Thursday, April 24, 2014

Author Interview with Braxton A Cosby, author of Protostar

Protostar Banner 450 x 169

Today on the blog we have author Braxton A Cosby for an interview. Braxton is the author of one of today’s book blasts, Protostar. We would like to thank Braxton for stopping by and sharing with us.

clip_image002About Braxton:

Braxton A. Cosby is a dreamer with a passion for inspiring others to love, in spite of circumstance and convenience.

His calling to pen a young-adult series that is smart, witty, and thought provoking, has challenged readers to answer the question: What would you choose, love or irrevocable duty?

Braxton lives in Atlanta, GA, where he co-hosts a local radio show on WAOK which is a mash-up of current events and health and wellness. He also has a blog where he discusses everything from health and entertainment to spirituality and relationships.

Website: www.braxtoncosby.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DrBraxtonCosby

Twitter:@BraxtonACosby

Blog: www.braxtoncosby.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4987409.Braxton_A_Cosby

 

authorinterview

 

How long did it take to get your first book published?

It has been a labor of love. Four years in the making. Originally took me about 4 months to write, then about two months of editing. I brought it out under a local small press company and then I got a literary agent and pitched it some larger publishers. Finally, I settled on Winter Goose and hey have been incredible in helping me give it a fresh facelift, inside and out. The storytelling is much richer and engrossing.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

Yes, I am the CEO of Cosby Media Productions, a full service entertainment studio that focuses on producing content in the area of film, print, music and television. We currently have about 15 projects under development, including my Young Adult books The Star-Crossed Saga and The School of Ministry.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

Protostar – coming out April 16th. It is a YA book that focuses on star-crossed lovers and the love they must fight to maintain, with a sci-fi backdrop.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

Winter Goose Publications.

What can we expect from you in the future? ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

I have about five books set to release over the next 12 months, including self-help, speculative fiction and auto-biographies. I also have about 3 movie/film projects I’m working on with my company Cosby Media Productions that are based on my writings. So people are going to get to know me very quickly, very soon.

What genre would you place your books into?

Speculative fiction with an emphasis on Young Adult.

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

I love William. He is such a pivotal character because he starts off very purpose driven. He has this mission he must accomplish and is determined to go through with it. He has never had to deal with the emotion of love, nor does he recognize it. But when he starts to feel it, internally he is torn apart. He must learn how to hide his feelings for Sydney so that he can kill her. But during his time of being around her, he is enamored by her. Everything about her is intoxicating. His transition was the biggest part of the book and is now the focus of the Screenplay for the movie.

How long have you been writing?, and who or what inspired you to write?

My love for young people. There is so much potential in encouraging and inspiring young people to do great things. The more we are able to poor into one another, the better off the entire planet will be. I also got a lot of my inspiration to write from God. He is the voice in my head that keeps me going. He supplied the base for The Star-Crossed Saga series from its conception and now I have been able to take it forward with eth trilogy and the screenplay for movie adaptation. It has become more than just a book, but now it is a franchise.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I love to either play audiobooks in the background, listen to music or look at a movie for inspiration.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books? 

Yes. I love to hear the feedback from readers. It’s the barometer from which I measure how well I got the message across that I was trying to convey in the story. Unbiased reviews are very helpful.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title? 

I usually go with the theme of the book first, build the story, then decide on a title from there.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books? 

From people I meet. If they fascinate me, I usually write the name down somewhere. The inspiration of their personality is woven into the character as a base and I build it from there.

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

I personally still love paperbacks. And who could pass up a bargain priced hardback. Bu, I do appreciate the ease of reading and mobility of ebooks. I have quite a few downloaded into my kindle.

What is your favorite book and Why? Have you read it more than once? 

I love Catching Fire from The Hunger Games. Suzanne Collins is a marvelous wordsmith and beyond that. The plot of the story was fascinating and rewarding. Finishing that book, and finally getting the twist at the end was an amazing experience. I’ve read it about 4 times.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer? 

Yes, well sometimes. Being a filmmaker, I understand the challenges of condensing a 4oo page book into a 90-120 page screenplay. A lot can get left out. I think that is why a lot of the YA movies recently have failed. You have to give the audience what they want: the readers need to see their favorite scenes and new-comers have to enjoy the experience. It’s a tough balance to find. Divergent really got it right, even though it has not gotten great reviews. I’ve read all three books and the first book was so good because of the world building and content. I think the actors and writers did Veronica Roth’s book justice.

Your favorite food is? 

Anything Mexican.

Your favorite singer/group is?

Maroon 5 and John Mayer.

Your favorite color is? 

Blue

Your favorite Author is?

Suzanne Collins

If you would like to know more about this amazing author, check out the book blast below.

Book Blast & Giveaway: Protostar by @BraxtonACosby

Protostar Banner 450 x 169

 

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002Protostar

The Star-Crossed Saga

Book 1

Braxton A. Cosby

Genre: Young Adult/Sci-fi Romance

Publisher: Winter Goose Publishing

Date of Publication: April 16th, 2014

ISBN: 978-1-941058-01-5

ASIN: 1941058019

Number of pages:346

Word Count: 99k

Cover Artist: Winter Goose Publishing

Book Description:

On the brink of civil war, the Torrian Alliance continues with its mission to obliterate Star-children across the universe in order to suppress an intergalactic evil. Following the recommendations of his council, King Gregorio Derry reluctantly agrees to send his only son William on a mission to restore honor to his family name.

William seeks to complete his assignment, the elimination of a Star-child named Sydney on planet Earth, but when the assassination is delayed he begins to realize an emotional connection with his target.

With conspiracy threatening his home planet, and a hidden menace on Earth seeking to secure a vested interest, William finds himself torn between irrevocable duty and sacrificing everything he stands for to defend Sydney.

As William and Sydney struggle to overcome their impossible circumstances, they start to wonder if the connection of two Star-Crossed lovers will be enough to save them from certain doom.

Available at Amazon

excerpt

PROLOGUE

Seventeen Years Ago . . .

Sarah stood atop the mountainside looking out into the sky. The expanse of rich darkness and scattered stars reminded her of home. She desired to return there someday, but knew that she couldn’t. Things had been set in motion. There was no way to turn back now, even if she tried.

Still, something within her body felt wrong.

Is this the right place, right time? she thought.

Maybe the details got skewed, blended together, lost amongst all the immaculate planning. Even they were known to be wrong sometimes. She hoped against all hope that they weren’t. But stars never lie. She gazed into the sky. Their configuration—constellation after constellation, linked like a chain, with the Star of David perched in the center—was picture perfect. This had to be it. All she had to do now . . . was wait.

And wait she did.

Hours passed as the moon slid by. Just as her mind began to fill with doubt, it finally happened. The ground underneath her shifted, rocking her from side to side, up and down, as the stars burned brightly. She braced herself, running down from the mountain the best she could. Her old bony legs wobbled, struggling to keep her upright as she negotiated the uneven layers of rock and grass. A loud crashing noise like the banging of cymbals lit her ears on fire as the sky parted, sending a tiny bright shard screaming across the black canvas, growing larger as it drew near.

Her eyes snapped to the road—the projected point of impact. But one detail had been missed.

Unaccounted for.

Someone else was there.

A vehicle sped down the dusty road, on a straight collision course with the object, which continued to grow larger and larger as time ticked on. Sarah waved her hands as wildly as she could screaming, “Hey, you have to stop!”

But her screams went unnoticed. She gasped as the object crashed to the earth, tearing the car into pieces. She squinted, filtering the heat from the explosion as she moved in closer to examine the wreckage.

A gaping hole where the roof used to be greeted her, revealing the charred remains of the female passenger. She scanned the rest of the vehicle for survivors, finding only the shell of the driver white-knuckled to the steering wheel.

Her heart dropped.

The muffled sound of a baby crying tickled her ears, urging her to examine the object in the passenger seat more closely. It resembled a meteor, covered in craters and black ash that sent her into a coughing panic. A small crack in the outer shell provided just enough space for her to look inside. Reaching out for the door handle, she grabbed it with both hands—wrinkled fingers trembling as she ripped the car door free—tossing it by the wayside. With a sigh of relief, she peeled back the shell. Black smoke stung her eyes as her hands burned from the heat. But Sarah ignored them both, pressing forward with her mission. Nothing would stop her now. With wet eyes she smiled, finally finding what she was so desperately looking for—a baby girl.

giveaway

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

abouttheauthor

 

clip_image004

Braxton A. Cosby is a dreamer with a passion for inspiring others to love, in spite of circumstance and convenience.

His calling to pen a young-adult series that is smart, witty, and thought provoking, has challenged readers to answer the question: What would you choose, love or irrevocable duty?

Braxton lives in Atlanta, GA, where he co-hosts a local radio show on WAOK which is a mash-up of current events and health and wellness. He also has a blog where he discusses everything from health and entertainment to spirituality and relationships.

Website: www.braxtoncosby.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DrBraxtonCosby

Twitter:@BraxtonACosby

Blog: www.braxtoncosby.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4987409.Braxton_A_Cosby

Book Blast & Giveaway: Layers Off by Lacey Silks

lopr_banner

Event Organized by ❤MaE Book Tours

Layers OffSynopsis

She’s gone through hell and back.

He’s kept a secret that could send her there again.

And they’re trying to find their way to each other.

Rescued by the man she loves, Kendra Knight struggles to recover from a month-long captivity. Memories of her imprisonment as a sex slave haunt her as she battles withdrawal from drug addiction and tries to put a dreadful past behind her. With the help of her new friends, Allie and Laura, Kendra begins to question who she is, as well as Julian Cross’s true intentions for her future.

Julian Cross, owner of a top investigations firm, has kept a secret since the day he met Kendra. He watched her grow from a teen to a woman and fall in love with his brother Tristan, only to be broken into pieces in the end. Now, he vows to stand by her until she’s well, so he can finally tell her the truth about her past.

Will the truth finally set her free... or back to prison?

Note: This book is the first part of a Trilogy that is designed to be read in order. It is recommended that the prequel to the series Dazzled by Silver be read before this book as well. Warning: This title contains erotic situations, and graphic language. Intended for adult audience 18+.

Genre Erotica Romance

Expected Publication Date March 31 2014

goodreads-black-200x200

__________________________________________________________________

Excerpt

He drew my hand to his mouth and kissed it. I closed my eyes and let his breath be the guide as his lips touched one finger after another, then slid along my arm. I dropped my jacket to the ground. Before I knew it I was enveloped in his arms, savoring the warmth of his body, mixed with the freezing rain, sticking to him as if the water were permanent glue. But the weather was the last thing on my mind at this moment. That touch I’d craved for so long was finally on my skin. Julian’s mouth rested a bit longer on my bare shoulder before grazing up the side of my neck. His thumbs caressed my collar bones as his hands lifted up to cup my face, and that’s when I opened my eyes to look into his beautiful hazel eyes, now shiny and dilated. And it all seemed like a dream. I’d always believed dreams for girls like me never came true – but mine just had, because I was in the arms of a man whom I’d loved for years. I’d always assumed I wouldn’t deserve that man who meant everything to me, who would protect me and cherish me the way Julian had. I’d always thought Julian would be the one who got away.

And within moments I was up in his arms. My legs wrapped around his hips and my hands grasped tightly around his neck. Julian’s palms supported my bottom as he carried me back to the chalet, never breaking our gazes, never ceasing to connect with as much of my skin as he could. Once inside, he lowered me in the foyer, and one by one released the buttons on my shirt. I yanked his soaked t-shirt out of his pants and pulled it over his head.

“No drinking tonight,” he whispered, trailing kisses along my shoulder and my neck.

I knew exactly what he meant, and added with a free giggle I hadn’t heard come out of my mouth for months, “And no weed.”

He cupped my face and traced his finger along my lip. “Promise me you’ll tell me if you’re uncomfortable.”

“I promise.” My chest heaved with anticipation. Could this really be happening, or was I still dreaming? No, nothing this good and real could be a dream, because I’d never want to wake up.

And for the first time in years, he seized my mouth with a crushing kiss. The taste of his perfect lips sailed through me like a freed bird lifted by the wind. The soft skin was warm and tender, fitting against my mouth like it was made for me. My shoulders and arms drooped to my sides. My head spun as we stood there in the hallway, half-undressed and wet, savoring every second of our connection, barely moving and so lost in each other I was afraid I was imagining it. Gravity no longer mattered. I felt the laws of the universe break at my feet; Julian was the one keeping me tied to this world.

The pop of my jeans sent joyful shivers through my entire body. We pulled away, watching each other with intent as the clothes were slowly stripped off. I stepped out of my soaking shoes and he removed his. As we moved across the foyer toward the staircase, we left a meandering path of clothing in the hall. I stood there in my soaked panties and bra, shivering. Julian’s boxers clung to his growing curve. The way he devoured me from the bottom up with his gaze felt like he had set my skin on fire. The swell of my breasts moved higher with every inhale.

Julian sucked a quick breath in. Stepping closer, he drew his finger along my panty elastic, from one hip bone to the other, and my lungs locked up, reveling in the trail of heat left by his touch. Dizzy, I closed my eyes, feeling that warmth spread through me. I may as well have jumped into a radioactive pool, the way heat weaved through my body, turning my over-iced skin into a searing surface.

And without hesitation, he lowered his mouth to mine. A whimper slid from the back of my throat as I let him manipulate my lips with his, learning their curve and texture all over again. His arms supported my hands. I held onto his biceps at first, waiting to see whether Julian was really ready to have me, but as his tongue dipped inside my mouth, I lost any remaining doubts. I opened wider, my hands sliding up to his neck, and drew him in closer and harder, pressing his face to mine until I could feel his teeth against my gums. Seconds later we each couldn’t get enough of the other. His insistent tongue hardened as his mouth sucked every breath I owned, forcing me to pull away for a second just to inhale. I couldn’t catch enough air. Julian watched my face as I gave into his body. It compelled me to lean back against the staircase. He supported me as I sat on one of the steps and spread my legs apart, allowing him to hover over me.

__________________________________________________________________

About the Author

author_photo

Lacey is an Author of Erotic Romance. Her stories come from her life, dreams and fantasies. She’s a happily married wife with two kids. Lacey likes to make her readers blush and experience the story as if they were the characters. Drawing on the reader’s most sensitive emotions through realistic stories satisfies her more than… …ok not really, but you get the point;) She likes a pinkish shade on a woman’s cheeks, men with large feet and sexy lingerie-especially when it’s torn off the body. Her favorite piece of clothing is a ‘birthday suit’.

Connect with Lacey Silks!

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

MaE Book Tours

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Series Blast & Giveaway: Noon Onyx Series by @archer_jill

Fiery Edge of Steel -Dark Light of Day Banner 450 x 169

 

series

 

clip_image002Dark Light of Day

Noon Onyx

Book 1

Jill Archer

Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: Ace

Date of Publication: September 25, 2012

ISBN-10: 0425257150

ISBN-13: 978-0425257159

ASIN: B007A9KSMY

Cover Artist: David Palumbo

Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million

Powell’s Books Book Depository IndieBound

Book Description:

Noon Onyx has been accepted into the prestigious St. Lucifer’s Law School where her mother hopes she’ll be trained as a Maegester. But Noon doesn’t want to control demons, set fires, or destroy things. She wants to become a Mederi so she can grow gardens and heal people.

Noon's best friend, Peter Aster, is an Angel spellcaster who thinks he has the answer to Noon's predicament - an ancient, mysterious, lost spell that can turn Noon into the Mederi she always wanted to be. Only one person stands in the way of Noon's dream - Ari Carmine, a fellow classmate who seems fascinated by Noon's fiery side.

excerpt

“I’ve been watching you, wondering, waiting to see where you’d end up. After all, there are other demon law schools,” Seknecus said, making a moue of distaste that made it clear exactly what he thought of them. “But I was happy to see that you chose St. Lucifer’s.”

Technically my mother chose St. Lucifer’s . . . But there seemed no reason to interrupt to clarify that bit of misinformation. Seknecus wandered around the room, picking through papers, flipping open and quickly shutting the front covers of various leather-bound books, never meeting my eye. I had no doubt, however, that his attention was fully focused on me.

“So, you see, seeing your name on my list wasn’t exactly a surprise, although it appeared much later than I would have liked.”

He did look at me then, with a frown of disapproval. I did my best to look expressionless because none seemed appropriate. It wouldn’t do to look amused, bored or, Luck forbid, rebellious. Seknecus stared at me with narrowed eyes and then went back to wandering.

“You’ve got some catching up to do,” he said, addressing a copy of Sin and Sanction: Codification & Case Law. “It doesn’t matter why or what excuses you’ve got for yourself. You will be held to the same standards as everyone else, regardless of whose daughter you are. And you’ve missed a lot of class already.”

I opened my mouth to protest, but he cut me off with a wave.

“Manipulation class,” he clarified. “You’re going to have to work ten times as hard as everyone else just to pass. Quintus Rochester doesn’t go easy on students and he’s likely to see your absence during the early part of the semester as a challenge. You know, failing is not an option. Not if you want to live . . .”

 

 

clip_image004Fiery Edge of Steel

Noon Onyx

Book 2
Jill Archer

Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: Ace

Date of Publication: May 28, 2013

ISBN-10: 0425257169

ISBN-13: 978-0425257166

ASIN: B009NY48SO

Cover Artist: Jason Chan

Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million

Powell’s Books Book Depository IndieBound

Book Description:

Noon Onyx is the first woman in memory to wield waning magic. Her unique abilities, paired with a lack of control and reluctance to kill, have branded her as an outsider from her peers. Only her powerful lover, Ari Carmine, and a roguish and mysterious Angel, Rafe Sinclair, support her unconventional ways.

When Noon is shipped off to a remote outpost to investigate several unusual disappearances, it seems Luck is not on her side. But when the outpost settlers claim that an ancient and evil foe has stepped out of legend to commit the crimes, Noon realizes that she could be facing something much worse than she ever imagined…

excerpt

“You are familiar with Empyr wine, Ms. Onyx?” Rochester asked.

I nodded warily.

Angels were obsessed with apples. They took their love of this fruit very seriously, worshipping it as a symbol of the lost world they once ruled. A common motif in Angel art was the fallen apple that never rotted. Empyr wines were apple wines that were “enhanced” by some of the best Angel sommeliers in Halja. The enhancements were spells. Each batch had its own name, flavor, coloring, and associated spell. They were served upstairs in the Angels’ infamous restaurant on this building’s thirty-third floor.

I’d had Empyr wine exactly two times in my life. Each time it had produced life-altering effects, although in an indirect manner and not of the kind I could have guessed.

Friedrich turned back toward me and offered me the cup. Inside, the liquid was pink and fizzy and flecked with gold. I reached for the cup and there was a brief moment when I wasn’t sure Friedrich would let go. Was the spell tied to his touch? I yanked harder and the wine nearly spilled out of the cup as it broke free from his grasp. Rochester’s signature nudged mine, like a parent pinching an errant child. I glanced back at Ari, who gave me a tight smile.

I tipped the cup to my lips and drank. Immediately, a bitter, chalky taste filled my mouth. I hid my grimace, finished, and handed the cup back to Friedrich.

“This batch is called ‘Fortuna’s Favorites,’” Friedrich said. “Think you’re one of them?”

Time will tell, I thought, but said instead, “Fortes fortuna adiuvat.” Fortune favors the bold. Another of Dorio’s sayings. Maybe Fitz had the right idea.

Friedrich grunted. Ari grinned.

Rochester held off magically pinching me again. Instead, he handed me a white linen napkin.

“A gift from this batch’s sommelier,” he said. “Some words of wisdom regarding this semester’s assignment.”

I choked back a laugh. From tea leaves to wine tannins, where Angels fear not to tread . . . I accepted the napkin and wiped my mouth gently. I’d been generous in this morning’s application of Daredevil Red lip paint. Who knew what my fortune might be if I added too much of that to the mix? But the laugh died in my throat as I looked down at my napkin. Slowly, a stain of words appeared:

When traveling into the unknown, sometimes the biggest danger is the one you bring with you . . .

 

giveaway

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

BONUS: FUN PROMO TWEETS AND TWITTER CONTEST! :-D

Anyone who tweets one of these will be entered to win ANY fantasy book of their choice from Book Depository (so long as Book Depository ships to your address) (up to $10.00). Contest ends on June 3, 2014. One tweet/entry per person.

Lucem in tenebras ferimus. Into the darkness, we bring light.” @archer_jill #DARKLIGHTOFDAY

“When traveling into the unknown, sometimes the biggest danger is the one you bring with you…” @archer_jill #FIERYEDGEOFSTEEL

“One out of every two hunters who follow the Old Trail will not return.” @archer_jill #WHITEHEARTOFJUSTICE

Finally! I’m looking forward to seeing Noon embrace her fiery magic. @archer_jill #WHITEHEARTOFJUSTICE

Ari Carmine is smokin’ hot. I wanna see if Noon can forgive him for that nasty surprise at the end of B2. @archer_jill #WHITEHEARTOFJUSTICE

I heard a rumor that Rafe Sinclair makes a wish and I wanna know if it’s granted. @archer_jill #WHITEHEARTOFJUSTICE

Nocturo. Tall dark handsome. Heard his scalpel’s put to good use. Is he gonna threaten Brunus w it again? @archer_jill #WHITEHEARTOFJUSTICE

I love the characters, but I’m really just in it for the monsters and magic. Bring on the ice demons! @archer_jill #WHITEHEARTOFJUSTICE

Armageddon is over. The demons won. But it’s not as dark as all that. Parts of it are romantic and sweet. @archer_jill #NOONONYXSERIES

 

 

 

abouttheauthor

 

clip_image006

Jill Archer writes dark, genre-bending fantasy from rural Maryland. Her novels include Dark Light of Day, Fiery Edge of Steel, and White Heart of Justice. She loves cats, coffee, books, movies, day tripping, and outdoor adventuring.

Website/blog: http://jillarcherauthor.wordpress.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/archer_jill

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jillarcherauthor

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5782149.Jill_Archer

Discussion Questions: http://jillarcherauthor.wordpress.com/book-clubs/

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Book Blast & Giveaway: The Divine Series by RE Hargrave

dtl_banner

Event Organized by ❤MaE Book Tours

{Book #1}

3d To Serve is Divine Cover"To Serve is Divine"

Synopsis

***Contains explicit sexual content (including multiple partners and gender pairings) and mature situations which could be trigger-inducing for some readers.***

Catherine O’Chancey is a reserved, demure, and graceful submissive. All traits she trained hard to enhance when she discovered the world of Dominance and submission in college. In an attempt to start fresh after the unexpected death of her last Dom, Catherine moves to Dallas, TX to escape the shroud of darkness he left behind in her life. She has tried to fight the need that resides deep within her to submit, but finally has to admit she can’t for it is not a choice, but part of who she truly is. After months of mental preparation, she ventures back into the lifestyle by attending a coveted open-night event at Dungeons and Dreams, an exclusive BDSM club.

Is it fate or coincidence that Catherine garners the attention of one of the club’s board members who happens to be on the hunt for the perfect sub – a partner who enjoys receiving pain and pleasure as much as he enjoys doling it out?

Jayden Masterson is many things: a firm Dom, a shrewd businessman, and a gentleman. What he isn’t, is someone who partakes in relationships outside of contractual ones with his multiple, un-collared, regular submissives. While he likes rough sex, he is not an animal, and can find pleasure only if it is consensual. What his harem is missing is a pain slut; could there be one in his future?

Upon meeting Catherine, Jayden feels an instantaneous spark inside him that has him wanting to know not just her body, but her mind. He wants to unravel her mysteries and discover her secrets. Through pain can they find the pleasure they seek? Can part-time pain lovers find full-time fulfillment when it’s not in their contract?

Genre Erotica/ BDSM

Publication Date January 20th 2013

goodreads-black-200x200

kindle_logo_on_black-200x53

__________________________________________________________________

{Book #2}

Synopsis

***Contains explicit sexual content (including multiple partners and gender pairings) and mature situations which could be trigger-inducing for some readers.***

Over the past year of being Jayden Masterson’s collared submissive, Catherine O’Chancey has worked through the mental terrors left behind by her old Dom — or at least she thinks she has. To celebrate their collaring anniversary, Jayden organizes a special day, during which her final fantasies will be realized and her limits tested. Will it prove to be more than she can handle? Can she endure the erotic onslaught her mind and body will experience and survive unscathed?

While Catherine faces these dark shadows and pleasurable highs, Jayden will find his own inner strength being tested, too. He has come to realize that, somewhere along the way, Catherine has taken possession of his heart, mind, and body. Now, he faces his biggest challenge ever; he must let go of all his submissives but one: his jewel, Catherine. Can he leave his philandering ways behind? Has he made the ultimate mistake by putting his jewel into the hands of others? Will his gift to Catherine wind up costing him the one thing that has ever meant something real to him?

Jayden has helped Catherine heal from past wrongs and chase away the nightmares. In return, Catherine has shown him what it means to care for someone beyond mere sexual gratification. Their strengthening bond as Master and submissive has paved the way for deeper emotions — if they can find the courage to open up to each other.

Join Catherine and Jayden for an emotion packed weekend that could forever change the future of their relationship. This could be their best chance at love, but first both Dom and sub must gain control over the one thing they can’t put in a collar: their deepest doubts and fears. For this kind of healing, the necessary treatment must be mutually given. Is it too late to erase some old scars?

Genre Erotica/ BDSM

Publication Date August 5th 2013

goodreads-black-200x200

kindle_logo_on_black-200x53

__________________________________________________________________

{Book #3 Coming Soon}

__________________________________________________________________

3d A Divine Life CoverTo Serve is Divine excerpt (18+):

For the next hour, Jayden shifted topics in the questioning. Sometimes his questions were in regards to Spencer, other times he asked about childhood memories. The whole time he monitored the bullet, watching her skin tone and breathing so he knew when it was getting to be too much or taking her too close to an orgasm.

Together they worked the first memory out of her. When she was done talking, her cheeks were tear soaked, and Jayden felt nauseous. Spencer had not been a Dom. He’d been an abuser, and Catherine had been nothing more than a worthless object to him. The time had come to welcome her back into the true meaning of the Lifestyle; Jayden could wait no longer.

The Dominant stood and freed the velvet box which contained the length of black pearls from his pocket. Attached near the clasp was a small charm engraved with a four-leaf clover for outer appearance while the back of the charm was etched with Jayden’s initials and a triskelion—the emblem of their Lifestyle.

“Catherine,” he said standing before her. “Will you allow me to collar you?”

There was nothing ritualistic about it, just straight to the point. Jayden wanted her; wanted to have a hand in her life full-time, even if they played just on the weekends. He was offering to be there when she was happy and when she was sick. Protection within the community would be provided by him. More than anything: he was stating that he wanted her.

Catherine met his gaze and smiled before she slipped from the chair to take a proper position on her knees for the occasion.

“Aye, Sir. To serve you will be divine,” she answered, and Jayden could tell her heart raced within her chest—much like his own.

He fastened the choker around her neck, allowing the pads of his fingertips to linger against her soft skin a moment longer than necessary, and then he kissed her lips.

“I’ve chosen black pearls for your collar because of all this particular treasure has to endure for its inner beauty to shine, and for its rarity. You are my pearl, my jewel, and you’re servitude will always be surreal.”

__________________________________________________________________

A Divine Life excerpt (18+):

Catherine was locked into position: hands tied above her head, legs spread wide with knees bent, the mock cock buried deep in her ass. Her sex was stretched slightly open, and she could feel the edge of the table pressing just under the bottom of her ass, bound as she was to the edge of the table. The dildo was the one thing keeping her from slipping off. Catherine felt like a slut; she felt like a seductress, and she felt beautiful in her submission for her Master—even if he wasn’t there.

The camera came to life, surrounding her with its audible preservation of every emotion on her face, leaving no part of her hidden but her eyes.

Shawn returned to her side and flipped her skirt up so that, once again, Catherine was on full display. A cool breeze traipsed over her left nipple when he tugged the blouse down, catching it under her breast.

A single camera click chirped before a sharp, repetitive beeping broke into the serenity of the afternoon.

“Well, shit!” huffed Shawn. “Sorry, doll, my battery just died on the camera. I need to run back inside and grab my spare.”

“Um, Shawn, please don’t leave me out here alone. You’ve got enough pictures, right?” Catherine could feel her nerves rolling in her stomach, souring it. Her heart pounded in her chest. She didn’t want any more surprises; she just wanted to get the damn blindfold off!

“It won’t take but a minute. I’ll be right back, okay?” He patted her leg, and she whimpered. “Don’t go anywhere!” Shawn instructed, laughing at her expense; because really, where the fuck was she going to go?

“Shawn.” A door closed, and Catherine had to assume it was the door back into the building. “Shawn!”

Oh, you have got to be kidding me! He did not just leave me out here like this. I know he made sure everything was secure, but so help me; if I slip off this table, I’m going to kick his ass!

“Shawn?” She tried one more time. Nope, the fucker was gone. “Well, fuck me!” she growled to the trees.

A twig snapped behind Catherine.

“I think I just might do that,” came a low whisper.

__________________________________________________________________

About the Author

RE_Hargrave

R.E. Hargrave lives on the outskirts of Dallas, TX where she prides herself on being a domestic engineer. Married to her high school sweetheart, together they are raising three children from elementary age to college age. She is an avid reader, a sometimes quilter and now, a writer. Other hobbies include gardening and a love of a music.

A native 'mutt,' Hargrave has lived in New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Alabama, Texas, and California. She is fond of setting her stories on location in South Carolina and Texas, but it’s anybody's guess as to what the genre will be!

Connect with R.E. Hargrave!

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

MaE Book Tours

Monday, April 21, 2014

Author Interview with Renea Mason, author of Symphony of Light and Winter

Symphony Of Light and Winter 450 x 169

 

Today on the blog we have author  Renea Mason for an interview. Renea is the author of one of today’s book blasts Symphony of Light and Winter. We would like to thank Renea for stopping by and sharing with us.

 

clip_image002About Renea:

Renea Mason writes steamy romances to help even out the estrogen to testosterone imbalance caused by living in a house full of men.

When she isn’t putting pen to paper crafting sensual stories filled with supernatural lovers, she spends time with her beyond-supportive husband, two wonderful sons and three loving but needy cats.

Her debut novel, Symphony of Light and Winter, finished second for Best New Paranormal Series of 2013 in Paranormal Cravings’ Battle of the Books and received a third place award for Best New Paranormal Romance of 2013 in The Paranormal Romance Guild’s Reviewers Choice Awards.

Renea is a member of Romance Writers of America, The Paranormal Romance Guild and The Fantasy, Futuristic and Paranormal subchapter of the Romance Writers of America.

She is also a founding member of Coffee Talk Writers and the Coffee Talk website–a site designed to support established writers and foster new talent.

http://www.ReneaMason.com

http://www.Facebook.com/ReneaMasonAuthor

http://www.Facebook.com/symphonyoflightandwinter

http://www.Pinterest.com/ReneaMason

http://www.goodreads.com/ReneaMason

http://reneamason.tumblr.com/

https://twitter.com/ReneaMason1

http://www.amazon.com/ReneaMason/e/B00DIMOX2S/

 

 

authorinterview

 

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

No, I didn’t. I wanted to be a Broadway singer, but life has a funny way of defining your destiny. It all worked out for the best.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

I considered myself a “real writer” as soon as I signed my first check for deposit.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

I published my first novel one year from the time I started writing. It was the only piece of fiction I had ever written.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

I work as a business advisor for a Fortune 100 Company. My day job has nothing to with writing, but I still very much enjoy it.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

Between the Waters – Symphony of Light Book Two will be released this summer. 20 words or less…

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

I am a published author with Etopia Press.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

I can write a novel in 4 months if life allows it, but with young children and a demanding day job I’ve managed a short story and one novel in my first year.

What can we expect from you in the future? ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

I plan to continue the Symphony of Light series until the characters tell me to stop. It is labeled a paranormal erotic romance. I am also planning a contemporary ménage trilogy this year—entitled Curing Doctor Vincent.

What genre would you place your books into?

Paranormal and Erotic Romance

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

I don’t know that I decided. I wrote the book and then labeled it. I write what the characters tell me to. J

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

Cyril and Overton. They are two sides of the same person. Equally compelling in very different ways.

How long have you been writing?, and who or what inspired you to write?

I started writing in 2012. Symphony of Light and Winter compelled me to write. I decide one day to start writing it down… and here we are.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I need silence, which is at a premium in a house with two preschool boys.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Typically.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

I started writing the book without a title. I joined a critique site that required a title. On a whim I picked Symphony of Light and Winter. When it came time to publish, I couldn’t think of anything better. As for Between the Waters, I picked the titles before I write the book.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I have no idea. It just comes to me.

Are character names and place names decided after their creation? Or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?

I pretty much establish the name and character voice at the same time.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

As I go along.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

I wouldn’t say there is a wholesome moral but there are themes and strong symbolism throughout the Symphony of Light series.

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

I prefer Kindle at the moment. It’s easier to read on the go.

What is your favorite book and Why? Have you read it more than once?

I don’t have just one. I love Misery by Stephen King, Anne Rice’s Vampire Series, anything from JR Ward, Jeaniene Frost, Sherrilyn Kenyon and Karen Marie Moning.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

I don’t think they translate well. Twilight didn’t translate well in my opinion.

Your favorite food is?

Tomatoes

Your favorite singer/group is?

Indigo Girls, Heart, Florence + the Machine, Tori Amos and many more.

Your favorite color is?

Black

Your favorite Author is?

JR Ward, Jeaniene Frost, Sherrilyn Kenyon and Karen Marie Moning.

If you would like to find out more about this amazing author, check out the book blast below.

Book Blast: Symphony of Light and Winter by @ReneaMason1

Symphony Of Light and Winter 450 x 169

 

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002Symphony of Light and Winter

Symphony of Light

Book One

Renea Mason

Genre: Paranormal Erotic Romance

ISBN: 978-1-940223-10-0

Release Date: 06/21/2013

Word Count: 88,375

Page Count: 389

Blurb

One woman. Seven men. All bound by one man’s undying devotion.

Fundraiser Linden Hill has a knack for reading people. She always knows which conversations will put a prospect at ease, which drink will loosen a patron’s lips—or his wallet, and how cleavage will make a donor sweeten the deal. She’s even foreseen her dateless weekends four hundred and sixty-four times in a row.

But ten years after watching life drain from her former mentor’s and first love’s eyes, her skills for divining the predictable are lost. When Cyril returns, he’s still gorgeous, but this time he’s beyond human, far less dead, and pissed. His lack of memory drives him to desperate acts, and his turbulent re-acquaintance with Linden pulls her into his war with a creature hell-bent on his destruction. His group of six supernatural men share a tantalizing secret, but despite the hunger, it’s love that leads her to sacrifice everything to save him…

Amazon BN ARe Kobo

Etopia Press Bookstrand

3rd Place – Best Paranormal Romance

Paranormal Romance Guild Reviewers Choice

2nd Place – Best New Paranormal Series

Paranormal Cravings Battle of the Books

Reviews

“Renea Mason’s book has everything you could want—a unique world, a panty dropping alpha male, a gripping plot and seamless writing that would never let on this was her first novel.”- lbookbliss.com

“If you love Alexandra Ivy, Lara Adrian, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Lynsay Sands, Laura Wright, and all those other amazing paranormal authors that I absolutely love with all my heart…then you will LOVE Renea Mason and her brand new “Symphony of Light” Series.” - BookReadsandReviews.com

“Linden is a feisty woman who is not afraid to stand up to Cyril, in spite of not knowing exactly what he is capable of. The book is keeps your interest throughout. I recommend this book and hope that the next in the series comes out soon.” -Paranormalromanceguild.com

excerpt

My amusement was interrupted by the absolute last thing I needed. Cyril. As if being in a room with a bunch of men who wanted me but didn’t know why and hated me for it wasn’t bad enough. In his black custom suit, he radiated power. He pulled at his cuff links as he stopped to survey the room.

Instead of trying to make my escape, I seized an opportunity to antagonize him. I was really starting to enjoy tormenting him.

“Good morning, Grim, it is nice of you to join us.”

“Grim. Ha! She called him Grim.” Rhys clapped his hands as he laughed.

Cyril didn’t acknowledge me or Rhys’s comment. He stood there for a very long time and looked around the room at each man. Nobody met his gaze but me. Cyril’s fists clenched at his side, jaw tight, and face furious.

“I warned all of you,” he addressed the room. He didn’t growl but rather wrapped his words with a subtle menace.

“Leave them alone. You know this is entirely your fault. If you would just think things through, you’d stop fucking everything up. I do have to say, of all your fuckups, this one is certainly the most impressive and entertaining from my perspective.” I winked at Overton, who managed to glare at me even with his head practically bowed. Why were they so fucking subservient to him?

The next thing I knew, I was yanked from my seat and hoisted onto the counter. Cyril grabbed my ass and pulled me to the edge, forced my legs open, and stepped between them. He wrapped his arms around me and placed his head against mine. It wasn’t his voice I heard but rather his mind. It felt like when I talked to myself but somehow I knew it was him. Strange, he had tone and inflection while communicating.

“You need to stop showing off in front of my men. Yes, I fucked up, but do you really want them to give in to their urges? Do you think you can fend them off? I could toss you to them and see how far you get. Is that what you want? Maybe I should let them have their way with you and pull up a chair to watch. I want you to think about something before you start to defy me. I’m the only one who can keep you safe. So it’s best you stop being a smart-ass for five seconds and listen to me. I’m going to do something that will piss you off. I’m warning you now it’s for your own good. You need to go along with it, no matter how angry you are at me. Don’t fight me. I’ll try to fix this but until then, I need to take a few precautions.”

I wasn’t sure how to respond. If I thought something, could he hear me? Was this two-way communication? I tried to push him away.

He tightened his grip and his voice was in my head again.

“Stop it! Let me remind you that I have a special connection with these men. Not only can I read their thoughts but I can’t block them. I don’t have to try to receive them. I know exactly what each person in this room, besides you of course, is thinking right now.”

So that’s what Overton meant when he said Cyril had ways of finding out.

“The thoughts that assaulted me when I entered this room would make a porn star blush; every one of their little fantasies featured you.”

I giggled.

The voice growled. “Don’t laugh. I won’t pretend I’m not jealous and angry. I am. But if you knew the things they were thinking you’d better understand why I need to do what I’m about to do. Do you see Dominic over there? Let’s just say his tastes run a little dark. Ever spend considerable time naked with your hands bound behind your back and a ball gag in your mouth? He’s picturing you that way, this very instant.”

I stiffened. That didn’t at all appeal to me.

“Thor seems to think that you’d enjoy all of us taking you at the same time.”

And he seemed so quiet and sweet.

“Sinclair wants to shove his cock down your throat until you choke, all the while telling you how it’s your entire fault. Rhys is thinking of how you would look sprawled out on the hood of his new sports car, and Overton...”

“NO!” I yelled.

It seemed like a violation of privacy with Overton. Unlike the others, I considered him a friend. I respected him too much.

“See, like it or not, I’m going to tell you what he’s thinking since it pisses me off the most. He thinks I’m going to fuck you right here on this counter, to lay my claim. Once he gets past the fantasies of watching me fuck you, which he finds exceptionally arousing...”

There was a momentary pause to the voice and when he started again, he was angry.

“He then knocks on your bedroom door after you run crying from the room. You invite him in and he holds you in his arms while you cry about how I violated and humiliated you. He wants to comfort you. He wants to be your savior. He wants to save you from me. But he knows he can’t.”

I felt the moment he left my head, because a sudden wave of dizziness came over me.

With no more words, he tilted his head and placed his lips against mine. I fought the rigidity that tried to seize my body. I knew it was best to give in. I wouldn’t fight him, but I knew every time he got close, I ran the risk of losing myself. I was still way too angry to just give up.

His lips danced with mine as he nestled himself between my open thighs.

Was Overton right? How far would he take it? If it did go too far, would I be able to stop him? He was such a fucking weakness for me I honestly didn’t think I would.

He was gentle and softly stroked my back as his tongue made love to my mouth. With one hand he cupped my ass and pulled me flush against him, and with the other he reached up, cupped my breast, and squeezed hard. His kiss grew frantic and I became caught up in the sensation, forgot where I was, and that I had an audience. He pushed me hard against his erection as he rubbed himself rhythmically against my core. “You are mine. You belong to me. Now say it! Let them all know who you belong to.”

Was he kidding? I hesitated.

He ran his fangs up the side of my neck in warning. He whispered in my ear, “Say it. You need to say it. Let them hear it come from your lips.” His hand drifted from my breast to the hem of my nightgown and pulled up one side so it rested in the crease where my leg met my hip.

Somehow the part of me that knew he was right surfaced, and the stubborn part of me took a momentary vacation. If I was his, they wouldn’t dare defy him. It would keep me safe.

His fingers toyed with the edge of my panties before tugging the fabric to the side to allow him to stroke my moist skin. He positioned himself at the juncture between my legs, allowing my naked flesh to gather friction from his cloth-covered cock.

“Yes, Cyril, I’m yours.”

With that, he struck. His fangs pierced my neck. The second of pain from his bite passed and the pleasure grew, igniting my veins with liquid desire. One arm tightened around me, pulling me harder against his cock. The other held my head while he sucked harder. Each pull he took was linked to the sensitive place between my legs. He ground his hips into mine and I moaned. The first wave of climax hit, tensing muscles and pushing my breath out in a rush. This was new. He could do this just by biting me?

I shook in his arms as he drank. Tremor after tremor seized me as he took his fill. I was so caught up in the sensation I only vaguely noticed the moans and growls that escaped from behind his teeth. With one final pull, and a thrust of his hips, he finished with a crushing embrace as he removed his teeth from my neck.

“Mine!” he roared. He enveloped me in his arms and held me close. He dipped his head to lick closed the small punctures on my throat.

I threw my head back. My breathing slowed as the cloud that had invaded my head receded.

Son of a bitch! I just came in front of everyone while sitting on the kitchen counter!

was afraid to open my eyes but when I did, he stared back.

He nuzzled my cheek. “I’m sorry. I only want to protect you. If you’re mine, no one will dare touch you. I needed to lay my claim but I didn’t want to take anything you hadn’t already offered. Since you’ve replenished me before I thought this might be more acceptable.”

I was angrier with myself than him.

He caressed my arms and back. When I mustered enough courage to look around, we were the only people in the kitchen, with the exception of Overton, who stood in the doorway holding the keys to my car.

Cyril softly lifted my chin so that my eyes would meet his. “Again, I’m sorry. I know I end up saying that far too often. But I need you to know, hearing those words from your lips...ah, hell. I can’t even explain it. Perhaps someday, you’ll utter them in truth.”

He placed his forehead against mine, took a deep breath. “Fuck. Maybe Overton is right. Maybe someone should save you from me.”

 

clip_image004

 

abouttheauthor

 

 

clip_image006

Renea Mason writes steamy romances to help even out the estrogen to testosterone imbalance caused by living in a house full of men.

When she isn’t putting pen to paper crafting sensual stories filled with supernatural lovers, she spends time with her beyond-supportive husband, two wonderful sons and three loving but needy cats.

Her debut novel, Symphony of Light and Winter, finished second for Best New Paranormal Series of 2013 in Paranormal Cravings’ Battle of the Books and received a third place award for Best New Paranormal Romance of 2013 in The Paranormal Romance Guild’s Reviewers Choice Awards.

Renea is a member of Romance Writers of America, The Paranormal Romance Guild and The Fantasy, Futuristic and Paranormal subchapter of the Romance Writers of America.

She is also a founding member of Coffee Talk Writers and the Coffee Talk website–a site designed to support established writers and foster new talent.

http://www.ReneaMason.com

http://www.Facebook.com/ReneaMasonAuthor

http://www.Facebook.com/symphonyoflightandwinter

http://www.Pinterest.com/ReneaMason

http://www.goodreads.com/ReneaMason

http://reneamason.tumblr.com/

https://twitter.com/ReneaMason1

http://www.amazon.com/ReneaMason/e/B00DIMOX2S/

5 *Review and Character Interview: The Highland Henchman by

bookblast

I get so few times to go all crazy and totally throw a fan moment, well today I get to do it! I absolutely love this series and so far have been left with some heavy withdraw symptoms. I cant wait for the next one! I also want to congratulate Amy with Beauty and the Barbarian that made it into the quarter finals of the ABNA awards. Now hold on we not only have a review but also a Character Interview with the star of The Highland Henchman, Bran. Oh my gosh, this guy was in my dreams for nights!

 

 

amy jareki

The Highland Henchman (Highland Force #2)

by Amy Jarecki

Blurb-

Intent on winning a Lowlander’s tournament, Bran MacLeod travels south with his laird. All goes as planned, except spirited Miss Enya Ross continually distracts him, and in the oddest situations. With no business lusting after a baron’s daughter, Bran decides to return to Raasay—until his laird pledges Bran’s services in the fight to reinstate Mary, Queen of Scots to the throne.
Enya has no deference for the lines of nobility, or for the Great Divide that separates Lowlanders from Highlanders. The way Sir Bran’s eyes hunger for her ignites an internal fire Enya cannot quell. All her life she’s wanted adventure and excitement, but now her every thought is consumed with the rugged Highlander.
With all odds stacked against them, can their forbidden love withstand the tumult of war and the menace of betrayal?

 

booklinks

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21453866-the-highland-henchman

http://www.amazon.com/Highland-Henchman-Force-ebook/dp/B00J6HYD3S/ref=la_B0061VIGDK_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1397994522&sr=1-2

 

 

review

The Highland Henchman (Highland Force #2)The Highland Henchman by Amy Jarecki
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Now a man Bran sets sails with his Laird to the lowland’s to content in games arranged by a lowland Lord. Now knighted, Bran’s only focus is to protect Laird Calum and to win these games and walk out a champion for his clan. But he’s plans are soon tested when a young lass shows up and stirs way too much in Bran.
Before he knows it he has started to fall in love with the young lass, who is no other than the Lord Ross’s daughter, Enya. But a match between a highland henchman and a royal lowland lass cannot be. As much as Bran tried to stay away from Enya, she just had a nick for showing up and pushing Bran to the limit of control. It isn’t long before the highlander cannot resist her anymore, and all hell breaks loose around them.

Wow, just wow. That was all I could utter when I finished this book. The first book in the series was amazing, and the second book was just epic. I fell instantly in love with Bran. He is a beautiful character filled with honor and a great heart. Just utterly perfect. Enya captured my heart as well. Born in a time when women wasn’t allowed to venture about like a man, she dreamed of just being free and seeing the world. A strong fighter herself, she doesn’t just stand down and take a beating. Their love story edged close to Romeo and Juliet, but with a huge difference. I just loved it. Once again Amy proved that is able to not only capture a reader’s attention, but also a reader’s heart. When the part came of Bran being tortured I had to hold back the tears and curses. And when Enya had to endure her own torture the screen became unexplainable blurry. Once again Amy had me experiencing all possible human emotion that one can experience in life.

Amy Jerecki knows how to build an exceptional plot filled with characters you will have no choice but to love. An amazing talent indeed. There is no doubt that this have easy became one of my favorite series and there is no way I am going to miss any books within it. I will be the one constantly begging Amy for the next book, it’s just that addictive! If you haven’t picked up this series you are losing out on one hell of a series. Well done Amy, well done.


View all my reviews

 

Ooo now for the interview with Bran!!

 

 

character

bran

  Yeah I am drooling, can you blame me?!

Interview of Sir Bran MacLeod from The Highland Henchman:

Amy Jarecki, time traveling character interviewer here. I nearly lost my life bringing you this story from the perilous times of 1568, sailing in a birlinn through the Sound of Raasay in a nasty squall, the boat ran aground capsized in the icy northern waters. But who came to my rescue but the henchman himself, Sir Bran MacLeod. Better yet, the enormous man with his long chestnut hair braided away from his face and intense hazel eyes agreed to an exclusive interview…

Amy: Thank you for pulling me from the sea and saving my life.

Bran reclines in his chair comfortably and spreads his arms to his sides: Yer thanks is not needed, m’lady.

Amy: Tell me what you felt the first time you saw Miss Enya Ross.

Bran: That would be when I spied her hiding behind a copse of yellow gorse up on the hill. She had the look of a hunter—albeit a beautiful one. But I was there to protect me laird, and I eyed the bow slung over her shoulder with a wee bit of alarm.

Amy: Did you think she’d attempt to fire one of her arrows?

Bran chuckles: Nay, but as henchman, me duty is no’ to act upon what I think, but to consider all possibilities for something to go awry.

Amy: But then you saw her again that night at the gathering. How did you feel then?

Bran: Aye…I’ll never forget her green frock and the way her auburn tresses flowed down her back. I coudna keep me eyes off the lassie, and there I was defending Laird Calum. Anyone could have knocked me flat with a tap between the eyes.

Amy: I doubt that. You’re as enormous as the story touts you to be.

Bran leans forward and waggles his eyebrows: ’Tis why Calum made me henchman.

Amy: True, and yours is the most powerful sword.

Bran shrugs: Aye, that too.

Amy: What was it like to be knighted by Queen Mary?

Bran: Och, ’twas a moment in time I’ll nay forget. Honestly, I thought she might try to lop me head off with the sword—I did no’ have me shirt on and I was certain to be reprimanded. When she touched the blade to me shoulder and uttered the words, “I knight you into the Order of the Thistle,” it was as if the world was floating in a dream. I could scarcely draw a breath—afraid to look at her I was.

Amy: But then you did look up.

Bran: Aye. She had a regal air about her—the tallest woman I’d ever seen, truth be told.

Amy: How did you feel when you thought Laird Calum had betrayed you?

Bran: I’d lost me temper before, but that was like falling into a fire pit of unbridled rage. I couldna believe he’d crossed me. I questioned me entire lifetime of loyalty.

Amy: What would you have done if you were not tied to the mast?

Bran shudders: I hate to think on it. I would have struck out like a raging bull for certain. Calum did the right thing by tying me up before he handed Enya over to Lord Ross, but it still makes me gut roil to think of it. If I could go back in time, I’d fight rather than see Enya “cleansed” in the nunnery. We outgunned Ross and his men. We could have taken them.

Amy: How did you feel when you finally had Enya in your arms again?

Bran: So many emotions coursed through me. But cradling me bonny lassie in me arms, I never wanted to let go. If anyone dare threaten her again, God save them because they’d have me wrath and me blade to contend with first.

Amy: What are your plans for the future?

Bran: Did ye hear the news? Enya is with child again. We plan to have a large brood, she and I. I’ve even got plans to build onto me cottage.

Amy: That is excellent news. Congratulations, Sir Bran!

 

Squeals! I cant get enough of these men! If you haven't started this series yet, you are missing out! Go get it now!