The Kasadya Hellhound Series

Saturday, March 28, 2015

5 * Review - A Highland Knight’s Desire by Amy Jarecki @amyjarecki

AmyJarecki_AHighlandKnightsDesire_200px

A Highland Knight’s Desire by Amy Jarecki

Highland Dynasty Series Book 2

to read

Blurb-

In 15th century Scotland, Sir Duncan finds himself rescuing Lady Meg from the clutches of the Earl of Northumberland, and he is knocked off guard by the sassy, redheaded lass. And aye, the tall, dark, and rugged Highlander challenges Meg’s piety with his every stare.
Sir Duncan focuses on returning Lady Meg to her family and collecting his bounty before the lass can further sink her wiles into his heart. Lady Meg’s kidnapper, Northumberland, is plotting his revenge and is out to ruin them both. If Northumberland’s ruse is not exposed, Meg may end up becoming a nun, and Duncan a pawn in a deadly game. Join us on this passionate adventure as Lady Meg discovers herself – and her desires. Book two in the Highland Dynasty Series; stay tuned for book three!

Book Links-

Goodreads / Amazon

review

 

A Highland Knight's Desire (Highland Dynasty, #2)A Highland Knight's Desire by Amy Jarecki
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Duncan Campbell, son of the famous black night, accepts the call for assistance as the Earl of Angus sister is kidnapped by a vengeful English earl. But Duncan never envisioned finding a beautiful woman inside a church, no not at all, even worse her enchanting nature.

As they make a run for freedom Duncan is forced to split up his forces in an effort to draw the English off their trail and away from Lady Meg Douglas. With no other option he takes a detour to her home, and is forced to pass her off as his wife many times. But as the days past Duncan fights an even graver battle, trying to resist this fiery lass.

If he claims her, he would bring wrath upon his family and start a war. But his resolve around her is slipping with each passing moment. Can he do his duty as a knight, or would this battle be his first to lose?

If there is one thing Amy Jarecki provides with each book, it’s a never ending craving for more. Once again I was swept away so quickly that I didn’t even notice the day have past, still I clung to my reader eager to find out how Duncan and Meg would survive it all. Amy have a splendid talent to bring her characters to live and have them crawl into your heart and just stay there. I fell in love with Duncan and Meg instantly, and as more characters was introduced wanted to know even more about each one. I was a bit sad in one part of the book, it’s never easy saying goodbye to one of Amy’s characters, especially if they have already conquered your heart.

The emotional impact reading her novels are always breath taking. Amy have a talent to bring it all… love, anger, hatred, sadness, fear, angst… utter torture and ambrosia, all laced together in one spellbinding read. As for plots, Amy knows exactly how to drive a reader to the brink of insanity and then have us crashing back to that satisfied sigh. It was one hell of read and I am so delighted to know she has even more planned for us. A salute to the magnificent Author Amy Jarecki, and a very well deserved 5 stars.


View all my reviews

 

abouttheauthor

clip_image002

Amy adores Scotland. Though she now resides in southwest Utah, she received her MBA from Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh. Winning multiple writing awards, she is now focused on the genre of Scottish historical romance. Amy loves to write steamy edge-of-your-seat action adventures with rugged men and fascinating women who weave their paths through the brutal eras of the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries.

Media Links -

Website / Blog / Twitter / Facebook / Goodreads

clip_image003clip_image004clip_image005clip_image006clip_image007

Friday, March 27, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Across the Bridge of Ice by @_ruthfox_

Across The Bridge of Ice Banner 851 x 315_thumb[1]

bookblast

 

clip_image002_thumb[1]Across the Bridge of Ice

The Bridges Trilogy

Book Two

Ruth Fox

Genre: Fantasy, YA

Publisher: Hague Publishing

Date of Publication: 31 January 2015

ISBN: 9780987265296

ASIN: B00Q20I4YQ

Number of pages: 175 pages

Word Count: 55,000

Cover Artist: Ruth Fox

Book Description:

In 'The City of Silver Light', Keira Leichman spent the night lost in a wild snowstorm that struck Cassidy Heights. But what really happened that night? Not even Keira can be sure. What she does know is that she's been having strange dreams since the accident, and now she's stuck with a broken ankle and the possibility of never playing soccer again. That is, until she finds Jake's telescope, and is drawn across the Bridge of Ice to Shar.

Now Keira is marooned in the City of Silver Light with Daniel, Jake’s younger brother, with no way to get home. But that is the least of their worries, for the secrets they discover in Shar are more dangerous than Kiera could ever have imagined. And the fate of both their worlds are in their hands.

Amazon iTunes Kobo

Nook Google Play HaguePublishing

character

Character Name:

Keira Leichman

Character Bio:

I hate my hair! I just want to get that out there. It’s this red colour, curly, and totally unmanageable. Also, have you ever tried playing soccer with hair falling in your face? Nope? Yeah, well, I wouldn’t either if I didn’t have to. Anyway. I live with my mum, who works at a bakery. She works too hard, but since my dad took off I guess she feels like she’s gotta make everything perfect for us, at least financially.

If you haven’t already guessed, I’m not a girly-girl. I don’t wear dresses all that much, and jewellery just gets in the way. And make-up – forget it! I guess that’s why I don’t have too many girl friends. My best mate is probably Jake Miles, but who knows what’s going on with him these days?

Describe yourself: what is your worst and best quality?

I’m stubborn. That’s my worst quality. Seriously, I can sit there and argue with someone all day, even if I start to think they might be right. I’ll still argue anyway!

Best quality? That’s a tough one. I’m good at soccer. I once ate three Big Macs in a row because Mikael dared me too. I like to win. I’m competitive, because I don’t want to let myself down. Or anyone else. Is that a quality?

What is the one thing you wish other people knew about you?

I wish I could tell other people that I’m not always as confident as I make out. I mean, most of the time I am. But it doesn’t mean I’m not freaking out inside, you know?

What is your biggest secret, something no one knows about?

How about Shar? That’s the biggest secret ever! There is this totally alien world out there, hovering in our sky, and most of us don’t even see it.

What are you most afraid of?

When I hurt my ankle, I didn’t know if I’d ever play soccer again. So what was I supposed to do with my life? That was my biggest fear – that I might end up as a total nothing.

What do you want more than anything?

If you’d asked me that before all this happened, I would have said to play professionally. Think about it! The crowd going wild when I kick the winning goal. The fame, the glory. But now I’m not so sure, because I’ve discovered something else – I want to help people. I want to make this world a better place.

What is your relationship status?

It’s complicated. Like, way complicated. I totally thought I was in love with my best friend. But I’m starting to see how wrong I was. He’s in love with someone else, and now I’ve met this guy from another world who’s trapped on Earth… Take quantum theory and times it by ten. That’s how complicated it is.

How would you describe your sense of fashion?

Fashion? What’s that? Let’s just say, I’m happy in trackies and a hoodie.

What is your idea of happiness?

My idea of happiness is having something to do. I’m not the kind to take a holiday, sit down and relax. I do stuff all day, every day. I hate sitting still.

What is your current state of mind?

Right now? I’m exhilarated! I just came back from a run around the lake at Phoenix Park, stopping by the treehouse in the woods to check on Archon – or Aaron. He’s up there with Daniel, hammering some new boards in place. Both of them looked at me like I was crazy for sprinting up the hill like there’s no tomorrow.

I’m sweaty and hot and guzzling down a bottle of water. But I’m on my feet and I’m running, which is pretty amazing since the doctors were saying I might never run again.

What is your most treasured possession?

There’s a shard of ice in my pocket. I keep it with me all the time, like, always. It’s pretty special, that shard.

What is it that you most dislike?

People who are dishonest. I hate lies. Which is pretty funny, since I’ve had to tell a few of them myself about everything that’s happened. I tell myself it’s for a good cause – and there’s no way people would believe me, if I told the truth! – but still, I hate it.

What is the quality you most like in a man?

A guy has to make me think. He has to challenge me. I think that’s why I broke up with Baz – and with every boyfriend I’ve had in the past. And I think that’s what attracted me to Jake. But Archon… wow, he is different. He doesn’t just challenge me. He’s my opposite – he thinks deeply about things, and tends not to act on impulse. It sounds corny, but it’s kind of like finding the missing part of yourself, you know?

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

I used to think I’d change my hair, but that seems superficial now. I kind of think I’d rather make a bigger change. Like, I’d be more accepting of people. I’d try to be less abrasive, and definitely kinder to my mum. So, yeah. I’m gonna work on that.

 

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

  abouttheauthor

clip_image004_thumb[2]

Ruth completed a Bachelor of Arts/Diploma of Arts in Professional Writing and Editing in 2006. Her other published works include “Monster-boy: The Lair of the Grelgoroth”, Book 1 of the Monster-boy Series, and “Sand Dog”, an illustrated picture book for younger readers. Both are available from Amazon.com.

Ruth has been an avid reader her entire life and, inspired by the books that engrossed her as she was growing up, she aims to create stories that can draw readers in and enthral them for days or weeks. She writes every day and lives in Ballarat, Victoria, with her partner, her cat, and an ever-expanding library of books.

Twitter: @_ruthfox_

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RuthFoxAuthorandArtist

Website: http://thewordsandpictures.com/

Blog Tour & Giveaway–Meet Room With Books @roomwbooks #giveaway #payitforward

0h

 
 
FEATURING
Room With Books
RWB Top Banner

LINKS:
Website: http://roomwithbooks.com/
Email: blog@roomwithbooks.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/roomwithbooks
Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+PatriciaRoomwithbooks/posts/p/pub
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/patricia-roomwithbooks/6b/5aa/911/
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/roomwithbookspa/
Tumblr: http://www.tumblr.com/blog/roomwithbooks/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/roomwbooks/
TSU: https://www.tsu.co/Room_With_Books
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/profile/A1PQ9HR1UOF93I
Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/13657094-patricia
 
 
BIO:
Patricia Green
 

"A room without books is like a life without meaning." ~ Thomas Jefferson ~

Life always existed for me, more real at times, through the books I read and their characters than the life I've lived. My dream is to provide a place where you want to sit down, get comfortable with your favorite beverage and select a book from the authors featured here that will help you escape to that place where only you - and your favorite characters - exist. Room With Books began with my interest in Facebook. I made many Facebook friends and with the help and encouragement of my cousin, Linda Boulanger, a publisher, cover designer, editor, and most importantly, an author, I began sharing posts from many of the authors and tour organizers, and I soon realized I had an avid interest in promoting new and established authors, helping with book cover reveals, book releases and other book publishing events. Thus Room With Books was born. I can be found on  Facebook at https://Facebook.com/roomwithbooks. Please come over for a visit, like the page, and be sure to keep me posted of any new authors or upcoming events you would like to see featured!

GIVEAWAY



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal: Six Years by Stephanie Witter

clip_image002

clip_image004Title: Six Years

Author: Stephanie Witter

Category/Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Standalone novel

Cover Designer: Jo Raven

Release Date: June 9th

Add SIX YEARS to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24932168-six-years

Blurb:

They hadnt seen each other in six years.

Shed always had a crush on him.

He'd only ever seen her like a little sister.

And now...hes back.

Brooklyn

I thought that he was a part of a distant past. I thought I didn’t feel anything for him now, but I was not so sure anymore. Having him back in my life, for however long it was, was making me see things differently. So many things had changed in the last six years and somehow I’d lost myself and forgotten all about my dreams.

My home life was still a mess, my personal life was nothing to boast about and when I see how successful he is, how everything he’d always wanted came true, I couldn't help but feel lacking in a lot of ways. But he’s back and he needed me. I knew I was the only one who understood that part of his life, the only one he’s willing to share it with. My heart is still beating too hard and too fast for him and this time around, I was as much an adult as he was.

Having a six year age gap didn't mean shit.

Nolan

Being back in Riverdale was harder than I thought. I’d turned my back on that life, but there had always been that one girl in my head. Little B. Now she’s nothing like the twelve year old girl I’d last seen. She’s a young woman, gorgeous and sexy. I couldn't stay away. There’s something drawing me to her and it goes beyond my need to reconnect with her, to have her back in my life and fill the hollow part of my chest. But I couldn't forget the little girl she had been; I shouldn’t forget the little girl she used to be.

Growing up with a junkie mother and nobody else, my neighbor, Brooklyn, had been my only happy place. I had taken care of her, and when I had left, I had to leave behind a huge part of me. I couldn't do it again. I needed her. Once again, she’s the only person I want in my life, but I wasn’t sure if it was for all the right reasons.

Were there too many obstacles in the way?

clip_image008
clip_image006
clip_image010

clip_image012

About the author:

Stephanie Witter is a French dreamer. She started learning English at three, and fell in love with the language. Always with a book, or two close by, she started reading in English when she couldn’t wait any longer for Harry Potter to be translated in French. After a while, reading wasn’t enough. She started writing Young Adult and New Adult Contemporary novels and PATCH UP is her first New Adult Contemporary novel.

* Website * Blog * Goodreads * Twitter * Facebook Page * Tsu * Instagram * Pinterest *

Would you like to receive an email to let you know when SIX YEARS is available? If you do, fill out this form: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1yyTW2thg6BKkkZf-V8EUx_bhInddU3sibkwXCR0haV8/viewform

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 26, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Shadowed Horizons by @wolff_shyla

Shadowed Horizons Banner 851 x 315

bookblast

 

clip_image002Shadowed Horizons

Anath

Book 1

Shyla Wolff

Genre: paranormal romance

Publisher: Extasy Books

Date of Publication: 12-15-14

ISBN: 978-1-4874-0162-7

ASIN: B00RC7QOIQ

Number of pages: 275

Word Count: 72,000

Cover Artist: Latrisha Waters

Book Description:

Love should never be a choice between family and the man who’s claimed your heart.

A warrior’s life is the only one Kiera’s known since her psychic brethren adopted her from the streets as a child. Though she possesses equal preternatural ability and fighting skills, they will always see her as their youngest and in need of protection.

According to their leader’s psychic vision, her twofold destiny includes saving a computer prodigy’s life and a mate who pulls her from death’s clutches. Carlin, an electronics genius, develops software/hardware which could destroy any government. Without malicious intent, he seeks to prove possibilities beyond his current reality. Bored with the aspects of his social life, he yearns for a family.

When Kiera saves Carlin from the clutches of a psychic terrorist who stalks him for his program and skills, neither is prepared for the immediate connection formed. From the first skirmish, both their lives are caught up in a maelstrom of danger and desire. Kiera struggles to keep Carlin and his work from the terrorist who wants to destroy the U.S. while resisting the extraordinary attraction between them.

Can Carlin convince her they were meant for each other and survive her warrior brethren?

Add it to Your Goodreads Shelf

Available at Amazon

excerpt

Carlin strode beside his bodyguard through the dimly lit parking garage fidgeting with his keys. “Adam, this does not make it to my top five favorite places to visit.”

A rat skittered across the floor in the shadows, and he imagined it turning a gimlet-eyed stare on its intruders. Filth, gas, and pizza from a nearby restaurant thickened the air, reminiscent of the alley apartment he occupied during college. Small pools of dingy light challenged macabre shadows for dominance—and lost. Clashing of the bleak rays and murky silhouettes added an ominous, prophetic feeling he couldn’t shake. Water stains mingled with the shadows to create fleeting two dimensional monsters. Carlin was not a fan of Rorschach. Crap, I haven’t been spooked like this in years.

Adam shrugged. “Sir, as your bodyguard, I admit this isn’t my idea of a secure location either, but it is the closest enclosed parking available to meet with your client. The open street leaves you too vulnerable. As much as you cherish your privacy, I’m surprised you agreed to help at all.”

“He’s a college buddy, needed help with a simple, high-tech security task. Seems twenty-first century technology left him in the dust.”

“Next time, why don’t you at least suggest meeting during the daytime?” Adam’s narrowed eyes and tilted head as if listening to a far-off sound—usually spelled trouble.

“Next time, remind me a proctologist’s exam would be more enjoyable, okay?” Sweat beaded his forehead despite the cool December breeze drifting over the graffiti-covered knee wall.

“Yeah, I’m feeling it too. Let’s get the hell out of here.”

Carlin’s skidding on a badly patched piece of concrete prompted his bodyguard to scan the area around them. Dirt and crumbles skittered, their audio report echoed off the walls.

"Watch your step, sir, we don’t need to broadcast our location." Adam murmured as he reached out to steady him.

“You know…” Carlin muttered, “Folks generally think of me as a good analytical and concrete thinker. Perhaps whatever higher power gifted me with intuitive abilities for logistics and computers decided on a mental tariff—common sense.”

"My sixth sense says trouble’s GPS has already locked on. Stay close.”

The gentle slide of Adam’s gun from its shoulder rig compelled Carlin to suck in the cool night air, searing his lungs.

“Sir, instincts are the best survival tool we have. They’re rarely wrong. Better safe than sorry.”

Sharp chirps split the silence, Carlin’s cell threw his heart rate into overdrive. Hair on his nape prickled as he fumbled in his pocket. With an all-thumbs equivalent, he extracted the nuisance and hit ignore.

Massive pillars supported the five-story concrete structure. Rounding one to his left, his foot stalled mid-step when Adam snatched him sideways. The colossal thug he almost plowed into blended into the shadows.

“Jesus!" The man personified hulkish features with abject malice in his gaze. The split-second observation brought Carlin a rush of adrenaline. "You're huge!" Brown hair pulled back in a ponytail swept his shoulder giving the look of a mob enforcer. A bulge of pitted, tanned skin separated a straight line of bushy eyebrows. Dark eyes appeared to hold a terrible knowledge and gave his hard stare a cold calculating look.

The brute’s gaze raked Carlin's body head to toe. Chipped yellow teeth appeared as his thin lips pulled back in a wide grin. "Time to meet your maker, prodigy." He mimicked Carlin's sidestep in a lightning-fast move and knocked Adam's gun from his right hand. Its ricocheting underneath a nearby Toyota produced multiple tin-like clinks.

Time seemed to fracture. Adam's left arm shoved Carlin to the side. His assailant took wily advantage in that flash of time. He watched his bodyguard go down hard from his attacker's leg sweep.

One blink and a dagger appeared in the thug's hand. Its arc and swift speed toward his belly made it little more than a glimmer in the weak light. His neurons couldn't fire fast enough to follow its passage. Two feet stood between Carlin and a trip to his maker, complements of this walking nightmare.

authorinterview

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

   I’ve always enjoyed creative writing. It wasn’t until I retired that I’ve had the time. Through the years I’ve done many things, but nothing as enjoyable or fulfilling as writing.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

    Actually, I still find it wildly fantastic that I’m published. It’s been quite a learning curve as far as editing, promoting, etc. After I received my first contract – my other half thought it might have been a fluke. When I got my second – it seemed more real to us both.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

I’m retired from working in the medical field. I’ve also been a professional photographer, private investigator, and military police officer. (My life has never been boring.)

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

Shadowed Passage is set to release 5-15-15. Kyley’s and Kiera’s story continues to evolve as they find another member of their family. More espionage, paranormal abilities and of course – hot romance.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

I publish through Extasy Books. The group of folks there are absolutely wonderful. I think most folks (non-writers), don’t realize the tremendous learning curve (aside from the actual writing), that takes place behind the scenes.  I’ve met some incredible writers and staff members that go above and beyond to teach you things like formatting, coding for blogs, etc.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

If nothing distracts me, I’d say between two and three months. Though life is what’s happening while I make my plans…

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

I love writing erotic, paranormal romance. In the future – I’ll continue with what I’m currently writing and probably add more suspense.

What genre would you place your books into?

Erotic, paranormal romance, though I always try to include enough action and suspense to keep folks turning the pages.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

I’m a romantic at heart. The paranormal fascinates me. Action and romance keep me riveted. Combining these seemed to make sense.

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

I think my favorite character would be Taylor. The emotional/physical strength is just sexy. The paranormal talent is fascinating.

How long have you been writing?, and who or what inspired you to write?

I’ve enjoyed writing since high school. I didn’t have the time to write a book until the later part of 2013. My family though it was a nice hobby. I think my inspiration comes mostly from Dean Koontz. I would love to spend a day in his mind…lol

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

When I finally convinced my spouse that I’d be a real writer. He bought me a special chair. I generally write in the mornings with my dogs curled at my feet and my desk facing the windows.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Absolutely! I believe you have to read them and remember that you’re getting someone’s opinion about what they like. Most importantly—you have to remember – different strokes for different folks.  I always pay attention to constructive criticism. How else do we improve? Sometimes they pick up things you don’t.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

I write the book first, then try and fashion a title that encompasses the book.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

Sometimes it’s just a given. When I think about a character’s personality, I try and pin a name that fits. As far as places, I figure out my character’s strengths and weaknesses, then develop the surroundings accordingly.

Are character names and place names decided after their creation? Or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?

First comes character traits, quirks, etc. Then I place them.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

I try and develop the character in my mind first, then put it on paper. When I’m writing, I often find that I add/change/tweak this a bit. Unfortunately, I’m a bit of a pantzer, and let the characters lead the way, (as long as they don’t get out of hand).

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

Absolutely. Sometimes they’re more subtle than others. But my goal is to entertain.

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

Usually I’ll be reading ebooks. When I find a keeper, I buy hardback to put on my shelves.

What is your favorite book and Why?  Have you read it more than once?

The Odd Thomas series by Dean Koontz will always be my favorite. He’s a terrific word smith, with an incredible mind. I’ll read any book twice that makes me think. And yes, I’ve read his books several times. I usually end up discovering something I missed before.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

Generally, I think you lose some of the flavor in translation. Words have a way of bringing out a character that the movies just can’t do.  Watchers, by Dean Koontz was good.

Your favorite food is?

Pecans or chocolate when I’m writing.

Your favorite singer/group is?

Owen Richards, pianist

Your favorite color is?

Black – when I write THE END… lol

Your favorite Author is?

Dean Koontz, though Jeanine Frost is also incredible.

 

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

  abouttheauthor

clip_image004

Life teaches us many lessons. One of the most important ones Shyla’s learned is to take the time to enjoy family and friends. Our circumstances change on a daily basis. However small the differences may seem, they add up over time. Through a lifetime of various trials and tribulations, she’s discovered the enjoyment of sharing her stories with those that would relish participating in the journey of extraordinary people through their everyday lives.

http://shylawolff.com/

http://shylawolff.blogspot.com/

www.amazon.com/author/shylawolff

https://www.facebook.com/shyla.wolff

https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/39264448-shyla-wolff

https://twitter.com/wolff_shyla

Blog Tour & Giveaway–Meet Deal Sharing Aunt @DEALSHARINGAUNT #payitforward #giveaway


0h
 
FEATURING
 
 
dealsharingaunt-bn_zpsa17bfea8
 
 
 
LINKS
Facebook ~ https://www.facebook.com/pages/Deal-Sharing-Aunt/124318396397
Twitter ~ https://twitter.com/DEALSHARINGAUNT
Blog ~ http://dealsharingaunt.blogspot.com/
Personal Facebook ~ https://www.facebook.com/vicky.brinius
Bloglovin ~ http://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/deal-sharing-aunt-5069319
Pinterest ~ https://www.pinterest.com/vicjbr/
Youtube ~ http://www.youtube.com/user/dealsharingaunt
Goodreads ~ https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12962285-victoria-brinius


 
BIO
I am a deal lover, shopper, reader and wife. I grew up with my mom reading any book she could get her hands on, and my oldest sister loved to read Harlequin books. I was surrounded by books. There was also a lot of music in my house growing up, which to me are oral books. I started to read Stephen King when I was 8 (The Dead Zone), and since then I have devoured all genres of books. I am a contributor for The Illustrated Stephen King Trivia Book, under my maiden name.
I was a vegetarian for 15 years, and only started to eat meat because of vitamin b12. I met Rachel Ray, Jamie Walters and Todd Newton. I also got proposed to by Scooby Doo, and the best man at my wedding mentioned that in his toast.
I am a huge gamer, and am competitive, except with my nieces and nephew.

I was the Secretary of my political town committee, and I ran for Board of Education, more than once. I was one of the youngest to ever be Chair on the Commission on Services for Persons with Disabilities. I myself am disabled.  I love all genres of books and music. I love to go on day trips, and be with my family.







GIVEAWAY


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal & Giveaway: Lies Come by @EmeraldOBrien_

Cover Reveal Banner

BOOK INFORMATION

TITLE – Lies Come True SERIES – The Avery Hart Trilogy, Book One AUTHOR – Emerald O'Brien GENRE – New Adult Mystery PUBLICATION DATE – April 17th 2015 LENGTH (Pages/# Words) - unformatted right now, but 65k words PUBLISHER – Emerald O'Brien COVER ARTIST – Najla Qamber Designs

BOOK SYNOPSIS

Avery Hart narrowly escapes death after being attacked in the woods of Crown River. Ten years later...
The body of a young woman is found along the path of a park in the same town. The killer is cunning and ruthless, but even the best killers make mistakes.
Fiona Wolfe, the second woman to be attacked, survives and reveals a potential link between the current killer and the attack on Avery Hart.
Noah Cotter, an ambitious new inspector, becomes drawn to the case when his curiosity combines with his attraction to Avery.
The dangerous search for truth appears to be muddied with each shocking secret brought to light, as Avery, Fiona, and Noah realize that when someone is deceived for too long, sometimes...
Lies Come True
Lies Come True - Book Cover

EXCERPT

She turned back up the trail, and pushed herself to go forward. The next few strides hurt less than the first. She picked up her pace, and squinted into the last of the sunlight, as her heart pounded in her chest.
She took deep breaths as she pushed herself harder, confident that she was gaining ground, and when she reached a clearing by the lake, she looked back.
It was a man, or what looked like one, but his face was white. And red.

AUTHORS PLAYLIST

Music I listened to before I wrote Lies Come True (The Avery Hart Trilogy, Book One) and while I'm writing The Avery Hart Trilogy, Book Two: Go- Meg Myers Scared- The Tragically Hip Got You Where I Want You (re-recorded)- The Flys If I Didn't Know Better- Nashville Soundtrack Breath of Life- Florence and the Machine Shouldn't Have To- The Mark Inside Bent- Matchbox 20 Make a Shadow- Meg Myers Lie- Ryan Levine Shadows- Lindsey Stirling and the whole soundtrack to Gone Girl

AUTHOR BIO

Emerald O'Brien is a Canadian writer who grew up just East of Toronto, Ontario. She graduated from the program of Television Broadcasting and Communications Media at Mohawk College in Hamilton, Ontario. Emerald is the author of new adult mysteries Darkness Follows and it's sequel, Shadows Remain. Her upcoming release, Lies Come True (The Avery Hart Trilogy, Book One), is also a new adult mystery.
When she isn't reading or writing, Emerald can be found with her family and friends. Emerald loves to cook and entertain, and spends many nights watching movies with her husband and their two beagle pups.

AUTHOR FOLLOW LINKS

GIVEAWAY PRIZES

3 Darkness Follows ebooks 2 Lies Come True ebooks 1 $5.00 Amazon Gift Card

Cover Reveal Organized & Hosted By:

33c16-mini2bbutton

Cover Reveal & Giveaway - Lies Come True by @EmeraldOBrien_

Cover Reveal Banner

BOOK INFORMATION

TITLE – Lies Come True SERIES – The Avery Hart Trilogy, Book One AUTHOR – Emerald O'Brien GENRE – New Adult Mystery PUBLICATION DATE – April 17th 2015 LENGTH (Pages/# Words) - unformatted right now, but 65k words PUBLISHER – Emerald O'Brien COVER ARTIST – Najla Qamber Designs

BOOK SYNOPSIS

Avery Hart narrowly escapes death after being attacked in the woods of Crown River. Ten years later...
The body of a young woman is found along the path of a park in the same town. The killer is cunning and ruthless, but even the best killers make mistakes.
Fiona Wolfe, the second woman to be attacked, survives and reveals a potential link between the current killer and the attack on Avery Hart.
Noah Cotter, an ambitious new inspector, becomes drawn to the case when his curiosity combines with his attraction to Avery.
The dangerous search for truth appears to be muddied with each shocking secret brought to light, as Avery, Fiona, and Noah realize that when someone is deceived for too long, sometimes...
Lies Come True
Lies Come True - Book Cover

EXCERPT

She turned back up the trail, and pushed herself to go forward. The next few strides hurt less than the first. She picked up her pace, and squinted into the last of the sunlight, as her heart pounded in her chest.
She took deep breaths as she pushed herself harder, confident that she was gaining ground, and when she reached a clearing by the lake, she looked back.
It was a man, or what looked like one, but his face was white. And red.

AUTHORS PLAYLIST

Music I listened to before I wrote Lies Come True (The Avery Hart Trilogy, Book One) and while I'm writing The Avery Hart Trilogy, Book Two: Go- Meg Myers Scared- The Tragically Hip Got You Where I Want You (re-recorded)- The Flys If I Didn't Know Better- Nashville Soundtrack Breath of Life- Florence and the Machine Shouldn't Have To- The Mark Inside Bent- Matchbox 20 Make a Shadow- Meg Myers Lie- Ryan Levine Shadows- Lindsey Stirling and the whole soundtrack to Gone Girl

AUTHOR BIO

Emerald O'Brien is a Canadian writer who grew up just East of Toronto, Ontario. She graduated from the program of Television Broadcasting and Communications Media at Mohawk College in Hamilton, Ontario. Emerald is the author of new adult mysteries Darkness Follows and it's sequel, Shadows Remain. Her upcoming release, Lies Come True (The Avery Hart Trilogy, Book One), is also a new adult mystery.
When she isn't reading or writing, Emerald can be found with her family and friends. Emerald loves to cook and entertain, and spends many nights watching movies with her husband and their two beagle pups.

AUTHOR FOLLOW LINKS

GIVEAWAY PRIZES

3 Darkness Follows ebooks 2 Lies Come True ebooks 1 $5.00 Amazon Gift Card

Cover Reveal Organized & Hosted By:

33c16-mini2bbutton

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Book Blast & Interview: Three Wishes by @debra_dunbar

Three Wishes Banner 851 x 200_thumb[1]

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002_thumb[1]Three Wishes

Debra Dunbar

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Publisher: Anessa Books

Date of Publication: March 7, 2015

ISBN: 978-1505671193

ASIN: B00RKE5608

Number of pages: 229

Word Count: 79,000

Cover Artist: Phatpuppy Art

Book Description:

Dar helped his foster sister become the ruler of Hel, and helped her free the enslaved humans from the elves. It’s about time he helped himself – to a fun week of mayhem in the Windy City. Collapsing a few buildings and corrupting politicians is an ideal vacation for a demon in Chicago, but Dar didn’t count on a beautiful angel sabotaging his fun and putting him to work.

Asta is an angelic enforcer, scanning for demons in her assigned territory and sending them to an early grave. Unfortunately, the latest trespasser from Hel has diplomatic immunity - but immunity doesn’t mean she can’t coerce him into helping her track and dispatch the powerful demon that’s been cycling in and out of her radar for the last few days.

Demons are the sworn enemies of every angel, but Asta must learn to trust Dar or the dark presence that is growing in Chicago will spread - and this particular enemy has the skills and knowledge to send human civilization back to the dark ages.

She has one week left as an enforcer before she returns to her heavenly home – one week to catch an elusive monster, and one week to safeguard her heart from the demon who is determined to seduce her to sin.

Available at Amazon iTunes BN

excerpt

Stupid revolving doors. What idiot thought these things were a good method of entering a building? She stood watching as the door made its circuitous route. Could she time it so she actually managed to get in between the sections? The last time, she’d been knocked backwards onto the pavement. That wouldn’t be a graceful entrance given her current dress and sky-high stilettos.

“Need help?”

She recognized his voice even before the faint energy trickled across her skin with its siren song. How did he do that? Thank Aaru all demons weren’t as stealthy as Dar, or her job would be nearly impossible. As she turned, she realized that with her heels, she towered over him. In flats, she was the same height as the demon, but the shoes she loved so much put Dar’s chin right at her bosom — a fact he’d quickly realized and had taken advantage of.

“Want me to get the door for you?” he asked her breasts.

“Did you make reservations? Otherwise we can skip the revolving door and just head over to Taco Bell.”

The demon chuckled and brushed a curl from her bare shoulder, his fingers lingering against her neck while his eyes explored the skin north of her cleavage. “Of course I made reservations. I didn’t want you to give me any excuse to not eat tonight.”

“I swore I’d play your game tonight as long as you help me catch the other demon. I’ll eat anything you put in front of me.”

Why did that cause the demon to nearly fall over laughing? Did he have something in particular he wanted her to eat, the thought of which was giving him such amusement?

Oh. Yeah, that probably wasn’t the best thing for her to say given his proclivity toward the sin of lust.

Wiping his eyes, still chuckling, Dar strode forward, stopping the revolving door to the angry protests of those trapped inside. “Then let us dine, my angel.”

Asta took a deep breath and walked past him, putting her palms on the front of the glass as she’d seen the humans do. Hopefully he wouldn’t bump her out as he had the other evening. With these shoes on, she’d probably land face-first on the plush carpet.

“Ready?”

She should have known he’d squeeze into the tiny space behind her, pressing the full length of his form against her back and rear. Asta tried to scoot forward, only to find herself sandwiched between the demon and the glass. The humans yelled at them to move, but Dar held still, his body warm and powerful.

“Maybe we should just stay here a while.” His hips shifted and Asta felt something stir to life, hard and firm against her buttocks.

She’d told him no sex, but rubbing against her in the doorway wasn’t off limits. And it was most definitely brought with it welcome sensations. “We need to move,” Asta said with regret. She tried to push the door forward, but Dar had it wedged in place. The trapped humans began to pound on the glass.

“I love pissing them off,” he whispered against her hair. “So much anger over such a minor inconvenience. The gifts of Aaru seem to have turned them into a bunch of minor demons, don’t you agree?”

It did seem a fair comparison at the moment, but Asta hadn’t squandered her century here. She’d seen sparks of divinity in the human race, and no demon was going to convince her otherwise.

She shifted to look at him over her shoulder, rubbing herself along his body in the process. Oh stars, this felt good. If only those darned humans weren’t causing such a racket. “You’re being inconsiderate.” Her voice was breathless. “They have a right to be angry. And they’re still very early in their evolution. Give them another ten-thousand years or so, and I think you’ll find they’re more angelic.”

character

 

Character Name: Asta

Character Bio: The youngest angel of the angelic host at a mere 2.5 million years old, Asta has been serving as an Enforcer, protecting the city of Chicago from demons for the last century.

Describe yourself what is your worst and best quality?

I take my responsibilities very seriously.  Chicago is my town, and I will never allow a demon to defile her with their filth.  I would give my life to protect the humans who live under my wing.

As for my worst quality, well I can’t resist a half-price sale at Macy’s.  Clothes are my weakness.  Vanity is such a shameful sin, and I’m embarrassed to say that I lose the fight every time I see a hip boho jacket or a sharp pair of ankle boots.

What is the one thing you wish other people knew about you?

Humans?  Oh my, humans shouldn’t know about me at all!  I cloak my presence when I’m flying around the city, and I try not to attract their attention by glowing or smiting demons in front of them.  Angels have interfered enough in human evolution – I try to keep my presence as under-the-radar as possible.

What is your biggest secret something no one knows about?

I watch the humans as they go about their days, and envy them.  Their short lives are filled with such richness, such depth of emotion and sensation.  What I wouldn’t give to spend one day riding the bus, eating Pho, falling asleep in the arms of another.

What are you most afraid of?

Rats.  I know, I know.  I’m an angel, and I’m afraid of rats.  It’s just their little twitchy noses, the red beady eyes, the clawed hands. . . I’m feeling rather ill just thinking about them.

What do you want more than anything?

It used to be to go home to Aaru and away from all these humans with their tempting lives.  Now, I think I might like to stay.  If I had one wish, it would be to stay here and protect the humans forever, even if I could only watch their lives from afar.

What is your relationship status?

Alone.  That sounds so horrible, but it’s okay.  Really.  It’s hard to have a relationship as an Enforcer.  We’re forbidden from it with humans, and the few angels here are spread out and busy with their duties.  I’m sure there will be someone once I get back to Aaru.

How would you describe your sense of fashion?

Ooo, I love human clothing! Those fringe-filled dresses, the poofy crinoline skirts, embroidered gathered smocks, skinny jeans – whatever is trendy and designer is in my closet.

How much of a rebel are you?

Well, I’m really not supposed to be flying around or obsessing over clothing, but that’s hardly going to cause me to fall from grace.  I try to keep my vibration levels appropriately high, but I’m afraid it’s not been easy.  I know someday I’ll be unable to resist the sinful urge to indulge in a cup of espresso, no matter how hard I try.

What do you considered to be your greatest achievement?

There was a minor plague demon who started a particularly virulent form of influenza one winter.  I’m proud to say that I caught and executed her before she was able to cause a pandemic, and assisted the critically ill humans in making a surprising recovery.  Umm, don’t tell my boss about the recovery part.  I’m really not supposed to be doing that.

What is your idea of happiness?

Flying along Lake Michigan as the sun is rising over the waters. 

What is your current state of mind?

Conflicted.  My tour of duty here is nearly at an end, and I should be happy to be returning to my heavenly home.  But I’m not.

What is your most treasured possession?

I have a Vionnet gown from the 30’s – Satin with glass beads and a halter neck.  The back dips down low, and there’s a gathered train.  It’s just like something Ginger Rogers would wear!

What is your most marked characteristic?

My form is more human than many of the other angels.  I’m not very good at entrancing the humans, so I need to look like them as much as possible to fit in.

What is it that you, most dislike?

Demons, although I’ve never actually spoken to one.  I was newly formed when the Angel of Chaos fell and left Aaru, so the only demons I’ve met are the ones spreading their evil in my city.

Which living person do you, most despise?

Humans?  I don’t really know any of them to like or despise.  I’m terribly disappointed in their behavior sometimes, but I don’t despise them. 

What is your greatest regret?

That I wasn’t old enough to know the angels that fell – especially the one who formed me.  Both of my angelic parents died in the war.  I wish I could at least remember them.

What is the quality you most like in a man?

As a potential mate?  Angels are beings of spirit without gender, but I would like a partner who is kind with a generosity of heart.  Hopefully he will inspire me to be a better angel.  Oh, and he should always strive for the highest of vibration level. 

What is the quality you most like in a woman?

I’ll answer that as meaning human women.  I like women who are smart and sassy, who are confident, but not foolishly so.  I admire human women and men who strive to make the world a better place for future life.

Who is your favorite hero in fiction?

There was a pirate who was a duke’s illegitimate son, and although he was initially quite angry that one of his crew members was in reality a woman, he still protected her from the other sailors and the cannibal island natives.  He even asked her to be his mate after he returned home and discovered he was the true heir to his father’s lands.  What a noble man.

Please don’t tell the other angels I read that book.

Which living person do you most admire?

Gabriel, the angel who raised me after my parents died. He’s very strict, but to me he has always been patient and kind. 

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

My human form is tall.  Very tall.  Although many humans admire that, it does make me a bit conspicuous in a crowd. 

What is your motto?

Every soul matters.  Every. Single. One.

 

abouttheauthor

clip_image004_thumb[1]

After majoring in English with a concentration in Medieval Literature and Folklore studies, Debra promptly sold out to the corporate world, occasionally writing marketing copy and op/ed articles for a local city paper. By day, she designs compensation programs, after dark she stuffs her nose into obscure mythology, and feverishly writes her novels. A DEMON BOUND is her debut novel.

Debra lives on a farm in Maryland with Sweetie, three sons, and a Noah's ark of four legged family members. She drives an old PT Cruiser, couldn't carry a tune if you duct taped it to her back, and enjoys an occasional cosmopolitan (heavy on the vodka). On a good day, she jogs and horseback rides, hopefully managing to keep the horse between herself and the ground. Her only known super power is 'Identify Roadkill'.

http://debradunbar.com

https://www.facebook.com/DebraDunbarauthor

https://twitter.com/debra_dunbar

https://www.goodreads.com/DebraDunbar