The Kasadya Hellhound Series

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Toxic Bad Boy by @AprilBrookshire

Toxic Bad Boy Banner 851 x 315

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002Toxic Bad Boy

Beware of Bad Boy Trilogy

Book 3

April Brookshire

Genre: mature young adult contemporary romance

Date of Publication: March 30th, 2015

Number of pages: 220

Word Count: 70,000

Book Description:

Caleb and Gianna’s lives were ruined by a brutal attack. She ended up in the hospital and he was thrown in juvie.

For Caleb, being apart from Gianna is worse torture than being locked up. He’s unable to help her through the aftermath of the assault and dealing with the confinement of youth corrections.

Gianna is lost, her mind going to dark places. She loves and misses Caleb, but doesn’t know how to deal with the upheaval and panic attacks. Emerging, are new threats to her safety and her relationship with Caleb.

While Gianna struggles with her ability to be Caleb’s girlfriend after he’s released, Caleb struggles to hold on to the only girl he’s ever loved.

This is the third book and conclusion to the Beware of Bad Boy series.

clip_image004

Book 1 Available at Amazon

clip_image006

Book 2 Available at Amazon

 

character

Character Name: Caleb Morrison

Character Bio: I’m the only child of divorced parents and I’ve used that to my advantage. I grew up downtown Denver with my artist mother, but I was sent to live with my father in the suburbs when my mother felt I’d gotten out-of-control. There I met the love of my life, Gianna, and that’s when my real story began.

Picture provided by the author.

clip_image002[1]

Describe yourself what is your worst and best quality?

My imagination is both my best and worst quality. While drives my art, it also causes me to have jealous thoughts when it comes to Gianna. The thought of any other dude trying to take her away from me makes me insane.

What is the one thing you wish other people knew about you?

All the times I’ve been in trouble at school or with the law, they don’t define who I am. To judge me based on those mistakes or my reputation with girls would be unfair. People are constantly changing.

What is your biggest secret something no one knows about?

When I was younger, I hated this asshole at school, so I stole his car and ended up crashing it into a fence.

What are you most afraid of?

Losing Gianna in any way. Other than that, nothing.

What do you want more than anything?

For me and my girl to be left in peace. No interference from outsiders trying to break us up.

What is your relationship status?

Taken forever.

How would you describe your sense of fashion?

Whatever I come across that’s cool, I’ll wear. I don’t stick to one style.

How much of a rebel are you?

Ask the judge who locked me up.

What do you considered to be your greatest achievement?

Getting Gianna to fall in love with me. At the time I wasn’t even trying.

What is your idea of happiness?

Freedom, fun and fucking. All of them with Gianna.

What is your current state of mind?

Impatient. Want to be with my girl.

What is your most treasured possession?

My car, 1969 Z28 Chevy Camaro.

What is your most marked characteristic?

I can be impulsive when my emotions are running high.

What is it that you, most dislike?

Men who abuse women.

Which living person do you, most despise?

Gianna’s ex-boyfriend, Josh, but her mom takes a distant second.

What is your greatest regret?

Not being there when my girl needed me most.

What is the quality you most like in a man?

Strength and perseverance.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?

The PG answer? An adventurous spirit. The rated-R answer? A hot body that she always makes available to me.

Who is your favorite hero in fiction?

Batman. He doesn’t need superpowers to kick ass.

Which living person do you most admire?

My mom because she always tries to be optimistic.

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

I’m comfortable with who I am. It’s worked so far for me.

What is your motto?

Live it up while you’re young. And even after that.

 

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

abouttheauthor

April Brookshire is the author of the Beware of Bad Boy and Young Assassinsclip_image008 series. She also co-authors the Dead Chaos series. She writes under the contemporary romance and apocalyptic fantasy genres and has a few projects in the works for 2015.

Growing up with four brothers, she doesn’t like chick flicks but devours romance books of all genres. A book addict, she’s read almost two thousand books to date.

April lives in a suburb of Denver, Colorado, where she raises her young son. When she isn’t writing, she’s usually reading, but also enjoys attending concerts and plays in the numerous venues of the city.

www.aprilbrookshire.net

http://aprilbrookshire.net/blog/

https://twitter.com/AprilBrookshire

https://www.facebook.com/AprilBrookshireAuthor

https://www.pinterest.com/aprilbrookshire/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5154295.April_Brookshire

Spotify Beware of Bad Boy Series Playlist https://play.spotify.com/user/aprilbrookshire/playlist/3gWTK6pvAGbV7DjtwTl1XY

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: The Nines by Dakota Madison & Sierra Avalon @karenmbryson

theninesbanner


Presented by: Sparkle Book Tours
Sparkle Blog Button



the nines covergif


The Nines - Series: The Nines # 1
by Dakota Madison & Sierra Avalon
 
Audience: New Adult/ Adult - Genre: Romantic Suspense - Format: eBook - Publisher: Short on Time Books - Cover by: http://coveryourdreams.net/ - Editor: Shirley Pearson - Pages: 202 - ASIN: B00UXJUMQ0 -Date Published: April 13, 2015
 
 
blurb

USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR Dakota Madison and Sierra Avalon team up to bring readers a new breed of antiheroes…THE NINES.

Vengeance is mine not the Lord’s. It’s what I breathe for. It’s what I’m still living for. I live for the moment when I will literally have his eye for mine. It’s been two years. Two long and difficult years, but my plan is nearly complete. When I’m not in a hospital having doctors try to repair my ravaged body I spend my time on the computer, doing hacking jobs for large corporations and governments who don’t want to get their hands dirty or be associated with a job if things go sideways. But they don’t have any reason to worry. I’m meticulous, so I’ll never get caught. Just one thing stands in my way: The mysterious young woman without a past who desperately wants to be part of my future. I just need to figure out why…

THE NINES is an ongoing romantic suspense series. Each book can be read as a STAND ALONE NOVEL or as PART OF THE SERIES.

book links
 
 
buy now amazon
buy now from kobo
buy now from ibooks
 
 
excerpt

Vengeance is mine not the Lord’s. It’s what I breathe for. It’s what I’m still living for. I live for the moment when I will literally have his eye for mine. It’s been two years. Two long and difficult years, but my plan is nearly complete. When I’m not in a hospital having doctors try to repair my ravaged body I spend my time on the computer, doing hacking jobs for large corporations and governments who don’t want to get their hands dirty, or be associated with a job if things go sideways. But they don’t have any reason to worry. I’m meticulous, so I’ll never get caught.
I have the one thing that most people don’t.
Time.
After I was burned it was difficult for people to look at me and when they did, it was with pity or disgust, often both.
Even my own mother.
I don’t want anyone’s pity. And I have enough disgust towards myself to last five lifetimes.
So I left everything I’ve ever known and started over on my own.
Now I spend my days and nights in the small home I inherited from my aunt when she died. I would never have chosen to live next door to a large state university. It’s often loud and there are young people everywhere. It’s a constant reminder of everything I lost. I don’t feel young anymore. I feel like an old man trapped in a twenty-year-old body. If wisdom is the gift of tragedy I’d rather be ignorant.
I rarely leave home. It’s amazing what you can have delivered to your door these days. When I do need to go outside, it’s always at night and I always wear a mask. Not like the ones kids wear on Halloween. It’s more like the one that the Phantom of the Opera wore, but my mask is black and was specially designed to cover the burn scars on the left side of my face.
My latest job is for an Eastern European mob family. Modern day computer espionage has given a whole new meaning to the term “mob hit.” There’s no blood, no violence, just five million dollars vanished from several off-shore accounts in the blink of an eye. And I get fifteen percent. Not bad for a few weeks’ work.
Is it wrong to steal from criminals? I call it karmic justice. I don’t take jobs that could hurt innocent people. I only wrong people who have wronged others.
I have the luxury of a hefty bank account and very few needs. I don’t need to work another day my entire life and I wouldn’t want for a thing. But I need to keep my mind occupied. So I take hacking jobs that interest me and I take university classes online.
Having online discussions with my virtual classmates gives me the illusion of having friends and a social life. I realize it’s a poor substitute, but it’s the best I can do given my situation.
I try not to dwell on the past. The person I was, Mr. Popularity, the Class President, the Homecoming King, died the day my body burned like a barbeque on the Fourth of July.
My life now is in the shadows. Living with the fringe dwellers on the edge of humanity. I often feel like a man whose body has died, but his mind hasn’t caught up to that fact yet.
When my computer roars I know I have an incoming message. It’s from one of my contacts in China. I get a lot of work from the Chinese. I don’t speak Chinese and don’t have the patience to learn, so I use an intermediary to broker the deals. He gets fifteen percent of every deal he mediates.
I hear the familiar buzz of SKYPE and when I click on the icon Xiang Yuan appears on the screen. He’s young, probably just a few years older than me, but much better dressed. He always wears five hundred dollar suits and I’ve never seen him wear the same one twice.
“I can get you eight hundred thousand,” he says.
I don’t reply right away. I like to play things cool.
He continues. “With your skills this job won’t take more than one week. Who else will pay close to a million for one week’s work?”
“The Russians immediately come to mind,” I reply.
“And they’ll slit your throat if you don’t deliver on time. We have much more patience than that.”
I give a hearty laugh. “You guys are saints. You’d never slit a hacker’s throat. Maybe I should tell that to Jenks. Oh, wait. I can’t. You killed him.”
“Jenks got sloppy. That’s one concern I never have with you. You’re too meticulous.”
I shake my head. “You’re just saying that because you need me to take the job.”
“You’re the best person for the job,” he corrects.
“I’m the only guy you’ve got left.”
“Nine hundred thousand. But that is the final offer. Do we have a deal?”
I nod. “We have a deal.”
“Good. Let me know when the job is completed.”
“Don’t I always?”
Xiang Yuan doesn’t bother with a reply. He simply disappears from the screen.
I don’t need the money, but it’s an easy job that will probably only take a few days’ work. They’re offering close to a million for it. It’s not something I can refuse.
I rise and take a stretch away from my laptop. Sometimes it starts to feel like an appendage and that’s when I know I need a little time away from it. I step into the kitchen and make a fresh pot of coffee. While it’s brewing I glance out my kitchen window. My aunt liked to garden and the backyard is like a small sanctuary. I like to look at the plants and flowers, but I can’t be bothered with the maintenance. I have a gardener who comes by once a week to trim and weed and do whatever else needs to be done to keep it looking nice. I’ve never actually met the man, but I leave a check in an envelope for him under a mat on the back porch.
From my kitchen window I also have a slightly obstructed view of the small street I live on. The fact that it’s Macedonia Boulevard and my name is Alexander is a coincidence that is not lost on me.
The house is one block removed from one of the major thoroughfares the students frequent, so it’s not as noisy as it could be for being so close to campus. I’m still just a few blocks away from some of the dorms and much of the off-campus housing.
I’m surprised to see a beautiful girl, carrying a backpack, stop right next to my house. I have no idea who she is, or why she’s stopped there, but she looks lost.
Her long, dark hair moves slightly in the breeze and when it finally blows away from her face I can see her magnificent brown eyes and perfect pink lips. If my wishes came true and I was finally dead I know I’d be looking at the face of an angel.
I shouldn’t be standing in front of my window in the daylight staring at her. If she turned at just the right angle she could see me, and that wouldn’t be pretty. It would probably traumatize her. I need to move away from the window, but I can’t. I’m completely mesmerized by her.
When she looks at the street sign then looks up and down the block again there’s little doubt in my mind that she’s lost. I want to tell her that she’s just a block from campus. She hasn’t wandered too far afield. But I can’t leave the house, especially not in the daylight. I know as soon as she took one good look at me she’d probably run away screaming before I even had a chance to utter a word.
As she heaves a large sigh my gaze is immediately drawn to her chest. She’s wearing a pale pink sundress that fits like a glove and accentuates all of the lovely curves of her petite body. For a few moments I think about what it would be like to have my hands on her body. To touch her in the most intimate of ways. To run my fingers along her perfect, unblemished skin.
Then I chide myself for even giving in to those thoughts. There’s no use in imagining what I can never have again. Access to a woman’s body is something I lost forever. No woman would ever consider being with someone as damaged and disfigured as I am.
I considered my life over the day that half of my flesh was burned off of my body. The doctors working on me didn’t think I would live. They called it a miracle that I didn’t die. I call it a life sentence with no chance of parole.
I realized pretty quickly that my life had irrevocably changed. What I didn’t really understand until much later was the impact my injuries would have on the other people in my life.
It wasn’t until my high school girlfriend, Sara, was finally allowed to visit me that reality punched me in the face and knocked my teeth out. Sara and I had been together for over a year when it happened. She would have been burned just like me if she didn’t have a doctor’s appointment that morning and arrived late to school.
Her allergy shots kept her from dying in the blaze, or even worse, surviving it like I did.
She told me that she loved me nearly every day we were together. She was supposed to be my soul mate. We were supposed to spend our lives together.
But when she saw me in the hospital for the first time after the school bombing it was like she didn’t know me. When she looked at me all the love vanished from her beautiful brown eyes. It was like she was looking at a complete stranger.
That was the moment I knew my life as I had known it was over. Sara never came back to visit me and I never saw her again.
I spent my senior year of high school being homeschooled because I was in and out of the hospital so much. I’m smart and was always a good student so I finished all of my work early and started taking college classes in January of what was supposed to be my senior year of high school.
I traded in my high school prom and senior graduation parties for a life of worldwide hacking jobs and built my reputation as one of the best in the field of cyber espionage.
For a brief moment I panic because the girl standing outside my house turns to face me and for a second it’s almost like she can see inside of my house and she’s watching me.
But I know it’s not possible. If she really had caught a glimpse of me she would have already backed away in horror, wouldn’t she?
The girl just looks puzzled. Her head is cocked like she’s trying to figure something out. Then I see her walk towards the front of my house.
I hurry out of the kitchen and into the living room. I move the curtains on the front windows the slightest bit so that I can just make out what she’s doing. She’s standing right outside on the front walk way, staring at my front entrance.
What in the world could she possibly want with me?
Then it occurs to me. Maybe it’s not me she wants at all. Maybe she’s one of my aunt’s former students.
She looks down at a small piece of paper in her hands and then looks back up at the house. It’s almost as if she’s trying to decide whether or not she should walk up to the front door and knock.
I’m not sure what I’ll do if she does decide to knock on the door. It’s broad daylight. I only have deliveries come at night, when it’s difficult to see me, and I always leave the lights off, obscuring their view of me even further.
I hold my breath waiting to see what the girl will do. Just when I think she might make her way up to the door she takes off down the road instead.
I breathe a small sigh of relief that I don’t have to deal with her at the door. But in a small way I also feel a twinge of disappointment.

playlist

 
 
giveaway

  authorinterview

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I learned to read when I was about four years old and I told my mom I wanted to write books. It hasn’t been my only profession but I’ve been writing my whole life.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

My first novel was published in 2002.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

I’m a university professor and I teach psychology.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

THE NINES: A homebound hacker is determined to destroy a prestigious underground fraternity known for their rape rooms when one of his online friends becomes the fraternity’s latest victim.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

I own my own publishing company, Short on Time Books. I currently publish 15 authors.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

About four weeks.

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

THE NINES is the first book in an ongoing romantic suspense series. There are currently five books planned for the series. I am also planning a paranormal romantic suspense series as well as a young adult science fiction action adventure series.

What genre would you place your books into?

Most of my books are contemporary romance (or have some elements of romance).

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

Romance is a quite lucrative genre. I also love it!

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

Kian Kavanagh from my Dakota Madison FIRE ON ICE series. He’s my all-time favorite romance character. He’s been described by a reader as “1 part gladiator, 1 part Arthurian Knight, 1 part street punk, and all male.” He’s also the character that’s most like my husband.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I write every morning when I first wake up. Many times I will dream parts of the book, so I want to make sure I get those down. I usually write for at least an hour before I do anything else.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

I rarely read my reviews. Other people’s opinions of my work are really none of my business.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

Most of the time titles come to me first but it doesn’t always happen that way.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I often use the “baby names” databases online. The problem with writing so many books so quickly is that I’m running out of cool names!

Are character names and place names decided after their creation? Or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?

I have a difficult time creating a character if he or she doesn’t have a name. A name seems to be such an integral part of a person’s identity.

I try not to use the names of real places. I usually give a description of the place without actually naming it or creating a fictional place.

Your favorite singer/group is?

Singer: Neil Young/Group: Pearl Jam

 

 


 

about the author

clip_image008USA TODAY Bestselling author Dakota Madison is known for writing New Adult and contemporary romance with a little spice and lots of heart. She likes to explore current social issues in her work. Dakota is a winner of the prestigious RONE Award for Excellence in the Indie and Small Publishing Industry. When she’s not at her computer creating spicy stories Dakota likes to spend time with her husband and their bloodhounds at their home outside Phoenix, Arizona. Dakota also writes under the pen names SAVANNAH YOUNG, SIERRA AVALON and REN MONTERREY.
media links
 
 
 
clip_image010clip_image012clip_image014clip_image004[1]
 
follow the tour
April 15
Cu's eBook Giveaways
2 Girls & A Book
Eclipse Reviews
April 16
Bound 2 Escape
Archaeolibrarian - I dig good books!
Portals to New Worlds
April 17
United Indie Book Blog
Rustys Reading
Books Books Books
Our New Generation for Reading
April 20
Ms Me28
Booky Ramblings of a Neurotic Mom
Indy Book Fairy
April 21
Badass Bloggettes
The Avid Reader
Melissa M Wolff
Blushing Babes Are Up All NIght
April 22
Fictional Rendezvous Book Blog
Angels with Attitude Book Reviews
April 23
The Phantom Paragrapher
TTC Books and more
JeanzBookReadNReview

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Book Blast & Giveaway: Fly Me To The Moon by @Bev_Elle

Fly Me To The Moon - Banner

BOOK INFORMATION

TITLE – Fly Me To The Moon SERIES – N/A AUTHOR – Bev Elle GENRE – Contemporary Romance LENGTH (Pages/# Words) - 124 PUBLISHER – Bev Elle Press COVER ARTIST – Amy Queau - Q Designs

Fly Me To The Moon - Book Cover

BOOK SYNOPSIS

Ticketing agent Jessamy Taylor has been in a dating slump exacerbated by moving her sickly mother into her home. The truth is she's never gotten over the quirky Dr. Griffin Sanderson whose Obsessive Compulsive Disorder drives her crazy, despite his excellent bedside manner.

Fly Me To The Moon is a love song covered by many, the most memorable being Frank Sinatra. Griffin whistles this tune incessantly, but that's just one of the many odd quirks Jessamy Taylor either loves or hates about him. Since their ill-fated love affair two years prior, she's found no one to replace the good doctor.

A date with a self-absorbed jerk goes awry for Jessamy, and somehow the night ends with her in Griffin's arms. Will the changes he's made be enough this time, or will secrets tear them apart?

Fly Me To The Moon - Teaser 2

BUY & TBR LINKS

AMAZON KINDLE USAMAZON KINDLE CAAMAZON KINDLE UKAMAZON PAPERBACKBARNES & NOBLES NOOKBARNES & NOBLES NOOK UKBARNES & NOBLES PAPERBACKITUNESGOODREADS

Fly Me To The Moon - Teaser 1

EXCERPT

“Look!” Kyla said. “Griffin’s holding the Fowlers’ baby. Now doesn’t that make your ovaries want to explode?”

Jessamy turned her head slowly, knowing the sight would slay her. Griffin never held babies. She took it all in as if in slow motion. Mark was holding their toddler in place as Jenny was cleaning up the sticky popsicle he was covered in, while Griffin was holding the four-month old. He cradled her a bit nervously at first, then he seemed to get his baby-holding legs under him and finally began to smile and talk to her.

Jessamy and Kyla could hear her baby giggle from where they stood. “Aww!” They said in tandem. “Now that right there ought to earn a man another chance,” Kyla said.

Fly Me To The Moon - Teaser 3

AUTHOR BIO

Bev Elle is the author of sweet and spicy, contemporary romance. She's a lover of books - those already written, and those she harbors in her very active imagination. Writing is a passion she's had for many years, but was unable to act upon. Until now. Bev Elle is the mother of three human children and two canines. She is also the lover of one husband. When Bev isn't writing in her spare time after work, she is thinking of doing so.

AUTHOR FOLLOW LINKS

AMAZON AUTHOR PAGEWEBSITE / BLOGFACEBOOKTWITTERGOOGLE+PINTERESTTUMBLRGOODREADSLINKEDINTSUINSTAGRAMNEWSLETTER

 

GIVEAWAY

$15 Amazon Giftcard

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blitz Organized & Hosted By

33c16-mini2bbutton

Monday, April 13, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Pouraka by @DianneGardner

Pouraka Banner 851 x 315

 

bookblast

 

 

clip_image002Pouraka

Book One

Dianne Lynn Gardner

Genre: Fantasy romance

Publisher: Dianne Lynn Gardner

ASIN: B00T0PED40

Number of pages: 242

Word Count: 75369

Cover Artist: Dianne Lynn Gardner

Book Description:

Pouraka is a magical sea cavern tucked under the rocky cliffs near Barnacle Bay. Cora, a Pouraka mer, is torn between her friends in the seaside town, and her true love Tas, a foreign mer whose people fled when men invaded their waters.

Life becomes difficult for all mers when an arrogant oil rigger's son, Tom, finds the bay and the rich aquatic life it harbors. When Tas attempts to rescue a pod of dolphins from Tom's gill net, he is captured and taken away as a prize to be sold to a theme park. When Cora hears of his capture she changes into human form and travels south to find him, risking her life to free him.

Time away from Pouraka leaves the cavern vulnerable, and a new threat arises when tourists discover its magic.

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/EkSwqips0D0

Available at Amazon

excerpt

The sand was cool, the shells sharp and prickly, making her toes itch. She strolled to the wet sand where the foam still bubbled into clam holes and the remnants of waves frothed over her feet. Seagulls clustered, pecking at shellfish and welcoming the end of day. Farther out the ocean throbbed, constant and carefree. Ever faithful, the sea rocked back and forth over the earth as it harbored its creatures, protecting them from the sun’s vicious heat, feeding them, nourishing them and cradling them. Cora should be in its belly, accepting its nurturing. She was the oceans’ charge and yet here she was, walking the land as though she were human. She’d been denying her heritage all this time.

A surge of shame swept over her. Why did she even want to be human? Merpeople were so much kinder to each other, and to the animals they lived among. Why did she ever doubt that she should live as a mermaid?

Cora took the basket off of her back and unfastened the lid. The water inside was so clear she could see the interior weave of kelp even in the fading sunlight. Scooting closer to the surf so that the waves rolled over her, she held the basket above her head.

Pouraka’s water dripped over her hair, onto her shoulders and her face. She lifted her chin and let it run down her neck, her chest, her belly. Cora poured the water over her hips, her legs, and her toes as the sea rumbled and came to her, a white roll of salt water rushing to immerse her. Cora leaned back and let the ocean swallow her human body. The sea wanted her home, grabbing her form and pulling her far away from shore. She tumbled in the breakers until she was saturated and far from land. Cora came to the surface and viewed the vanishing shoreline one last time. Sunset shined its face on her scales as golden fragments of evening glitter. She hadn’t felt so alive in a long time. She felt good, and somehow she would bring this freedom to Tas. She had to.

clip_image004

abouttheauthor

Dianne is an author and illustrator of YA adventure fantasy with a dab of historicalclip_image006 content thrown in. Building worlds that might resemble the forests of her home in the Pacific Northwest, or the shimmering deserts of Arizona, add to that a pinch of magic dust and a few million stars and you just might find the portal to another Realm.

Happily married to a man that puts up with her celestial wanderings and wonderings, she is the mother of seven lovely adult children and grandmother to sixteen gorgeous boys and girls.

Dianne loves writing, painting in oils and living in other dimensions. She finds life much more colorful that way! Her books are middle grade to young adult adventure fantasies with dragons and wizards and sorcery and battles on the high seas. Her grandchildren are a big inspiration for her stories. There’s a shared camaraderie, something akin to what C.S. Lewis said about someday being old enough to enjoy fairy tales again.

Dianne’s newest series Pouraka dives into the depths to explore life as a mer. She also has a series that is being re released by PDMI publishing called the Ian’s Realm Saga.

Stretching her tent stakes, she is working on an Indie Film production of her V book Cassandra’s Castle.

Website http://gardnersart.com

Blog https://diendrial.wordpress.com/

Twitter @DianneGardner

Rebel Mouse https://www.rebelmouse.com/DianneGardner/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Pouraka

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DianneLynnGardner

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6473931.Dianne_Lynn_Gardner

Amazing Stories Magazine

http://amazingstoriesmag.com/authors/dianne-lynn-gardner/

giveaway

clip_image008

1 ebook copy of Sasha which introduces the story.

5 8 X 10 prints of Pouraka's cover without the text, authographed by the author

1 digital copy of dystopia novel Altered

1 pair of earrings open to US Shipping

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

clip_image010

character

Character Name: Cora

Character Bio: I was born and raised in Pouraka, probably the most beautiful sea cavern in the whole world. That’s what my brother Ko would tell me. He’s been everywhere.  I’ve never been beyond the bay, well, at least not until I met Tas.  I look just like the other Pouraka mers. Dark hair, my scales are blue green and sometimes in the sunlight they’ll glisten with pinks and golds. I mind my own business for the most part. If I socialize it would be with my brother and his friends. The mermaids gossip a lot and I’m not really all that good with basket making so I don’t spend a lot of time with them. I do have one girlfriend, Beth. She’s human. She lives in Barnacle Bay and I see her whenever I dip into the magic pools and take on human form. I really like Beth a lot. She teaches me things I would never know if I didn’t walk among humans.

Describe yourself what is your worst and best quality?

I think my best quality is that I’m a strong swimmer though Radcliff, my cousin would argue with you. My worst quality is that I’m impatient.

What is the one thing you wish other people knew about you?

I wish they knew how much I love people (humans), and respected how I feel about them. Some of the mers think all men are bad, and though I know there are some that are, still, judging them the way they do just isn’t right. There are good people too.

What is your biggest secret something no one knows about?

My biggest secret is that I regret being a mer sometimes.

What are you most afraid of?

Oh, I’m terribly afraid of taking that ultimate change that Ko and Tas talk about. You see, mers can change into human form and change back again. But they can also change into a dolphins. I love dolphins, don’t get me wrong. They are our guardians and are very kind and sweet. But I don’t want to be one. Once you change to a dolphin, you can never change back and that terrifies me.

What do you want more than anything?

To be with Tas forever. I just want to be with him forever and ever.

What is your relationship status?

Tas and I love each other. But he comes from a clan that was badly mistreated by men, so his feelings toward them is so different than mine. I’m afraid we’ll never agree. It’s okay to have differences in a relationship, but when it comes to whether we can trust humans, whether he approves my visits to Barnacle Bay, whether or not he can trust the people I trust, it splits us apart. I wish something would happen to where he’d see the good in people.

How would you describe your sense of fashion?

Oh, well, I love Beth’s cloths. And when I change to human form my scales take on these really pretty sequin blouses and pants. Beth helps me with my hair and make up when I visit. She knows all about fashion.

How much of a rebel are you?

As meek as I might sound sometimes, I’m pretty obstinate when it comes to getting what I want. No merman is going to tell me to stay put, and I’ll stand up to my cousin in a hot tick.

What do you considered to be your greatest achievement?

Rescuing Tas.

What is your idea of happiness?

Being in Tas’ arms. There’s nothing sweeter than being held by him and swimming with him.

What is your most treasured possession?

I have a necklace of rainbow coral that my brother Ko made for me when I was younger. I will always treasure it.

What is your most marked characteristic?

I don’t know. Tas says I have dimples when I smile.

What is it that you, most dislike?

I am not very fond of mermen thinking they are so much better than mermaids.

Which living person do you, most despise?

That awful man named Tom. He’s a wretched excuse for a living being!

What is your greatest regret?

That I couldn’t save my brother.

What is the quality you most like in a man?

Compassion. I think mermen and men, no matter how strong they are, they need to be compassionate towards others.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?

The same, although most mermaids and women I know are compassionate. I think it comes from having children, or kindermers.

Who is your favorite hero in fiction?

Fiction? I can’t read.

Which living person do you most admire?

Tas. J

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

I wish I were more capable of defending myself and my friends. We’re so vulnerable.

What is your motto?

Live and let live in peace and harmony.

Friday, April 10, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Retaliation by Imogen Rose

Retaliation Banner 851 x 315

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002Retaliation

Bonfire Chronicles

Imogen Rose

Genre: YA/Paranormal/Horror

Publisher: Wild Thorn Publishing

Date of Publication: 03/15/2015

ISBN:

ASIN:

Number of pages: 400

Word Count: 84000

Cover Artist: Consuelo Parra

Book Description:

Ever since Bloody Fall, humans have lived in fear.

Even though the apparently senseless human massacres have ended, President Elizabeth Ryan's administration has been under a cloud of disapproval for failing to bring the terrorists to justice.

She braces herself as a new spate of carnage is unleashed.

Cordelia and Faustine are recruited back into action as the supernatural agencies go on high alert. Has their nemesis re-emerged?

Kindle Kobo iBooks Nook Paperback

  excerpt

I kneeled down for a better look. Whatever it was, it was clearly alive, and it shirked away, obviously frightened out of its wits. Could it be one of those pets humans liked to keep around? I transformed back to my human state so the poor little thing wouldn’t have a heart attack. “Here,” I whispered gently. “I’m not going to hurt you. Come on out.”

“Demon?” a little voice whispered. It was clearly something supernatural.

“Yep, you?”

“Troll.”

Troll? I’d never met a timid one before. “What are you doing here?”

“I sorta live here.”

“Can you come out?”

The troll scurried from behind the vent, crawled out of the fireplace, and stood up beside the couch. It couldn’t have been more than eight inches tall. I’d never seen one so small before. It was clearly female, with a pink bow attached to her unkempt blond Afro. She was rather grubby, I guessed from her journey through the fireplace. She wore little green dungarees bedazzled with pink rhinestones. And she had the most enormous green eyes that seemed to glow. “What’s your name?”

“I don’t have one.” Now that she wasn’t whispering, her voice sounded like a bee trying to speak human. “None of the underground trolls do,” she continued. “I guess we’re not important enough.” She lowered her eyelash-devoid eyelids, her lips trembling.

I touched her hand gently with my finger. “What would you like to be called, if you could choose your own name?”

“Anything?”

“Yes, anything at all.”

“Humm. That’s hard. It’s hard to commit to a name. What’s yours?”

“Cordelia.”

“Huh? That’s kind of old-fashioned. Where did that come from?”

Old-fashioned? That troll cheekiness didn’t take long to surface. “Cordelia is a family name; I’m named after my grandmamma. I like it, and wouldn’t want to be called anything else.”

“None of my family have ever had names,” she said, her lower lip trembling again. “Each subterranean troll family has a number, assigned by the Don. Then each family member gets given a letter. I am 4695h.”

“That doesn’t exactly roll off the tongue. Tell you what. Pick a name you want me to call you, and if you don’t like it, you can change it as many times as you want until you find one that’s ‘you.’”

“Humm.” She looked confused. “I can’t think of any nice names. Can you pick one for me?”

“Sure. How about…” I tried to think of a simple one, since she was unfamiliar with names. “Lucy?”

She nodded slowly. “I can… maybe… do that… Lucy.”

“Well, Lucy. What are you doing here?”

“Like I said, I live here. When I don’t live at home, that is. Do you want to see the room I sleep in when the demons are not around? It’s the same one that Dorian uses.”

“Sure, in a moment. Which demons are you talking about?”

“Dorian and his soap buddies mostly. And his son, Luke. I like Luke. He’s kinda hot.”

“When was the last time they were here?”

“Dorian was here a couple of hours ago.” She started fidgeting, lowering her eyelids and shifting from leg to leg.

“Do you know where he went?”

She shook her head. Then she pursed her lips.

“What is it?”

She stared at her feet.

“Lucy?”

She smiled. “I like that.”

“Focus, Lucy. Tell me everything. What’s with the odd expression?”

“Well,” she whispered, her voice so low that I had to bend down to hear her, “something bad happened.”

“Like?”

She raised her hands. “I don’t know.”

“Come on, Lucy! How do you know something bad happened, then?”

She suddenly crawled under the couch like a bug, and just as I was about to grab her tiny ankles and haul her out, she slithered back toward me—dragging something heavy.

I couldn’t get a good look at it. “What is that?”

“It’s Dorian’s arm,” she puffed, as I grabbed it, pulling it out—a bloody, shredded demon limb.

  authorinterview

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I didn’t set out to be a writer or ever consider that as an option. When I was in kid I wanted to be a racecar driver, a ballerina, and a doctor. I went on to become an immunologist.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

I still struggle with that. I am very confident calling myself a storyteller, but I guess after ten books, I’ve earned the right to call myself an author.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

The actual publication process involves tapping the “publish now” button, so seconds. The process from starting the novel to that moment took around four months.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

Not any more. I used to do research in aneurysm surgery, but I write full time now.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

The latest book is called RETALIATION and it’s part of the Bonfire Chronicles. This story pushes the complex political infrastructure of the supernatural world  into the human one.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

I publish under my own label— Wild Thorn Publishing. We have our own editor, proofers, cover artists, translators, and voice artists, and will soon be expanding and accepting queries from other authors.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

I am very focused when I write a story, spending every moment during the process living the characters. I write between 3000-4000 words a day, and a novel is completed in six to seven weeks.

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

I will be continuing on with the Bonfire Chronicles. I am also currently producing audio editions of my books and having them translated into various languages (German, French, Spanish, and Japanese). And I may consider starting a new series or write a stand alone book.

What genre would you place your books into?

Paranormal horror/romance

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

It wasn’t planned at all. It’s just the way the initial story developed.

How long have you been writing?, and who or what inspired you to write?

I have been writing for five years now. My younger daughter, Lauren, inspired me to start writing by asking me write down the stories I was entertaining her with.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

No, I am a really busy mom. I write wherever I can—at hockey rinks, ballet lessons, at voice practice. I mostly write at night, though. It’s my favorite time.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

I do keep an eye on them when a book is first published so I get an idea of how it’s being received.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

I usually choose a tittle first.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

I am not a planner. I just start writing and the characters appear and their personalities reveal with time. That’s what I love most about the process. I am surprised chapter after chapter.

What is your favorite book and Why?  Have you read it more than once?

I love George Orwell’s 1984. And yes, I have read it several times.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

It depends on the screenplay and very much on the actors chosen to play  the roles. I have a lot of favorites among them is Memoirs of a Geisha. I’ve also watched some really bad ones. A recent one that comes to mind is Vampire Academy.

Your favorite food is?

I love Thai food. Throw peanut sauce on anything and I’ll eat it… as long as it’s vegetarian.

Your favorite singer/group is?

SHE SAID SAVE ME

Your favorite Author is?

Imogen Rose! :D

 

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

  abouttheauthor

 

clip_image004

Globetrotter Imogen Rose was born in Sweden, educated in London (where she received a PhD in immunology), and is now an all-American Jersey girl. She is the author of two bestselling YA series— the Portal Chronicles and the Bonfire Chronicles, both of which have been translated into German, French, Spanish, and Japanese.

In addition to writing, Imogen loves to travel, explore Madison Avenue (she is a self-confessed Herm├Ęs addict), watch movies, listen to music, and hang out with her family, friends, and Chihuahua. When she is not writing, she can usually be found sipping a chai latte at an ice rink while watching her daughter slam pucks.

Website: http://www.imogenrose.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ImogenRosePage

Twitter: ImogenRoseTweet

Instagram: ImogenRoseGram

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Imogen-Rose/e/B0035Z3ZPO/

Tumblr: http://therealimogenrose.tumblr.com/

Blog: http://imogenroseblog.blogspot.com/

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/imogenrosepin/

Linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=86126291