most of her life. She worked in banking for several years, before she relocated to Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico in 2001, where she dedicated time to the study of culinary arts and the art of oil painting. After her return to the U.S., Nely resumed her employment in banking and later transitioned to the field of Social Work.
 
Today, Nely Cab writes from the comfort of her home, where she lives with her husband and son. Her life goal is to check-off Bucket List Item No. 95,623,351: To Conquer the World. While she aspires world domination, Nely can be found lost in other fantasy worlds in front of her computer, sipping coffee.

CONNECT WITH NELY CAB




Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Author Interview with Rayna Noire, author of Revelation.

Revelation Banner 450 x 169

 

Today on the blog we have author Rayna Noire for an interview. Rayna is the author of today’s book blast Revelation. We would like to thank Rayna for stopping by and sharing with us.

 

clip_image002About Rayna:

Rayna Noire is an author and a historian. The desire to uncover the truth behind the original fear of witches led her to the surprising discovery that people believed in magick in some form up to 150 years ago. A world that believed the impossible could happen and often did must have been amazing. With this in mind, Ms. Noire taps into this dimension, shapes it into stories about a Pagan family who really isn’t that different from most people. They do go on the occasional time travel adventures and magick happens.

Twitter www.twitter.com/raynanoire

Website www.raynanoire.weebly.com

Facebook www.facebook.com/AuthorRaynaNoire

 

authorinterview

 

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I think I always wanted to be a writer, especially when I realized my career, as a super hero didn’t work out.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

I always wrote, but it was hard to say when I became a “writer.” Probably when I read my permanent school record and discovered that my fifth grade teacher thought I was an excellent writer.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

Seven years, but I didn’t know too much about publishing. An agent took it and kept it for two years, I found out eventually she’d gone out of business. An editor wanted my novel. It sat on her desk for about two years until she got pink slipped. That was discouraging, but it also demonstrated the importance of persistence. That novel is now published and enjoying good reviews.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

I taught English, Science, drama, and even religion. I only work part time now. This might explain why the school scenes are so detailed.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

Revelation. In an adventure outside of time, Nora learns you cannot run from your destiny.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

It used to take me about three years. Since I am writing more on a daily basis, it usually only three months now, but it is another couple of months in editing, proofing and formatting.

What can we expect from you in the future? ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

I will be finishing out the Pagan Eyes series with Declaration and Affirmation, and there’s a Druidic Dreams series after that.

What genre would you place your books into?

I usually let other people tell me what genre it is. I was surprised to discover Revelation is a paranormal romance, an urban fantasy, and a suspense tale.

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

I love the grandparents, Buell and Esmeralda Hare, because they are so unlike average grandparents unless your grandparents happen to be a witch and a ceremonial magician.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I have recently started listening to ambient music while I write. It helps masks every day noise that might distract me.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Actually, I don’t because I have over seventeen books out under different names. Every now and then, a friend will discover a review and send it to me. It is hard for me to keep track unless I googled myself all the time.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

The title is sometimes changed. On the Pagan Eyes series, I asked people on Facebook to give me names. LaNora Magano picked most of the Pagan Eyes book names.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

Hidden, I am trying not to laugh here. That might involve subtlety .The message might be don’t prejudge people on what you think you know about them.

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

I am a traditionalist because I do like the paperback because I can pass it on when I am done.

Your favorite food is?

Hamburger fresh from the grill

Your favorite color is?

Purple

If you would like to find out more about this amazing author and her work, check out the book blast below.

Book Blast & Giveaway: Revelation by @raynanoire

Revelation Banner 450 x 169

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002Revelation

Pagan Eyes

Book Two

Rayna Noire

Genre: Paranormal YA

Book Description:

Nora’s impending college graduation is a triumph over the dark incident in her past that changed her life and stopped her best friend’s. Balancing school, work and her demented admirer at the diner is tough. All she has is six more months, but it similar to walking a tightrope blindfolded.

Life-like dreams pull her into the 19th century world of Clayton. A man who declares he’s her soul mate. Even though, she’s decided against romance, the young witch finds herself drawn to the Irish healer, even hearing his voice in her head.

This would make most people question their sanity. Nora needs to find out if Clayton is real and if she’s crossing over into another world in her sleep. If she is, will she end up stuck in the past? Can magick bring them together?

 

 

 

excerpt

His eyes sparkled with humor as he held out his hand to her. “Climb up, darling. I’ve been waiting for you.”

Familiarity colored his voice as if he greeted an old friend. Nora knew she’d have remembered a dark-eyed hottie with curly hair and a wicked smile. Better yet, the bright green and yellow wagon he stood on was definitely memorable, especially with its fanciful drawings on the side and the two draft horses in the traces. Was she remembering part of a movie or a story Nana told her? That was it. Nana was part Romany Gypsy.

Still, it didn’t make sense if she was in the story and the unknown man spoke English. Part of her wanted to take his hand and step up into the wagon to take off with him. At times, he looked into her eyes, not only as if he knew her, but also liked what he saw, which made his invitation tempting, very tempting.

The man dropped his hand. “Oh, I see you’re still not ready, my Nora.”

“How do you know my name?”

The man jumped down from the wagon, startling her, invading her space. His face filled her vision. She had to admire his strong jawline, and the crinkles around his eyes when he smiled caused her heart to beat faster. Her lips turned up naturally in response.

“Nora, Nora, how could you have forgotten me? I have loved you through several lifetimes and searched for you in each of mine. My life was desolate until I found you in a dream.”

She was dreaming. That made sense.

“Nora, Nora.”

Why did he keep repeating her name? He said her name as if he knew it well, without a blink or a hesitation, not like those fraternity guys trying to hit on her who could never quite remember her name, calling her everything from Nadine to Noreen. One even called her Norad, which she promptly informed him stood for North American Aerospace Defense Command. As she recalled, her would-be Romeo stumbled away, muttering, "bitch” loud enough for her to hear.

Men never worked too hard to romance her. Her purpose in attending college was to get an education, enabling her to obtain a decent job. A good portion of the girls who came to school felt the need to cut loose by skipping class, drinking too much, and having sex with guys they didn’t know or couldn’t remember. Often those same girls flunked out in less than two years. As a scholarship student, she needed to keep her grades up.

Why didn’t she know his name?

His voice became higher, sounding more like a woman’s, and he shook her shoulder vigorously. Why would he do that? Ogden would do that, but not this mysterious man.

“Nora, get up right now, or you’re going to be late to your clinical.”

Tonya’s voice broke into her sleep-drugged thoughts. Her eyelids fluttered opened to the morning sunlight streaming around her curtain, indicating the time. “Oh, I overslept. Thank you, Tonya.”

Her clean uniform hung on the hanger in front of her closet where she left it. The ironed smock and pants gave her a little reassurance that she’d make it on time. Some of the students showed up in wrinkled uniforms, and from standing too close to them, she suspected a few were unwashed, too. How could a person make it this far in the physician assistant program and still not take it seriously? Nora took it seriously. Of course, she did. She took everything in earnest, probably the curse of being the firstborn.

Tonya kept a running commentary as she dressed. “It’s not like you to be late. I even heard your alarm go off, so I came into the room. You had a big, stupid grin on your face. Was it a good dream?”

Thinking back to the man in her dream, she’d probably call it perplexing as opposed to good. Yet, she was happy she’d remembered. Part of her recognized him and was glad to see him. “I guess you could call it a good dream.”

“Ah ha.” Tonya grinned and shook a finger at her. “I bet you were not dreaming about Ogden then.”

Grabbing a brush, she ran it through her short, dark hair. A shower would be better, but she’d given that up when she chose to continue to dream about the dark-eyed man instead of getting up on time. “How do you know I wasn’t dreaming about Ogden?”

Snorting, her roommate shook her head. “Girl, now’s not the time for it, but…”

Nora knew her outspoken roommate would say whatever was on her mind. Holding back wasn’t her way. One of the things she enjoyed about the colorful Jamaican. “Go on.”

“All right, I will.” Placing her long-fingered hands on her ample hips, she started, “We’ve been friends for almost four years, right?”

Nora nodded, thinking back to the day they ended up together. Her assigned roommate had reported her when she’d lighted a candle in recognition of the Goddess. It hadn’t been the lighted candle, even though it was against the rules. Nope, her roommate had told her the Goddess statue creeped her out. Called her a Satanist then reported her for open flames. She should have reported Crystal for smoking in the bathroom, but she hadn’t. Instead, in a panicked moment, she’d pictured her career and scholarship vanishing.

 

giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

abouttheauthor

 

clip_image004

Rayna Noire is an author and a historian. The desire to uncover the truth behind the original fear of witches led her to the surprising discovery that people believed in magick in some form up to 150 years ago. A world that believed the impossible could happen and often did must have been amazing. With this in mind, Ms. Noire taps into this dimension, shapes it into stories about a Pagan family who really isn’t that different from most people. They do go on the occasional time travel adventures and magick happens.

Twitter www.twitter.com/raynanoire

Website www.raynanoire.weebly.com

Facebook www.facebook.com/AuthorRaynaNoire

Monday, April 14, 2014

Series Blast: Dream Series by Jacqueline Paige

Jacqueline Paige Tour Banner 450 x 169

 

series

 

clip_image002In Our Dream

Dream Series

Part 1

Jacqueline Paige

Release date December, 10 2013

She’s a small town cop. He’s an inmate undercover. They meet in a dream.

Book Description:

Jennah Best left the adrenaline packed life of being a cop on the edge for a more peaceful place. She escaped a marriage that almost destroyed her and now lives her life working for a small police station in the town of Ridge. At her age, she’s accepted that it’s too late and too much work to start all over again, until she meets a man in a dream...

While young, Dominic Palmer has always proven he can get the job done.  Or at least, that was the case before he accepted a job and agreed to go undercover as an inmate. When months go by and there’s no word from his outside contact he wonders if he’s been left on the inside for good. He’s fighting to stay alive and keep his sanity, but finds himself completely distracted by a mysterious woman he met in a dream...

Amazon Smashwords

excerpt

The nerve of that man! Why won’t he just accept things and go away? She paced back and forth, trying to control the frustration that was pumping through her. Every time she saw him, every hurt moment came flooding back to her and she just wanted him gone. She wanted to move on and live her own life and try her damndest to be happy!

“Jennah?”

She spun around, expecting someone to be behind her. There was no one there. Was that Dominic’s voice? Oh no, she was hallucinating now! Should she call her doctor? Maybe the stress had finally caught up to her. Was she going to end up spending her holidays alone in the psych ward?

“Jennah, why are you so upset?”

She squeezed her eyes shut. I am not hearing voices! I am not losing my mind!

She heard his deep chuckle. “No, you’re not losing your mind. This is really happening. I should have told you, but in our dream...it’s not really a dream. We’re connecting.”

Her eyes flew open. What? “What?” She stood perfectly still, waiting to see if she could hear him again.

“I can explain it better later. I just picked up on how upset you were...”

She squinted. “Picked up? How? How are you inside my head when I’m completely awake? How can we talk inside my head?”

She heard him chuckle again. “Inside mine, as well. I don’t have time right now. Are you all right?”

She laughed out loud, not knowing if he would hear it in her head too. “Clearly not! I’m talking to a man from my dream inside my head while I’m wide awake standing in the locker room at work!”

“Jennah...”

 

 

clip_image004From A Dream

Dream Series

Part 2

Jacqueline Paige

Release date February 7 2014

She wakes up in a dark hole, alone. He’ll stop at nothing to find her.

Book Description:

Jennah has found happiness. She wasn’t looking for it but isn’t about to give it up now that she has it. Everything she craved for years was now right in front of her--a man that makes her feel cherished, a peaceful life, and a job she enjoys. It all changes when she wakes up in a dark hole, alone, unarmed and unable to connect with the one man she’s grown to need.

Dominic realizes he is one of those men that wants the whole package of marriage and a family, and he’s found the woman to have that with. He’s going stir crazy having to stay hidden until the leader of a criminal organization is caught, but he’s more than willing to stay right here with her.

All of his plans evaporate when a vindictive criminal takes her from him as a hostage. He won’t rest until she’s in his arms again.

Available at Amazon

excerpt

He glanced around and decided he’d better start heading back to her place. You know you’re in love when the snow in your boots doesn’t even bother you, he thought with a shake of his head.

Brody would laugh his ass off if he could see me now. A noise had him jumping to take cover behind the closest tree. He automatically reached for his gun, ready. He squatted and looked around the tree in each direction. He exhaled loudly when a rabbit, frozen in its tracks, came back to life and fled in the opposite direction. He slowly tucked his gun back into his jeans as he stood. Paranoia was definitely an issue.

Quickening his pace, he headed back, making sure he stepped in his own tracks. Jennah would laugh when he told her that he was being stalked by an assassin bunny.

“Dom!”

The panic in her voice sent him running in the direction of the building. “Babe, what is it?” He kept moving fast, his hand riding beside the gun grip now sticking up for easy reach out the bottom of his coat. “Jennah!” He reached for her and felt panic.

“Dom!”

“I’m coming!” He lengthened his strides and jumped through the snow as fast as his legs could manage.

When he reached the back door, he whipped it open and ran into the kitchen. He stopped and listened—nothing. Pulling the gun, he gripped it lightly and let his arm hang down his side. He walked out into the living room with slow movements and let all senses filter back what was around him.

When he’d almost reached the front door, he stopped, his heart lodged in his throat as he looked at the table knocked to the floor and grocery bags scattered with the contents spilled all around them.

With long strides, he was out the door and into her driveway. Her car was there. He caught movement from the corner of his eye, and he spun, gun aimed and ready. A black-capped pickup was fishtailing down the street. He ran to the end of her drive and aimed at it. Squinting, he tried to make out the plate, but there wasn’t one.

He swore and lowered the gun. It was too far, and without knowing if Jennah was in the back of it, he couldn’t take a chance on a stray shot.

Fumbling for his phone in his jacket, he flipped it open and started to walk back over his own boot prints toward the house. He punched in Brody’s number as he knelt and looked closer at the red drops in the snow. He clenched his jaw and resisted the urge to touch it. Brody answered the phone. “They got Jennah.”

 


clip_image006After the Dream

Dream Series

Part 3

Jacqueline Paige

Release date March 7 2014

Brody believes he’s a normal man. Tess has felt like a freak most of her life- except when she’s around one man.

Book Description:

Feeling less then worthy as a normal man surrounded by a team with special skills, Brody has to wonder why he’s a part of it. If it weren’t for one team mate being there, he’d transfer back to normalcy.

Tess has always felt like a freak, even surrounded by others that are different she still feels like an outsider. Only one of her team mates make her feel like an everyday person.

Get your copy at Amazon

 

excerpt

“Okay.” Tess tried not to think about being in here in the dark. “What’s ten feet?”

“This comes out ten feet up in the air. Dom’s working his way up to it, or was until I told him about the grate, he’s gone back to the truck to get something to get through it.”

Her throat suddenly felt tight. “How long?”

“Few minutes. Can you zap us out of here?”

She fought the panic that started with her chest tightening. “No. I still can’t feel it. I don’t know if I can do much longer, Brody.” His body moved closer to hers.

“Hey, I’m right here. We got this, Tess.”

His breath brushed up against her cheek, making her realize how close he was now. “I’m trying. As long as I was moving I was distracted and didn’t think about it, but now . . .” she felt his breath against her mouth. Where the idea came from she’d figure out later. “Distract me,” she whispered, her lips brushing against his. Before she could think about it any further she kissed him quickly. He didn’t pause for a second before his mouth covered hers in a rough kiss. Heat replaced the fear she was feeling as his hard mouth took control over her own and demanded she focus only on him.

With a growl he lifted his mouth from hers long enough to pull her tight into his body and roll to his back. One hand grasped the back of her head as his other slid down over her hip to press her body into his. When his mouth attacked hers again, she could only kiss him back with the same fevered movement. She didn’t care then where they were, only the feel of his hard body beneath hers and the wicked things his tongue was doing to hers. Lifting her mouth, she drew in a breath but before she could find his mouth again, his lips moved down over her throat until he found that sensitive spot that turned her bones into mush. Gasping, she gripped his hair and held onto him.

With a groan, he dropped his head and moved his hand away from her. She wasn’t sure what he was doing until he cleared his throat. “Yeah, got it.” Reaching down he depressed the switch and let out a slow breath. “Dom will be up here in about two minutes.”

Where they were and what they were supposed to be doing rushed back at her. “Oh.” Lifting away from the heat of his body, she moved back to lie on her side in the tiny space. She listened to how hard he was breathing and thought he may have cursed a few times under his breath, but she couldn’t be sure with how loud her own breathing was.

Brody moved around onto his side and placed his mouth right beside her ear. “This isn’t finished, Tessa.”

It sounded like a warning more than a statement. Keeping her voice quiet so Dom wouldn’t hear if he was near the top she leaned her face into his throat. “We work together. . .”

“And so do Dom and Jenn.”

“They have that mind connection—we don’t . . .”

“Oh, we have a connection.” He grasped her hip and ground his still hard body into hers. “It’s just much more on the physical plane.”

 

 

abouttheauthor


clip_image008

Jacqueline Paige lives in Ontario in a small town that’s part of the popular Georgian Triangle area. No one has ever heard of Stayner, so she usually tells people she lives “near Collingwood” and no, she doesn’t ski at Blue Mountain or at all, in fact she’s not even fond of snow.

She began her writing career in 2006 and since her first published works in 2009 she hasn’t stopped. Jacqueline describes her writing as “all things paranormal”, which she has proven is her niche with stories of witches, ghosts, physics and shifters now on the shelves.

When Jacqueline isn’t working at her ‘reality job’ or lost in her writing she spends time with her five children, most of whom are finally able to look after her instead of the other way around. Together they do random road trips, that usually end up with them lost, shopping trips where they push every button in the toy aisle, hiking when there’s enough time to escape and bizarre things like creating new daring recipes in the kitchen. She’s a grandmother to four (so far) and looks forward to corrupting many more in the years to come.

Jacqueline loves to hear from her readers, you can find her at www.jacqpaige.webs.com , www.jacqpaige.blogspot.ca or http://magicseasonsbooks.blogspot.ca