Tuesday, July 28, 2015

THE ISLAND BY @ClarissaJohal Cover Reveal #preorder http://amzn.com/B010TE7W1G

Screen Shot 2015-07-27 at 7.47.05 AM

C O V E R

R E V E A L

The Island by Clarissa Johal

“Exploring a remote island can sometimes get you into trouble.

Especially when you stumble upon a cave and awaken two demons.

Emma Keller’s estranged grandmother has been missing for seven years. Emma journeys to her grandmother’s private island with the task of readying it for sale. Local rumors say it’s cursed, but she dismisses them as superstition. While there, she unearths a hidden cave, and is visited by two men soon after. Itu is well-spoken, though he hides his face in shadow. The other is more of a worry; with skin of alabaster, Thim’s feral presence sets her on edge. Emma discovers the island has a dark past. The two men aren’t human, but awakened demons…and they have their sights set on her.” 

Amazon Pre-Order: http://amzn.com/B010TE7W1G

Barnes & Nobel Pre Order: http://tinyurl.com/npkgfq4

Book Blast: The Amber Voyeur by Ravyn Rayne @blushingravyn

The Amber Voyer - Banner
ABOUT THE BOOK
Title: The Amber Voyeur Series: Gem Apocalypse Book Two Author: Ravyn Rayne Publisher: Blushing Books Genre: Dystopian Erotica Expected Release: July 20th, 2015

The Amber Voyer - Cover

BOOK SYNOPSIS

No longer safe in Brayleigh, Aria and James travel by ship to find refuge and discover what’s left of the world.
Dangerous seas and pirates lurking are only the start of their troubles. Forced off the boat with nothing but the clothes on their back, the crew and passengers make it to a nearby island, only to be abducted by the Knight Tribe, a clan of romantic warriors with a voyeuristic culture and a taste for nightly entertainment.
Get swept away in this dystopian erotic adventure, brimming with romance, spankings, and betrayal.

BUY & TBR LINKS



EXCERPT

The hum of the engine died, and Aria heard the scream of unfamiliar words in a language she didn't recognize. Shots were fired in every direction forcing her to duck, throwing herself onto the floor of the ship.
James lay right beside her, covering Aria with his body, shielding her from danger. She didn't have the courage to ask what happened.
The warmth and security Aria felt from James vanished. A man covered in tattoos, his arms a canvas of ink, grabbed James by the arm and dragged him across the room. The second man accompanying him lifted Aria from the floor and escorted her up the stairwell. James walked just a few feet in front. The man dropped his hold on her as the passageway narrowed. A gun pressed into her back, a constant reminder of danger. Aria couldn't fight without risking her life. She hoped these men would steal what goods they came for and then leave.
Forced outside, the lifeboats were just a few feet away.
The sun began to set, and the sky twinkled like a sapphire without a cloud in the heavens.
Even at dusk, beads of sweat trickled against Aria's forehead. Her black shirt stuck to her back, the cargo pants she wore were too hot for this climate. She didn't dare ask where they were; she didn't believe anyone would answer.
They were forced against the wall. Would the lifeboats even float anymore? The old luxury cruise liner's paint faded from years of sun exposure. What would it have been like fifty years ago, before the devastation and destruction that their parents created, taking a luxury cruise? She would never know. The Gem Apocalypse had resulted in a war with only survivors, no heroes.
"Move!" the man behind Aria said. His gun dug further into her back, and she pushed forward on James's heels. "Down!"
They got down onto the ground with the other crew and passengers. Six men towered over them with guns. Aria was unfamiliar with the weapons, as they were larger than the ones the guards carried at the palace.
"We'll be okay," James said as he sat beside Aria, reaching for her hand.
Aria wanted to ask him how he could know that without a doubt. Hope shrank like a beacon of light fading in the distance. These men were thieves. She could smell the treachery and greed from where she sat. How did they end up here?


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Ravyn is a sassy, fun-loving, and adventure-seeking young woman. She loves to travel and can’t wait for her next vacation, wherever it might be. Ravyn writes romantic erotica. She began writing romance novels in college, spending her down time either reading a book or writing fiction. Please don’t make her choose between the two, she loves them equally. Although BURNING DESIRE is her debut romantic erotica novel, it is not her first published book. She has been published professionally since 2013. You can find her other books here.

Portrait of a beautiful female model in bleached light
GET A COPY OF BOOK #1 - THE EMERALD VIRGIN
TheEmeraldVirgin_500x755 (2)
The Emerald Virgin
Gem Apocalypse Book One
Author: Ravyn Rayne
Publisher: Blushing Books
Published: June 19, 2015
Emerald – a girl with green eyes and a rarity after the horrific genocide that slaughtered millions.
After the war, King Gideon rose in power. A lust-filled and greedy king that believed in the power of slavery.
At eighteen, women were required to come before King Gideon and his four sons, to offer themselves as a courtesan. The princes took only those they found most attractive and alluring. The rest were returned to their homes with a brand on their wrist proving they had been through the process and rejected. Ignoring the ritual was punishable by death.
Aria Stone had been kept hidden from the princes and the ceremony, because she was an Emerald. At twenty-three, the royal guards storm her home, murder her mother, and drag her to court. She must face the four princes.
A dystopian erotic adventure.

Blitz has been organized by 33c16-mini2bbutton

Monday, July 27, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Hurricane of the Heart by Jewel Amethyst

Hurricane of the Heart Banner 851 x 315

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002Hurricane of the Heart

Jewel Amethyst

Genre: Romance

Publisher: CaribbeanReads Publishing

Date of Publication: July 25, 2015

ISBN: 978-0-9964358-2-6

Number of pages: 292

Word Count: 85,900

Book Description:

The Player

When Kyle agrees to be the best man at his best friend’s destination wedding in Dominica, he has one thing on his mind: partying. But all that changes when a powerful hurri¬cane strikes the island and he finds himself trapped in a vil¬lage and falling hard and fast for the indigenous beauty queen, Alia Graneau.

The Planner

Alia Graneau has goals that do not include men, least of all an immature, irresponsible American party-animal like Kyle. But the hurricane devastates more than her beautiful island; it wreaks havoc on her heart when she falls under Kyle’s spell and is forced to choose between her ambition, her love for her country and her love for Kyle Robinson.

Can their love, born in a hurricane, survive the ravages of real life?

 

excerpt

Kyle and Alia gazed into each other’s eyes, smiling. Alia drew her eyes away and gazed up at the moon. The emotion she was experiencing was making her a little uncomfortable. Yes, it was gratitude, but there was something else underlying it. It was attraction, desire, and a kind of closeness she did not want to feel at this time.

Kyle’s voice was soothing when he spoke. “I looked at your well-groomed nails and hair and thought you were one of those ultra-feminine women who concentrated more on their appearance than on anything of substance. I was totally wrong.”

Alia smiled and looked down at the moist ground.

He continued. “You are strong, determined and have a heart of gold. I never expected you to do all the things you did today. The way you got down and dirty and helped with the cleanup, the way you climbed through that tiny chimney. And then you put your own life in danger to save Teshawn’s life. I’ve gained a whole new perspective and a lot of respect for you.”

Alia kept her head down. She twirled a pebble between her fingers, her discomfort escalating. Her mind raced as she tried to make sense of all the emotions churning within her.

Kyle placed his finger under Alia’s chin and lifted her face. He gazed into her dark brown tapered eyes and was captivated by her beauty. Her long hair flowed gently around her face. Her exotic eyes held a dreamy, sultry expression. Kyle stared at her, lost in her gaze, enthralled by her clear flawless skin, her high cheekbones, and those deliciously full sensuous lips. He whispered, “Alia, you are beautiful, on the outside and the inside.”

Alia felt her heart flutter, beating like a drum in her ears. She could hardly breathe as she gazed into his large light-brown eyes. She saw passion, desire, and felt herself slipping, falling into his romantic trap.

Kyle touched her hair tentatively. It was soft and silky. The attraction for Alia was so strong it took his breath away. Slowly he lowered his face toward hers, his eyes never leaving hers. He saw in them longing, desire, and a vulnerability that was totally uncharacteristic of the super-composed Alia. His heart raced as his lips inched closer and closer.

Alia closed her eyes. Her mind was in turmoil. A day ago she had hated Kyle Robinson. Now here they were, on the verge of doing something she had never done before. She was confused, feeling things she should not be feeling. Not for Kyle, not for anyone at that point in her life. She felt helpless. Her mind

1

Hurricane of the Heart by Jewel Amethyst

was telling her not to do this, but her body was ignoring it. His hand in her hair, the other on her chin lifting it for his kiss felt so right.

Suddenly a moment of clarity ensued. This man would do anything and say anything to have a good time. What happens after the kiss? Sex? And then he would be gone from her life just as quickly as he had come.

Alia jumped up from the rock, leaving Kyle seated, a strange expression on his face. “This can’t happen,” she said before dashing off to the house.

“Alia, wait!” Kyle called to her departing back as he stood up from the rock. He had no idea whether to chase after her or let her be. No woman had ever run away from him like that before. Kyle looked at Alia as she crossed the fence and headed for the house. “Man!” he exclaimed, kicking the rock he had been sitting on. He had come so close.

So close to what? A kiss? A one night stand? An ephemeral tryst? Kyle looked longingly at her disappearing back and realized one night with Alia would never be enough. She was the type of woman who would keep him wanting more.

  character

Character Name: Alia Graneau

Character Bio: Born in the beautiful Caribbean island of Dominica, Alia Graneau is one of the few remaining indigenous people, the Kalinago, best known as Caribs for whom the Caribbean is named. Having grown up in the impoverished Kalinago Territories, Alia seeks to find a better life through education and hopes someday to be a world renowned journalist. She is determined to let nothing and no one stand in the way of achieving her dream; not even the category-five Hurricane Harriet that devastates her island, demolishes her home and destroys her place of work. That is until she meets American party animal, Kyle Robinson…

clip_image002[1]

Jeanine: I’m here with Alia Graneau, sitting outside of her great aunt’s home in Silver Lake in the Caribbean Island of Dominica. The home currently has tarp covering parts where the roof was destroyed in Hurricane Harriet. Many of the homes around this small hamlet have been destroyed and a few are just being rebuilt as part of the recovery efforts.

Alia, describe yourself. What is your worst and best quality?

Alia: That’s a tough question. Hmmm, let me see. My worst quality… I don’t trust people that much. Not sure why. Maybe it has to do with my father’s untimely disappearance when I was still a child, or maybe seeing my sisters’ dreams derailed by men they love, I don’t know. Or maybe it’s because I always have to work harder than most to achieve what I want. As for my best quality, it’s tough choosing one (smiling). I guess one of my best qualities is that I get things done that I set out to do. I’m pretty focused and organized and if I set my mind to do something, I will do it against all odds.

Jeanine: What is the one thing you wish other people knew about you?

Alia: Beyond my external beauty and my stoic exterior is a very caring loving person. Even though I’ve been in multiple beauty pageants and even won a few, I simply hate it when people refer to me as a model, a beauty queen or address me as Miss Dominica or Miss DA or anything related to pageants or modeling. It seems so superficial and doesn’t embody my personality.

Jeanine: What is your biggest secret something no one knows about?

Alia: (chuckling) If I tell you, it won’t be a secret any more, would it?

Jeanine: What are you most afraid of?

Alia: Uncertainty. Kyle has been asking me to come back to the United States with him. I wish the decision was that easy. Even though my country is in chaos, even though I no longer have a home or a job and I really want to be with Kyle, I don’t know what life will be like in the States. What if his family doesn’t like me? What if I can’t find a job or be independent? What if I’m just a passing fancy? Even worse, I’m really afraid that Kyle will go back to his womanizing ways and I will be stranded in a strange country alone with a broken heart. Moreover, Tanti, my aunt who helped raised me is old and frail and living alone in a partially destroyed house. What would become of her if I leave? The what-ifs are killing me.

Jeanine: What do you want more than anything?

Alia: (Shaking her head and smiling). If you asked me this a month ago, I would immediately answer: to be a world class journalist. Now, that Kyle’s in the picture, I really want to be with Kyle, but I still want to be a journalist. Gosh I hope I don’t have to choose between the two.

Jeanine: What is your relationship status?

Alia: (Chuckles)

Jeanine: That’s not a hard question, why the laughter?

Alia: (Smiles and shakes her head while blushing). What’s my relationship status? (clucks tongue and looks up to the sky). Do I have to answer that question? I’m definitely in love. But if Kyle goes back to the U.S. and I stay here… you see my dilemma? I guess committed… for now.

Jeanine: How would you describe your sense of fashion?

Alia: Before or after the hurricane?

Jeanine: Both

Alia: I have always had a rather contemporary chic sense of fashion. Though I enjoy dressing elegantly, I much prefer shorts and t-shirts. But as you can see from how I’m dressed currently, with the hurricane destroying just about everything, my attire now comes from a barrel of second-hand clothes. But I rock the ’80s and ’90s style really well, don’t you think?

Jeanine: Yes you do. That ‘80s style lap skirt looks very chic on you. How much of a rebel are you?

Alia: To be honest, I’m not much of a rebel unless I see unfairness or oppression. Then the rebel comes out.

Jeanine: What do you considered to be your greatest achievement?

Alia: One of the things I’m very proud of is achieving my Associates degree at the State College. It’s probably not a big deal for people living in the capital of this island, but for me, it meant leaving my family back in the Kalinago territories and moving into the capital city of Roseau. And I still have a long way to go to achieve my goals. But all that pales in comparison to what I’ve achieved here in the last few weeks. My single greatest achievement has been working with Kyle to rebuild our community that was destroyed by Hurricane Harriet just a few weeks ago. We still have a long way to go, but we’ll get there.

Jeanine: What is your idea of happiness?

Alia: (smiles) Finding love. When you’ve found love, you’ve found home.

Jeanine: What is your current state of mind?

Alia: Right now I’m ambivalent. I really want to be with Kyle. I really would like to go with him wherever he goes. But I want to stay here with my people, with my country and rebuild it. They need me and I really don’t know what to do. I’m torn.

Jeanine: What is your most treasured possession?

Alia: This may sound trivial, but my most treasured possession is a photo of my father and me on his fishing boat when I was seven. A year later his boat disappeared with him.

Jeanine: What is your most marked characteristic?

Alia: Determination.

Jeanine: What is it that you, most dislike?

Alia: Hmmm. I dislike people who judge others by their outward appearance rather than getting to know them. And I dislike people who tell me I can’t accomplish something.

Jeanine: Which living person do you, most despise?

Alia: I’ve never been someone to harbor hatred or hold a grudge against another. We’re all God’s children and I like some people more than others, but I don’t know of a person, alive or dead who I despise.

Jeanine: What is your greatest regret?

Alia: I try not to live with regrets. I could say that I regret that Hurricane Harriet has derailed my plans for attending university, a first step to achieving my career goals, but if not for the hurricane, I would not have met Kyle and known such wonderful… you know what I mean.(smiling coyly).

Jeanine: What is the quality you most like in a man?

Alia: I like a man that respects a woman enough to allow her to be herself, to soar, to rise to the pinnacle of her career without impediment.

Jeanine: What is the quality you most like in a woman?

Alia: Humility and graciousness.

Jeanine: Who is your favorite hero in fiction?

Alia: I guess it would be Superman. Although he was the strongest man on earth, he took the persona of a humble reporter who no one would ever suspect of having super powers. He never let his power get to his head.

Jeanine: Which living person do you most admire?

Alia: My aunt, Tanti. She’s ninety-two years old and very independent and very wise. I know I can always count on her for comfort, for great advice and to listen to even my most trivial problems. Right now she is my anchor in this whole tumult. She saw something special in Kyle when I’ve doubted his intentions and his feelings, and goodness me, I hope she’s right. She sees beyond the superficial. I hope when I grow old I can be just like her.

Jeanine: If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

Alia: (finger under chin, deep in thought) I wouldn’t change a thing. It’s all part of me, the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Jeanine: What is your motto?

Alia: Don’t let anyone define who you are. Regardless of where you start, dream big, aim high, reach far, work hard and you can achieve your dream.

 

 

  giveaway

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

  abouttheauthor

clip_image004

Jewel Amethyst is the author of two mass market romance novels, Marriage of Convenience and From SKB with Love one of three stories in the Holiday Brides’ romance anthology. Hurricane of the Heart is her second full-length romance novel. Jewel was born and raised on the Caribbean island of St. Kitts and currently resides in Maryland with her family.

http://www.caribbeanreads.com/hurricane/

http://www.amazon.com/Jewel-Amethyst/e/B0042ICMPC

https://www.facebook.com/jewel.amethyst.9

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Dancing to an Irish Reel by @cfullerton3

Dancing to an Irish Reel July Banner 851 x 315_thumb[1]

bookblast

 

clip_image002_thumb[1]Dancing to an Irish Reel

Claire Fullerton

Genre: Literary Fiction

Publisher: Vinspire Publishing

Date of Publication: March 3, 2015

ISBN: 978-0-9903042-5-8

ASIN:

Number of pages: 220

Word Count: 63,000

Cover Artist: Elaina Lee for the Muse Designs

Book Description:

Twenty five year old Hailey Crossan takes a trip to Ireland during a sabbatical from her job in the LA record business. While there, she’s offered a job too good to turn down, so she stays.

Although Hailey works in Galway, she lives in the countryside of Connemara, a rural area famous for its Irish traditional music. When Hailey meets local musician, Liam Hennessey, a confusing relationship begins, which Hailey thinks is the result of differing cultures, for Liam is married to the music, and so unbalanced at the prospect of love, he won't come closer nor completely go away.

And so begins the dance of attraction that Hailey struggles to decipher. Thankfully, a handful of vibrant local friends come to her aid, and Hailey learns to love a land and its people, both with more charm than she ever imagined.

Available on Amazon for Kindle and Print

excerpt

There’s an energy that hangs between strangers even in a crowd. Call it interest, or attraction, or the knowledge of things to come. It is awareness, and I was aware to the exclusion of all activity around me that Liam Hennessey was watching me. He was sitting at the corner of the bar by himself, and because I could feel his gaze upon me like an electrical current, I froze. I did not move an inch because I sensed I didn’t have to, that something would come about with little prompting from me. I don’t know how I knew this, but I was right, it came about within the hour. It began as a series of introductions to people near Liam, and drew itself closer until Liam was introduced to me.

Right before Leigh left, claiming she had to get up early the next day to drive to Cork, Kieran pointed out that the Irish traditional musicians playing in the corner were the father and older brother of the lad sitting at the end of the bar.

“That’s Liam Hennessey at the bar there,” Kieran gestured to my right. “He’s the best box player in Connemara – even in the whole of Ireland, many say. His family is long in Connemara; they’re all players, so. That’s Sean Liam, his da, and his brother Anthony there on the guitar.” Kieran seemed proud to know the facts. He next took my arm and led me straight to Liam.

“I’ve the pleasure of knowing this American here, her name is Hailey,” Kieran announced to Liam.

I had an uneasy feeling. It’s one thing to suspect you’ll cross paths with someone again, and quite another to be fully prepared when it actually happens. For some unknown reason, I kept thinking it was strange to see Liam this far out in the country from Galway, but then again, what did I know? I didn’t know anything about him.

Liam looked at me with large dark eyes and smiled brightly. He was different than I had imagined: he was friendlier, more candid. I assumed because he looked so dark and mysterious, there would be a personality to match. I assumed he would be reserved, aloof, perhaps arrogant in an artistic sort of way. I was paying close attention, and there was none of that about Liam. In seconds, I realized he was a nice guy. I moved a step to my right as an older man approached the bar.

“Would ye give us a hand there,” the man said to Liam, and for the next few minutes, Liam handed pints over his head to a group of men too far from the bar’s edge to grab the glasses themselves. Just then, Kieran said something that set off a chain of events and put the rest of the night in motion.

“Liam, will you watch Hailey for me, I’m off to join the sessiun.” With that, Kieran produced a harmonica from his shirt pocket and walked off to join the musicians in the corner.

I stood at the bar and waited for the next thing to happen. The world seemed to operate in slow motion. All the noise in the room subsided, and the only thing I knew was I was looking directly at Liam Hennessey. I searched his face for imperfections. I had never before seen such beauty in the face of a man. I hoped my thoughts didn’t show on my face. He was so good looking, I wondered why other people in the room weren’t staring at him, then I realized most of Hughes’ patrons knew him and were probably used to the way he looked. I was reticent, unsure of how to speak to Liam, unfamiliar with how provincial he may or may not have been. Words tend to get in the way in moments like this, but they lay in wait just the same.

“You’re an American, yah?” he asked in that way the Irish have of answering their own question. “I’ve been to America,” he said.

“Where in America?” I encouraged.

“Boston, New York, Chicago. My cousins live in Chicago. I even went all the way to Niagara Falls.”

“Believe it or not, I’ve never been to Niagara Falls. What’s it like?”

“Not much, mind you, it’s a nice enough place, but ten minutes after I saw the falls, I was asking where I could get a nice cup of tea.”

“I imagine it would take a lot to be impressed after living here,” I said.

“I’d never want to live anywhere else. Everything you could ever want is here in Connemara.”

And it is, I thought. Connemara has a sense of peace I’ve never felt before.

“Are you long in Ireland?” he asked.

“I live here,” I said. “I live in Inverin.”

“Ah, so you’re just up the road. Me too.”

At 27-years-old, Liam lived with his parents in the house in which he grew up.He was a world-class Irish traditional musician that traveled often to places like Germany, Austria and New Zealand. He was in demand as a player in touring bands because he was a master at playing the button accordion. As such, he was more than a musician: he was the bearer of a torch that represented the history of an old culture. He brought the language of Irish music to regions that otherwise would have never been enlightened.

Being an Irish traditional musician is a feat not easily arrived at. Rather, it is a feat painstakingly achieved. Most of the tunes in a traditional player’s repertoire have been memorized through listening and repeated execution, as opposed to memorization by reading musical scores. Traditional music has been passed down through generational lines, and with Liam’s family, there had been no interruption. His father was a player, and the world in which Liam grew up was one of constant exposure to traditional music as if it were a language. I came to realize much later that Liam’s first language was music, his second language was Irish, and his third was English.

“So, you must be another American looking for their roots, then,” Liam stated.

If that was a question, then it’s a fair one, I thought.

“Actually, I’m working at the Galway Music Center,” I said, then I followed with my poetry aspirations, hoping to impress upon him I was not just passing through.

authorinterview

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

A; I think I started my writing career by keeping a journal from the age of eighteen, I just wasn’t aware that’s what I was doing at the time. Every job I’ve ever had involved the art of communication in some way: my years on the radio in Memphis as a music DJ led to a move to Los Angeles where I worked in the music business representing bands, then as a Pilates and Ballet teacher. All throughout, I wrote poetry, and short stories. As I started to submit to publications, one thing led to another until I finally wrote my first novel just to try my hand! Once I had a little bit of success, I knew writing was what I wanted to do from there.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

A: Once I’d had about 4 pieces published in magazines. I had to go beyond thinking I’d gotten lucky! It was a build from there.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

A: Six months from the time I completed the manuscript.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

A: No, I am a full time writer, and it is a full time job! But it didn’t happen overnight!

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

A: “Dancing to an Irish Reel”. 25 year old Hailey Crossan moves from LA to Ireland and learns about love from a local musician.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

A; Vinspire Publishing, LLC

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

A: a year to create the first draft, then another six months of re-writes.

What can we expect from you in the future? ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

A; I am writing my third novel, which is a family saga set in the Deep South. I am 67,000 words into it now and still haven’t finished the story! This one may take a long time!

What genre would you place your books into?

A: Literary Fiction

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

A: I like to tell stories that defy a particular genre. My books are always a commentary on the things that happen to us as we simply live our lives. I think this is where the magic lives!

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

A: I like Hailey Crossan in “Dancing to an Irish Reel” She is curious, funny, intelligent, and, as an American in rural Ireland, she is confident and adventurous. In short, Hailey is cool!

How long have you been writing?, and who or what inspired you to write?

A: I’ve been writing most my life, but seriously and full-time for the past four years. Nobody in particular inspired me; I just followed the voice within. I think writers have a longing to be heard and a longing to explain how they see things.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

A: I go to my desk first thing each morning no matter what. Since I write for magazines and other publications, and since I always have a novel taking shape, it is an incessant, full time job.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

A: Of course! I always hope for the best!

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

A: I use a working title as I write the book. If I need to re-title it later, I do!

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

A: my places names have been real, and as for the characters, I choose names that tell a bit of how they are.

Are character names and place names decided after their creation? Or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?

A: I have the essence of the character in mind, then I name the character. As for places, I am inspired by place and have always started with the place in mind as I write the story.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

A: It is a combination of the two.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

A: Yes. In “Dancing to an Irish Reel,” for example, the story points to the unpredictable road to love- how it is never a smooth, linear experience, how there is often times confusion and doubt along with the excitement and hope we have over coming to know someone we’re attracted to. The moral involves the notion that we learn about ourselves as we’re put through life’s paces. Sometimes we learn about the fears that hold us back, and other times we gain knowledge and wisdom through experience. Again, always we learn about ourselves, which is what helps us to grow and shapes our lives.

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

A: Paperback

What is your favorite book and Why? Have you read it more than once?

A:”The Prince of Tides” by Pat Conroy. I’ve read it three times.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

A: The most disappointing book to movie was “Gone Girl.” Too much was left out, and, as the book was all interior monologue, to commit the premise to visual action was almost pointless.

As for favorite book to movie, “Withering Heights”—especially the version with Ralph Feinnes.

Your favorite singer/group is?

A: I will always love Dave Matthews!

Your favorite color is?

A: Green

Your favorite Author is?

A: Pat Conroy

 

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

  abouttheauthor

clip_image004_thumb

Claire Fullerton is the author of Paranormal Mystery, A Portal in Time. She is an award winning essayist, a contributor to numerous magazines (including “Southern Writers Magazine) a former newspaper columnist and a four time contributor to the “Chicken Soup for the Soul” book series.

She hails from Memphis, TN. and now lives in Malibu, CA where she is working on her third novel.

www.clairefullerton.com

https://www.facebook.com/clairefullertonauthor

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7388895.Claire_Fullerton

@cfullerton3

Book Blast: Blind Love by Kishan Paul @kishan_paul

Blind Love - Banner
Title: Blind Love Author: Kishan Paul Release Date: June 2, 2015 Genre: Contemporary Romance Publisher: Samhain Publishing
She doesn’t need a hero. But a sexy Marine…that’ll work.
At twenty nine, psychologist Lauren Baxter has a successful counseling practice. Since becoming legally blind at fifteen, her world has been a blurry mess of colors. Her greatest fear is also her ultimate reality. One day that fuzzy realm will forever turn black. Refusing to let blindness define her, she builds a life for herself with her dog, Jack Sparrow, and best friend, Sunny Daye.
Lauren has no tolerance for pity or for Superman swooshing down and rescuing her. She is capable of saving herself just fine. That is until Gabe, the great smelling, former Marine, from Texas moves in next door. Her attraction to him is immediate and, unfortunately for her, mutual.
When Lauren’s ex-husband shows up begging for another chance, she is confused and fragile. She also finds herself in the arms of her secretive neighbor. Little does she realize that her decision for a steamy roll in the hay with Gabe will suck her into his mysterious past, thrust her ex-husband back into her life, put her in the middle of a murder investigation, and place her life in danger.
Gabriel Briggs has the weight of the world on his shoulders. Short term flings are all he can afford for more reasons than one – reasons he never plans to share. Until he moves in next door to the beautiful, green eyed, feisty, Lauren. One night with her and he’s reconsidering promises he made almost a decade ago. When a woman from his past is murdered, his world is turned upside down. Secrets are revealed and innocent lives are threatened. Can Gabe win Lauren’s love and save her life before it’s too late?
Product Warnings: Contains a blind therapist who doesn’t consider herself impaired; a meddling, erotic-novel-writing best friend; a hot ex-Marine with a shady past; and a loyal guide dog that howls “I love you” and is probably the sanest one of the bunch.
Add the book on Goodreads

Blind Love - Cover

EXCERPT

Gabe stayed on his knees with the kid wrapped around his neck. The two men stared each other down.
“Hey, there. My name’s Lauren. I’m your neighbor. What’s your name?”
“Evan.” His voice came out muffled from having his nose pressed into Gabe’s shoulder.
“Hi, Evan. This big dog beside me is Jack Sparrow. We call him Jack.”
The dog wagged his tail and licked Lauren’s face. “Jack, say ‘I love you’.”
Both of Gabe’s hands were where visible, but Ben stayed on alert.
When the dog yodeled his response, Evan turned his head. The kid’s eyes doubled in size.
Lauren smiled. “Dogs can’t talk, right? And they can’t. But sometimes they can make noises that sound like they’re talking. And Jack’s a special dog. He’s trained to smell when people need help. Like me. I need his help a lot because I’m blind.”
“You are?” Now Evan had turned completely around and peered into her face.
“Yup, I am. Jack’s my guide dog. He helps me get places and do things.”
“Wow.”
Both Evan and Gabe gazed at Lauren with looks of awe on their faces.
She smiled and kissed the dog’s neck. “He is wow. But what makes him even more wower is he can tell you’re a little scared and he wants to help you.”
“He does?”
“Yup. What he wants to do is to give you a kiss and let you hug him so you’ll feel better. I do it all the time with him when I’m scared. If you’re okay with trying, why don’t you give him your hand and see if it helps?”
“Gabe?” Evan said, still glued to his dad.
“It’s okay, Sprout, he won’t hurt you,” Gabe whispered.
The kid reached out his palm. Jack put his paw on it and panted.
“He wants me to shake his hand,” Evan announced, giving the furry foot a shake.
When Jack licked his cheek, instead of screaming, he laughed.
Acid burned in the pit of Ben’s stomach, from the way the man was eyeing Lauren.
“Thank you. For everything,” he said to her.
Lauren’s smile faded. “I didn’t do it for you.”
“I know.”
Ben cleared his throat but said nothing. She nodded. “Well, I better get back inside. Jack, you coming?”
The dog whined back his answer.
“He seems to want to hang out with your son.”
Gabe had yet to blink much less look away. “It’s mutual. Would you mind if they played together for a little while?”
Lauren bit her lip and Ben prayed she’d say no. “You wouldn’t hurt him would you?”
“Do you think I would?”
She shrugged. “You’re obviously capable of a lot more than I realized but no, I don’t think you will.” She got up from her spot. “He’ll come home when he’s ready to, or send him over when you guys are done, whichever happens first.”

Blind Love - Teaser 3

PURCHASE LINKS

Reviews for Blind Love

5 Star
“I absolutely fell in love with this story and quite honestly didn't want to put it down or for it to end.” -Bobbi of Bobbi’s Blog
5 Star
“Lauren is both strong and vulnerable, and much the same could be said for Gabe. You have two people battling their own personal demons, lots of emotional baggage and an undeniable (and strong) mutual attraction that keeps pulling them together…Humorous banter, believable chemistry and a strong cast of supporting characters are just some of the things that make this book difficult to put down.” -Nessie Strange author of Living Dead World series
5 Star
“I love, love, loved this story. I am a huge fan of contemporary romance, and this was perfect. One minute I was crying, the next laughing…The story is very well written, the characters are well developed,…a must read for any romance lover. There is a little suspense, and you'll want to keep some tissues near-by…Fans of Susan Mallery, Robyn Carr, Jennifer Bernard, and Jill Shalvis will love this novel.” -Nicole of Books and Pearls.com

Blind Love - Author Photo

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

From daring escapes by tough women to chivalrous men swooping in to save the day, the creativity switch to Kishan Paul’s brain is always in the “on” position. If daydreaming stories were a college course, Kish would have graduated with honors.
Mother of two beautiful children, she has been married to her best friend for over seventeen years. With the help of supportive family and friends, she balances her family, a thriving counseling practice, and writing without sinking into insanity.
Her novella, Taking the Plunge, is currently available in the Love Least Expected Anthology on Amazon.
I was voted Best New Author at the Smexy and Fabulous Beach Reads and Blind Love got second place in the same competition for Best Contemporary Romance. Blind Love is also voted the Best Book of June, 2015 on Goodreads and is one of the Top Ten Books of Playwire's Reviews for June.

She can be found at


Blitz has been organized by

33c16-mini2bbutton

Friday, July 24, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Desecrated Beauty by @kcastronaro

Descrated Beauty Banner 851 x 315

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002Desecrated Beauty

Twisted Fairy Tales

Book One

Kyleigh Castronaro

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Date of Publication: July 6th

Number of pages: approx. 180

Word Count: 58,883

Cover Artist: Kyleigh Castronaro

Book Description:

Once upon a time, that’s how most of these stories start. But this isn’t one of those stories… Sure, it has the heroine and the hero but they’re not as you would expect them. Both of them have a bloodlust, one different from the other.

Quill was born and raised as a cold killer who takes enjoyment from the kill. Nero is the son of a Viking and a 1500-year-old vampire whose never been denied his pleasures before.

Until he meets Quill. He forces her to exchange her life for Rose’s, his indentured servant and Quill’s little sister. Drawn by her fearlessness and strength he has to have her but such a woman cannot be possessed. Both must learn to give up their carefully afforded control to let the other in. Only then may they have their happily forever after.

Sink your teeth into this dystopic re-telling of Beauty and the Beast and satiate your booklust.

http://mybook.to/desecratedbeauty

excerpt

“I thought I might choke and die on your blood, but because I’ve already ingested some I would come back to life… like you.” She looked up at, her eyes wide with the panic that had gripped her before looking down at her feet again and taking a deep breath. She hated feeling vulnerable in front of him like this. But most importantly she hated not having all the answers like he seemingly did.

“The process is a little more complicated than that, but you would be temporarily held in a state between beings until I decided to claim you.”

“And would you have?” She looked up, her voice quiet as she spoke. There was an underlying fear in her question. A part of her was repulsed by the idea and yet the rest of her longed to know he would have her. She needed to know he would keep her even if she weren't the feisty human woman he claimed he was so intrigued by. When had she decided that his opinion of her was that important? When had she decided at all to allow a man to determine her fate?

Nero looked back at her unflinchingly as he moved closer to her, reaching out and tracing her lips gently before bringing his hand up along her jaw toward her ear. His fingers toyed with the hair tucked behind her ear before he shook his head at her.

“I would have to, I’m afraid to admit.”

She stared back at him in surprise, unsure of what she was supposed to say. She was far too distracted by his lingering fingers and how they gently caressed her skin, moving along it and forcing it to blossom into gooseflesh.

Bringing herself back to the moment she swallowed hard, forcing some kind of sound from her lungs, “why?”

“Because you have enraptured me in the most illogical way. Never before has a human woman been able to hold my attention for so long. Something about you calls to me like a familiar lullaby I once knew.” He paused, seeming to gather his thoughts. “My life will last forever but trifling with a mortal can feel like an eternity in hell. Humans by nature are far too slow, uncultured, undomesticated and someone my age doesn’t have the time to break something like that. But then I met you… You, curious you, who fights back, who questions me, who doesn’t want me in the way all women who have ever looked at me have. I don’t understand it, but I want to and worst of all I want you in a way I have never wanted anyone. I don’t need others, but I need you. I feel myself longing for it and whether it would be against your will or not I would change you because I cannot live without you.”

“One day you will have to.” She whispered quietly, staring at him with a bewilderment he had grown so accustomed to.

“Not today.” He whispered back, his voice much lower than hers as he leaned in and caught her lips with his. It was a bruising kiss that she felt all the way down into her toes. It ached in a way that touched her heart and soul. She felt it flow through all her veins and consume her like a fire.

authorinterview

Did you always wanted to be a writer?

Yes, I did. I’ve always been telling stories from a young age, be it standing on the fireplace mantle and forcing my family to watch and listen or spending summers with my best friend coming up with fantastical stories that she drew the pictures for.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

I think I’ve always considered myself a writer. There hasn’t been a time when I wasn’t writing down the stories in my head. But the first time I considered myself an author was actually about six or seven months after my first book was published when a blog posted a review of my book and I hadn’t even asked them for it. That made it all feel real.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

My first book was finished for quite a while and just sitting there. It took me about a year to finally work up the courage to say to myself “this is it, it’s done, it’s as good as it’s going to get.”

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

I’m a tarot reader/psychic outside of writing. I’m also currently in school for holisitic therapies such as crystal healing, aromatherapy, hot stone massage, life coaching etc. But mostly my main career is my job and I’m lucky to have a husband who is willing to support me while I try and get myself off the ground.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

Desecrated Beauty is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast with vampires. Beauty isn’t as helpless as she is in Disney.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

I self-publish.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

It depends really. I’ve written a book in as long as three months (that was the longest) and less than a month. It depends on if the characters are co-operating and if I’m enjoying the topic. I’m luckily a pretty fast typer so if the idea is flowing I can write a whole book in a short period of time.

What can we expect from you in the future?

Gosh, lots to expect. I have another Twisted Fairy Tale almost finished that will hopefully be out before Christmas. I’m trying my hand at a contemporary romance serial. I have the third book in my Grace of Gods series that will hopefully be available at the end of August or early September. I have another contemporary romance that’s knocking around in my head, which I’m hoping to start in a few weeks. I also have another Twisted Fairy Tale that wants telling as well.

What genre would you place your books into?

Definitely Romance. There’s always a Romance of some kind in my books. Currently all my available books are paranormal fantasies with supernatural creatures (vampires and Greek Gods).

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

I’m a hopeless romantic myself so there always is a hero and a heroine in my stories naturally. I also tend to write what I would like to read and I feel like there’s a lot of vampire books out there but none that are what I wanted. So I wrote Desecrated Beauty and it’s exactly what I’ve been looking for.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

I do. Even the bad ones. Although so far I have been lucky and the worst I’ve gotten is “This book is good but could use stronger editing.” Which I agree with however I don’t have the funds right now so you get what you get. I’m willing to overlook these things in books I read if the story is there so I just hope sometimes my readers do that too. That being said, I take a lot of care to try and not have too many errors. I got one review that was 2 stars and I felt so sick with worry when I clicked on it but surprisingly it said something like “really enjoyed this book, could see it on B&N shelves” and it left me scratching my head as to why she gave it 2 stars. That taught me not to take the ratings too much to heart so reading the reviews is a bit easier now.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

Always write the book first. Sometimes titling can be really difficult. With Desecrated Beauty I actually took to Facebook and had people offer suggestions for the title and held a vote from the options I was given. That’s how I came up with the book’s name.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

This is going to sound really daft but the characters tell me. Nero went through three name changes before he finally admitted to his real name. Quill gave me her nickname but I knew her real name was going to be Isabelle because of “Beauty” obviously. Same with Rose, she represented the rose of the real story so her name had to match. But mostly they give me their names and until they do my manuscripts will read: “—walked into the room and turned to – with a grim smile, ‘—said we have to leave today.’” It can get confusing if the characters aren’t forthright.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

I don’t really decide on character traits. I’m sure that sounds funny but the characters come to me as whole individuals. They tell me about themselves and what their story is so I tell it. Half the time what they tell me is bull-crap because they end up changing their version of events while I’m writing. But that’s okay with me, makes the journey more interesting.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books?

Learning to trust not just other people and loved ones but trusting yourself. I think this is something that is underrated and a lot of people don’t realize that the first two forms of trust will only come from self-trust.

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

Right now eBook is my preferred form because I’m living in England and I’ll be moving back to Canada. But once I’m home again I look forward to rebuilding my paperback collection.

What is your favorite book and Why? Have you read it more than once?

I loathe these questions… I really don’t think I have one favourite book. I have a bunch of different books I love for different reasons. So instead I’ll answer your second question… The book I have read the most is The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton. It is most definitely in my top ten favourite books.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

I think it truly depends on the director and their commitment to the fandom and true story. I’ve seen some movie adaptations that are generous to the story in a good way and others who completely bastardize novels. My favorite movie transfer would have to be I Capture the Castle or Memoirs of a Geisha. The worst movie transfer would have to be The Hobbit or Vampire Academy.

Your favorite food is?

I love mac and cheese and pizza. And nachos… Basically anything covered in melted cheese!

Your favorite singer/group is?

My favourite group for writing inspiration would be Bastille or Marianas Trench. I also like Sam Smith, John Newman and Ella Eyre. (See! I have trouble picking favourites.)

Your favorite color is?

Purple. Pink. Yellow… Haha, you see where this is going?

Your favorite Author is?

Michelle Moran – I’d love to write historical fiction like her.

JK Rowling

Richelle Mead

 

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

abouttheauthor

 

clip_image004

Kyleigh Castronaro is the author of the debut series Grace of Gods. She is a self-published author who tackles many of her projects entirely on her own. She designed the cover of her first novel, self-edited and prepared all formats of the book for publication. Originally from Milton, Ontario, she currently lives in Nottingham, England with her husband and their adorable miniature dachshund Hera.

When not writing Kyleigh enjoys spiritual development, crafting, travelling, spending time in nature, going to the movies, cooking and baking (and then eating), working on self-improvement and spending time with friends and family.

http://kyleighcastronaro.com

http://twitter.com/kcastronaro

http://pinterest.com/kcastronaro

https://www.facebook.com/authorkyleighcastronaro

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8415377.Kyleigh_Castronaro

http://Author.to/KyleighCastronaro