The Kasadya Hellhound Series

Monday, September 15, 2014

Book Blast & Giveaway: Through His Touch by @DeboKabaski

Through His Touch Banner 851 x 315_thumb[1]

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002_thumb[1]Through His Touch

A Mind’s Eye Novel

Book Two

Deborah Camp

Genre: Romantic Suspense/Paranormal

Number of pages: 321 pages

Word Count: 87,862

Cover Artist: Cover to Cover Designs

Book Description:

Psychic Trudy Tucker would love . . .

. . . to breach Levi Wolfe’s defenses and show him that his heart has nothing to fear from her.

Psychic Levi Wolf would love . . .

. . . to protect Trudy’s gentle heart by keeping her away from his dark, treacherous past.

But is love enough when someone with a heart full of hate has chosen Trudy as the next one to die?

Through His Touch

Will his touch claim her or kill her?

Book Trailer http://youtu.be/fy4YeGpmC9Q

excerpt

Levi crossed his arms and tucked his hands in his armpits in a stance that was clearly defensive. “With all of that shit going on, no wonder I dreamed of the box again. I haven’t had a nightmare about that place in a long time.”

“What’s the box?” Trudy watched with growing concern as his face tightened, jaw muscles flexed, and his eyes clouded with turbulent memories.

“A root cellar. A small place. Standing up, you could extend your arms out from your sides and touch the walls. It was cool and damned cold in there at night.”

“Where was this?”

“The Missouri Ozarks. Out in the wilds. It was a school set up on an abandoned farm property. They’d turned the farmhouse into a dormitory and the barn into a school.” He made a scoffing sound. “Not that they provided much of an education. Mostly, we read and memorized the Bible. There were classes in literature, English, math, a little science and geography here and there, but that was about it.”

“How old were you when you went there?”

“Nine. When I arrived I had just turned nine. I left when I was almost eleven to go to a school in Wyoming.”

“Nine.” She took up her own defensive stance, hunching her shoulders and rubbing her hands up and down her arms. Thinking of him as a nine-year-old being carted off to a place where he was schooled in a barn made her skin break out in gooseflesh. “I don’t know how your parents could send their little boy away like that.”

He gave an indolent shrug that she didn’t buy for one second. “They were trying to chase the devil out of me.”

“Idiotic,” she murmured.

“They put us in the box when we were bad.” One corner of his mouth lifted fractionally. “And I was bad. Bad to the bone.”

“What do you do that was so terrible?” She couldn’t imagine any sane reason to put a child down into a hole.

“I refused to say that my father was right and that I was a liar.”

“About your psychic abilities,” she clarified. “So, it was a religious thing with your parents? They truly felt that your abilities were a sign of evil . . . of the devil?”

“That’s what my father thought . . . or that’s his story and he’s sticking to it.” A quick, half-smile flitted across his lips. “He’s an intelligent man, so I’ve always believed that he’s mainly intimidated by my abilities. He’s a classic narcissist. Therefore, it must be impossible for him to think that I can do things he can’t. As for my mother?” He gazed up at the stars and violet shadows caressed his achingly handsome face. “I don’t know. She probably wished I’d just tell my father what he wanted to hear and do what he said to do. That’s what she did. She went along with whatever shit he shoveled out.”

She wanted to touch him. No, she wanted to hold him, but she stood still as her heart constricted with pain for him. She wanted to cry, but she knew he didn’t want her tears, so she swallowed the burning ball of emotion in her throat. He was talking and she was grateful, but what he was saying was difficult to hear. His upbringing had been a long nightmare from which he couldn’t awaken – and he was just scratching the surface. That’s what bothered her more than anything. His traumas ran deep. Soul deep.

“And the box?” she asked in a whisper. “How long did they keep children in there?”

“An hour at first. Then hours. I graduated to all day and then to all day and all night. The nights were the worst. It was cold in there and black as pitch. That’s when the rats would come out.”

Trudy couldn’t stop the shudder that shook her from head to toes. She cleared her throat. “R-rats?”

“Big mother-fuckers. Of course, I was only a kid, so they seemed like they were the size of Volkswagens. I couldn’t see them, but I could hear them scurrying around and I could feel them. They’d run across my feet. One of them jumped on my shoulder and bit my neck. I screamed and screamed. Screamed my fucking lungs out that night.” He glanced at her from the corner of his eyes. “That’s why my voice is husky. I damaged my vocal chords. I couldn’t talk above a whisper for a couple of months after that and my voice never fully recovered.”

“I love your voice,” she said, the declaration lifting from her heart onto her lips.

“Really?” He shook his head and sent her a baffled grin. “I think I sound like a bad actor doing a commercial for sore throat lozenges.”

She shook her head and decided to allow her heart to keep talking. “Your voice matches the rest of you. Sexy as hell.”

His arms slipped down his body and his shoulders lost some of their stiffness. He held out a hand to her. “Come here, you.”

What Readers Have to Say About Deborah’s Book

Too Tough to Tame

"THIS IS A WONDERFUL BOOK."

The book is funny and touching. I have read this book over 50 times already and I never get tired of it. Tess is so cute while Storm is strong and loving. They made a great couple. -- Amazon review from Snowstar

“Through His Eyes” 5 star Amazon Review….

“This book is amazing, Deborah Camp has written one heck of a sexy thriller! How can you go wrong with two sexy psychics and a serial killer? Levi and Trudy both have abilities, Levi can talk to the departed and Trudy can see right into a killer’s mind. The question is how far can he see back into hers? Follow these two as they scorch the pages in the bedroom and the high octane roads it takes to catch the killer before Trudy is the next one on his list. These two are so hot, I thought I was going to have flames shoot out of my Tablet. That little hook at the end will have you waiting as impatiently as I am for the next Deborah Camp Novel.”-- Lia Hearn

Cheyenne's Shadow

"ONE OF THE BEST!"

One of the best romance novels I have ever read. There is excitement, sadness, and passion in this book. I know I have read this book at least five times since I bought it.

-- Amazon review by S. Ceballos

A Tough Man's Woman

"FIVE STARS!"

I really enjoyed this book as it was one that kept you guessing most of the time.

-- Amazon review from Phyl

Lonewolf's Woman

"WONDERFUL STORY!"

Ah, fascinating to the last drop (or page). Highly recommended. Surely, a keeper!

-- Amazon review from M. Hartmann

Black-eyed Susan

"FIVE STARS!"

I found it hard to put down. It made me realize how things were in those years (long before I was born). I looked for more books by the same author.

-- Amazon review from C. Schmidt  

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

  abouttheauthor

 

clip_image004_thumb

Author of more than 40 novels, Deborah lives in Oklahoma. She has been a full-time writer since she graduated from the University of Tulsa. Her background as a reporter for newspapers helped her to write fast and enjoy research. After she sold her first few books, she quit newspaper work to become a freelance writer and novelist.

Deborah's first novel was published in the late 1970s and her books have been published by Jove, New American Library, Harlequin, Silhouette, and Avon. She has been inducted into the Oklahoma Authors Hall of Fame and she is a charter member of the Romance Writers of America. She is also a member of the Author's Guild. She was the first recipient of the Janet Dailey Award.

Through His Eyes (April, 2014) is her first romantic suspense book. It has paranormal elements and is erotic. It’s the first book in the Mind’s Eye series.

Through His Touch (September, 2014) is the second book in the Mind’s Eye series featuring psychic detectives Trudy Tucker and Levi Wolfe.

Lover of the west and the people who tried to tame it, Deborah likes to write about strong, independent women and the men who are their equals. She grew up on a diet of TV westerns which have served her well. Living in Oklahoma has also been a godsend. Since she appreciates men with devilish twinkles in their eyes, she likes to mix laughter in with the love scenes in her books.

Also widely published in non-fiction, she and writes and edits for a magazine focused on small businesses. Deborah taught fiction writing for more than 10 years at a community college. She has been a guest speaker at numerous writers’ conferences, including Romance Writers of America (RWA), Writers, Inc., and the Oklahoma Writers Federation, Inc. She has served as a judge in numerous writing contests throughout the United States and has judged manuscripts in RWA’s Golden Heart Awards and RITA Awards. She is currently working on her next historical romance set in the wild, wonderful west.

In 2012 her books were re-issued on Amazon for Kindle Direct and have attracted tens of thousands of new fans. Her books have made the Amazon bestseller list and “Too Tough To Tame” hit the #1 historical romance spot for Kindle Readers.

Website: www.deborah-camp.com

Blog: www.deborahcampwritersdesk.blogspot.com

Pinteret: http://www.pinterest.com/debbycamp44/

Twiter: https://twitter.com/DeboKabaski

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/officialdeborahcamp

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/198990.Deborah_Camp

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Book Blast & Giveaway: Harkham’s Choice by @ChanseLowell

hctourbanner

Event Organized by ❤MaE Book Tours & Promo Stars Services

❤Cover Design by: Mayhem Cover Creations

hccoverSynopsis

Adam Latham knows one thing, and one thing only—he simply has to have Marissa Cole as his own. Not as his school mate, or his girlfriend who lives in his family’s house with him. Her. He needs her to be his wife, and he’ll find a way to make that happen, whether or not his medical condition as Harkham’s unresolved case has improved. His overwhelming need for Mari’s touch continues unabated. Even as her life grows more complicated—dealing with her father’s issues in another state—Adam becomes more determined that they’ll have a life together after they graduate high school in a few short months. What will he do when he finds out exactly what past abuse Mari’s suffered? How will he handle it when she falls apart in front of his very eyes? He can only hope to contain the numbers that try to consume him and the violet anxiety attacks that follow, on his own. How will he deal with his unsupportive family members that rally against his relationship with this damaged girl? Is Dr. Harkham the answer to his questions? Only Adam knows what it means to live with an undefined disability. Until he finds the key that unlocks the secrets to his past mysteries, will he be able to move on and live a full and happy life with his Mari.

Genre Erotic Romance

Series Harkham's Series

Expected Publication Date September 15th 2015

goodreads-black-200x200


About the Author

Chanse ME AVIChanse Lowell grew up in the desert southwest and still lives there with her children. She’s addicted to five things—her Daddy Dom, learning more about the BDSM lifestyle, reading erotica, writing erotica and sandwiches with a side of erotica to aid with digestion before she’s tied up in black silk ropes and teased endlessly by her Sir. She grew up watching programs with science fiction and historical fiction themes, and enjoys combining her three favorite genres, creating a new breed of novel with scifi, historical and smut sandwiched in the middle. The last thing she ever thought she’d do was pursue her dream to be a writer since her family tends to keep her busy. But having recently entered the BDSM lifestyle and discovering she’s a submissive babygirl herself has opened her eyes to how few stories there are exploring the softer side of the lifestyle and how most inaccurately portray the Dom/sub dynamics in a monogamous relationship. She felt it her duty to share what she’s learned and adores about the BDSM lifestyle. Along with her new mission to write about the joys in this beautiful world of dominance and submission, she also loves chatting online with others with similar kinky interests and has advisers in the lifestyle that help make sure her stories remain true and don’t veer off into outer space. Although aliens probably enjoy kink, too, since they like to dress in rubber fetish-wear while traveling. At least that’s her argument for why her new genre she’s created is valid.

Connect with Chanse Lowell!

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

MaE Book Tours Promo Stars Services  

♦Follow the Tour

9.12

http://houseofmalfunction.com

http://www.pinkypollock.blogspot.com

http://reneeentress.blogspot.com

https://facebook.com/madlovebookblog

https://www.facebook.com/MelethBookaddicted

http://www.mythicalbooks.blogspot.ro/

http://kandesbookblog.blogspot.com

http://www.nisabelleblanco.com

http://darkestcravings.blogspot.com

http://scandalousbookblog.blogspot.be/

http://www.chaosmusings.tumblr.com

9.13

http://authorsandralove.blogspot.com/

http://musingsfromanaddictedreader.wordpress.com/

http://abookjunkysobsession.com/

https://www.facebook.com/ramblingsfromthesheets

http://www.fandemoniumnetwork.com

http://londonsj.blogspot.com

http://tattooedbookreview.com

http://www.kumikoleilostinabook.blogspot.com

http://authorkarenswart.blogspot.com

http://flirtynvicious.tumblr.com

http://www.mixdsignals.weebly.com

9.14

http://hookedonbooksforever.blogspot.com/?zx=81f76d25b1d330f9

http://www.dauntlessindies.blogspot.com

http://icanonlybehele3.blogspot.com

http://www.rehargrave.com/

http://a-reader-lives-a-thousand-lives.blogspot.co.uk

https://www.facebook.com/TurnedOnByWords

http://aone-clickaddictsbookblog.blogspot.com/

http://totaleclipsereviews.blogspot.com

http://wickedreadingsbytawania.blogspot.com

http://reyes139.blogspot.com

Friday, September 12, 2014

Cover Reveal: Before Time - The Time Series # 1 by @xunaira

banner
Presented by:
Sparkle Blog Button
Join our mailing list for great book news - http://eepurl.com/ZnJir

cover reveal

covergifTitle: Before Time
Series: The Time Series # 1
Author: Xunaira J.
Audience: NA
Genre: Tragic Romance
Formats: E-book and Paperback
Publisher: Xunaira J.
Editor: Michelle Browne
Expected Date of Publishing: 20th November 2014
 
 







 

blurb
His eyes told her what his tongue could not.
Nineteen-year-old Onaiza Shahid is a loner and a dreamer, bookish and socially isolated. A chance ramble into chatting software changes everything. The words of a stranger compel her. Addicted and falling fast, their secret love changes her life. But will the idealistic teenager get her happily ever after?

book links
clip_image003clip_image004
 
 
 
about the author
 
clip_image006Born on October 17, 1990 in Islamabad, Pakistan, to a government officer and a homemaker, Xunaira J, as a child dreamed of being a writer.She always loved writing short stories and has been active on Helium (www.helium.com) as a creative writer. She has been a blogger and been writing articles on relationship and family for a long time.When she was young, she used to write for US Magazine. Currently, Xunaira is doing her Bachelors in Mobile and Ubiquitous Computing and writing at the same time. The name of her first book on Amazon Kindle is "The Cursed City" while her second book is a book of collective short stories which will be published in October, 2013. Meanwhile, She is working on another Mystery/Romance novel which is almost reaching completion. She is anticipating to publish it sometime next year.



media links
clip_image007clip_image003[1]clip_image008clip_image004[1]clip_image009clip_image010clip_image011
 
 
joining reveal
Angee's After Thoughts - http://www.angeesafterthoughts.com
Book Reviews by Xunaira J. - Http://thesaucyreviewer.wordpress.com
Books, Authors, Blogs - http://therightbook4u.blogspot.com
Booky Ramblings of a Neurotic Mom - http://bookyramblingsofaneuroticmom.blogspot.co.uk/
Bound 2 Escape - http://www.bound2escape.com
Celticthoughts.Com - http://celticthoughts.com
Clarissa Wild's Blog - http://clarissawild.blogspot.com
Dianneharman.Com - http://www.dianneharman.com
Fictional Rendezvous Book Blog - http://fictionalrendezvousbookblog.blogspot.com/
From the Desk of ... R.E. Hargrave - http://www.rehargrave.com/
Musings of an Author - http://www.pjfiala.com
Portals to new Worlds - http://authorkarenswart.blogspot.com

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Book Blast,Giveaway & Interview : Twinfinity - Nethermore by Chris Podhola @RoxanneRhoads

Twinfinity Nethermore Banner 851 x 315

bookblast

 

clip_image002Twinfinity: Nethermore

Volume 1

Chris Podhola

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal,Urban Fantasy

Date of Publication: May 26, 2014

ISBN: 978-1499625035

ASIN: B00KGZ41CM

Number of pages: 411

Word Count: 107,000

Cover Artist: Llpix.com

Book Description:

Whitney Leighton has a secret. She is both blind and deaf but that’s not what she’s trying to keep hidden. Her secret is that she can both see and hear through her twin brother Tommy. They call it piggybacking because she can shift her consciousness into her brother’s mind.

Whitney’s not the only one with a secret; Tommy has one too and it’s Whitney that he’s keeping it from. His secret is that Whitney isn’t who she’s supposed to be. He has dreams of her, but in his dreams she has tattoos, battle-scars on her face, and a formidable look of determination. If Tommy’s dreams come true then Whitney is in serious trouble and so is everyone else. The simple Whitney that is, doesn’t stand a chance against the evil that exists in his sleep, and the world will be thrust into chaos.

The teen twins end up at Camp Tumbling Waters and Lake Amicolola where something is waiting for them. Something as dark as Whitney’s vision and as insane as Tommy’s dreams and IT needs Whitney to escape the prison that IT calls … Nethermore.

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/nfmpW8Kn4wM

Available at Amazon

excerpt

This excerpt is from Chapter 10 of Twinfinity: Nethermore. In it the main character, the blind and deaf Whitney Leighton, is preparing to make a physical statement to her summer camp peers. They are all gathered at the obstacle course located in Camp Tumbling Waters and the group is divided. Half of the campers blame her for the recent troubles in the camp, and the other half believe that she is the solution to those problems. Whitney knows that she needs to prove a point to all of them in order to unite them.

Whitney had been a little surprised by how clearly her course could be directed through her imagination and memory. Every step, and every move had been based on what she remembered from when she was piggy-backed with Kat, but she had been able to lay everything out in her mind with near perfect clarity.

She had been sitting on the bench brooding over her conversation with Kat. She was mad all right, but little Mike had changed her mood. She couldn’t see the fear in his face, and she couldn’t hear if he had said anything, but she had seen his shadow approach the wall and she had waited with anticipation for his shadow to ascend into the air. She might not be able to see it with her eyes, but she would have still felt pride for him as he succeeded. She could see that climbing it was important to him, and Kat had insinuated that it was so important that he had spent a year trying to get himself ready for it. His body appeared to be weak and frail and Whitney had searched Kat’s mind for an explanation for that.

He had an accident when he was younger--a tragic accident that had broken many bones and left him in a wheel chair for years. He was just getting to the point that he could walk again. And, according to Kat’s memories on the subject, climbing that wall was his motivation—his driving force. It was the thing that he talked about last year that inspired him to work so hard in his recovery. He wanted to do it, but he was afraid.

Like she was afraid.

He backed off and someone else was approaching the wall in his place. She didn’t want to sense someone else climbing the wall. She wanted to sense him doing it, and she didn’t think it was right for everyone else to just shrug it off.

When she first got up from the bench and started walking toward the group her intention was to find a way to convince Mike to make his climb. She was only vaguely aware of the clarity with which she could visualize her course. She could see every clump of dirt, every stone that could make her stumble, and she could even remember seeing a Twix candy bar wrapper as she walked by it.

Her mind was more focused on how to convince Mike to make his climb. By the time she got there she had figured it out. She would lead by example.

It was after Kam had put the safety harness onto her and attached the safety line onto the clip on the back when she knew she had to take it off. It was doing its job. It was making her feel safe. There was no danger. The spotters were trained to make sure that she wouldn’t be injured if she slipped. It was crazy, but she didn’t want to feel safe. She wanted every handhold and every foothold to be risky and she wanted to feel the danger of it.

Most of all she wanted to rely on others to catch her if she did fall.

She had been playing it safe all of her life and for once she wanted to leave safety behind her. She had never let herself rely on anyone but Tommy—who she depended on vigorously for help in almost everything and she was done with that too.

She had chosen the members of her net the way she did because she wanted to show everyone that she trusted them even if they didn’t really trust her. She didn’t just want to convince Mike to make the climb. She also wanted to find a way to bring the group back together again. She had divided everyone, and so she’d have to be the one to link them back together again.

She was a couple of levels off of the ground when the idea of the teambuilding element began to form in her mind. The concept was simple enough. You had to trust in the members of the team to catch you if you fell backward into them. That teambuilding element was about a three foot drop into the arms of your team. What if someone did it from the top of the climbing wall? It was a scary idea, but if that didn’t make an impact on the crowd than nothing would.

Whitney ascended the wall. Despite her nearly perfect memory of every hand and foothold her fear was a very tangible and real thing. Slipping off and falling was still extremely dangerous even with the group below her because she might not be able to control how she landed and a broken leg or arm or even both was a probability.

She reached up and grabbed the next handhold, brought her leg up, and hauled herself up another level. She had made it halfway up and she could feel her nervousness increase with her height. She was about fifteen feet off of the ground, and her limbs began to betray her. She was getting tired and her muscles were beginning to tremble despite her desire to remain steady and calm. She was no athlete and it was beginning to show.

This was stupid she thought to herself.

If she fell from that distance and they didn’t catch her she may or may not break a limb.

Just do it now her mind begged.

And she knew she could. She could steady herself, lean back, and fall into the arms of her safety net. She could do that safely and no harm would come to her. Her point would even be made pretty clearly.

But wasn’t Erik’s speech, as corny and predictable as it was, about just that? Wasn’t it about pushing past your fears even though they sometimes seemed like an impenetrable wall?

She could make her leap from that point but if she did wasn’t she still relatively safe? If so then was she really making her point? Wasn’t her point to go beyond safety and to leap when the outcome wasn’t predictable?

She reached up for the next grip-hold and brought herself up to it. Her nerves began to betray her even more. She had never been this tired before in her life. She had already exerted herself beyond exhaustion and she knew, from that very moment, that she needed to start training her body for more endurance. She was never again going to let herself tire out this easily. So much for being lazy, because she knew that those days had to be over.

She was three quarters of the way up but her muscles were aching and she was losing her breath. On top of that she wasn’t sure if making it to the top was even going to be possible. No matter how bad she wanted to get there.

She sucked in a deep breath, gathered her determination, and made two more handholds in quick succession. Her fingers began to throb and go numb. Her leg muscles were screaming at her to stop and her arms felt like rubber bands stretched out to their maximum.

The only good thing was that she only had three levels to go.

character

How much of a rebel are you?

Whitney: I’m not a rebel.

Tommy: What? Seriously? Let me answer this question for you, Whit, because you obvious don’t have a clue. She is a rebel. She might not realize it, but she is. So much so that she usually does things more intensely when she is told not to, then when she is left to her own devices. Leave it entirely up to her and she is content to live her life sitting next to me in my mind. Tell her she can’t, or shouldn’t do something and she’ll leave me on the sidelines and bring the moon down to the planet Earth just to show you you’re wrong about her. She is all about rebellion.

What do you considered to be your greatest achievement?

Whitney: My achievements don’t matter to me. It’s my failures that make a difference. The only things that matter are what I cannot accomplish. If you don’t believe that then its Kat you should be talking to and not me.

What is your idea of happiness?

Whitney: There are two things that make me feel happy. Before we went to Camp Tumbling Waters I used to lay on a lawn chair and feel the clouds passing in front of the sun. Every time the sun comes out it gives your skin a welcoming kiss, which leads me to the second thing. Kissing Kam. I know I shouldn’t be worried about something like that at a time like this, but I can’t help it.

Tommy: I thought you said you didn’t want to ‘go there’.

Whitney: I know what I said.

What is your current state of mind?

Whitney: Impatience. We really do have a lot of things to do, and time is running out.

What is your most treasured possession?

Whitney: (Pulling out two small black stones from her pocket) I don’t know why, but for some reason it’s these. I kept them from when I made a necklace for Kat, my best friend. They were left over. I didn’t need them to make the necklace, but they are special. I can leave a part of myself inside of them.

What is your most marked characteristic?

Tommy: She is determined. Determination is definitely her most marked characteristic.

Whitney: They were asking me moron.

Tommy: I know, but I also know you. You are not very good at seeing your strong points.

What is it that you, most dislike?

Whitney: Bullies. I hate bullies. There is nothing worse than a strong person that picks on someone that is weaker than they are. I deal with them without mercy.

Tommy: I won’t argue there. Her fists clenched when she read that question and her heart began pounding in her chest like it was trying to get out.

Which living person do you, most despise?

Whitney: That’s an easy one. Isolem Treff.

What is your greatest regret?

Whitney: That I couldn’t kill him, but I couldn’t. He still has something that I need.

What is the quality you most like in a man?

Whitney: Funny, like Kam. He doesn’t even really know it and it’s a quirky kind of funny, but he has a way of making me laugh by doing outrageous things.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?

Whitney: I don’t really know. My aunt is very protective, but I don’t like that very much. Kat is, or was, vibrant and alive. She was like a light bulb in a dark room, colorful leaves on a white background. I loved that about her.

Who is your favorite hero in fiction?

Whitney: I guess I would have to go with my brother’s favorite. Obi Wank yer Salami!

Tommy: Oh God, really, Whit. It’s Obi Wan Kinobe!

Which living person do you most admire?

Whitney: Another easy one. My brother. He has pretty much dedicated his entire mind to me. At least he lets me in there whenever I need to be and, even though he never complains about it, I know that it’s not always convenient.

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

Whitney: I would never fail.

What is your motto?

Tommy: Left hand and right!

Whitney: Oh, God … Really, Tommy? Sure. Fine. Left hand and right.

Once again thank you for the interview.

Tommy: You’re very welcome Jeanine and I apologize for my sister’s impatience. She’s really worried about Kat, and we really do have to get going.

Whitney: Don’t apologize for me! I just said what was on my mind!

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

abouttheauthor

 

 

clip_image004

The author is a 43 year-old United States Air Force veteran of the first Iraq War. This is his debut novel in the Twinfinity urban fantasy series. He was born and raised in south-eastern Michigan and served his country in California, Germany, and Turkey.

http://twinfinitynethermore-novel.com/

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008110578089

http://www.amazon.com/Chris-Podhola/e/B00LZDKIEO/

https://plus.google.com/108904941895775375335/about

http://www.wattpad.com/user/Christopher_Robert

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Declaration - Pagan Eyes #3 by @raynanoire

Declaration Banner 851 x 315

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002Declaration

Pagan Eyes

Book Three

Rayna Noire

Genre: YA Paranormal

Publisher: Sleeping Dragon Press

Date of Publication: August 2014

ISBN-13: 978-0692254363

ISBN-10: 0692254366

ASIN:

Number of pages: 241

Word Count: 75,156

Cover Artist: Dawne Dominique

Book Description:

Ethan finds himself trapped between the world he knows and the world that could be. A sadistic bully, an unsympathetic principal, and an unreachable love interest make high school difficult for Ethan. He feels like he’s living a lie, trying to blend in at school in an effort to keep his head attached to his body.

The support his Wiccan family provides is negated by fear of not being the son his father wants. An impromptu trip into the future saves him from an enraged bully while instilling doubts about where he really belongs. Somehow, he has to find a way to survive in his own world tossing aside his mask and doubts.

Book Trailer http://youtu.be/gU5lJ-YKzsc

Available at Amazon

Keywords: Paranormal, Young Adult, Suspense, Romantic Suspense, Coming of Age, Wiccan, Pagan Eyes Series

excerpt

Ethan hid in a dark doorway, panting, while he considered his options. No way Caulb and his felons in training would give up once they figured out he outsmarted them. Shouts echoing in the cavernous hallway alerted him. Danger was closer than he’d thought. Great. Weren’t schools supposed to be crawling with staff members looking out for the welfare of the students? Yeah, right. Too bad, he’d left his cell phone in Leah’s car. Not that it would have done him much good since the school used a dampener to keep students from texting in class.

If high schools were a theme park, then tenth grade was the roller coaster. It started uneventfully. The most stressful part had been fending off all the helpful staff members, who wanted to redirect him to the middle school, assuming, since he was shorter than a good portion of the girls, he wasn’t old enough for high school.

The voices veered off to the left, down the science corridor. A window of opportunity opened up. Ethan shot up the hallway to the gym, where the wrestling team practiced earlier. His father had nagged him to try out for the wrestling team. Even the coach asked him to give it a go, because they needed someone in his weight class. Most of his matches would forfeit due to not having anyone in his class or he’d end up wrestling a girl, the coach said. No thanks. He already had enough things to be teased about.

The dimly lit hallway stretched as if it were endless. Maybe this was a dream and he’d wake up soon. Caulb’s voice filtered down the hallway. His bass timber was menacing enough without the eerie quality of it bouncing off the metal lockers and taking on an almost mechanical quality. Caulb was a deadly droid, on the mission of annihilating anyone who didn’t conform to his standards. Unfortunately, no tip sheet existed to specify what his standards were. All Ethan knew was, he didn’t meet them.

The gym doors came into view. Sanctuary. He swung the door open with a gasp, unsure what he was going to say. All he had to do was stick close to the coach. Maybe he could say he needed to use the phone to call home. His eyes darted around the empty gym. Where was everyone? An image of the wrestlers in their spandex suits came to mind. They were dressed in their team apparel when he’d seen them earlier, which meant they were probably at an away meet, and why no one was in the gym. The lights illuminated the wooden floor and abandoned mats.

He took a few steps into the gym, stopped, and turned slowly, seeing no sign of following bullies, or an almost friend who stabbed him in the back. His lips pulled down into a frown, remembering the different expectations he’d had for the night, much different.

authorinterview

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I always wanted to write, but I also wanted to fly with actual wings too.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

I had a poem published when I was fifteen.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

About six years, two years with an agent, another two and half years when an editor who left the agency. Another publisher finally picked it up.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

I substitute teach. I am a retired teacher.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

Declaration. Life is hard when you don’t fit it in.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

The Pagan Eyes series is through Sleeping Dragon Press.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

It depends on the book. Usually 3-6 months.

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

Book four, Affirmation in the Pagan Eyes series. Druidic Dreams series is coming after that. It is a YA series dealing with Druids.

What genre would you place your books into?

There’s were the problem comes in. I write about real issues with characters that are left of normal.  Then there is the issue of time travel. Sometimes they are under paranormal and other times, urban fantasy.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

I felt it was missing. Too many people write about witches in the stereotypical evil fashion. There are many witches and Wiccans around the world who would enjoy a realistic portrayal.

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

The grandparents because they are so flamboyant. They love their grandchildren fiercely and would do anything for them.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

No, not because I don’t want to, but because I don’t always know where to find them.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

In the Pagan Eyes series, I asked for suggested title names on FB and picked from them.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

I have a general idea, but traits come out as I write.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

Obvious messages that any reader can take away from the story, such as: believe in yourself.

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

Depends on where I am at as to which format I use. The tub and poolside demand paperback. E-books work well on the treadmill.

Your favorite food is?

Pizza

Your favorite singer/group is?

Abba, which is strange because I can’t even remember them as a group, but hearing their songs in movies, has hooked me.

Your favorite color is?

Purple

Your favorite Author is?

Margo Bond Collins

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

  abouttheauthor

clip_image004

Rayna Noire is an author and a historian. The desire to uncover the truth behind the original fear of witches led her to the surprising discovery that people believed in magick in some form up to 150 years ago. A world that believed the impossible could happen and often did must have been amazing. With this in mind, Ms. Noire taps into this dimension, shapes it into stories about Pagan families who really aren't that different from most people. They do go on the occasional time travel adventures and magick happens.

Website www.raynanoire.com

Twitter www.twitter.com/raynanoire

Facebook www.facebook.com/AuthorRaynaNoire

Amazon Author Page http://www.amazon.com/Rayna-Noire/e/B00J8XP14A/

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Hot Summer Nights Boxset

Banner
Presented by:
Sparkle Blog Button
Join our mailing list for great book news - http://eepurl.com/ZnJir

book info




covergif
Title: Hot Summer Nights
Series: Hot Summer Nights # 1
Author: Alicia Michaels, Carly Fall, Casse Narome, C.J. Baty, Elise Marion, Kacey Hammell, Peggy Martinez, R.K. Ryals
Audience: NA/Adult
Genre: Romance (Contemporary, some Time Travel and Paranormal)
Formats: E- book
Publisher: Indy Author Co., LLC
Cover by: PJ Friel
Pages: 402 pages
ASIN: B00M6GH4DC
Date Published: 7/30/2014
 
 
blurb
Welcome to the paradise of Dasia Island. In the Elysium Resort, nestled among the lush beauty of the rainforest, adventure and romance await.
Contains 9 short stories, from New Adult to Erotic Romance!
She’s a rich, spoiled brat. He’s a smarmy know-it-all. Chloe Sanders came to Dasia Island to lie on the beach and go to the spa. Chase Watkins is roughing in the rainforest with a research group, studying wildlife. The two couldn’t be more different, but in the swelter and mystery of the island, opposites just might attract.
Criminal attorney Jared Greer cares about one thing: the next big case. He doesn’t think about right and wrong when taking on a client; he thinks of the paycheck and lives lavishly.
A potential client brings him to Dasia Island where he teams up with Monica, an island local. As they organize the case documents and explore the resort, their passion makes Jared reconsider his life, especially if he wants Monica in it.
One man's trash is another woman's treasure.
Reeling from the loss of her husband to a carefree socialite, uptight Kennedy retreats to Dasia island for a little bit of R and R. Will she learn to let loose in the arms of Basil, the wild-child trust-fund baby with a silver tongue?
Gar Lancaster wasn't depressed, no matter what his sister said. He didn't need a trip to a tropical island to meet some guy for a vacation romance. But when Mike Peters kissed him on the balcony under a sea of stars with the pounding waves hitting the shore below them, things changed.
Maybe, he didn't need a happily ever after. Maybe happily for right now would be okay. Whatever happened, Gar was pretty sure he was in way over his head.
The loss of their son in a tragic accident left Jameson and Victoria Blake’s marriage in tatters. Together they were never able to move past it, and they parted ways after a painful divorce. But in the wilds of the rainforest, the realization that love has never died between them will rise to the surface.
Hand's off. That's Gemma Sands' cardinal rule when it comes to dating co-workers. But she'd like to get her hands on Michael Harmon.
Michael has his own idea about where he'd like to put his hands. But Gemma's steadfast rule means Michael simply admires from afar.
But when an unexpected layover on Dasia Island forces them to share tight quarters, they are unable to resist their passion, and finally surrender to every touch they desperately need.
Garrick Kaili ‘Kai’ Langston, heir to the 5-star Euthykhia Hotel, remains on Dasia Island out of loyalty to his family. But this building harbors some dark secrets—unsolved mysteries that haunt one of its oldest residents.
Some say Poppy Drummond had been swallowed by the deadly mist near the Dasia ruins. Others claim such notions are merely the product of a crazy mind…
But Kai is just about to find out—the truth is never what it seems when the walls between fantasy and reality crumble down.
Alyssa Monroe always dreamed of escaping to exotic locales as a photographer. Unfortunately, she’s spent the last four years capturing a truly frightening species with her camera instead. Celebrities. When the opportunity presents itself to visit the exotic Dasia Island, Alyssa is thrilled. Now if she can just deal with the only guide willing to take her deep into a forbidden forest. A sexy, tattooed local who sets her blood on fire and gets her camera finger itching
On Dasia Island, there’s a legend about a city of sin, a tragic story that ended in a mist of death. Haven Ambrose is a Journalism major on a mission. River Brayden is a meteorologist with a tropical system to follow. Their love is strong, but is it strong enough to survive a storm that leaves them stranded with an ancient evil?
 
 
book links
clip_image004clip_image006clip_image007clip_image008clip_image010clip_image012
 
 
ad
 
excerpt
 
“What are we doing here, Chloe?” He came closer to me, his hands finding my waist and pulling me close. “You’re exactly the kind of complication I don’t need in my life right now.”
My hands found his belt buckle, using it to pull him even closer to me until our hips met. “Yeah, well I don’t need you either,” I answered, standing on tiptoe to reach his lips. I bit down on his lower lip playfully and tugged. “But I want you. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that.”
His hands slid down to grip my ass and he ground his hips against mine suggestively. “Want is instinctive, it’s something that can’t be helped. Why fight it?”
Slowly, deliberately, I slid his belt through the loop and reached for the button of his shorts. “I won’t fight it if you don’t,” I whispered, my fingers skimming the fine hairs running down his abdomen, and the bulging ripples of his muscles. His stomach clenched in response, the muscles in his neck and chest tensing.
Wordlessly, Chase reached up to the straps holding my bikini in place at the back of my neck. With a swift tug, he loosened it, causing the black triangles to fall away. His eyes fixated on my breasts, going wide as his tongue swept out to wet his lips. Another tug, and he had the strings at my back undone, letting the top fall away. His hands came up to touch me and I moaned, my back arching in invitation, begging for more. He kissed me again, his tongue invading my mouth this time, as he reached down to grasp my hips, lifting me until my legs were wrapped around his hips.
My fingers tangled in his hair as I kissed him back hungrily, my body surging with heat and lust so strong I couldn’t deny it any more. What did it matter that nothing could ever come of this? Hell, neither of us was ready for another relationship, anyway. It just felt so good to surrender, to lose myself in this guy who made me feel things no other guy ever had.
He sank to the ground, laying me back, his fingers running through my damp waves. One of his hands found my face, his thumb caressing my cheek. “What if I told you all of your makeup had washed off?” he asked with a smirk.
I scowled at him. “I’d say you were rude for pointing that out.”
He leaned close, his tongue finding my ear in a spine-tingling stroke. “And what if I told you that I thought you were beautiful just like this?” he whispered, his breath tickling my neck.

“I want you,” he whispered into her ear as he gently sucked her earlobe. “Now. I want to taste you, to touch you, to make you come. I want to be inside of you.”
She gasped, her eyes dancing as he met her gaze. “You sound so certain of yourself,” she teased.
“I’ve never been more certain of anything in my life, Monica. You set my blood on fire.”
He brought her closer so that his rigid length pressed into her stomach.
“Do you always get what you want, Jared?” she asked, moving her hips and causing friction against his cock.
He let out a soft moan, and ran his thumb over her bottom lip. “Not always.”
“And what makes you think you’re going to get what you want tonight?”
Glancing around, he found a dark corner. Unable to believe what he was going to do, he led her over there and gently pushed her up against the wall, his body shielding her from anyone who may look their way. “I’m going to get what I want, because you want it, too, Monica,” he murmured. He’d never performed a sexual act in public, but never before had he desired a woman the way he wanted her. His hand trailed up her thigh, under her dress to her bikini bottom. She didn’t stop him.
“What are you looking for?” I began walking around the room and picked up miscellaneous clothes and made a neat pile.
“I think a woman about your size left a suit here one night. We had bought it from one of the shops because I was going to take her out on the water. She had curves for days.” She laughed at the memory. “Yeah, we never made it out the door.”
“So you are a lesbian?” My heart pounded in my chest.
“Yep. Is that gonna be an issue for you?” She didn’t sound too concerned.
“No, I just—”
“Found it!” she exclaimed, and jumped down from her perch. “Here, look. It is green and matches your eyes perfectly. Try it on.” She tossed it to me.
I held them up. What the fuck? How was this even considered clothing? This was the skimpiest thing I had ever seen.
“I could turn around if you are worried about it.” Basil rolled her eyes and turned her back. “I won’t even peek.”
But what if I want you to? What? No.
“I am worried … about how little fabric there is,” I admitted.
“Well, that is the best part. I may have overstated the board shorts description.” Basil turned around and made her way to me. Placing her hands on my shoulders, she spun me until I faced the wall.
I imagined her pushing me against it; pressing her body against mine while she took me with her fingers. I swallowed hard when I felt her fingers against my skin as she unzipped my black dress. Her fingertips grazed across the top of my ass before they fell away.
“What are you doing?” My voice was a whisper and I couldn’t catch my breath.
Basil leaned into me, putting her mouth to my ear. She smelled amazing. I wanted to drown in her fragrance. The crispness of fresh apples, pears, and the heat of nutmeg.
“You are going to look amazing, trust me.”
I shivered. Her hands gathered my hair and began to French braid it back from my face. All too soon, I felt her back away from me.
“I will wait outside for you to change. That way you’ll feel more comfortable. No snooping.” She laughed and sauntered out the door.
I finally exhaled. Holy shit, I was in trouble.

It was the same as the night before on his balcony, when we kissed for the first time. Fire igniting low in my belly then traveling north, south, east and west, everywhere all over me. Even if the water had been like ice, it wouldn't have mattered. I was burning up with a need and it was clear, only Mike could quench it.
"Gar, God I want you," Mike barely breathed the words against my lips. His voice rough and as needy as I felt.
"Fuck, yes!" I moaned in return.
"We'll get to that but for now," he unlocked our bodies. Taking my hand he led me to a large smooth flat boulder along the bank of the pool. Some crazy wild flower was blooming beside it. Fleetingly, I remembered it was called a Bird of Paradise. It seemed fitting.
Tapping my hips with his strong fingers, he said, "Up." He helped me to sit on the rock. "Lay back," he demanded. He stood in the water between my wide spread legs.
The rock was as smooth as it had looked and hot to the touch. It felt like those warm stones they place on your back during a massage. The heat relaxed me and let me drift into the sensations I was feeling. I closed my eyes against the sun's blinding rays.
"God you are beautiful." Mike's words reached a place deep inside me. They soothed away the last of the hurt and insecurity Bill had left me with.
"And this," he said, taking my aching hard length in his hand, "is perfect."
I had no time for a snarky comeback because my cock was suddenly encased in the wet heat of Mike's mouth.
"Shit!" I heard myself scream.
My hips thrust up and a contented groan left my body. So long. Too long. Much too long since anyone had lathed this kind of sweet torture on me. It was paradise.
He was good. This was not going to take very long. I should have been embarrassed but I didn't give a shit. I was too wrapped up in the drag and pull of his tongue across overly sensitive skin. The strong suck as he moved up and the soft flicks of his tongue as he went down were driving me closer and closer to an edge I was ready to fall off of. Yes, he was damn good.
I felt the burn start in my balls. Rising up on my elbows as it moved up my body, I looked at him. I had to see, had to watch, him work his magic over me. I tried to say the words, warn him before the eruption but he lifted those steel gray eyes, now nearly black, stared at me and I lost it. Long streams jetted from my body into his. The orgasm that rocked through me, shook my body violently and somewhere in the distance I heard someone shouting. It was me.
Mike's cool wet body lowered over mine. His lips searched until they found mine. This kiss was sweeter. I could still taste the fruit we had shared but now my own taste was mingled in when our tongues began to dance again. The feel of Mike's still hard erection pressed against my hip and the kiss became more demanding. It brought me alive again.
I reached for him, gripping his length tightly. He was long and hot in my hand. He humped my fist urgently. I had no qualms about returning the blow job and truth be known I wanted to taste him. I moved to reposition myself and he stopped me.
"Another time," he panted. "For now this," he bucked his hips and grabbed my hand to grip him harder, "is enough...too much...won't last!" And he didn't.

“I just want to talk, Vickie. I haven’t seen you since we signed the papers, and I … can’t we just talk? That’s all I want.”
Victoria hesitated. Her hand wrapped tightly around the doorknob. “What is there to talk about?”
Jameson’s brow furrowed as he leaned in close. His breath tickled her cheek when he whispered, “Everything.”
“Won’t the woman you came with start to wonder where you are?” She felt petty for even broaching the subject, but she had to know.
He laughed. “Come on, Vic, you know me better than that. I’m here with Travis and Sean, guys only. Did you honestly think I’d want to experience this place with any woman but you?”
She narrowed her eyes at him. “Are you going to stand there and tell me you’ve been celibate for an entire year?” She had him there. The guilt on his face told her everything she needed to know. For some reason, the thought of him with another woman made her angry. “Good-bye, Jameson,” she snapped, going to slam the door in his face.
He blocked it with his foot, shoving his body halfway into the room. He reached for her, his fingers wrapping around her arm. “There have been two,” he admitted. “And I hated every second of it. I couldn’t enjoy it because neither of them were you.”
“You’re the only man I’ve ever given my body to,” she pointed out. That confession seemed to please him. His eyes grew heavy-lidded as he leaned toward her, his lips brushing her hairline as he leaned close. “I just want to talk, Vickie. I haven’t seen you since we signed the papers, and I … can’t we just talk? That’s all I want.”
Victoria hesitated. Her hand wrapped tightly around the doorknob. “What is there to talk about?”
Jameson’s brow furrowed as he leaned in close. His breath tickled her cheek when he whispered, “Everything.”
“Won’t the woman you came with start to wonder where you are?” She felt petty for even broaching the subject, but she had to know.
He laughed. “Come on, Vic, you know me better than that. I’m here with Travis and Sean, guys only. Did you honestly think I’d want to experience this place with any woman but you?”
She narrowed her eyes at him. “Are you going to stand there and tell me you’ve been celibate for an entire year?” She had him there. The guilt on his face told her everything she needed to know. For some reason, the thought of him with another woman made her angry. “Good-bye, Jameson,” she snapped, going to slam the door in his face.
He blocked it with his foot, shoving his body halfway into the room. He reached for her, his fingers wrapping around her arm. “There have been two,” he admitted. “And I hated every second of it. I couldn’t enjoy it because neither of them were you.”
“You’re the only man I’ve ever given my body to,” she pointed out. That confession seemed to please him. His eyes grew heavy-lidded as he leaned toward her, his lips brushing her hairline as he leaned close.
“You’re the only woman I’ve ever given my heart to,” he whispered.
Victoria swayed toward him, losing her grip on the blanket. It fell to her feet, revealing the nightshirt she wore. Jameson sucked in a sharp breath—the T-shirt was his, an old ratty thing he used to wear while tinkering beneath the hood of his truck. For weeks after he’d moved out, the shirt still held his scent. At the time, she wore it to cling to the last part of him that was left with her, but now the scent was gone. Now, she wore it simply because it was his.
“Let me in, Vickie,” he said, his eyes coming back up to hers. “I’m not asking anymore.”
“You’re the only woman I’ve ever given my heart to,” he whispered.
Victoria swayed toward him, losing her grip on the blanket. It fell to her feet, revealing the nightshirt she wore. Jameson sucked in a sharp breath—the T-shirt was his, an old ratty thing he used to wear while tinkering beneath the hood of his truck. For weeks after he’d moved out, the shirt still held his scent. At the time, she wore it to cling to the last part of him that was left with her, but now the scent was gone. Now, she wore it simply because it was his.
“Let me in, Vickie,” he said, his eyes coming back up to hers. “I’m not asking anymore.”

“Problem, Gemma?”
Surprised by the rough voice behind her, she spun around quickly. Her heart jumped at the sight of Michael Harmon.
“Sorry, didn’t mean to startle you.”
She waved him off. “No worries. Just jumpy today I guess. And there are no rooms available for me.”
“Shit, that’s rough. I think I got the last room.”
“Gemma, I’m sorry,” Crystal returned to the counter, “our sister resort is full as well.” She pleaded with her eyes for Gemma to understand. “I can call around to a few others. See what I can find.”
Gemma shook her head. “No, that’s okay. I’ll grab a seat in the restaurant, get a bite to eat, and make some calls. Can I get that list of hotels in the area? I’ll bring it back once I’ve reached them all.”
Crystal handed her the phone listings. “I’m very sorry.”
“Gemma, you can have my room. I’ll find somewhere else.” Michael sidled closer. “Crystal, change my booking to hers, please.”
“No. Thank you, Michael, that’s very kind of you, but I’ll be fine.”
“Nonsense. I insist.”
“Of course, Michael.” Crystal grinned and looked from one to the other. “Although, what I could do, since you both work together, is put you in the same room. There is a guestroom one of you could use, and you can share the common areas.”
Gemma stared at the other woman, wondering if she’d gone crazy. Share a room with
Michael? That was Crystal’s solution?
“No, umm, that’s okay. Honestly, it’s not the end of the world.” The last of her sentence came out on a yawn. Embarrassed, she covered her mouth. “I’m so sorry. I’ll see you both later, I have things to do.”
Michael put a hand on her arm, halting her when she made a grab for her suitcase.
“That’s a great idea, Crystal. Do that, and we’ll head to the room now. Thanks for your help.”
“Of course. If you need anything from room service or anything, the extensions are on
the table beside the phone.” She picked up the phone and punched in a few keys. “I’ll have extra towels delivered there right now.”
Gemma gawked at him. “Michael, really … you don’t have to do this. I’m sure I’ll find
something.”
He grabbed her suitcase, and his, and rolled them both behind him. “Come on, Gem, let’s get some shut eye. I’m exhausted.”
Gemma rushed along behind him, wishing her legs were a bit longer to keep up.
Breathing heavy, she caught him at the corner to the west wing hallway. “I never thought of you as so difficult before. And bossy.”
Michael laughed and strode on. At least she’d be near the library. However, she wasn’t sure a book would keep her attention. Not with the hunky Michael Harmon bunking with her. It was difficult enough to keep her ogling of him to a minimum when they were at work or on a job, but to see him in such a domestic and relaxed manner ... her steadfast rule against getting involved with co-workers might fly out the window.
Every time he was around her, she wanted to jump his bones, easing the ache inside.
Since meeting Michael, all other men paled in comparison, and she hadn’t been with a man in over two years. Admittedly, she was very fussy about the men she dated, even more so about whom she took to her bed. All she could think about these days was Michael.
Regardless, she didn’t want to mix business and pleasure.
Sometimes she hated herself for making the self-imposed rule.

She bit into her BLT as he deftly picked up a piece of sushi with chopsticks and popped it into his mouth. The sight of raw fish on the huge, eighteen-piece platter made her gag. Big didn’t only describe him physically … he put that extra something in everything he did, too. An all-or-nothing kind of guy, she figured.
She wondered if he’d also prove that way between the sheets.
Shaking the lurid thoughts away, she focused on eating—and watching him eat. He picked up a piece with a slice of what looked like raw salmon on top. The disgust must have shown on her face because his lips curved in his trademark crooked smile that gave him a roguish air. The dimples made a prompt appearance, creating a major meltdown of her insides.
“These are prime grade fish cuts,” he said. “But I also have teriyaki chicken pieces and tempura shrimp. They’re cooked. You like shrimp?”
She nodded as she suspiciously eyed a piece he hooked with his chopsticks and raised it to her mouth.
“Open up ... there.” He slid it between her lips, slowly, carefully, as though performing a sensitive operation.
As her mouth closed over the food, their eyes held for a couple of seconds, then he gingerly removed the chopsticks and watched her chew. The seaweed wrap didn’t taste as foul as she thought—fresh, more like—and the crispy part of the tempura toned down the taste of the spice.
She finally issued her verdict, “Not bad.”
They finished their meals, stealing glances at each other. Kai kept one of his hands dangerously close to hers. If he moved a finger, he’d touch hers, which she kept on the table, just in case ... I want to feel your hand on mine again.
Unfortunately, he removed the hand to check his watch. “Best get a move on. I sent a text to Mr. Crawley, and expect him to contact me early morning. I’ll be bringing him over. You’ll probably have to come back to the bank with him to complete some paperwork. Don’t worry, I’ll be there in case you need me,” he added at the end, seeing her worried frown.
“I can take care of myself, but—”
He held a hand up. “Please, I get it. This is a different world, but things will work out. You’re a sharp cookie.”
“And how do you know?”
“Trust me,” he said, his eyes narrowed on her, “I know.”
Her cheeks heated at his regard. “Thank you for today. I’ll pay you back.”
A pause. “No need. Consider it a ‘welcome back’ gift from me.”
Somehow, his words caused a lump of emotion in her throat. This man cared so much for her mother—and also for her. She bit her lip as she dealt with the flash flood that drowned her senses. She quickly got a hold of herself. “I suppose we should go.”
And so they went, back home to her mother. They stood facing each other by the cottage door. Her neck hurt with the strain of looking up at him.
“How tall are you?” she blurted out.
“Six foot six.”
“Taller than—”
“Yes,” he said curtly. “Taller.” Clearly, he didn’t appreciate being compared to another man.
“Sorry,” she felt compelled to say, her gaze never leaving his. He had to see she was sincere.
“It’s okay, just ... I’m a lot like my great-uncle, much more than I’m like Granddad, but we’re not the same man, okay?”
She nodded. “I know. You’ve been amazing.” She swallowed hard when he bent down a little, bringing his lips a few inches from hers. “I really appreciate—”
Closing the distance between them, he kissed her on the cheek, close to the side of her mouth. His lips felt incredibly warm on her skin. She smelled the breath mint he’d just had, as well as the musky cologne on his neck, and the essence of pure male that sent her head spinning. Oh sweet God above. Oh man ... so much man. Kiss me, Kai ...

I met the man’s stare, trying to look as haughty as I could. However, his eyes were the color of the ocean that we had both just fallen into—blue and clear, with the stars twinkling in their reflection—and his face was tan, which I could easily tell even in the semidarkness. He worked in the sun, or at the very least spent a lot of time enjoying it. His mouth was full and beyond kissable. The man was altogether one of the most attractive men I’d ever seen. His nose appeared to have been broken once or twice, but that only added to his fiercely good looks. His eyes narrowed as I gaped at him, still sprawled on top of him like an idiot. I felt my face blush in mortification, and scrambled to get off of him, unwinding my legs from his. I mumbled curses beneath my breath as I tried to pull down the fabric of my dress—that had adhered to my upper thighs and stomach—and to cover my lacey panties, which were showing for all of the world to see.
The man, still on the ground, chuckled deeply, the sound raising goose bumps along my wet skin. I scowled down at him. He was leaning back on his arms, half reclining and gazing at me with a crooked grin.
“What are you staring at?” I snapped, as I peeled the fabric down, trying to reclaim at least a tiny bit of my dignity. “This is all your fault.” His brow rose at that, but I was too embarrassed and enraged to care.
“I was minding my own business, enjoying the water and the moonlight, and then you ruined it.” He smiled widely now, making my anger reach new heights and causing my temper, which I usually held under tight control, to flare. “What the hell were you doing anyway? Planning on drowning an innocent woman tonight, hmm?” I threw at him. His smile vanished, and he quickly moved to his knees, grabbing my thighs in his hands tightly and holding me in place. My nostrils flared and I struggled for a second before giving up, not wanting to give myself bruises while trying to escape his grip.
“Sweetheart, if I’d wanted you or anyone else dead, you’d never have known it was coming,” he whispered harshly. His grip loosened, and he put a hand out to tug the fabric of my dress down over my butt, his knuckles skimming the lace there as he did. I sucked in a breath and waited to see what he planned. My eyes widened as his gaze held mine and he continued to put my dress to rights. When he was finished, he stood up and I realized just how large he was. He towered over me by a good four inches. His shoulders were broad, his white T-shirt plastered to his muscular chest, and dark tattoos that I couldn’t make out in the darkness covering both of his arms. I could also see one peeking out from the collar of his shirt as well, and couldn’t help but wonder what it was and where it led to.

“A city of sin,” she said suggestively, as if her hips weren’t invitation enough.
The rainforest surrounding us was full of noise, chattering birds, buzzing insects, and enough humidity to match any day back home. A mosquito nipped me on the neck, and I quickly slapped at it.
“How much sin are we talking about?” I asked.
Haven hiked through the foliage, her eyes on the trees above us. A macaw was perched on a limb, its plumage bright and colorful, and its gaze on Haven. Her eyes were riveted on the bird, and I realized suddenly that this was the first time Haven had ever been out of our small hometown. Life hadn’t been kind to her, but she’d survived it with a kind heart and a brilliant spirit.
I almost let it slip then, the words I’d been fighting all day not to say. It wasn’t time yet.
“Hamartia,” Haven said thoughtfully. “A village that simply disappeared.”
I scanned the forest. “They probably got eaten by a wild beast.”
It was not the best idea being in the rainforest alone without a guide. Haven was an adventurer. She saw something, and she went after it.
I saw the sign before she did.
Enter at your own risk.
“Should this be comforting?” I asked.
The sign was the first thing either of us had seen in miles. There had only been close forest, and the uncomfortable realization that there was wildlife here a lot more vicious than the wildlife back home.
Haven’s excitement lit up her face. She grabbed my arm, her fingers digging into my damp flesh.
“This has to be it,” she exclaimed.
Haven was beautiful, and she didn’t even know it. It was part of what made her so unique.
My hand pushed at a large leaf over the sign. “We can’t explore it standing here.”
She laughed, the sound filling the forest. A startled macaw launched into the air, its colorful wings shuddering. Beneath the foliage, an iguana skittered deeper into the forest debris.
Ducking, Haven entered the area first, her sudden silence enough to rush me.
The sight that met my eyes was as breathtaking as the woman next to me.
“The city of sin,” Haven whispered.
A city of sin indeed.

authorinterview

Interview with Kacey Hammell www.kaceyhammell.com

 

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

I think the first few reviews I received I started to think I was onto something. LOL To know that readers had bought the book, read it, and had positive feedback about it made me think – I can do this. I did it. Someone loves my work!

It was an amazing feeling. And hearing from all readers even now years after that first book, it still humbles me when a reader emails to say how much s/he enjoyed my work. Love those moments!

 

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

I’m a stay-at-home Mom of three teens first and foremost. I also live on the homestead I grew on and we raise beef cattle, to sell the meat and to sell the calves to market, as well as about a dozen chickens during the summer. With two homes on the land, it’s a team effort. My brother lives in one, Mr. Single, and my Mom has a suite off his house too. My hubby, kids and I live in the other house, and we all work together to make the farm as profitable as possible.

 

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

In the anthology “Hot Summer Nights”, I wrote LAYOVER. It’s a contemporary erotic romance of co-workers who fight their attraction for one another…but soon lose the battle.

 

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

I have books published with Evernight Publishing, Ellora’s Cave, Decadent Publishing, Sybarite Seductions and I also self-publish a few. I am in The Indy Author Co, LLC – we put together Renewing Romance & Hot Summer Nights box sets – that I brainstorm stories with. We have more box sets on the horizon! *g*

 

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

Depends on the craziness of life around me. But usually six weeks for a Novella length. Longer pieces can take about three to four months.

 

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

I have about half a dozen started WIPs (works in progress).

A Cowboy Series I’ve started the first book in, and the hero is a handful!!

A Werewolf series that I’m eager to get started on.

As well as three other Contemporary Romances / Erotica whose characters are talking to me.

The Werewolf series will be a different path for me to take, as I have only written a Ghost Paranormal in the past, as well as a Seer, so I’m anxious to see how the experience writing shifters goes.

It’s always exciting to open the WIP folder and see the books started. Not always fun when the characters fight over me. LOL Ahhh, the life of a writer!

 

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

I’ve always been a lover of Contemporary Romances, with Romantic Suspense in a close second. Authors like Suzanne Brockmann, Marie Ferrarella, Debbie Macomber, Nora Roberts, Lori Foster and more came into my life via the Silhouette titles many years ago. With their influence and inspiration from over many years, I can’t help but write what I love to read most.

 

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

My husband just redid my office so I’m working out some kinks with the new desk and chair. Have to get the chair cuddling all the right spots after all. LOL He also put in a single bed so I can rest after long writing sprees. But I’m not one for rituals or anything like that. If I have some peace and quiet, I’m happy to get some words in. I used to be able to write whenever my kids were around and watching a movie or playing a board game, but these days, I find it best to be in the office by myself – well, with my cockapoo, Peaches, who sleeps on the bed behind me. I do get more words when there are no distractions.

 

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Yes. I want to know what readers think, the feedback they have so I can consider certain details in future works. I’ll sometimes copy/paste some of the reviews so I can refer back to them on days when I have hit a road block or am just having a bad writing day/struggles (the good reviews help with those days!).  If I see a 1 or 2 star review that doesn’t offer a lot of feedback, but just negativity, I won’t keep copies of those.

 

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

Depends. A few times the titles come first. Other times, it’s the last piece I fight the hardest to uncover. Titles (to me) are just as important as an amazing blurb and cover. That’s the way I look at it as a reader when shopping. Readers see that information first, so the key pieces should be pretty amazing too. Plus, I like the title to fit the story as close as possible.

 

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

Beforehand usually. I use actors, models, athletes as inspiration for characters. There have been a couple times, however, where I’ve dreamt the character and s/he comes to life before my eyes (in dream state) and their right in front of me. There are a few characteristics that evolve as the story continues that surprise me at times, perhaps a stubbornness or a phobia that I don’t know at first but comes to light as I write. It’s always fun to be surprised by my characters.

 

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

I love the instant access of eBooks, as well as their low prices. But I’m quite a faithful reader of hardcover/paperbacks. I have to still smell the paper, feel the book in my hands, and the no-worry of a battery dying or someone stealing my electronic gadget when I go out to events (my boys are in a lot of sports). Paperbacks are so much easier to toss on the bleachers and be quite positive the book will still be there after I’ve grabbed snacks from a concession stand. LOL

 

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

Not really. I haven’t found a movie that was as amazing as a book. I did enjoy the Harry Potter books/movies – but a lot was omitted. Yep, I know there’s only a couple hours to fit so much in, but I liked the books a lot more. Twilight – again books were better – or at least books 3 & 4. Breaking Dawn movies were pretty great, but the books were still marginally better.

The Burning Bed was a book to TV movie, which I think was done very well and I wasn’t disappointed in the movie version. Both the book and movie was amazing, a dark tale and hard to read/watch at times, but probably one of the best book to movie that there is.

I think I was most disappointed in the movie of My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. The book was amazing. One of the best books out there, but they failed miserably with the movie. My daughter and I literally threw our empty popcorn bowls at the screen over the ending. And a few things in the middle. We were very disappointed in the movie ending.

 

Your favorite food is?

Tacos. Would eat them every night of the week if I could. *g*

 

Your favorite singer/group is?

Reba McEntire. Her songs have helped me through many hard times over the years.

 

 

HSN-BoxSet
giveaway
A Gift basket filled with signed paperbacks, swag, jewelry, and a $10 Amazon gift card, contributed by all the authors of Hot Summer Nights.
blog tour prize

follow the tour
Tour Schedule - One Week Blog Tour for Hot Summer Nights by Various Authors from Sep 1 to 9, 2014.
Sep 1
Books to Light Your Fire - Promo & Character Interview
Tattooed Book Review - Promo
Darkest Cravings - Promo & Top Ten
Sep 2
Rusty's Reading - Promo & Top Ten
Agapa Reads - Promo
A Cauldron of Books - Promo
Angels with Attitude Book Reviews - Promo
Sep 3
A Book Junky's Obsession - Promo
Smile Somebody Loves You - Promo & Top Ten
The Avid Reader - Promo
The Idle Musings of a Writer's Mind - Promo
Sep 4
Sinful Reviews - Promo
Night Owl Reviews - Promo
The Phantom Paragrapher - Promo
Patricia D. Eddy - Promo
Sep 5
Clarissa Wild's Blog - Promo
Girlygirlbookreviews - Promo
Read That - Promo & Guest Post
G & the Book Divas Blog - Promo
Sep 8
Book Nook Nuts - Promo
A One-click Addict's Book Blog - Promo
Booky Ramblings of a Neurotic Mom - Promo
Indy Book Fairy - Promo
Sep 9
Fictional Rendezvous Book Blog - Promo
Tanyas Book Nook - Review
Eclipse Reviews - Promo & Author Interview
Portals to New Worlds - Promo & Character Interview
Owltastic Promotions - Promo
What Shall We Blog About Today? - Promo