Wednesday, November 11, 2015

5 * Review - Treasured Find by Nancy Corrigan


Book Title: Treasured Find

Series Name: Royal Pride

Series Number: 1.0

Author: Nancy Corrigan


Length: 92K

Publication Date: November 11th 2015

Add Treasured Find to Goodreads

Sometimes the greatest finds are unexpected

After five centuries, Rafe Alexander knows what to expect from life—boredom broken by the occasional call from Shifter Affairs. No matter how mundane the job, he always accepts their plea for help. He knows what it’s like to lose loved ones to the shifter trafficking rings decimating their species.

But the task that takes him to West Virginia changes everything. A human is dead. A shifter child is missing. And the human female connected to both tragedies is hiding a secret.

He needs to discover the mystery surrounding her. But the felines he houses—lion, tiger and jaguar—want him to get close to her for another reason. Jasmine is special, both for how she affects him and for the treasure she’s been guarding.

And as danger mounts, he’s left balancing his desire for revenge and his need to protect. But the line between them isn’t always black and white, especially where his family is concerned.

NOTE: This book was previously released. It has been revised and re-edited.




“I want you naked. Open for my pleasure.”

He didn’t give her the chance to comply. He grabbed the hem of her top and tugged it over her head. The bra came off next.

Cool air hit the sensitive tips of her breasts. She shivered, but he covered them in the next breath. The warmth of his touch seeped into her. He slowly massaged her breasts, and the gentle kneading left her squirming in his arms. Perfect. She focused on the sensations and ignored the way his tender attentions made her heart flip over.

He flicked her nipples. Sparks ignited. He did it again. A pulse of pure pleasure skipped across her skin.

She waited, eager and hungry, for what he would do next. With his fingertip, he circled the areola. She moaned. He stilled with his fingers clamped around the hard bud. Anticipation built. She pressed her lips together. Would he tug her nipple? Or roll it? Either would make her wild.

“You’re holding your breath, waiting. Do you want something, my Jasmine?”



He wanted her to voice her need? Couldn’t he guess how hot he’d gotten her?

“Well?” The demand was clear.

“You. I want you.”

He kissed her neck, licked the spot he’d teased a moment ago, but didn’t move his fingers. She arched into his embrace, silently begging him to tug on the erect nipple, roll it, flick it, do something. He only held the hard point clamped between his calloused fingertips.

“Rafe, please.”

Instead of meeting her unspoken demand, he released her nipple and caressed her breast, supporting her heavy flesh and making her crazed. The reverent touch wasn’t what she needed.

She covered his hands with hers and pushed her chest forward, rubbing the points into his palms. He pulled them back, denying her the relief she craved.

“What do you want from me? Tell me.”

She couldn’t voice her need. The very thought of putting her sexual desires into words embarrassed her. She could show him, though. That wasn’t as naughty. He’d understand. The man knew how to work her body.

She turned in his arms and grabbed a fistful of hair. With the handful of strands, she dragged him closer to her heavy flesh.

“Mmmm, yes, you have beautiful breasts. Full, lush mounds meant to be suckled.” He brushed his lips over the tips. She moaned. “Are they sensitive?”

“Very. They ache.”

He pulled back. “I bet.”

He was teasing her? Oh no. She was too aroused for games. Desperate for relief, she cupped the weight of one breast and lifted it to his mouth, offering herself.

“Do you want my mouth here?” Rafe tapped his finger to the hard point.

She heard the amusement in his tone but was beyond caring. “Yes, please.”

“And what should I do once put my lips on your breast?”

“Don’t make me say it.”

“Yes. Say it. Tell me now.”

Get the book at…


Other shifter books:

ROYAL Pride series

Ø Beautiful Mistake, book 2, available for Pre-order, releases 1-11-16

Ø Favorite Obsession, book 3, available for Pre-order soon

KAGAN Wolves series (a parallel series set in the same world as the Royal Pride series)

Ø Chance on Love, book 0.5, releases 2-23-16

Ø Bridged by Love, book 1, available now

Ø Shared for Love, book 2 (MMF), releases 5-10-16


Treasured Find (Royal Pride Book 1)Treasured Find by Nancy Corrigan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

As a royal male shifter Rafe is content with his life, or at least for the past 500 years. Drawn to a small town to determine the original of a little girl, Rafe wasn’t expecting to run into heaven. Discovering that the five year old Megan was indeed a shifter child amongst humans was bad enough, but to discover two more royal children in the care of a human, that was pushing the limits. Even worse was the way this human female stirred his beasts. Jasmine was a wildcard he wasn’t expecting, even more the fact that she was his destined mate. But with his mate comes the discovery of more trouble, an old enemy, rogue shifters kidnapping other shifters and far worse - the fate of his lost sister. Would Rafe and Jasmine be strong enough to counter the attacks heading their way? Or would their new found love fail and bring death to all?

Thrilling, Erotic, action-packed and just utterly amazing. Those words accompanied me while I clutched at my kindle and found myself lost in a new world. Lately shifter reads haven’t been so gripping as before, but Corrigan quickly brought me back to why shifter novels was so additive. With an exciting plot with lots of turns and twist, I was lost instantly and read it a day. Rafe was the perfect alpha, with dead sexy godlike features and heart to go with it. Jazz’s strong mother instincts was refreshing and I loved that she wasn’t afraid to stand her ground against even a pack of shifters. I am early awaiting the next novel in this series and highly recommend getting your hands of this one in the meantime.

View all my reviews



About the author

A little about Nancy…

A true romantic at heart, Nancy Corrigan is convinced there’s a knight in shining armor for every woman (or man), but you won’t find damsels in distress in her stories. She adores pairing alpha heroes with women strong enough to match them and bring them to their knees. She also enjoys flipping the traditional roles in romances because her motto is—love and people should never be forced to conform to anyone’s norm.

She holds a degree in chemistry and has worked in research but now focuses on ensuring quality. She considers it the perfect outlet for her as she’s the first to admit she has some OCD tendencies. It carries over into her writing life too. While engrossed in a novel, she has a habit of forgetting to eat and sleep. Fortunately, she’s married to her own knight in shining armor who understands her oddities and loves her anyway. They reside in Pennsylvania with their three children, dog, snake and guinea pigs. Her other interests include tattoos, animals, classic cars and all things spooky and sexy.

Connect with Nancy…




Facebook Follow/Friend

Facebook Page

Amazon Page


Monday, November 9, 2015

Book Blast: Tail Lights & Teardrops by Connie L. Smith @clsmithbooks @sparklebooktour

tail lights banner
Title: Tail Lights & Teardrops  tail lights gif
Author: Connie L. Smith 
Audience: YA/NA Romance (Clean)  
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Format: E-book
Publisher: InkSpell Publishing
Cover by: Najla Qamber
Editor: Vicky Burkholder
Pages: App. 213
Date Published: Oct. 2015

blurb (3)

Bruised and battered hearts can keep beating. But can they heal?
Preston and Nick endured the breakup of all breakups when Nick accused her of cheating on him. He insisted, and she denied while the rain pounded against her driveway and thunder roared in the distance. Then they both ran—Preston to a life of Rock & Roll, and Nick to a career in the Army.
Four years later, they’re damaged and broken almost beyond repair. He’s carrying baggage from his military days, and she bears the scars of living a lifestyle she’s grown to hate.
When Preston’s label forces her to take time away from music, their paths cross in a parking lot not twenty-four hours after her hometown return, anger and sparks flying in a confusing blend. But regardless of the feelings neither has been able to shake, too many lies and secrets stand in the way of the one thing they need in order to recover.
Each other.
book links (2)
amazonbarnes and noble icon
excerpt (5)

I ended the song with a haunted chord and frowned when I heard clapping coming from somewhere beneath me. Standing, I propped my guitar on the balcony rail and looked over the edge to find Nick leaning likewise one floor below. The sadness in his eyes let me know, without a doubt, he understood the lyrics were about us.
He smiled anyway. “Good song. What’s it called?”
“‘Pirates and Cowgirls,’” I whispered, uneasy that he’d heard a message so personal between us. On the radio would’ve been different. Listening to it being written, and almost face-to-face? “I didn’t mean for you—”
“Don’t apologize, Preston. It happened, and you’re a songwriter. I’d be shocked if I didn’t end up in a song or six. I might even be insulted.” He put a deliberate spin on his last sentence, but the teasing quality didn’t hide his hurt at the reminder of our history. I could see pain in his clouded gaze and thin smile, making me wonder why he’d bother with the attempt to lighten the situation.
Was he trying to make me feel better? I couldn’t think of another explanation, and I had a hard time reconciling that the man who’d broken my heart without mercy was now attempting to lessen my pain by downplaying his. How could the two reactions come from the same person?
I decided not to question the matter out loud. Instead, I offered him a grin as phony as the one he directed at me. “Is this you being civil?”
“Well, you did perform a concert. I hear it’s customary to applaud.”
I rolled my eyes, and he smiled genuinely for a second before he pushed away from the rail. “I guess I should head back in.”
I didn’t want him to leave, but asking him to stay would’ve been one of the dumbest decisions of my life, so I nodded and grabbed my guitar. “Good night, Nick.”
He grunted a response like he’d done so many times when we were younger and he was too tired to bother with an actual reply, then turned toward his apartment. I fought back the warm memories of the same noise being used over the years to mean, “yes,” “no,” “sure—pizza sounds fantastic,” and countless other random, small, beautiful things. If the smile those recollections brought to my face was any indication, diving into the thoughts would be dangerously lovesick territory.
about the author (2)
Connie L. Smith spends far too much time with her mind wandering in fictional places. She reads too much, likes to bake, and might forever be sad that she doesn’t have fairy wings. And that she can’t swing dance. Her music of choice is severely outdated, and as an adult she’s kind of obsessed with Power Rangers. She has her BA from Northern Kentucky University in Speech Communication and History (she doesn’t totally get the connection either), and is currently working on her MA.
media links (1)
facebookTwitterAmazon (1)goodreads

Thursday, November 5, 2015

Blog Barrage: Marked by an Assassin by Felicity Heaton @felicityheaton #giveaway

Marked by an Assassin Blog Barrage - Felicity Heaton

Marked by an Assassin, the eighth book in New York Times best-seller Felicity Heaton’s hot paranormal romance series, Eternal Mates, is now available in ebook and paperback. To celebrate the release, she’s holding a FANTASTIC GIVEAWAY at her website and sharing sneak peeks of the book.

Find out how to enter the Marked by an Assassin international giveaway (ends November 15th) and be in with a shot of winning a $75, $50 or $25 gift certificate at her website, where you can also download a 4 chapter sample of the novel:

Here’s more about Marked by an Assassin, including an excerpt from this paranormal romance novel.

Marked by an Assassin by Felicity Heaton

A snow leopard shifter exiled from his pride twenty years ago, Harbin treads the dark path of life as an assassin, driven by a hunger for vengeance, mercilessly hunting the Archangel members who attacked his kin, murdering his mother and sister.

When a new contract comes in and the mark is a snow leopard shifter, he can’t resist venturing into the mortal world on a personal mission to find out why one from a normally peaceful species now has a price on their head. What he finds in a rundown nightclub isn’t quite what he expects—a beautiful snow leopard female that awakens a fierce hunger inside him.

Aya has spent seventeen years living in London, immersed in the underbelly of the fae world, keeping her head down and her tail out of trouble. But when trouble walks right into her life in the form of a sinfully handsome, dangerous assassin, she is pulled into a whirlwind of events that stir up the nightmares of her past but might just give her a shot at putting those ghosts to rest—if she can resist the dark allure of a male she knows is her fated mate.

Can Harbin and Aya resist the passionate fire that blazes between them as they chase the vengeance they both crave? Or will they surrender to their deepest desires?

Marked by an Assassin is available from Amazon Kindle, Kobo Books, Barnes and Noble Nook, Apple iBooks stores and other retailers. Also available in paperback. Find the links to your preferred retailer at:


The mark was a female.

Harbin hadn’t believed his eyes when he had set them on her in the grotty club in the suburbs of London. He had tracked her without ever realising what she was. None of his fae contacts had mentioned the gender of the snow leopard he had been asking questions about, but then he hadn’t bothered to ask them about the sex of his mark either.

He had presumed it would be a male.

Sure, he had tracked and assassinated female marks in the past, but never a shifter. Females of the cat shifter species generally stayed within the boundaries of their pride homes, or at least within the limit of the law, keeping their heads down and tails out of trouble.

What had she done to make someone take out a contract on her?

He had been curious to know the answer to that question when he had discovered a snow leopard had a price on their head, but now he burned with a need to know. It played on his mind, constantly bouncing around in his skull and keeping him distracted. What could she have done?

Normally his marks were mercenaries, murderers or worse, but she didn’t seem to fit any of those roles. Nothing about her said she was dangerous, and nothing he had gleaned from his contacts had pointed towards her being a killer or worthy of the bounty someone had placed on her.

Harbin stared across the room at the female in question, watching the way the vampire at her back pawed at her as they danced. The sight of the vile bastard’s hands all over her caused his animal side to prowl just beneath his skin, restless with a need to separate them and then separate the vampire’s head from his body. He despised their kind. Leeches, all of them.

He sighed as he caught his train of thought and derailed it.

Maybe Hartt and Fuery had rubbed off on him in the years they had been together.

Elves hated vampires with a passion, a dislike that ran both ways, born of the fact that vampires were distantly related to the elves. They were a wretched shadow of the elves, born from the corrupted ones left behind in this mortal realm millennia ago. The vampires had none of their forefathers’ key abilities though, and the elves believed that was the reason they despised them so much. Harbin could understand that. He would be pissed if he discovered his kind were an offshoot from one that could teleport, use telekinesis, didn’t go crispy in sunlight and didn’t have to drink blood to survive.

The vampire slid his hands lower, startling the female, and a growl rumbled up Harbin’s throat, rising from the pit of his belly as it churned with a need to sink his claws into the male.

Her wide eyes held Harbin immobile though, pinned to his stool, his mind filled with a constant cycle of questions.

Some of which bothered him, because for the first time in a long time, he was wondering what the hell he was doing with his life.

That niggling voice had started up the second he had set eyes on the female last night. A barrage of images had hit him, a horrifying replay of entering his pride village to find his mother and sister laying in a pool of blood on the crisp white snow. A rapid succession of memories had followed it, a rush of dark moments, all fragmented and blended together into a mind-numbing stream of pain, terror and bloodshed.

A twisted version of the events that had happened as he had tracked down the bastards who had attacked his pride.


He ground his teeth, his emerging fangs cutting into his gums, flooding his mouth with the bitter taste of blood.

It had all been his fault.

The deaths of his beloved mother and sister.

The deaths of so many of his kin.

Those deaths weighed his soul down and nothing he did lightened the load he carried.

It was his to bear, and he would carry the face of every victim with him until his dying day. He would recount them all whenever he crushed another Archangel member under his boot, giving them the same bloody end they had bestowed upon his beautiful kin.

Harbin closed his eyes and swallowed hard, fighting the pain that rose within him, pouring like acid into the hollow in his chest.

He deserved the pain. He deserved the exile his father, the alpha of the pride, had given him as his sentence. He deserved to suffer until Archangel no longer existed.

He deserved it because he had been the one to lead Archangel to his pride.

He could kill every member of Archangel, all across the world, but it wouldn’t make a difference and he knew it. It wouldn’t bring his family back, or the other snow leopards who had lost their lives because of him.

Harbin opened his eyes and fixed them on the female, catching her as she broke free of the vampire and started across the busy room.

What was he doing?

Had it really come down to this—tracking and killing one of a breed he had spent the past two decades trying to avenge in his own way?

His stomach turned, sickness brewing there as his mind supplied that he was no better than Archangel if he killed her.

He had hated seeing his kin attacked and murdered, had hunted and killed all but one of the Archangel members responsible to stop them from getting their hands on any more of his species. Now he was going to hunt one and kill it?

He was going to kill her?

Harbin stared at her, cold to the bone and numbed as the world around him dropped away. How far had he fallen? When had he lost sight of his true mission—the task of avenging his people?

That mission wasn’t done.

He had never found the woman who had slept with him, using him for information before drugging him and ordering the attack on his pride.

A fragment of the man he had once been broke through the ice in his chest, whispering to let the snow leopard go and resume his hunt for the Archangel woman.

Whatever this female had done, it would be nothing compared with the sins of the Archangel huntress. That woman deserved death for the acts she had committed.

Images flashed across his eyes, a disjointed layer over the present, distorting and twisting the club into a forbidding yet breathtaking white landscape with the snow leopard female at the centre of it, her short black hair blowing in the frigid wind that scoured the treacherous barren terrain. She turned her head towards him and bright sunlight bathed her face, intensifying the gold in her eyes until they glittered like precious metal. Her soft pink lips parted, flashing a hint of straight white teeth, as she tipped her chin up and stared straight into his eyes.

For a heartbeat, a mere split-second of time that felt like a fantasy or foolishness as it fled, she was more breathtaking than the icy mountainous world around her.

She belonged in that world, a queen of all she surveyed, a beautiful and beguiling creature with whom few could contend.

A majestic female.

The mountains beyond her shook, blurring as they vibrated and rocked the earth, sending snow plummeting down their cragged faces. The air hummed around him. The bright sun faded.

The female dipped her head, raising her hands at the same time, and his stomach revolted when he saw the blood coating them.

He squeezed his eyes shut and shoved the heels of his hands against them for good measure, trying to shut out the horror he knew would come next. His left shoulder burned, the healing wound there threatening to reopen.


He breathed deep as he whirled into her place, staring down at his bloodstained hands. Images flooded his mind, replaying the night before, when he had watched the female for hours in the club before succumbing to a dark hunger that had ruled him, driving him into obeying and feeding it.

A hunger that was rising within him again now, demanding he head out just as he had last night and go on the hunt, using all of his skills to track down the hunters from Archangel that infested London.

It was a need born of the memories that surged within him whenever he looked at the female snow leopard. He had shut out everything that had come before the long dark months when he had hunted Archangel in the aftermath of the attack on his pride, sealed it away inside him and pushed it down deep. All of his softer emotions. Every shred of feeling he had ever possessed. He had thought all of it dead and gone, but he could feel it reawakening inside him.

He could feel it pushing at the walls he had constructed, and if they broke, it would be as if a dam had burst.

He wouldn’t be able to handle the flood.

It would destroy him.

He needed to leave again, had to get away from the female and go out as he had last night, pursuing the cold calm that came in the moment before the kill. He craved it even more now, twitched with the need to bathe his hands in Archangel blood, satisfying his deepest, darkest hungers.

Three had died last night, and he could barely remember their faces.

Only had a series of brief images to remind him of what he had done, the rest of it buried deep within his subconscious, burned from his mind.

Screams erupted in the club and he sensed the swarm of signatures rushing towards him, crowding him and pushing at his control. He snarled through his short fangs, trying to warn them away, needing the space they were consuming in their mad panic.

Harbin flicked his eyes open and they settled on a male clad in black combat gear similar to what he wore when he was carrying out the final phase of a mission.

Only this male was no fae or demon.

He was mortal.


Emotions bombarded Harbin on seeing the two dozen strong mortal males surging through the room, firing on the fae in it with tranquiliser guns and crossbows, or lashing out with their black batons.

He pushed from his stool, his left leg aching under the sudden weight, and growled as he shoved the people attempting to flee away from him, clearing a space around him.

His claws lengthened at the same time as his fangs.

A young male demon went down hard at the edge of the dance floor, a dart sticking out of his left shoulder.

Harbin’s blood burned, his heart labouring as he struggled to get enough air into his lungs. He shook with a need to unleash his snow leopard side and tear through the room, the urge stronger than it had ever been, fuelled by the constant awareness of the weaker female in the club with him.

His gaze sought her, locating her as she broke free of the throng of people to his left and made a run for it. She was agile and swift as she darted through the people, and he silently willed her to make it unseen to the main exit where a large male he recognised as a fellow shifter was stumbling into the club, shaking his head as he tried to rid it of the lingering effect of whatever dart the hunters had used on him.

They should have plugged him with more than one.

The big bear roared as he tore off his t-shirt and Harbin cursed him as all the hunters swung towards him.

Two males spotted the female.

Harbin pushed off, unable to ignore the pressing need to protect her.

One of the hunters hit her with a dart in her right thigh. She stumbled, a high shriek leaving her lips, but kept running, limping towards the bear as he started to shift. The second hunter pursued her.

Harbin growled and hobbled faster, cursing himself now. He needed to shift, his cat form being his stronger one in this situation, but he couldn’t when his tibia was still healing. The shift would break the weakened bone, leaving him in a worse condition than he was now and making it impossible for him to fight.

The second male caught the female as she slowed, the drugs taking effect, and Harbin flinched as the hunter dealt a blow across the back of her head with his baton. She crumpled, hitting the floor in a tangled heap.

Pain pierced Harbin’s right arm and hip, but it felt like little more than a brief sting as memories surged in response to seeing the female go down.

They rolled through him, ripping an agonised howl from his throat as he stumbled forwards, blinded by the pain and the fury, filled with a hunger to destroy every Archangel hunter he could see.

This was his fault.

He had hunted down Archangel members, all of them too young to have had anything to do with the attack on his pride. He had needed the kill though. He had needed the serenity of shutting down his feelings and focusing on a mission. He hadn’t thought it would trigger an attack on the fae community, but it couldn’t be coincidence that Archangel had targeted the very club where he had been seen two nights in a row.

Someone had witnessed the attack and survived to tell the tale.

Archangel had come after him for retribution and now innocents were being dragged into a living Hell again because of him.

The male grabbed her by her arms and hauled her into them, slinging her over his shoulder.

Harbin growled weakly and kept pushing forwards through the emptying club.

Several of the hunters left, carrying unconscious fae in pairs. At the exit, three were attempting to handle the bear shifter. Five darts stuck out of his bare chest and a nervous hunter embedded a sixth before a braver one dared to approach the slumbering brute.

A sudden sinking sensation washed through Harbin as he realised that the hunters were leaving, taking his quarry with them. His stomach squirmed, his instincts telling him to flee while he had the chance, to save his skin and escape whatever nightmare awaited the poor bastards at the hands of the Archangel hunters.

He pinned his feet to the floor and scrubbed a hand across his blurry eyes, trying to see the female as his body battled the effects of the drugs.

She hung limp over the shoulder of the hunter, her head lolling around and arms swaying with each measured step he took.

It would be easy to turn away, to slink into the shadows and wait for the tranquilisers to wear off. His body was already purging them, too strong for the puny doses they had used on him.

He sighed.

Shook his head.

He couldn’t.

Not only because he had gotten her into this mess, but because he didn’t know which facility Archangel would take her to and he would lose her if he let the hunters take her now. He might never find her again and he had promised Hartt that he would carry out his part of the mission.

He had vowed that he would remain close to her until Hartt and Fuery came to finish the job with him.

He had to keep that promise if he was going to keep his reputation as one of the best assassins in the guild. He had never lost a mark, and he wasn’t going to start now.

Not even when it meant placing himself in the hands of the hunters he despised.

He scanned the room and spotted a lone male hunter at the back, struggling with a large unconscious male. His gut churned, every instinct he possessed screaming at him to run in the opposite direction. He couldn’t. He had to get caught too.

A small part of him, a piece of him that refused to die now, whispered that his reasons ran deeper than a need to keep tabs on his mark and fulfilling his part of the mission. He wanted to get caught so he could ensure that she was unharmed by Archangel. He didn’t want to let her be alone in that terrible place.

He needed to be there too.

Harbin roared and hurled himself at the young hunter.

Marked by an Assassin is available from Amazon Kindle, Kobo Books, Barnes and Noble Nook, Apple iBooks stores and other retailers. Also available in paperback.

Find all the links, a fantastic 4 chapter downloadable sample of the book, and also how to enter the giveaway and be in with a shot of winning a $75, $50 or $25 gift certificate at her website:

Books in the Eternal Mates paranormal romance series:

Author Bio

Felicity Heaton

Felicity Heaton is a New York Times and USA Today international best-selling author writing passionate paranormal romance books. In her books, she creates detailed worlds, twisting plots, mind-blowing action, intense emotion and heart-stopping romances with leading men that vary from dark deadly vampires to sexy shape-shifters and wicked werewolves, to sinful angels and hot demons! If you're a fan of paranormal romance authors Lara Adrian, J R Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Gena Showalter and Christine Feehan then you will enjoy her books too.

If you love your angels a little dark and wicked, the best-selling Her Angel series is for you. If you like strong, powerful, and dark vampires then try the Vampires Realm series or any of her stand-alone vampire romance books. If you’re looking for vampire romances that are sinful, passionate and erotic then try the best-selling Vampire Erotic Theatre series. Or if you prefer huge detailed worlds filled with hot-blooded alpha males in every species, from elves to demons to dragons to shifters and angels, then take a look at the new Eternal Mates series.

If you want to know more about Felicity, or want to get in touch, you can find her at the following places:

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | Pinterest | GoodReads

Follow The Tour!

October 31

Lore Lush Books

Calling All Bookaholics

Monlatable Book Reviews

Mythical Books

Rockstars Reviews

November 1

Liezel's Book Blog

Proserpine Craving Books

Sportochick's Musings


Aly's Miscellany

November 2

Sharing Links and Wisdom

Kimmie Sue's Book Review

Wag The Fox

On Writing and Riding

Book Lovin' Mamas

November 3

Inner Goddess

Booked & Loaded

A Fortress of Books

She Hearts Books

Book Lovers Life

Sizzling Hot Books

November 4


Warrior Woman Winmill

KT Book Reviews

The Jeep Diva

Comet Babes Books

November 5

Eclipse Reviews

page flipperz

I Smell Sheep

Urban Fantasy Investigations


November 6

Book Loving Pixies

Book Reviews by Lynn

Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents

satins bookish corner

November 7

Books That Hook

Totally Addicted to Reading

Sassy Book Lovers

Rosanna Leo

November 8

Bex n Books

Kristina's Books & More

Smexy and Fabulous

November 9

Yeya's Ramblings

Just Talking Books

Pure Textuality

Romancing the Dark Side

November 10


Bitches n Prose

Daria's Views on Books

Barbara Book Blog

November 11

The Reading Cafe

Wicked Readings by Tawania

Smexy and Fabulous

November 12

SnoopyDoo's Book Reviews

vampy and racey


Rabid Reads

November 13

Bookworm Brandee

Angel's Guilty Pleasures

The Romance Cover

SnoopyDoo's Book Reviews

November 14

Book Nook Nuts

Eskimo Princess Book Reviews


Share My Destiny

November 15


Indy Book Fairy

Reading Between the Wines Book Club

LSK Sweetheart Reviews

Friday, October 30, 2015

Book Blast: Halloween: Henry, Saddara and the Neighborhood by Juli Draney

Halloween Banner 851 x 315


book blast


clip_image002Halloween: Henry, Saddara and the Neighborhood

Juli Draney

Genre: Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal, Halloween

Date of Publication: October 2012

Word Count: 9,868

Cover Artist: Mark Garcia

Book Description:

Looking for another fun Halloween story to add to your repertoire? "Halloween: Henry, Saddara and the Neighborhood" is a fictional chapter book for children of all ages! The story depicts the colorful scenes of a legendary Halloween night through the eyes of Henry, a rugged, but sophisticated black cat. The story takes the reader to the quaint town of Greenwood. Henry enjoys his human family and the sights in the town on Halloween, but ventures out into the foothills to his favorite place, the haunted Hostetler mansion.

Henry experiences many supernatural events on his adventure to the old mansion near the woods, including interactions with and sightings of witches, werewolves, musical vampires, ghosts, goblins, and zombies. Henry has a dear friend who inhabits the Hostetler mansion, the ghost of a little girl named Saddara. Saddara's touching story is told in this tale and receives a powerful resolution. Henry somehow escapes this incredible adventure with his life, a scarred ear and wise lessons to impart.

“Halloween: Henry, Saddara and the Neighborhood” is Halloween fun with beauty and wisdom brewed in!

This book is also a Rock Opera Dance Musical!

Available at Amazon

Excerpt from “Meet Henry”

“Do you take one lump of sugar or two? Or seven?” asked little Saddara. Then she erupted into a high pitched giggle.

“I’ll take seven sugars and I would like a mouse on the side,” I answered as we both laughed and sighed. Our pretend tea parties in the rose garden of the old mansion were delightful!

“Well, I guess it’s time for me to go now,” said Saddara. “I don’t know when mother and father and the boys will be here, but I will wait. I am sure they are coming!” With a pet on my head, she would fade away back into her bedroom. I would then make my way home through the lovely, wooded foothills. Those were fun times I had with Saddara. I’ll tell you all about her later on.

I’m Henry, the beloved cat of the Rodriguez-Haskell family. I’m a black cat and a Tom. That and my scruffy, torn ear add to my irresistible charm. I live in the quaint town of Greenwood, named for its beautiful, green foothills. I’m a mix of ruffian and spoiled house cat (though I hate to admit the latter). I’ve garnered quite a bit of street smarts from my nightly cat adventures. I know every back alley and criminal joint in Greenwood, as well as the swanky, uptown parts. My family allows me to roam at night wherever I please, thanks to the cat door they installed. It’s nice to have my true nature recognized. We cats are complex characters, just like humans. I can enjoy a Shakespearean sonnet as well as dumpster diving for a delicious, discarded meal. By the way, you humans should try scavenging more. You’re missing out on all the fun!

I certainly didn’t receive my scruffy, torn ear from a human. I got it from a zombie in an epic battle on a legendary Halloween night. Halloween is my very favorite night of the year as it’s a night when my irresistible charms seem to frighten people out of their mind. If you have more time, I’ll share with you the story of one of the most incredible nights of my life - a night when my fierce scrappiness and sharp intellect were fully used. I must say, I’ve had many such nights. After all, I’m a cat.

Excerpt from “Vampires”

I saw something black lift up from the ground in the cemetery, like a hinged door. Then another one just like it opened a small distance away, still in the cemetery, then several more. They all seemed to open and close in unison. Open-slam-open-slam-open-slam-open-slam! They looked like coffins! I saw a cloaked, human-looking figure emerge from one, then another. These figures all seemed to be men in black cloaks, rising and moving rather calmly and gracefully in the moonlit fog of the night. Vampires.

The total count was eight. They were quietly walking and walking, slowly, without expression around the beautiful garden veranda near the cemetery and the front lawn of the mansion. They had shiny, groomed black hair that glistened in the moonlight, and a pale hue to their skin in cool tones. Some had white streaks blazing through their black hair. Their garments were impeccably beautiful. They wore woolen, pin-striped suits, with the finest tailoring I had ever seen. Long black capes draped from their necks around suit vests and slacks. They wore red roses on their lapels. Their shoes shone in the night like their hair.

After a bit of their calm pacing, I saw one go back to his coffin and produce a chair, then of all things, a beautiful cello and bow.

Excerpt from “The Return”

Exhausted, I walked over right in front of the guitar god zombie, still playing his guitar ferociously. I could still hear the howls of the werewolves and the cackle of the witches in the forest. Catrina and the vampires had fused their music with the zombies forming a type of Halloween heavy metal, funk tango dirge which was truly exhilarating. This was musical fusion as I had never heard before! It was like a rock concert in heaven and hell at the same time. The haunting yet extremely alive music, the cackling, the howling…it all climaxed into a great musical sound that seemed to summon the very sky and enter beyond time. It was totally overwhelming and reached an almost unbearable level of exhilaration. Then, suddenly it all stopped - dead silent. The vampires ceased their playing and dancing. Catrina and her partner stopped mid-turn.

About the author

Juli is a freelance musician, piano teacher and author living in Boise, Idaho. She has accompanied professional dance for many years. She was inspired to write her book in order to compose a Halloween ballet, which turned into a “Rock Opera Dance Musical”. She enjoys teaching, performing, writing, composing, and hanging with her daughter and two dachshunds.

Book blast, Giveaway & Interview: Idol of Glass by Jane Kindred @JaneKindred

Idol of Glass Banner 851 x 315


book blast


clip_image002Idol of Glass

Looking Glass Gods

Book 3

Jane Kindred

Genre: Dark fantasy with erotic

and romantic elements/LGBTQ

Publisher: Samhain Publishing

Date of Publication: October 27, 2015

ISBN: 978-161922-373-8


Number of pages: 268

Word Count: 91,000

Cover Artist: Kanaxa

Book Description:

Madness didn't destroy her; atoning for it might.

Ra has ruined everything. Returning to life through “renaissance” was her first mistake. Magical excess was her second. Now she must face the consequences of her reckless conjuring. Her beloved Ahr is dead by her hand, and the comfort she’d found in gender-rebel Jak seems lost to her forever.

Ra takes solace in punishment—and in communion with her punisher, the mysterious and merciless MeerShiva. But Shiva has spun a skein of secrecy over centuries—secrets about Ra’s origins and the origins of the Meer themselves. And as the secrets begin to unravel, someone else’s magic is at work from the hidden realm. Someone with the ability to redraw the fabric of the world itself.

As the picture becomes clearer, Ra must face some harsh realities: not everything is about her, and punishment isn’t enough. She must stand before Jak and try to atone for what she’s done. But seeing Jak will reveal one more secret Ra never saw coming—and one that may mean her own undoing.

Product Warnings: Contains scenes of intense BDSM, non-binary genders, and a preponderance of kick-ass women.

Amazon ARe BN BooksaMillion iTunes Kobo Samhain


Even spattered in dried blood and pieces of the dead man’s flesh, they cut a striking pair of figures on the dunes of the falend. Jet and dark poppy, their hair hung down their backs in the colors of atrocity. Light caressed them, knowing they were more than human, rippling iridescent over their tresses like quicksilver in the presence of the divine.

As in the youth of her former life, Ra was attired in the manner of a Meeric prince, the plain kaftan of black silk muting much of the violence that covered her.

MeerShiva was less subtle, the pearl-embroidered train of her sheer citrine gown, from the same ancient era, dragging behind her, caked in mud from the heath they’d left behind. They were two livid strokes of pigment on the canvas of sun-blanched sand.

Satisfied with the decimation of the remains they’d dumped in the marsh outside the small trading post beyond Mole Downs, they had simply walked away, and continued walking until they’d left the high country altogether. Coming down out of the mound-riddled moors and across the lowland heath, they followed the Filial River toward the east, past the falls that plunged beneath the bluff at the wasteland’s edge, and into the high desert north of the Anamnesis delta, until at last even Meeric sensibility demanded rest.

The palette of the sky behind the scattered stars held the deep lack of pigment that came with the hours after midnight, and they were in the center of nothing, a vast stretch of arid land that separated mound country from the Deltan lowlands. With a few murmured words, Shiva raised a single tower around them, round and made of stone, with windowless walls that stretched up over them into immeasurable heights. Meeric conjuring was often merely out of whim, influenced by the current state of mind and body. They lay on a floor of heather, an anomalous afterthought, with barely a pause between waking and sleep.


Jak lay at Geffn’s side, staring at the ceiling. They shared a bed for comfort, though nothing more. The question of their long estrangement had been settled once and for all in the formal dissolution of their bond after Ahr’s body had been consigned to the elements in the Bone Fire. During all that ceremony—the harvest rites marking the turn of the year, the final parting with Ahr, the unbinding rite in which Jak and Geffn had cut the red braided strings they’d worn around their wrists to symbolize their union and set each other free—Jak had been in a state of stasis. Unable to feel anything, unable to fully comprehend the loss of Ahr, despite the grand Deltan memorial.

In mound culture, funeral rites were less dramatic. Haethfalters didn’t believe in the necessity of the destruction of the body by fire to free the spirit for its next life. Hadn’t, at least, until Ra had come, having effected her own cremation from the grave in order to hasten her return, “renaissanced” as a fully formed adult in an instant on a cold winter night. But that was an exception to the rule. Ra’s renaissance was devilry and madness, and Jak should have recognized it from the start.

Haethfalters practiced a form of sky burial, building a platform for the deceased and laying the body out in the elements to be excarnated by carrion birds. Burying bodies below ground was impractical in a place where the ground was frozen half the year and where underground real estate was at a premium for their souterrain dwellings. When the bones were picked clean, they were taken and placed in the family’s burial cairn—a place that didn’t require such deep digging, and which they had to dig only once, during the warmer months.

They’d used the sky burial platform as Ahr’s crematory, and Jak had watched his elements spiral up into the warm autumn wind. Smoke and embers and ash. It hadn’t seemed real. It hadn’t seemed like Ahr’s body wrapped in fragrant oils and spices and covered in flower garlands. It hadn’t seemed like anyone’s body at all as the platform was consumed in bright flames against the dusk sky. It had all been too surreal.

But there’d been no denying the reality once the urn was placed in Jak’s hands. Within the unassuming clay vessel was all that was left of Jak’s dearest friend.

Jak had led that final ceremony, the procession to the family cairn, the slow march alone down the dank steps beneath the circle of stones, accompanied by Oldman Rem’s mournful highland fiddle from above, to place Ahr’s vessel in the narrow vault that normally held the bones of the dead. By custom, and not belief, Jak murmured prayers to the ancestors—Jak’s mother, Fyn, and Fyn’s parents, whom Jak had never known—and then tried to say good-bye to Ahr somehow. The finality made it impossible, and Jak dropped onto wobbly knees before the vault and wept.

Ahr was family to Jak, and no one had questioned his interment under the cairn. Family, after all, was a broad term in mound society, having little to do with blood. In the niche beside Ahr’s were the bones of Fyn, the last person Jak had said good-bye to here. And on Fyn’s other side lay the remains of Geffn’s brother, Pim, who’d died before Geffn was born. They were all connected to Jak in one way or another. But kneeling there among the sputter of tallow candles as the sobs receded into sighs, Jak had felt the wrongness of it. Ahr was a Deltan. His ashes didn’t belong below the highland moor.

Jak sighed, still staring up at the stone ceiling. There was still so much damage in Haethfalt from the rains. It was a terrible time to leave. But Jak couldn’t let this wait until spring.

“I have to take him home.” Jak spoke in the darkness beside Geffn. “I know I’m needed here to help rebuild, but Merit deserves to know. They were lovers. He should have the ashes.”

“You do what you need to.” Geffn squeezed Jak’s hand atop the blanket. “The moundhold will be here for you. Whatever you decide to do will be all right.”

But it wasn’t true. It would not be all right. Nothing could ever be all right with so much gone wrong.


Character Name: MeerShiva

Character Bio: 6’1” ageless goddess with long, blood-red hair, porcelain skin, and nails as sharp as shards of glass. Not to be trifled with.


Describe yourself what is your worst and best quality?

I have no worst quality, unless you count my tendency to rip the entrails out of evil men. Personally, I consider that quality one of my best.

What is the one thing you wish other people knew about you?

That the divine blood everyone is so fond of leaching out of me for their precious blessings has to come from somewhere, and I do not, as legend would have it, have ice water in my veins. Prick me and I bleed. (And then you bleed, because seriously, did you actually just touch me?)

What is your biggest secret, something no one knows about?

Pardon me, but I can’t breathe at the moment because I’m laughing so hard I may actually faint for the first time in my eternal existence. As if I would share that with mortals.

What are you most afraid of?


What do you want more than anything?

To be delightfully surprised.

What is your relationship status?

Ha! It’s complicated. The poor dear was so traumatized he’s forgotten the one night we spent together 400 years ago, and yet he seeks me out continually without knowing it. Then there’s his daughter, who, technically, is my daughter, but I gave birth to a son, and he’s dead, so it doesn’t count. Stop judging me. Nothing happened. It’s just that she’s rather extraordinary. You try living for over a thousand years in a world where no one is your equal.

How would you describe your sense of fashion?

Exquisite. I fashion the elements around me according to my mood. Designers base their gowns on me.

How much of a rebel are you?

What an odd question. There is no higher authority than myself. What on earth would I have to rebel against?

What do you consider to be your greatest achievement?

Not killing everyone on sight.

What is your idea of happiness?

An uninhabited planet.

What is your current state of mind?

Madness. Care to make something of it?

What is your most treasured possession?

Do people count? No? Then I’ll just say my hair. People would kill for it. And a few have.

What is your most marked characteristic?

Well it certainly isn’t mercy. Let’s say intolerance for stupidity and leave it at that.

What is it that you most dislike?

Abusive men. Followed by stupidity. Abusive stupid men are the absolute worst.

Which living person do you most despise?

Living? Those I despise don’t tend to live very long. So I suppose I would have to say myself.

What is your greatest regret?

One night 400 years ago.

What is the quality you most like in a man?


What is the quality you most like in a woman?


Who is your favorite hero in fiction?

Lady Macbeth.

Which living person do you most admire?

Oddly enough, a mortal named Jak. I know. I’m surprised at myself.

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

Since I have no flaws, this question is preposterous. ~sharpens nails~

What is your motto?

If I be waspish, best beware my sting.



a Rafflecopter giveaway


About the author



Jane Kindred is the author of epic fantasy series The House of Arkhangel’sk, Demons of Elysium, and Looking Glass Gods. She spent her formative years ruining her eyes reading romance novels in the Tucson sun and watching Star Trek marathons in the dark. She now writes to the sound of San Francisco foghorns while two cats slowly but surely edge her off the side of the bed.

Cover Reveal: Mortality by Ava O’Shay @AvaOShay

mortality banner (1)

Title: Mortality, Book Three of the Serenity Series
Series: The Serenity Series    mortality gif
Vol or Book #: 3
Author: Ava O’Shay
Audience: New Adult/ Adult +18
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Format: ebook and paperback
Publisher: Raven Books and Design
Cover by: Raven Books and Design, photograph
Editor: Eden Plantz
Pages: 250
Date to be Published: January 2016

blurb (5)
Leaving his rocky past behind Quill heads out with the band Pick-Six. Quickly thrust into the lime light of a rock and roll super star he finds his past isn’t so easy to leave behind. Alcohol, drugs, and an endless stream of available and willing woman push Quill to his limits of restraint. But he has more at stake than his sobriety, Quill will do almost anything to win Assad back even if it means baring his soul on stage. Just when things seem to be going his way Quill’s mother comes back into his life. A force he has never been able to overcome. Soon Quill’s feeling of responsibility for his family threatens to take him and the band down. Struggling against his demons Quill must learn to take what he wants before it’s too late.
excerpt (2)
Sweat trailed down Quill’s back, his hair matted to his forehead, the rays of the overhead lights were hotter than the face of the sun but the screams from the row of girls, five deep in front of the stage were making it all worth it.
He pulled the microphone out of its stand. His band, Pick-Six was on the last songs of the set. The rush adrenaline laced with anxiety was the high Quill used to get him through the nerves threatening to destroy each performance.
“It will get easier,” Simon, their manager said before each gig.
It hadn’t.
Each night Quill tried to figure out how he’d ended up the lead singer of a band he’d watched at the local rave bar. Each night he fought his inner demons so he could get through another performance without allowing himself a hit, a drink, or a hard screw. He’d sworn off any type of crutch to get him through. However he’d done it before the band hit it big and he was thrust in front of an overflowing bar full of people every night. He was going to face his fears and God only knew—his feelings—head on even if it killed him.
No more burying.
No more hiding.
And if people didn’t like it they could go fuck themselves.
author (1)
After many years trudging through the social awkwardness of high school and the whirl wind of college romances I finally landed in the Seattle area writing about the hell, horror, and don't forget the hot romance of youth. I love all things outdoors and can be found hiking, kayaking, mountain biking or doing anything active. I am a former Mrs. Washington United States but hung up my crown to focus on family and career. I love to learn and possess many degrees. I am a Christy McCullough Excellence in Education Award winner and I am Nationally Board Certified. I love to interact with my readers and meet them at signings so never be shy to come up and give me a hug and ask me anything.
media (2)
facebook  Twitter  goodreads  Amazon (1)  Pinterest

Thursday, October 29, 2015

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: The Talented 2: Past Lives Revealed by Desy Smith

The Talented 2 Banner 851 x 315_thumb[1]


book blast_thumb[1]


clip_image002_thumb[1]The Talented 2:

Past Lives Revealed

The Talented

Book Two

Desy Smith

Genre: YA Romance Fantasy Fiction

Publisher: Floebe Publishing

Date of Publication: September 20, 2015

ISBN: 978-1512216714

ASIN: 1512216712

Number of pages: 223

Word Count: 55,377

Cover Artist: Rose Smith

Book Description:

Carmel’s time at the H.O.T hasn’t been all that pleasant. She’s gotten drugged, captured, and had to endure her painful change. When Carmel finally starts to enjoy her life at the H.O.T with her friends and her boyfriend Devon; Queen Ice, her annoying past life, contacts her. Queen Ice not only tells her about the impending battle between the good angels and the evil angels, she also continues to pop up in Carmel’s mind, showing her images from her life in the past. Now, Carmel, her friends along with her boyfriend, race to find a sword that they believe will give them leverage in the battle to come.

Unfortunately it isn’t as easy as it seems. There are others who are aware of the sword, and they’ll do anything to retrieve it before Carmel does. In addition, Carmel can’t use her Water or Ice Talent to help in the battle and she doesn’t know why! On top of that, there’s one or more people in Carmel's group who aren’t whom they say they are. Can Carmel find the sword? Will she be able to figure out why her Talents aren’t working? Can she discover who in the group is lying to her and the others about who they really are?

Be sure to read the second series of The Talented by Author Desy Smith to see how the story unfolds!

Available at Amazon and


We’re a couple of streets down from the museum, waiting on Devon to issue instructions. Earlier, as we laid in bed, I brought up Ms. Platinum Blonde from the airport. Her name is Tray and as I thought, it wasn’t anything serious. He did sleep with her before he met me and that was it. It was just about sex, and honestly, that didn’t bother me. I knew Devon had a life before he met me. I would be dumb to think otherwise.

“Okay, so here’s the plan, we go in teams of two.” Devon says inside the car outside the museum. I know I should have been overjoyed because this is my first mission with them. But I’m not. My lower back was bothering me. But I endure the pain, because I knew if Devon found out, I would be left behind, again. “Mel and Ricky are one team, and Flora.” He says her name with disgust. “And I are another team.”

“Oh, no sir.” Flora says. “I would rather go by myself.”

“Flora, go with Devon. This will give you two time to bond with each other.” I add. I look at Ricky who is nodding his head in agreement.

“I don’t want to bond with him!” Flora yells. Ricky gently grabs her and they both get out the car and start talking, well, arguing.

“I told you she wouldn’t want to do it.” Devon says. I roll my eyes.

“You weren’t very nice about it.”

“Really? I thought I was.” Liar. Flora and Ricky open the car door.

“Okay, we’re ready, and Flora said she would be honored to be in your company.” Ricky says.

“You’re pushing it.” Flora replies with her arms cross, glaring at Devon.

We make our way toward the back entrance of the museum, where two dead police officers are holding the door open.

“Someone’s already here.” Devon says and Flora gives him a ‘duh’ look. He and Ricky move them both inside the door and close it. I notice the alarm on the right side of the door, smoking.

“The alarm system has been fried, which prevents the alarm from being triggered.” He tells us. “Okay, let’s go ahead and split up. Flora and I will take downstairs, Mel and Ricky will take the second floor and we will meet on the third floor, and divide that equally.” He turns his attention to Ricky. “If anything happens to Carmel, do know I will take your life.” Ricky sighs while I roll my eyes. There he goes again, threatening to kill people.

The museum is really creepy at night without any lighting and people. I and Ricky’s first stop is the Egyptian room.

“Did the Egyptians exist when the angels were here?” I question. Even though my back is killing me, and I want to soak in a bathtub, eating eggs with syrup, I am joyous because I have alone time with Ricky, which means I can grill him.

“Yes, remember the angels came down when Adam and Eve were placed on earth.” Oh yeah. I start to recall the story Flora told me.

“Your great times 10 grandfather knows a lot about the Angels.” I say as I pick up another vase and look inside before tossing it in the ‘don’t need’ pile. “I think it’s amazing how the stories of Queen Ice were passed down from child to child, but maybe they’re a little less than factual.”

“I don’t believe I understand what you’re implying.” I turn to look at him, and try to make out his facial expression but couldn’t because of the moonlight being the only lighting in the museum.

“I’m just saying people tell stories to each other and sometimes they add a little extra in. Who’s to say that didn’t happen?” I’m purposely trying to anger him, hoping his rage will make him spill his secret accidently.

“It didn’t.”

“How would you know? You weren’t there?” I stand up. “Or were you?”

“You’re acting like Devon now. Do you have something to say, or will you speak in riddles for the rest of the night?” Ricky states calmly, showing no signs of anger.

“Were you there, Ricky?” I ask, getting to the point, enough of the bull crap.

“There, as in I was an Angel in the Angel era?”

“Yes.” He laughs.

“That’s unlikely, I would be very old and senile.” Anything is possible, I say to myself, repeating what Ice told me weeks ago.

“Well, I don’t believe we age like humans. Actually, I think we can be century’s old and still look young.” Like Ricky, I thought. “Time doesn’t matter to us.” Suddenly, a light bulb goes off in my mind. I make my way to the wall where a directory is hung. I notice a room on the third floor dedicated to artifacts with no accurate time. Otherwise known as the Timeless room. The vase has to be in there.

“I think I figured it out, Ricky.”

“What, how angels age?” I shake my head.

“Nope, I think I know where the vase is at.” I run out the door, ignoring Ricky as he calls my name, and up the stairs. I walk down the hall until I come upon a cracked door with the words Timeless printed in white calligraphy on the door. I found it.

I’m sitting on the floor, looking through another row of blue vases. I was starting to understand how Devon felt, this whole thing is repetitive and annoying. I want to find the vase and be done with this part of the mission. I keep asking Ice if she sees the vase, but of course, when I need her the most, she ignores me.

I get ready to give up, until a particular vase catches my attention in the moonlight, almost like God was putting a spotlight on it. The vase is round, and blue with snow white flames from the bottom to top. It’s really beautiful. I go to grab it and turn it upside down. On the bottom there is an engraving.

“Engraved it shall say To Queen, From Flame.” Ice says. Look who finally decides to make an appearance. I look at the inscription and it says just that.

Author Interview

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

No, during middle and high school, I wanted to be a fashion designer.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

After completing my first novel in middle school.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

5 years

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

Yes, I am a Resident Advisor. Which means I handle the residents on my floor staying in the dormitory at the college. They come to me if they have problems with their roommates, or if they have questions about the college or university.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

Supernatural Resident Advisor. The book is about Starlette, a witch being a resident advisor to witches, vampires, fairies and wolves.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

I self-publish under my publishing company, Floebe Publishing.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

3 to 6 months depending on how busy I am with work/school.

What can we expect from you in the future? ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

More books in the same genre and continuation of other books.

What genre would you place your books into?

Fantasy Fiction, Romance

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

Because of my love for this genre, I am a huge fantasy fiction fan. I love watching movies the supernatural, and the different interruptions for them.

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

Yes, Devon because he’s such a complexed character. When you think you have him figured out, you continue reading and discover you don’t.

How long have you been writing? and who or what inspired you to write?

I’ve been writing since I was 10, and I wrote because I didn’t have any new books to read, and I was bored. Now I write because I have stories that I want to share with the world.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? Ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I watch a lot of TV when I write, like reality tv or project runway. I cannot write in silence, that drives me crazy.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Yes, even the bad ones. I want to know what the readers think, and what they like or do not like. I use their feedback when writing my other novels.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

I choose the title first. I’m one of those people who does things in orders.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I don’t know, sometimes I see or hear a name and want to use it in my book. If I don’t find a name I like, I make one up, this applies to the places in my book as well.

Are character names and place names decided after their creation? Or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?

Well, when I start writing the book, I have one character name and one place name in mind, but as I finish up the book, I sometimes find myself changing the name, not all the time, though.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

I do for my main character, but the minor character traits changes depending on the type of traits the main character has.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

Yes, the most important moral of this book is not to judge a person until you discover how life or decisions they’ve made shaped them into that person.

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback? heavy sometimes.

Ebook, those paperbacks, and hardbacks get pretty heavy.

What is your favorite book and Why? Have you read it more than once?

King Hall by Scarlette Dawn. The characters aren't whiny, and the main character is a woman who’s discovering herself and doesn’t think she better than anyone else. I’ve read it numerous times over.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

Sometimes, depending on the author and who decides to direct it. My favorite book that was transferred to a movie is Harry Potter. The worst book to transfer to a movie is Twilight; I seriously hate it.

Your favorite food is?


Your favorite singer/group is?


Your favorite color is?


Your favorite Author is?

Scarlette Dawn



a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the author_thumb



Desiree “Desy” Smith was born and raised in Dallas, Texas. As an avid reader, Desy read several books until she ran out of things to read. Having nothing else to read, at the age of thirteen, she decided to write her own book. Her love for reading soon turned into a passion for writing. She self-published her first book, The Talented, under Floebe Publishing, which she started to give a voice to new and aspiring authors. Desy writes to inspire and to provide an escape for anyone who wants to live in a fantasy world without worrying about the challenges of everyday life. The Talented is part one of a five part series, with the second installment arriving finally here. Currently, Desy is hard at work on her third novel, Supernatural Resident Advisor with an expected release date of October 2015. Desy’s genre of choice is fantasy romance fiction. Aside from reading and writing Desy enjoys various types of food, especially dessert. When she’s not reading she can probably be found eating a cupcake or two.




Instagram: Author_Desydiva23