Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Amaranthine: The Heart of Decompose by Nina R Schluntz

Amaranthine Banner 851 x 315_thumb[2]

bookblast

 

71X-i9VFsWL._SL1500__thumb[1]Amaranthine: The Heart of Decompose

Nina R Schluntz

Genre: Fiction, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Horror, Romance

Publisher: Rainstorm Press

Date of Publication: 19 December 2014

ISBN-10: 1937758532

ISBN-13: 978-1937758530

Number of pages: 230 pages

Word Count: 80,580

Cover Artist: Nina Schluntz

Book Description:

Dragons, unicorns, fairies, zombies… and Santa.

At the center of it all stands Dee, a man immortalized in legend as Decompose. An ongoing war between unicorns and dragons has led to the creation of a plague… a deadly infection Dee is the host for. Not quite human, but not a unicorn either, Dee and the plague form a symbiotic relationship, resulting in immortality of the undead kind.

Every ruling Empire has desired control of Decompose. Controlling the infection means control of the people. An intervention of an old rival, Santa, results in Dee going missing. When he resurfaces decades later, Dee has one goal: locate the mythical cure to his plague.

However, complications of the heart force Dee to decide whether he truly wants to find the cure and give up being Decompose.

Book Trailer: https://youtu.be/93Yoo-LcPZo

Available at Amazon

excerpt

Jhon.

Dee focused on the name, pulling strength from it. Jhon contained the cure. Dee had to live so he could find Jhon. The cure was his way to correct all the wrongs he had done.

Dee ripped at the flesh surrounding him and clawed his way to the surface. The guts of the creature spilled out onto the ground, and he fell with them. He coughed, spitting out bodily fluids of the creature that had eaten him.

Jhon.

Dee rolled onto his side and threw up. The acidic stomach bile had left him temporarily disabled. His hearing returned before his vision and he heard voices near him.

“That?” A boyish voice asked. “That’s what you call a great and powerful present?”

“Trust me.” Another male voice said. “Throw the net on him and all your wishes will come true.”

“What is he, a genie?”

“You can treat him like one. He will be able to grant your every wish.” The older voice sounded familiar. Air rushed into Dee’s lungs, and his heart gave a painful beat. “Throw it over him now, before his strength returns.”

“Santa,” Dee managed to say. He gritted his newly mended teeth and gave a low growl. What did that man want now?

Dee’s vision returned in time for him to see a large, light- weight fishnet fall over his head and shoulders, covering his entire body. There was something claustrophobic about it. The more he struggled, the more of a mess he made of himself and the net.

“Stop moving around like that,” the boy said. Every muscle in Dee’s body stiffened. “Straighten the net out and get to your feet.” Dee moved as quickly as his wounded body would allow. His skin continued to burn from the acidic digestive juices still covering his flesh. The child before him didn’t look nearly as young as he’d expected. He was a teenager. And a dorky looking one at that, dressed in dark green pajamas with a cowlick on the back of his head.

“Santa, what is this?” Dee asked.

“Show me a trick,” the boy said. Dee obediently raised his hand and created a tennis ball sized orb of fire. It hovered in mid- air a few inches from his hand.

“He can do whatever you want,” Santa told the boy. “He is yours. No one will miss him. They all think he is dead.”

Dee put the fire out and lowered his hand. Fear rose through his healing body as he realized Santa was right. Dee had just crawled his way out of a dragon’s belly. Everyone who knew him thought a giant winged lizard had digested him. Even if someone searched for his remains, they would likely find nothing awry with his missing body.

“What is this?” he asked again.

“You’re my Christmas present,” the boy said.

Santa leaned in close to Dee. “The boy is clever, Dee. He caught me in a trap. You wouldn’t want all the children in the universe to miss the joy that Santa brings, would you? Of course, you wouldn’t. Therefore, I bartered with him. I gave him you in exchange for my freedom. You understand, don’t you?”

“You gave me to him as a present? I’m not an object to be owned.”

“Well, let’s be honest here, Dee. Most of your life has been spent in exactly that manner. At least this time your owner only wants you for your power, not your plague. Consider it a blessing—besides you’ll still have my visit to look forward to every Christmas Eve.”

My plague. Dee tried not to cringe at the reminder.

“Can you teleport him directly to the shower? He’s disgusting. My mother will throw a fit if he brings all that goop into the house.”

“Then you’ll take him?” Santa asked, as though Dee were a puppy for sale at the pet store.

“Yeah, he’ll do. Thank you, Santa.”

“I should have thought of this years ago,” Santa said.

“Santa, please,” Dee said. “I have to find Jhon before Emperor Emanuel does. He’s the only one who can cure the plague.”

“I’m sure Jhon will be fine without you, Dee.”

authorinterview

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I’m sure you get this answer all the time. But yes, I am one of those people who was scribbling stories before they even knew how to write. Was very frustrating since I couldn’t read my stories after the fact.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

Writer is a label I don’t remember giving myself at any distinct time. I supposed it applied to me when I was back in kindergarten.

How long did it take to get your current book published? (I revised this slightly)

I spent about a year writing and editing it. Then another year sending query letters to both agents and small publishers. I was picked up by Rainstorm Press in Jan 2014 and the book didn’t come out until nearly a year later. It’s a long process but well worth it.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

“Amaranthine: The Heart of Decompose.” Countless worlds, including Earth, have been destroyed by a deadly plague, leaving behind an infestation of zombies on the few inhabitable planets that remain.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

“Amaranthine” is published by an independent publishing company, Rainstorm Press. I also published a novella on Createspace, creating an abridged edition of my earlier novels that are out of print. I also have experience with self-publishers like Llumina Press and Author House.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

That all depends on how much free time I have. I once wrote an entire novel in two weeks. But I’ll spend six months editing, and there’s a good chance it won’t survive the editing process and I’ll scrap it and start over.

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

For now, I'm having fun with the universe I've created and I plan to continue writing about it. I'm sure eventually I'll move onto something new. I have two novels in the works, one might be out by the end of this year. Aurum: The Screams of Decompose...which has more dragons in it than my previous novels. I bet you can guess what color they are.

What genre would you place your books into?

My books span into several genres: sci-fi, fantasy, horror, and romance. It's hard to pin an exact genre down. No matter what, the books always have a dark feel to them. Multiple categories apply only because I include things like dragons, magic, aliens, zombies, and yes, I know as I list all that, that the stories sound crazy. But they work... I swear.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

It just worked out that way. When growing up I felt there weren’t many good books out there with unicorns and dragons, so I wanted to create one. Then I decided to say the dragons and unicorns in my novels are aliens. They came to Earth to make a colony. The story just went from there. Pretty soon they had a backstory of being at war and more aliens were showing up on Earth to confiscate the "weapon" of Decompose, which they created during their various attempts at genocide.

 

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

(Laughs) I guess you could say my favorites are the ones who get to live for more than one book.

 

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Sure. I’m always looking for feedback. For instance, people tell me they wish there were more dragons and less violence. A few commented they really liked my version of Santa. I take all those into consideration and you can bet there will be more Santa and dragons in upcoming novels. Now the violence, well, I’m still working on that.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

I go back and forth. I might have an idea, then change it later. I think I came up with Amaranthine after the fact. I used to use the word Twilight in my titles, but after a certain other set of novels with that title became popular I had to figure out something else. Let the record be known, my first novel came out a year before hers. (smirks)

 

Are character names and place names decided after their creation? Or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?

This can go either way. I know one time I posted on facebook for planet name suggestions. I already had the worlds created, I just needed names. I like to think my friends enjoy being involved in little things like that. Names are usually an afterthought. Right now I have an entire novel idea in my head, but no name for the main character!

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

Well, I have to figure out what kind of role the character will have. Then I base their traits and history on that. So I’d say yes, I have idea of who they will be before they are ever written into a story.

 

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

I recently bought a kindle and now there is no going back. I love it for two reasons. One, it’s lighter and thinner than a regular book. And second, no one knows what I’m reading! I can read an erotica while in a waiting room and not be judged. It’s very freeing.

What is your favorite book and Why?  Have you read it more than once?

Jurassic Park and The lost World!! I loved the movies and although the books scared me when I was young, I outgrew the fear and have reread them a lot. More books should have dinosaurs in them.

 

Your favorite Author is?

I used to have one. But now I’m finding my taste is constantly changing. I’ll like a book an author writes, but then when I try to read another book they’ve written, I’ll hate it. My world has become a “one hit wonder” when it comes to favorite authors.

 

 

  giveaway

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

abouttheauthor

clip_image004_thumbNina Schluntz is a native to rural Nebraska. In her youth, she often wrote short stories to entertain her friends. Those ideas evolved into the novels she creates today.

Her husband continues to ensure her stories maintain a touch of realism as she delves in the science fiction and fantasy realm. And their kitty, a rescued Abyssinian, is always willing to stay up late to provide inspiration.

Visit her blog; mizner13.wordpress.com for information regarding previous and upcoming publications. She also posts book and movie reviews for a wide variety of genres.

https://www.facebook.com/nschluntz

https://www.facebook.com/amaranthine.mizner

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Destiny by @AuthorCAWilson

Destiny Banner 851 x 315_thumb[1]

 

bookblast

 

 

clip_image002_thumb[1]Destiny

Cornerstone Deep

Book 3

Charlene A. Wilson

Genre: Paranormal/light sci-fi/ Fantasy

Publisher: Spectrum Publishing

Date of Publication: May 11, 2015

ISBN 10: 0989984656

ISBN 13: 978-0-9899846-5-2

ASIN: B00W35XAY8

Number of pages: 200

Word Count: 52,886

Cover Artist: Charlene A. Wilson

Book Description:

Angels, Gods, High Ones… Could anything else find its way into the prophecy caused by their father, Sylis Shilo, the renowned realm traveler? Vincent understands there were things in his father’s work he wasn’t privy to simply because his soul was too young, but how could this be kept a secret from even his brothers? The more he learns, the more he’s glad he hadn’t known.

The sentinels of Cornerstone Deep are in for their most difficult challenge yet. The portal to the Spectrum of the Realms must be sealed, and punishments must be carried out. Will the Gods take all that is dear to Vincent, James, and Cole Shilo?

“Flesh cannot take away that which our souls have united.”

Available at Amazon

excerpt

Stars blinked, and Vincent scowled at the firmament. They mocked him—tiny gems as out of his reach as the treasure he sought. With a snarl, he scanned the area around the empty town square, whirled to face Simpson drive, and then jabbed his hand toward the deserted street of the city’s east side.

“Orvertre!”

The summoning command echoed through the night and then ebbed into the quiet atmosphere with no result.

A frog croaked from Center Creek somewhere within the park to his right. The urban green rustled and deep shadows waved as the breeze whispered along the tall border hedges. A cat padded from an alley between the north side commerce onto the sidewalk and then looked his way. The dim streetlight reflected in its eyes, two silver discs that taunted alongside the night sky.

With a growl, he punched his frustration into the air. Blue neon flashed from his fist. The bolt highlighted the crimson brick storefronts and plowed into the street with a resounding blast. Asphalt bulleted the commerce, shattering glass behind the barred windows, and pelted the granite griffin perched on top of the corner archway of the entrance to Shilo Park.

The cat darted back the way it came.

Vincent snarled. Turning toward the city center, he clenched his jaw and glared around the empty court. How many times have I tried to summon the Mother Earth beads from here already? Every faithful follower of the gods had come to witness the absence of Gryffin. When they left, the park was in shambles. It took three weeks to pick up all the rubble and return the vegetation to its rightful state. He glanced over his shoulder at the stone gargoyle. The god of conformance couldn’t have made a more striking statement with that disappearance act—and the beads couldn’t have been lost at a worst time. Anyone could have stashed them away, thrilled to find such a keep.

Vincent ground his teeth together so hard his temples ached. Humidity thickened the early summer night and carried the sulfuric odor from the west side industries. It coated his senses with added irritation. Where was the floral scent of Shilo Park? He needed the sweet comfort it held.

Releasing his breath, he whispered a vow he didn’t intend to sustain. “Elaina, you will never touch another magical charm as long as you live.”

He glanced at his watch and sighed an anxious breath. I need to get home.

How long before his brothers questioned his excursions? How long could he keep the disappearance of the relic a secret?

Furling his cape, he dispersed his elements into a fine mist. He allowed his dark essence to meander as he flew the length of the boulevard, recalling the crowded scene. Pilgrimage buggies, tents, covered wagons; they were only a portion of the massive gathering of faithful that had finally cleared the area.

Irritation rippled his essence. With a growl, he conceded failure and headed over the southern apricot orchards to Shilo Manor.

character

Character Name: Vincent Shilo

Character Bio: Vincent is the youngest brother of the Sentinels based on Cornerstone Deep. He excels in element manipulation and has an “explosive” personality. He loves life, is pretty carefree and is the bane of his oldest brother’s (Cole) existence at times. The love of his long life, and soul mate, is Elaina.

Describe yourself what is your worst and best quality?

Vincent settles back into the armchair and then brushes his pant leg. “Well, I guess I’d say I’m a love life or get out of the way sort of guy. And my best and worst quality?” He chuckles. “My ability to produce electrical charges, and my ability to produce electrical charges.”

What is the one thing you wish other people knew about you?

“Do you know what it’s like growing up with greatness in the form of your father and two brothers?” He shakes his head. “Much of the time, I learned at my mother’s knee. You see, I’m living my first lifespan. Father never deemed me mature enough to work with the ethereal, so to the basics of elemental manipulation I was tossed while they carried out the true workings of a Sentinel to the Realms. I guess they never expected to really need me to fill the Triad in the circle… at least not so soon.”

What are you most afraid of?

Vincent lowers his gaze and answers in a soft voice. “Losing my eternal companion.” He looks at Jeanine. “You can’t imagine the grief that follows until we are able to reunite in her next life at the right time. The time a part is the worst nightmare to endure.”

What do you want more than anything?

“My Elaina’s happiness. Of course.”

What is your relationship status?

Vincent flashes his bright smile. “I’m happily married to the most beautiful red-head in the Arched Spectrum of Realms.”

How would you describe your sense of fashion?

He looks down at his leather jacket, black jeans and riding boots, and then runs his fingers through his unruly hair. “I’d say it’s about right.”

How much of a rebel are you?

“All I need is a cause.”

What do you considered to be your greatest achievement?

Vincent chuckles. “Aside from getting Cole’s love life back on track? Getting the old brood’s love life back on track.”

What is your idea of happiness?

“Ah, holding Elaina while the warm breeze blows under a bright sun. Nothing is more beautiful.”

What is your current state of mind?

Vincent runs his hands down his thighs and looks to the side with a sigh. “Well, actually I’m a bit frustrated.” His knuckles glow red and he cocks a grin. “Charlene originally assigned Cole to this interview and somehow be bribed his way out of it. I have a feeling it has something to do with what’s coming in the next book, but I can’t be sure. I just know I feel on the hot seat. So, could we move on to the next question?”

What is your most treasured possession?

“Easy. Well, I don’t possess her, but she’s mine. Elaina.”

Which living person do you, most despise?

Vincent kicks his foot and then braces it on his knee. “Now that’s a hard one to explain. Seeing as we see things in an eternal perspective and all souls are alive… just reincarnated, I’d have to say… my father. Now I know he was reborn and doesn’t remember his former life, but I wouldn’t put it past him to find a way to recall and continue his selfish intentions.”

What is your greatest regret?

“Okay. This doesn’t go beyond you and me.” He leans forward as if to whisper but speaks in a low voice. “I regret treating the old brood like an old brood before I understood what it was like to have a soul mate.” He leaned back in his chair. “He really suffered those years without Mianna, and I kept on him to move on. Find love and accept it. But you just can’t when a soul speaks to you as a soul mate’s does.”

Which living person do you most admire?

In a strong voice he says, “Charlene A. Wilson. Yes, that’s who I admire.” He smiles, nods at Jeanine and winks, pointing out the computer screen.

What is your motto?

“Don’t fight love. Embrace it. And then fight whatever comes to keep it.”

 

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

abouttheauthor

 

clip_image004_thumb

Charlene A. Wilson is an author of tales that take you to other dimensions. She weaves magic, lasting love, and intrigue to immerse you into the lives of her characters.

She began writing in her early teens when her vivid dreams stayed with her long after she had them. The characters and worlds were so amazing she brought them to life through her books.

Charlene resides in a small community in Arkansas, USA, with her two beautiful daughters, husband, a cuddly Pekingese, and a very chatty cockatiel named Todder.

Author site: http://CharleneAWilson.com

Blog: http://charleneawilsonblog.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Charlene-A-Wilson-Romance-Author/162568770441255

Twitter: http://twitter.com/AuthorCAWilson

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4550595.Charlene_A_Wilson

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/pub/charlene-a-wilson/15/989/1b8

Monday, May 18, 2015

Cover Reveal: Insignificant - The Goldenrod Series # 1 by @KLincolnWrites @sparklebooktour

coverrevealbanner



Presented by: Sparkle Book Tours
Sparkle Blog Button


insignificant covergif

Insignificant - The Goldenrod Series # 1
by Kelly Lincoln

 
Audience: New Adult 18+ - Genre: Romantic Suspense - Format: E-book and Paperback - Publisher: Kelly Lincoln - Cover by: Najla Qamber Designs. Cover photo by Lindee Robinson Photography - Editor: Editing 4 Indies - Date Published: 6/10/15
 
 
blurb
Due to explicit language, sexual content, and dark themes, reader discretion is advised.
When Taylor was four years old, she became an orphan and her childhood spiraled into darkness. She spent years lying, hiding, and avoiding any love offered to her until she was old enough to run away from all the threats of her past.
Now twenty-two, Taylor doesn’t think she’s worth more than being the kind of girl a guy hooks up with in the back room of a bar after her band plays. She definitely isn’t the one you bring home to meet Mom and Dad.
An unlikely rescue puts her in Ethan’s sight. He’s her total opposite, though. Ethan is a sexy dork who sees beyond Taylor’s guarded exterior. He sees past the tattoos and piercings. He sees her.
But they both have secrets capable of destroying their relationship. And if Taylor’s past ever catches up with her, the consequences could be deadly.
book links
add to goodreads
 
excerpt
My breath caught when he stood behind me to look over my shoulder. We weren’t touching, but my skin broke out in goosebumps and my body ached for contact with his. Heat swirled in my stomach at the thought. How easy would it be to lean back against that awesome chest and have those killer arms hug me? I gripped the table to keep myself from doing anything stupid.
“Beautiful,” he said softly.
“Cool.” I shined the enlarger on the paper and picked up the photo after I turned it off. Ethan was still behind me, and I swallowed as I turned around. Looking at him in this sexy orange lighting was really—
A quiet popping noise invaded our silent room, and the orange light went out, leaving us in darkness. I flinched in surprise, brushing against Ethan. He put his hands on my arms. "The light burned out."
I laughed, trying to distract myself from my tingly arms. "Yeah, Captain Obvious. I can tell."
He laughed softly. "I have another one, I'll go change it. We just have to..." His grip tightened, and he drew me closer to him as he turned me so we switched places. One hand moved off my arm and to my back as his voice dropped. "Trade places. Because it’s on the shelf.”
"Right," I whispered. When he moved us, I dropped the paper, but I really couldn’t have cared less now that his arms were around me. Without thinking, I reached out and held my breath when my fingers brushed against smooth skin. I trailed to the side and found his hair. Moving along the side of his face, I stopped right before his chin and hesitated. Touching him was so ballsey. He might not want me doing this.
When I stopped, he let out a soft groan, and his fingers moved under the hem of my shirt, barely grazing the skin of my lower back. I took a shaky breath and raised my other hand, tracing the planes of his face, the one line across his forehead, the rise and fall of his glasses, the bridge of his nose, and the indent in his chin, so slight it was barely noticeable. His thin top lip. His full bottom one. Over and over again, and his breaths came out deep as his fingers kept moving lightly against my bare skin.
I whimpered as he put his other hand on the side of my face. Fucking whimpered.
“I like this,” he whispered as his fingers followed my eyebrows, over the piercing and down toward my cheek.
I kept tracing his lips as he touched me, all too aware of the strong ache between my legs. “Me too,” I breathed.
My pulse echoed in my head as his hand rested under my chin with his thumb on my lip ring. Neither one of us moved.
I couldn’t fucking handle it anymore. “Ethan?”
“Yes?” his soft voice replied.
“Kiss me already.”


about the author
 
clip_image006
 
Kelly Lincoln is pretty lame but she’s okay with that. She enjoys reading, inappropriate jokes, all things Disney, and spending time with her family. She lives in the northeast and drinks way too much Diet Coke.
For character bios, playlists, and news about upcoming releases, please visit www.kellylincoln.com. You can also find Kelly when she’s avoiding writing on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKellyLincoln?ref=aymt_homepage_panel or on Twitter @KLincolnWrites.
 
media
clip_image008clip_image010clip_image004[1]clip_image012

Sunday, May 17, 2015

Book Blast & Giveaway: Wicked Lustful Tales by @authormariacox

Wicked Lustful Tales - Banner

BOOK INFORMATION

TITLE – Wicked Lustful Tales, Complete Collection SERIES – Wicked Lustful Tales AUTHOR – Maria Cox GENRE – Sensual Romance PUBLICATION DATE – 5/2014 LENGTH (Pages/# Words) – 53,724 words PUBLISHER – Melange Books COVER ARTIST – Lynsee Lauritsen

Wicked Lustful Tales - Book Cover

BOOK SYNOPSIS

**There are 6 short stories in this book.**
Stranded During a group cycling vacation in the Caribbean Shana White learns that her boyfriend is moving to New York to further his career without her. With no intention of sulking Shana opts for a day excursion with former beau and fellow cyclist Nick Marino. After a biking accident leaves them stranded the rekindling of an old friendship and memories of their torrid past emerge leaving Shana to struggle with conflicting emotions. Now on the rebound can she afford to seek solace in Nick's arms and risk heartache all over again?
The Charity Event With a career in photography about to take off Adam Baxter is at the top of his game. Office buddy Jennifer Silva has been a supportive friend from the start and the two have an easygoing platonic relationship. But when Adam's assistant Nellie singles out Adam's jealous behavior he's forced to analyze his true feelings for beautiful, caring Jennifer. Adam knows all too well that a romantic involvement can complicate matters. So, is Adam ready to put it all on the line and take their friendship to the next level?
Snowed In When Nina Bates discloses her pregnancy she's soon shunned by her boyfriend and her mother. Alone and confused Nina turns to her grandmother who suggests she leave her hometown of Seattle and move to Alaska. In Anchorage, divorcee Dexter McIver hires Nina as live-in nanny to his son. An emotional bond develops between them and after Nina delivers her baby the smoldering attraction that existed for months threatens to boil over. With so much at stake should Nina and Dexter go out on a limb for a brief liaison?
Phone Sex Advertising executive Gina Blanchard has her hands full with not only a busy conference schedule, but a difficult employee too. Fatigued, she calls her boyfriend Dylan Jessup. He encourages Gina to unwind and experiment with a one of a kind sexual experience.
Summer Love Bryn Banks, a city girl at heart, travels to North Dakota for a summer program in rural Coleharbor, North Dakota. There, she works with biologist Kyle Norman, a small town guy. As they work closely together, the relationship becomes intimate. When the summer draws to a close, Bryn urges Kyle to come with her, but he resists.
Married and in Lust After three weeks on the road, professional hockey player Ethan Lewis returns home for Thanksgiving. When he sees another man approach his wife Whitney as she waits for him, jealousy and desire take over. Ethan conjures a wild intimate encounter but is he able to persuade a reluctant Whitney to take part?

BUY LINKS

EXCERPT

Excerpt from Stranded:
“My sex life is none of your business.” It was a neutral answer, wasn’t it?
He pulled her toward him with a light tug. “That long, huh?” Nick said with a smug smile.
At that moment, all she wanted to do was to wipe that self-satisfied smirk off his face. Instead, she broke free of his hold and resumed her walk, desperate to reach the pond’s edge.
“I’ll have you know,” she explained, “That Lance and I…we have an intellectual bond.”
“Right,” Nick interjected. “Translation, he’s a lousy lay.”
“I never said that!” she wailed and turned to face him.
He waited a second. “You’re not denying it either.”
Finally, the boiling point. “You know,” she said keeping her voice from shaking, “I happen to think on a higher plane than just the physical attraction.”
“Bullshit!” He laughed. “You sound to me like a woman whose well is dry.”
Shana was aghast. Dry well? Her well was fine and dandy thank you very much!
When Nick said nothing else, she stared at him, her eyes sending death rays his way. Inside she was crumbling, falling apart. She was tired, angry and spent, physically and emotionally, and at that moment, she teetered with what to do next, slap Nick across the face or throw herself in his arms.
“Pompous jerk!” Shana declared and stepped back intent on rushing to the edge even if it meant running. In her haste, she slipped on a mossy rock and her legs gave out. “What the…” In a split second, Nick was by her side holding her securely in his arms.

Wicked Lustful Tales - Author Photo

AUTHOR BIO

Maria Cox has a degree in Business Administration with a Minor in Computer Applications. She also has an accreditation from the Project Management Institute.
Maria has been writing stories since she was a young girl. She picked up her first romance novel when she was just eleven years old and has loved the genre ever since. Her first published novel, Wicked Lustful Tales, Vol. 1 was released in October 2013.
Maria enjoys reading different genres but writes primarily sensual romance, stories that showcase characters that are funny, sassy, and sexy.
When she’s not writing, Maria works a technical writer. She reads, exercises, and also volunteers. She lives in Queens, New York.
Maria is a PRO member of Romance Writers of America (RWA) and a member of RWA-NYC & RWA Desert Rose. She is also is the past President of the Phoenix Writers Club.

AUTHOR FOLLOW LINKS

GIVEAWAY

JungleFever_MED

eCopy of Jungle Fever by Maria Cox

Blitz Organized and Hosted by:

33c16-mini2bbutton

Thursday, May 14, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Seducing Death by @Author_C_Lawson

Seducing Death Banner 851 x 315

 

bookblast

 

 

clip_image002Seducing Death

Moon Virus

Book 3

Cassandra Lawson

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Date of Publication: 4/29/2015

ISBN: 978-1508860143

ASIN: B00UPPH8OG

Number of pages: 314

Word Count: 91,818

Book Description:

In the decade following the brutal murder of his wife and daughter, Ian has existed in a world built on grief and hatred. Just when Ian has finally begun to claw his way through the shadows of his past, a knife to the heart ends it all . . . . or is it the beginning?

After waking up in a strange home, Ian’s only companion is the woman who saved him. Undeniably drawn to her, Ian finds himself wondering if it really is possible to love again.

Trapped in a world where she is little more than a pawn for the Fae, Kyleigh long ago accepted the reality of her existence. She is no one’s savior and no one’s guardian angel; she is death. That is until she breaks all the rules to save a vampire many believe beyond salvation. Ian sparks a passion she never believed possible and reawakens emotions she thought long buried.

While secluded in a realm between life and death, Ian and Kyleigh are free to explore their feelings for each other. When enemies past and present join forces to destroy those Ian loves they are forced to leave the safety of Kyleigh’s realm. Can their fragile bond survive when they are faced with the demons of Ian’s past?

Amazon Amazon UK Amazon CA Amazon AU iTunes

This is part of a series, however Seducing Death is a standalone novel,

and can be read without the first two books.

Book One, Raven’s Blood, is free on Amazon, iTunes,

Barnes and Noble, and Smashwords.

excerpt

Kyleigh stopped listening to their conversation as the cold breeze of the shadows grew nearer. Time was almost up, and she still didn’t have a plan to save Ian’s life. The smart thing to do was to walk away knowing she’d done her best, but she’d watched Ian too long. No, she would not give up when Ian’s soul was so close to redemption.

“Maybe we should head back in. I’ll message Connor and see what he thinks,” Ian’s friend said, but it was too late. Both vampires heard the danger approaching. His friend pulled out the handheld crossbow and a knife while Ian drew two knives.

“Well, isn’t this a stroke of luck,” called out a human as he emerged from the woods followed by six others.

“Are you having some trouble, human?” Ian asked casually. His hands had dropped to his sides, but he still held the knives. This came as no surprise. She’d seen him in action enough to know this vampire rarely let his guard down.

“I think you already have,” the human said.

Kyleigh saw the inner struggle in both vampires. They obviously suspected the humans were up to no good, but both were too noble to kill them without provocation. That was new for Ian. No longer shrouded in darkness, Ian wouldn’t kill unless he had to.

Several other vampires stepped out of the trees, surrounding Ian and his friend. Kyleigh was all too familiar with this type of vampire. These creatures kept her busy many days. Quickly scanning the group, she found that all the innocent souls had been freed. With this newer virus they were sometimes trapped in the undead body, which was a form of torture she wouldn’t wish on the most evil person. She had yet to figure out how that was even possible, or why one of her kind wasn’t summoned to free the poor soul.

Ian and his friend reacted immediately. The knives in Ian’s hands found their marks in the hearts of two vampires, and Ian’s friend shot the crossbow at another vampire. Kyleigh watched the battle before her with a sense of helplessness. They were too outnumbered and there was no way to win. Even now, the shadows moved in, hungry for death and sin. Rubbing her arms against the cold breeze that preceded the shadows, she watched in horror as Ian was surrounded.

A scream no one would hear escaped her lips when the knife sliced through Ian’s chest. He collapsed to the ground, blood soaking the leaves. Her form wavered in and out with her rage. Despair began to settle around her, but she refused to let it control her. Ian was too close to being saved to lose him now. Whatever it took, the shadows would not claim his soul.

“Take the blond alive!” shouted one of the humans, obviously referring to Ian’s friend. “Damaged is fine, but he has to survive with no damage to his face!”

Determination flashed in Ian’s eyes, and his soul brightened as he worked hard to conceal his phone while sending a message. Then he buried the phone. Soon the blond vampire was unconscious, and Ian was struggling for life.

“Should we finish off the other one?” asked one of the humans. “Looks like he’s still alive.”

Kyleigh held her breath, praying to a god who’d long ago abandoned her that they would just leave.

The leader laughed. “Looks like he’s in a lot of pain,” he said with a vicious sneer.

The urge to use violence against the human who obviously enjoyed the pain of others came as a surprise to Kyleigh. It was a relief when they left the area so she could make her way toward Ian. His weakened state meant she had only seconds to save his life. Her decision made, she emerged from the trees, becoming visible to Ian.

Ian’s beautiful green eyes opened and focused on her as she approached him.

“Kate.” His voice was barely a whisper.

“Don’t worry,” she said in a soft reassuring voice, trying to hide her fear as the shadows closed in around them. “You’re going to be okay, but we need to get you out of here.”

Wrapping them in her power, she bound Ian’s soul to his body. Thankfully he picked that moment to lose consciousness, so she didn’t have to explain what was about to happen.

clip_image003

abouttheauthor

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

Yes, I always wanted to be a writer, but I was afraid to that admit to anyone, including myself.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

To be totally honest, I have days where I still don’t consider myself a writer. It seems a little unreal when I think about the fact that people pay to read my books.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

I am also a homeschooling mom and the organizer for my local homeschool group. That keeps me very busy, and helps me remain committed to my caffeine addiction.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

It takes me about 4 months to write a book, including rewrites and edits.

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

At least for the time being, I plan to continue writing paranormal romance. I have more books planned for both the Moon Virus series and the Psy-Vamp series. I am also working on a couple of unrelated stories.

What genre would you place your books into?

My books are paranormal romance. The Moon Virus series could also be considered a dystopian romance.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

I’d never even read a vampire book when I wrote Vampires and Vixens more than fifteen years ago. That story came to me in bits and pieces from a dream. From there I developed a fascination with paranormal romance. I have not ruled out the possibility of writing in other genres because I never know what will inspire me.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I always listen to music when I write. If my husband is home, I lock myself in my office and put my headphones on so I can’t hear him roughhousing with our daughters.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Yes, I read the reviews, even though I know I probably shouldn’t. The reviews are written to help other readers, not me. Still, I always want to know what people think.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

I have a very hard time coming up with titles for my books. In general, I don’t have a title until I am almost done writing a book.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

That really depends on the character. For my main characters, I generally have them fully-formed in my mind before I start writing, but sometimes they surprise me. My supporting characters tend to develop more as the story progresses.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

I wouldn’t really say any of the messages are hidden, but I’ve noticed that they are occasionally misconstrued. The Moon Virus series definitely expresses my opinion on how dangerous extremists are. Conservative extremists were targeted most in Raven’s Blood, which ruffled some feathers. This series is also meant to show the dangers of dehumanizing entire groups of people. There are no real messages in my Psy-Vamp series.

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

I really prefer paperback or hardback, but my vision has gotten so bad that I mostly read eBooks now.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

I don’t believe books transfer well to movies. For that reason, I either read the book or see the movie. Who am I kidding? I read the book.

Your favorite food is?

Black beans and rice. It’s my comfort food.

Your favorite singer/group is?

I don’t really have a favorite. I’m a bit of a rocker and enjoy most types of music.

Your favorite color is?

Red is my favorite color because I simply can’t be in a bad mood when I’m wearing red.

 

  giveaway

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

abouttheauthor

clip_image005

Cassandra Lawson is a paranormal romance author and homeschooling mom from the San Francisco Bay area. She has always had a very active imagination and loves making up stories. When she is not writing she enjoys baking, spending time with her family, listening to music, or curling up with a good book.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cassandralawsonauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Author_C_Lawson

Blog: http://www.cassandralawson.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7103612.Cassandra_Lawson

clip_image006

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: The Recording Room by @iyanajenna

therecording banner

Presented by: Sparkle book Tours
Sparkle Blog Button


recording room covergif

The Recording Room by Iyana Jenna
 
Audience: Adult 18+ - Genre: MM Romance Horror - Format: e-book - Publisher: JMS Books - Cover by: Written Ink Designs - Editor: Willem Schutte - Pages: (17, 172 words) - ISBN: 9781611527643 - Date Published: April 5, 2015
 
blurb
Lucian Salvatore returns to Clover East after his grandmother calls him home to take care of the family's recording studio. This is a welcome trip after the tragic loss of his boyfriend.
Nate Lockwood is the man who practically runs the Salvatore studio. He suspects he’s going to be replaced once Lucian comes home to take over the business. But Nate doesn’t plan on leaving Clover East so soon, at least not before he solves the mystery that’s the real reason he came to the small town in the first place.
Will Nate be able to discover what happened to his aunt who disappeared in Clover East so many years ago? What does her disappearance have to do with Lucian’s family ... and the haunted recording room in the studio where they both work?

links
 
 
buy now amazon
 
add to goodreads
 
excerpt
 
"You have family here? Clover East is such a small town. I don't visit often but I think I know who all the families are around here."
Nate was tempted to ask if Lucian knew Janette Madison, Nate's aunt, but he was afraid it would be too soon, too abrupt.
"Nah, I don't have family here," he said instead. "I had just thought one of my aunts stopped by this town, but I'm not so sure myself." There, he had said it.
"You haven't had any news from your aunt?"
"No."
"You mean she's missing or something?" Lucian frowned.
"Honestly, I don't know if she's missing or just doesn't want to be found."
"Did your family ask you to find her?"
Nate played with his bottle. He wouldn't look at Lucian. "No one asked me to locate her because there's no one else out there. She's the only family I have left. That's why I wanted to find her."
Neither spoke after that. When Nate lifted his head, he found Lucian staring blankly at a spot on the table. He wanted to ask about him instead but Nate couldn't bring himself to open his mouth. His mind was whirling with the thoughts that until now, years after he first came to this city, he still couldn't find Aunt Janette.
Nate,
I'm sorry about your loss and I'm very sorry I didn't come to the funeral. I was halfway around the continent and I was quite short of money. But don't worry about me. I met someone and he asked me to go live with him. I don't know if you've heard of Clover East, a small town in Illinois? I hadn't, before this. But I have a good feeling about this place, Nate. If you ever want to come to stay with me, you'll be more than welcome.
"No, she's definitely missing," he said suddenly.
"Excuse me?" Lucian looked startled. Nate didn't blame him.
"She sent me a letter, literally inviting me to be with her."
"What do you mean -- be with you?"
"She met a man who asked her to come to Clover East. She understood I had just lost everyone so she wanted me to stay with her. She sounded so happy at that time. There were no signs that she wanted to hide. Something bad must have happened to her."
"Did she mention any names?"
Nate shook his head, and practically jumped when Lucian clasped a hand over his. When did he get so close?
"You're not alone anymore. We'll search for your aunt and we're going to find her. Together."
Nate gawked, first at the hand that was warm against his skin and then up to Lucian’s soft green eyes. The man was nothing like the cold, arrogant one Nate had met earlier that morning. He was almost afraid at the sudden change.
"Uh, thank you, I guess?"
"Does my grandma know about this?"
"No, I never told her."
"Why didn't you?"
Nate had never thought about why it had not crossed his mind to talk to Helen about it. She had never asked him why he came to the town, thus, he didn't feel the need to mention it.
"I don't know," he said simply to Lucian.
Lucian pursed his lips. "I just thought it might help, you know. She's lived here all her life. She must notice when there's a newcomer in town, especially when the person suddenly disappears."
"I found it strange," Nate said slowly, "that no one seemed to hear or see anything about her. It's like she never set foot in this place."
"Are you sure she was really here?"
Nate said nothing and took out his cell-phone. He opened the picture albums and scrolled down until he found what he was looking for. He showed the picture to Lucian, who scrutinized it like a doctor checking on a patient on an operation table. Nate could almost see through Lucian's eyes his aunt smiling at the camera, her long black locks blown by the wind. She posed in Clover East's city square in front of a group of tables belonging to a café there.
"She was alone."
"Yeah." Nate knew exactly what Lucian was thinking. If she'd been with someone, they might have been able to recognize them.
"I wonder who took the picture."
"She could've simply asked a passerby to do it."
"You're right." Lucian gave him back the cell phone. "She only sent you that?"
"Yes, unfortunately."
"So she was really here but we have no idea for how long and whom she met."
"I was worried about her." Nate sighed, and when he looked up, Lucian's eyes bored into his.
"We'll tell my grandma when she's home and start an extensive search."
Nate didn't know what to say. He felt as if he was drowning in Lucian's gaze.
"O-okay," he said finally, after he realized Lucian had cleared his throat several times, awaiting his response.
"Good." Lucian heaved a deep breath and stretched out, pulling his arms high above his head, and Nate was unable to keep his eyes off the scrumptious sight. "So, will you stay for dinner?"
  play

  authorinterview
 

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I like writing but I don’t think I wanted to be a writer. I ended up being a course book writer in my real life, though. When I was a teenager, I wanted to be a casting director. I love reading. In the past, I liked casting my favorite actors and actresses to be the characters in my favorite books.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

Maybe since I got accepted to be the course book writer as I’m still not convinced I am a real story writer until now. :)

How long did it take to get your first book published?

My first published work was a short story and it was an old story that I sent years after I wrote it. And this is when it gets interesting. I submitted it to a publisher and completely forgot about it until some day when I got an email saying that my story was accepted. I totally can’t remember, until now, when I sent it.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

The title is The Recording Room and here is the story: Nate Lockwood works at a haunted radio station belonging to Lucian Salvatore’s grandmother. Things get bad when people start dying.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

The story is published by JMS Books.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

I’m a sloooow writer. My RL job takes most of my life so I can only write 500 words per day at the most. I’d need more than three weeks just to finish a 10K long story.

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

I have two short stories that are scheduled to be out in July from Fireborn Publishing. They are both MM contemporary romance stories.

What genre would you place your books into?

I write mostly MM contemporary stories.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

Well, I don’t know. Perhaps because I’m most comfortable with that genre? J

How long have you been writing?, and who or what inspired you to write?

I’ve been writing intensively in the past 10-15 years. Mostly short stories. I have to say I’ve been heavily inspired by my favorite characters in the books I read or movies I watched.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

I’m always grateful for all reviews I got, good or bad, and I will read them if I find them.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

Usually I come up with a title but if I need to change it, I will change it.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

Sometimes names just come up to me. But when they don’t, I will ask around.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

I don’t usually have them neatly written, but I have my characters’ trait in my head before starting to write or as I go along.

Your favorite color is?

So far I’ve been confused what my favorite color is. Is it blue, or green, or something else? I just got the answer last week. It was maroon. :)


 

giveaway
 
author
Iyana writes M/M short stories and novellas. Her works have been published by Evernight Publishing, JMS Books, Books to Go Now, Torquere Press, Bitten Press, Leap of Faith Publishing, Breathless Press, and Alfie Dog Fiction.
Iyana lives in Jakarta, a city famous for its traffic jams, a lot of cars and motorcycles, and people selling stuff on the roads. You can spend two hours on the road going to a place you can reach in half an hour in a normal situation. Thanks to the traffic jams, though, Iyana can come up with a lot of stories, mostly shorties, as she prefers to spend the time during her trips writing into her cell phone rather than sleeping.
Another thing Iyana loves is kitties. Right now she has three of them. Their names are Cil, Horus, and Betsy, and one kitten. When she doesn’t write, she plays with them, or they would play with her when she writes.
media
clip_image008clip_image010clip_image006[1]clip_image004[1]clip_image012
follow the tour
April 27
Fictional Rendezvous Book Blog
Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents
Kacey's Kreations
Andrew Jericho
April 28
A Great New Read
Shh... Kymberlee's Reading
April 29
Deal Sharing Aunt
Hot Sensual Romance
LeTeisha Newton
April 30
Jessica Coulter Smith, Author
Angels with Attitude Book Reviews
Wren Michaels' Blog
May 1
London's Scribbles
The Avid Reader
Loves All Things Books
May 4
Night Owl Reviews
Melissa M Wolff
May 5
Cathy Brockman Writes Romance
Booky Ramblings of a Neurotic Mom
May 6
Love Bytes
Literary Musing
May 7
The Blog of C.R. Moss
Archaeolibrarian - I dig good books!
BookHeathens
May 8
Rustys Reading
Gay.Guy.Reading and Friends
S.J. Maylee
May 11
Hearts On Fire Reviews
Indy Book Fairy
May 12
TTC Books and more
Because Two Men Are Better Than One
May 13
Author Lynn Burke
Eclipse Reviews
May 14
Nikka Michaels
Portals to New Worlds
Books Books Books