Wednesday, July 23, 2014

New Release: Purr-Fect Mating by @WintersSheryl

sr


Presented by:
Sparkle Blog Button
release

covergifTitle: Purr-fect Mating
Series: Lil genie series # 1
Author: Sheryl Winters
Audience: YA/NA
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Formats: E-book
Publisher: Roane Publishing
Pages: 35 pages
Publishing Date: July 21st, 2014
 
 








blurb
Fhina and Wulfar have a little problem.
On their wedding night, at the stroke of midnight, Wulfar changes into his shifted wolf form and cannot shift back. Not even to communicate with the woman he loves.
Fhina upon waking the day after their mating, no longer recognizes her mate. Pregnant and confused, she’s convinced herself that her mate has run away and left her to live alone. With his dog.
Can they find a countercharm before Fhina gives birth? Will Wulfar be able to curb his inclination to run?
Or will their mutual curses break their love before it’s really even started.
links
goodreadsamazon-black-iconsmashwords icon
 
author
My name is Sheryl Winters and I hail from a small town in Alaska where I enjoy four-wheeling and fishing. I write paranormal romances and my first book Purr-fect Mating is set to release on July 21st.
media
 
about_mewordpressfacebooktwittergoodreads
blogs release
Release Blast Schedule - Three Day Release Blast for Purr-fect Mating by Sheryl Winters from July 21 to 23, 2014.
July 21
For The Love of Books - http://ftlobblog.blogspot.com/
Books, Brownies and Barkers - http://booksnbrownies.com
Angee's After Thoughts - http://www.angeesafterthoughts.com
Blushing Divas Book Reviews - http://www.blushingdivasbookreviews.com
Booky Ramblings of a Neurotic Mom - http://bookyramblingsofaneuroticmom.blogspot.co.uk/
July 22
3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, & Sissy, Too! - http://3partnersinshopping.blogspot.com
A One-click Addict's Book Blog - http://aone-clickaddictsbookblog.blogspot.com/
Fictional Rendezvous Book Blog - http://fictionalrendezvousbookblog.blogspot.com/
This Redhead LOVES Books - http://thisredheadlovesbooks.blogspot.com/
Bound 2 Escape - http://www.bound2escape.com
July 23
Broadway Girl Book Reviews - http://broadwaygirlbookreviews.blogspot.com
Sassy Southern Book Blog - http://sassysouthernbookblog.blogspot.com/
Our New Generation for Reading - http://jessica13bridgers.blogspot.com/
Portals to new Worlds - http://authorkarenswart.blogspot.com

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Cover Reveal: Love & Hate by J.J. Dorn

Love&Hate5

Event Organized by ❤MaE Book Tours & Promo Stars Services

Synopsis There’s something about a horse barn in the early morning hours that makes my heart full. I love walking into the barn hearing the horses chewing on the sweet alfalfa and feeling their contentment. This is where I feel most like myself, this is where I am no longer Paige Vandenberg, daughter of millionaires or the chubby rich girl. I am just me and I am free. I have been raised around horses my whole life. My parents own a large horse farm in the picturesque Dutch town of Lynden, Washington. Lynden sits just a few miles south of the Canadian border and truly is a small town. My family is one of the oldest families in town and we own or have owned practically everything. You can’t drive down the main road and not see Vandenberg scrolled on something. For many people I’m sure this sounds wonderful, but to me it’s a prison. One in which I fully intend to break free of next year when I leave for college. I will miss my family and of course my horses but I will not miss the people, and especially not resident bad boy Cutter Daniels. I hate him.

Genre New Adult Romance

Expected Publication Date August 1st 2014


Excerpt

Prologue

“Hurry up Paige. We are going to miss Luke Bryan! I can’t miss meeting my future husband!” One of my best friends Lacey was attempting to prod me along through the horse barns at the county fair. Lacey is stunning. She is your classic pretty country girl, skinny, blonde, blue eyes and energy for days. She is boy crazy and sometimes just plain crazy, but I love her. I however, am more reserved and very content just looking at the horses. Lacey was at least twenty feet in front of me and is trying to maneuver through the ever growing crowd. I started to walk more quickly but still focused on the horses. I should have been watching where I was going because I ran smack into something hard. I looked up to see what I hit and I come face to face with ice blue eyes and the wickedest grin I have ever seen. They belonged to none other than Cutter Daniels, local bad boy extraordinaire. He is gorgeous to say the least. He is a local farm kid. He has the most delicious natural dark tan from being in the sun all day. It complements his sun bleached hair that is spiked perfectly into a phohawk. He is wearing jeans hung low on his hips with a plain navy t-shirt that accents his skin and eyes perfectly. “I’m so sorry I wasn’t watching where I was going. I was distracted.” I attempted to retreat quickly but a large hand grabs my wrist. The moment he touches me I feel a jolt like I have grabbed a hot wire fence. Whoa, what the heck is that about? “You’re Paige, right?” He looks at me quizzically. Like he didn’t already know who I am! Of course he knows who I am. I am infamous in this stupid small town. I was just about to croak out a yes and hope to hell he releases me when I hear from down the barn aisle my worst fear come to life. “Cutter, what the hell man! Why are you talking to the Piggy Princess?” That of course is Cutter’s older brother, Cooper Daniels. He is the devil incarnate. He has the most obnoxious red hair and thick freckles. He looks exactly like the mean boy from A Christmas Story minus the raccoon skin hat. As soon as I hear my lovely nickname I stiffen and begin to walk away swiftly without looking back. Cooper loves to make me cry and I am not going through that today. I refuse to ruin a perfectly good Luke Bryan experience due to that angry red head. I finally catch up with Lacey and she is talking to some local boys. I know the guys go to the same school as her. Lacey attends public school and has lots of friends. I go to private school in the city and have a private tutor to accompany me at the horse shows. I am reluctant to approach them because I recognize the guys as friends of the Daniels brothers and any friend of theirs is for sure not a friend of mine. As I approach them I can hear Lacey saying “I’m only coming if Paige comes.” Oh great, what is Lacey getting us into now. Lacey and I have been friends for years. Her Dad works at our farm training horses. Lacey and her family live in a house on our sprawling compound so I see her every day. We ride horses together when we get home from school and we attend competitions together. Lacey is a really talented rider, I think she is more talented than her Dad, Titus Cunningham. I tell her this all the time but she doesn’t seem to believe me. Lacey is fearless. She will just jump on a wild young horse and go for it, no hesitation. She is always telling me to stop hesitating that it’s going to kill me one day. She’s probably right. I’m just more cautious than her. She is wild and I am well, just plain boring. “Great you’re here, finally!” I know she is upset I took so long looking at the horses, but I don’t really care. “We are going to the river party tonight. Drake and Tripp just invited us.” She knows I am going to say no but I refuse to have this conversation in front of the guys so I just smile and nod okay. Drake and Tripp are good friends with Cutter. This alone makes me want to run in the other direction. I know they are only allowing me to come along because they want Lacey to be at their party. I know that should sting but years of their distain has frankly just made me numb. “Great. We will see you tonight.” Drake says before the guys wonder off to find their seats. Lacey turns to me and says “Before you say no, I will remind you that it’s my Birthday and you agreed to do whatever I want. And I want to go to the party so we are going.” Great, she has me by the lady balls on this one. “Okay we will go, but the first sign of drama and I am out.” I state sternly. “I will be right behind you Chica. This is going to be great! What are we going to wear?” Yeah, I was totally screwed. Thank God for some Luke Bryan therapy before I dive head first into what I know is sure to be an epic fail. After taking two hours to primp and get dress, we were finally in my black Range Rover headed to the river. I have chosen to go more conservative than Lacey. I am wearing my skinny jeans, my favorite Sperry Topsiders and lace top. I did my signature long blonde hair in loose waves. I was glad I had just had a spray tan done, as my Mother always says “if you can’t tone it, tan it.” Well yeah, let’s just say my spray tan lady is on speed dial. Not that I think I’m fat, I don’t. I guess I just consider myself to have some extra curves, kind of like Miranda Lambert before the recent slim down. I wish I was tiny like Lacey but I’m not, I’m just average. Lacey has chosen to wear a sundress with a giant cutout in the back and cowboy boots. Oh and lets not mention it is like two sizes too small for her, it is practically painted on but she still looks amazing. Something tells me I will be returning to the farm by myself regardless of Lacey’s earlier vow. She is looking to party and I am just looking to hopefully go unnoticed. “Relax. It’s going to be fine. No one is going to say anything to you. I promise.” Lacey gives me an encouraging smile as we drive down the gravel road to the river bar. It is packed. Trucks litter the river bar and a giant bon fire is in the center of all the vehicles. I can see a group of girls dancing in the bed of a lifted truck next to the bon fire. Country music blares from its speakers. I am glad it is dark and packed with people. Hopefully I will just blend right in. Lacey and I head toward the party. I need to just to relax and breathe but my brain is on high alert. We have been at the party a couple of hours and no one has seemed to notice me. In fact, I was actually enjoying myself. I stuck close to Lacey and have been chatting with some of her friends from school. I was just starting to get comfortable when it happens. I hear the hyena type laughing first and then I see him, Cooper Freaking Daniels. He is making his way through the crowd heading straight for Lacey and me. As the crowd parts to let him through I can tell he is drunk and his little brother, Cutter is right behind him. I’m so screwed.

“Is that Piggy Princess? What are you doing here Piglet? Who invited you?” I start walking backward as quickly as I can. Like retreating from a rattlesnake, I know better than to turn my back on Cooper. If I do he will strike and who knows if I will survive it. I look for Lacey as I retreat but can’t find her anywhere. It doesn’t matter, I just need to get to my car and quickly. “Where are you going Miss Piggy? I want to talk to you. Wait up.” Screw this, it is time to run. So I do. I run through row after row of trucks until I spot my Range Rover. Thank God! I know Cooper is still pursuing me I can hear him making his way toward me. I click the remote start and click the unlock button. Shit. There is someone leaning against my door. He has a lit cigarette hanging from his mouth. He is dressed in dark jeans and black hoodie. His dark baseball hat is sitting low on his head so I can’t see his eyes. Crap, crap, crap. What am I going to do now! It’s probably one of Cooper and Cutter’s friends making sure I can’t escape. I may have to jump in the passenger side and crawl over to the driver’s seat to avoid him. “Where are you running off to?” The dark stranger asks me. “Umm… I’m leaving, like now. If you’ll excuse me I need to get in my car.” Get out of my way asshole I will push you if I have to! This is a code red situation! “Why do you let them treat you like that?” “I don’t. They just treat me like that and I choose to not be around them.” I can’t believe this dude wants to ask me about they “why’s” of this situation right now. Can’t he tell I am like full on panic attacking right now? “Well you choose how you let people treat you.” Seriously! I am getting a self-esteem lecture right now, really? Who is this guy? “There you are Piglet!” Cooper calls out. Oh hell! Cooper has caught up to me thanks to Mr. Questions over here. And surprise Cooper has brought a little group with him including his hot brother. God what is wrong with me? How can I think Cutter is hot when he is practically leading this lynch mob? I am so messed up. “Enough!” What the heck. Mr. Questions is telling Cooper to stop, this should be interesting. “Leave her be Coop and get back to the party.” The dark stranger drawls. “Oh come on Jasp we are just having some fun, lighten up.” Cooper slurs. “I said enough, now leave her alone.” Oh crap, Mr. Questions is Cooper’s best friend Jasper Callaway.Why in the world is he standing up for me? Well whatever the reason is I am thankful because it stops Cooper. Him and the rest of the group sauntered back toward the party leaving me standing against my car dumbfounded. Jasper stands across from me making sure the little group heads back to the party, which is happening except for Cutter. He just keeps starring at us. He looks so angry. I can feel his hate coming off of him in waves. He is seething and I know that is because of me. He can’t stand me. “You too Cutter, leave her be.” Jasper rasps. Cutter hesitates like he wants to say something but then just nods instead. To my relief he follows the others back to the party. “Thank you so much.” I say to Jasper. “It’s nothing. Just sick of hearing this shit from them. You need to stand up for yourself. I might not be around next time.” Jasper is right of course. I nod in agreement and he stalks off. Lacey comes rushing towards me looking concerned and pissed. “You okay girly?” “Yeah I survived it. But I’m ready to go home. Are you coming with?” I know she won’t say yes but I always ask anyways. I never worry if Lacey will make it home okay. She is smart and a spitfire. I honestly feel bad for the person who dares to mess with her. “I’m going to stay. You should too. I heard Jasper defended you. Everyone is talking about how crazy that was. Maybe he likes you.” She nudges my arm in jest. Great, just what I need more gossip starring yours truly. “No thanks I’m exhausted. I’ll see you at home?” She knows I am not having any of it. “Okay. I love you! See you at home.” She says as I climb in the Rover. I get half way to the main road before the tears really start flowing. God I can’t wait until I’m out of this town, I hate it here!


About the Author

J.J. Dorn lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, Randy and terrifyingly maniacal cat, Pippa Kiddleton. She currently owns three American Paint Horses. She has been riding and competing since she was a very young child. J.J. competes on a national level with her horses. When she isn’t spending time at the barn training for competitions, she is busy working on her next novel.

Connect with J.J. Dorn!

Website | Goodreads | Twitter

MaE Book Tours Promo Stars Services

Visit all the sites participating in the reveal

http://houseofmalfunction.com

http://offbeatvagabond.blogspot.com/

http://simplisticreviews.com

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kitty-Kats-Crazy-About-Books/175744712617653?ref=hl

http://flirtynvicious.tumblr.com

http://thepleasureofreadingtoday.blogspot.com/

https://www.facebook.com/BabyCakesBookBlog1

http://www.nisabelleblanco.com

http://www.pinkypollock.blogspot.com

http://divasdiscussions.blogspot.com/

http://www.chaosmusings.tumblr.com

http://ramblingsfromthesheets.blogspot.com/

http://www.mixdsignals.weebly.com

http://aone-clickaddictsbookblog.blogspot.com/

http://www.gthebookdiva.com

http://totaleclipsereviews.blogspot.com

http://darkestcravings.blogspot.com

http://reyes139.blogspot.com

http://authorkarenswart.blogspot.com

http://wickedreadingsbytawania.blogspot.com

http://kandesbookblog.blogspot.com

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Raven Falling by @mistileemurphy

tour banner


Presented by:
Sparkle Blog Button


book info



covergifTitle: Raven Falling
Series: Shadows and Light #1
Author: Misti Murphy
Audience: Adult
Genre: Paranormal Fiction
Formats: E-Book
Publisher: Misti Murphy
Cover by: Yocla Design
Date Published: 17 July 2014
 
 
 








blurb
   

Raven Mackenzie has a normal life, a great job in finances and a never-ending closet. At the end of a hard day the only thing she wants is to spend time with her best friend Luke, her constant companion since they were teenagers.

Ash is an Angel of Death and for thousands of years he’s been taking souls to the other side. Now he faces his toughest mission. He made a promise to Raven’s father, a promise he intends to keep. He must help Raven survive no matter what the cost. Even if it means taking her into a world he hates.
When Raven meets Ash, her normal life is rocked to its core. No longer a human but an Angel of death, she is given a choice. She must decide between eternal torment and murder.
As Raven’s world crumbles around her, she finds herself torn between the decision she must make, her past, and the future she wants.

Will Raven be able to make the right choice before time runs out?
book links
 
amazon-black-iconsmashwords icongoodreads
banner
 
excerpt
RAVEN STOOD in the middle of Ash’s living room. It was not what she had expected. The furnishings were sparse, and thick with dust. Nothing about the place spoke of the man in front of her. His intensity, and his impeccable taste, obvious by the clothes he wore should have been noticeable in his belongings. Instead, his house looked like it should be tore down, and the way he fidgeted, shuffling his weight from one foot to the other made her think he wanted to be anywhere but here.
In the kitchen, he put the kettle on to boil and pulled a chipped blue mug from a cupboard, plunking a tea bag into it. “I hope you don’t mind it black.”
The room seemed to grow smaller with every moment she watched him, his agitation rubbing off on her. The air was thick with dust and she coughed, wondering if it would be rude of her to leave so soon. Her gut twisted, now he was not paying any attention to her, she couldn’t shake the feeling something was wrong.
He pushed the mug, the string of the tea bag still hanging down the side, in front of her and she took the warm cup. Sipping her tea, she followed him into the living room, noting the fading yellow paint, and threadbare carpet, full of waxy-edged burn marks. Abandoned, she thought, was the feeling she got from the house.
The night was not turning out the way she had wanted it to. He flung himself down into the armchair and waved for her to sit. She looked at the couch, and hoped her tetanus shots were up-to-date. It sagged heavily in the middle and she was sure she could see the end of one of the springs poking out of the worn upholstery.
She wanted to go back to when the night had promised kissing, when she had been excited to be going home with this good-looking stranger.
Together they sat in silence, the clock ticking quietly in the background. She waited impatiently. The longer she waited the more frustrated she got. Her nerves frayed with how weird the situation was, but she could not bring herself to leave. He had not made a move to speak, or to look in her direction, as if he had forgotten she was there.
He watched her as she shifted in her seat, unable to get comfortable. The hardness of the worn-out couch was causing her butt to go numb. Having sobered up considerably and the warmth of the tea having dissipated, she stood up to leave. There was no point in continuing this night and her bed called in a soft and inviting voice.
His voice sliced through her. “This is more difficult than I thought it would be. I have to tell you something important and I need you to listen.”
“What?” She gaped at him, as she slid back on to the couch. What could he possibly have to say that she needed to hear?
A shiver swept up her spine and she tried, unsuccessfully, to shake it off. She didn’t go home with random guys, no matter how handsome they were, or how good they smelled, and now he wanted to tell her something. Her heart was beating hard with the sense of danger, but she was stubborn too, and she would stay until she knew what she needed to know, whatever it was.
She had trusted him enough to leave the club with him, so she could give him the benefit of the doubt. She jostled her legs as she considered whether she might need to run away. Having run track all through high school, she knew she was fast, and hoped with a head start she would be able to outrun his long legs. She stared at the door for a moment and then gave him her full attention, not wanting him to realize what she was thinking. He rubbed his hands through his glossy black hair, making it look even more styled than it already was.
“I don’t know how to start this…,” he said, looking around the room, at anything but her. “I’m just going to have to tell you and hope you will not be too difficult to persuade.”
She didn’t know if he was trying to frighten her, but every word added to the uncertainty of the situation, and had her struggling to keep her eyes from the door. She wished for the second time that night she had chosen to wear ballet flats instead of heels. She was slowly deciding heels were not a girl’s best friend.
He sat forward, knotting his fingers under his chin and resting his elbows on his knees, looking her over as if she were an exotic specimen under a magnifying glass. “I don’t want to scare you, but I can’t see how I am going to tell you this without you freaking out.”
“Just tell me!”
“I’ve been sent to…mentor you through your testing.”
She had no idea what he was talking about, but he was right, she was freaking out. His eyes told her he was worried about her reaction, but his words were having that exact effect. “I don’t know what you’re talking about.”
“I have no choice… You have no choice. I was sent to watch you until… It’s time Raven. You are one of the chosen, one of ours and now it’s time.”
What the hell was happening? She felt like she was on the verge of a breakdown. Somewhere between dancing with Tarra, and now, her mind had simply vanished. She needed the full story, and she was no longer willing to wait to hear it.
However, he continued to circle his point.
“Your father was my friend. I promised him that when it was time, I would be there to help you.”
She did not understand why he would bring her father into it. He could not possibly have known her father, Sam. He had died fifteen years ago, and she had never seen Ash before tonight.
She had at first glance assumed he was not much older than she was, and on second glance she would not place his age over thirty-five. Even if he did have a full nine years on her, she didn’t really think he would have been the type of person her father would have known.
She stood up, her hands automatically going to her hips. It was a stance that had gotten her through many difficult situations. “Whatever you are trying to tell me, you need to tell me now. I am two seconds away from walking out the door.”
“Right.” He stood too, towering above her, causing her to step back. “Let me get straight to the point then. It is my job to know who you are, to protect you, and to help you survive. Your father was an amazing man. He was a very gentle man but he had a hard job, one that I am afraid you will inherit in a very short time, and I promised him I would prepare you for it. Your father was an angel. He and I, we are of the same line. We are Takers of Souls.”
“Takers of Souls?” The concept was familiar and she searched her memory. “Angels of Death? Shouldn’t there be only one?”
She couldn’t begin to process his far-fetched story, but the fact he thought he was an angel of death scuttled her nerves. She could see it in his eyes, in the way he talked that he truly believed what he was telling her. Oh, God, was she going to die tonight?
What if he was stuck in his own fantasy world? How could he know enough about her to get her here, alone, in such a dangerous situation? Could he have been watching her, following her and had she simply not noticed? She tried to remember if she had seen him before, but she knew she would have remembered him. Anyone who saw him would have to notice him.
Her legs jiggled with adrenaline. Despite wanting to run, she felt compelled to listen to him, to stay and hear him out.
Every word he said sounded like the truth. It was only her brain, which kept her from believing, from falling under his spell. Her brain was a logical thing and would require proof. Something she was sure he would be unable to provide. She glanced at the door for the millionth time.
“Your father is dying, Raven, and even though he fell many years ago, his role has not been replaced. When he passes, that role will be yours. You are being called to serve.”
“Wait! What do you mean my father is dying?” Raven could not believe what she was hearing. Her father had died. She had been at his funeral; it was the last time she had gotten to say good-bye to the man who had meant so much to her.
She could still remember that day clearly. She had held her mother’s hand as they entered the church. Inside she could hear the voices of the many people who had come to say good-bye to her father. His coffin had been at the front of the room, and they had had to walk past the rows of pews to where her father’s body rested. Her mother had been broken as they stood beside the coffin saying their final good-byes; she had squeezed her mother’s hand, holding on as she watched her mother’s tears trailing silently down the woman’s cheeks.
She had wanted to comfort her mother, but didn’t know how to reach out to the woman who had shut down completely on hearing the news of her beloved husband’s death. They had stood silently hand in hand for a long time, staring at the man laid out in a black suit.
She had wondered why her father had been in a suit, and not in his customary uniform of denim and a T-shirt. It was the only time she could remember seeing him in a suit and it had looked so wrong on him. His skin had been pale, tinged blue and his eyes closed, and she hoped that he was only sleeping, although she knew, that he would never wake up. She had leaned closer and whispered to him, “Don’t leave me, Daddy.”
The tears had flowed freely then, dashing a mad race down her cheeks, as her mother pulled her quickly to the front pew where they sat silently side-by-side for the rest of the funeral. She hadn’t gone to the cemetery, although she had wanted to. Her mother had sent her home to prepare for the visitors that would arrive shortly after they lowered her father into the ground.
“My father died a long time ago,” she said.
“No. He didn’t.” His voice was quiet, and sliced through her like steel. Raven stopped and turned.
“Yes…” He had her questioning herself. “… he did.”
“Your father is an angel. Angels are immortal beings, and as such, he cannot die. However, to hide himself and you from us, he has had to siphon off his immortality, now he is getting weak and they will find both of you.” He was coming toward her, his hands moving rapidly as he talked.
“Them? Do you mean God?”
“No! I mean them!” He hissed, rolling his eyes heavenwards. “The Shadows. God is for humans—those that don’t know any better.”
“So my father is not dead?”
“Yes.”
“You’re lying. Why are you lying to me?” she snapped and took a step toward him, her hands balled in fists at her sides.
She did not want to believe him anymore than she wanted to go through the pain of losing her father a second time, adding to it the misery of finding out he had abandoned her all those years ago.
“Unfortunately, Raven, that’s not your choice to make. You are required for service. It’s time to face your past and your future.” He was stalking her across the room and she took another step back, the back of her knees hitting against the coffee table. There was nowhere for her to go.
“Why? Why should I?” She did not know why she kept having this conversation with him.
“Because you are the only heir your father had. As our leader, he must be replaced by his own bloodline, and when he dies that role will be assigned to you. You don’t get a choice in whether you accept it, only whether you survive it.”
  book trailer

  dreamcast
dreamcast

character bios
tmp-NEW-030714-BiX7ODa2EJ7hSasLtmp-NEW-030714-d0A2bwhDcHlYoojPtmp-NEW-030714-O9ihMXcrL3ZBebvD

soundtrack
 
character
 

Character Name: Raven Mackenzie

Character Bio:

Description – 5’5” black hair, gray eyes

Origins – Half Human, Half Angel of Death

The one who has to choose.

She was always the normal girl with the normal life, but when she finds out she is an Angel of Death she has to make a choice. Become a killer or suffer eternal torment. She thinks she’s weak, but her strength lies in her love of others. She’s destined to do great things if she can just make the right decision.

 

Describe yourself what is your worst and best quality?

At the moment I would say that indecision is by far my worst quality. My best quality is probably that I would do anything for anybody. I have a hard time saying no.

What is the one thing you wish other people knew about you?

I wish others knew what was going on with me. I can’t tell anybody about having to decide whether to murder someone or spend eternity in hell. My friends can tell that something is going on and I have to pretend like everything is fine, and it’s not.

What is your biggest secret something no one knows about?

I’d say my biggest secret is that I’m an Angel of Death. It was such a big secret it came as quite a shock to me, when Ash finally told me. But I guess that really isn’t a secret is it?

I mean Ash knows, and the Shadows, and my father who apparently is still alive, but my friends, the people who I have spent every day with for the last fifteen years have no idea.

What are you most afraid of?

I’m afraid of dying, but more than that I’m afraid of taking someone else’s life. I don’t know how I’m going to make this decision. Either I’m a selfish horrible person or I’m a murderer. How do you choose when neither answer is right?

What do you want more than anything?

I want to be normal. I want to go back to before I found out I was an Angel of Death. Before I found out I had to make a choice between life and death. I want to go out with my friends and drink copious amounts of coffee and buy shoes. Shoe therapy would be so great right now.

What is your relationship status?

I’m single. I’ve dated some over the years but most of my time was spent with Luke. He’s my best friend and even though it hasn’t been anything more it’s enough. I don’t, I haven’t had time for a boyfriend but maybe that will change. There’s something about Ash that draws me. He’s magnetic. If he was interested in me, then maybe I wouldn’t stay single even if only for the little time I have before I have to decide my destiny.

How would you describe your sense of fashion?

I wouldn’t say I’m fashionable, but I do love to shop. I own way too many shoes.

How much of a rebel are you?

Rebel? Me? I don’t think I’m a rebel. I have trouble in saying no to people all the time. I wish I could be a rebel. Maybe then I wouldn’t be in this predicament. Or maybe I would but I’d be able to make a stand and find my way out of it.

What do you consider to be your greatest achievement?

I don’t think I have a greatest achievement. Life is just life after all. We take each day and live it, more often than not like the day before it. Maybe my greatest achievement is that I have lived.

What is your idea of happiness?

I think happiness is being human, being with friends and finding the joy in the ordinary moments.

What is your current state of mind?

A little scattered. I may be going crazy. I don’t know whether to laugh or cry most of the time. My life just seems so surreal. I guess anyone would feel the way I do if they were in my shoes.

What is your most treasured possession?

Photos. The photos I have of my father, and of Luke and Tarra who are the most important people in my life. I like to look back over the years and remember the moments that meant the most to me.

What is your most marked characteristic?

Outwardly, I think it’s my eyes. They are a slate shade of gray. Up until recently I couldn’t remember anyone having gray eyes like mine, except for my father.

What is it that you most dislike?

I don’t like peas. I really don’t. Those little green balls are just yuck, and up until recently that would have been my answer but now I dislike the Shadows more than anything. I hate them, and how they are destroying my life, and everyone else’s.

Which living person do you most despise?

I don’t despise anyone. Sometimes I get cranky at the guy who makes my morning coffee on my way to work when he doesn’t get my order right. Does that count?

What is your greatest regret?

My greatest regret is that I will have to leave my friends without an explanation. I regret that Luke will never truly understand what happened, and that he will have to go through the rest of his life without me, or at least without the me he knows.

What is the quality you most like in a man?

I like strong men, but only when that strength is coupled with compassion.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?

I appreciate women who are self-reliant. They are smart enough to live life without relying on a man but know how to appreciate a good man when he’s in her life.

Who is your favorite hero in fiction?

Hmmm, I used to read these books when I was a child. I think they were Nancy Drew books where this girl used to solve the mystery and somehow get herself out of whatever trouble came her way. I wish I could get myself out of trouble like that.

Who do you most admire?

Ash. It would have to be Ash. Everything he does is because he cares about humanity. He doesn’t see it anymore. That he’s the most compassionate person you could meet. He thinks he’s a monster. He only sees the bad that comes from his actions but he does it still.

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

I would change my heart. I’d make it harder, stronger. So that it wouldn’t be so hard to be who I have to be when the time comes for me to make my decision.

What is your motto?

I think it’s ‘This too shall pass’ since everything eventually ends, even the bad stuff. Doesn’t it?

 
 
giveaway



about the author
imageMisti Murphy has lived in a fantasy world most of her life. She is away with the faeries, the angels, vampires, shifters and dragons.
Misti writes to give voice to her imaginary friends, who want a real life on paper, where they can be free to be themselves.
When she's not writing, she is almost always reading anything she can get her hands on. She reads word like they are chocolate, and must be devoured in one sitting.
She can often be found multi-tasking effortlessly while reading a book and spending time with her husband, four children and two dogs.
She loves chocolate as much as she loves reading, and enjoys baking desserts that result in diabetic comas. In her downtime she procaffinates with friends and stalks Facebook.


 

media links
follow the tour
Tour Schedule - Two Week Blog Tour for Raven Falling by Misti Murphy from July 21 to Aug 3, 2014.
July 21
Coffee Books & Art - Promo, Guest Post, Top Ten & Playlist
iHeart Books by MiLo18 - Promo, Dream Cast & Playlist
July 22
Movies, Shows & Books - Promo, Dream Cast & Book Soundtrack
Eclipse Reviews - Promo, Character Interview, Dream Cast, Character Bio’s & Book Soundtrack
July 23
A Cauldron of Books - Promo, Dream Cast & Book Soundtrack
Angels with Attitude Book Reviews - Promo & Author Interview 
July 24
Beautifully Broken Book Blog - Promo, Review, Dream Cast, Character Bio's, Playlist & Book Soundtrack
Portals to New Worlds - Promo, Top Ten, Dream Cast, Character Bio’s & Book Soundtrack
July 25
The Avid Reader - Promo, Author Interview, Dream Cast, Book Soundtrack & Playlist
Darkest Cravings - Promo, Author Interview, Dream Cast, Character Bio’s & Book Soundtrack
July 26
Bibliophile Mystery - Promo
July 27
The Idle Musings of a Writer's Mind - Promo
July 28
Books, Brownies and Barkers - Review
For The Love of Books - Promo &, Review
July 29
Night Owl Reviews - Promo
Read It Write - Promo
July 30
The Phantom Paragrapher - Promo
Fiction Dreams - Promo & Author Interview 
July 31
Bajgajka Loves Books And Giveaways - Promo, Dream Cast, Book Soundtrack & Playlist
Indy Book Fairy - Promo, Character Bio's & Book Soundtrack
Aug 1
Patricia D. Eddy - Promo
Aug 2
Booky Ramblings of a Neurotic Mom - Promo & Top Ten
Our New Generation for Reading - Promo
Aug 3
Dalene's Book Reviews - Promo, Review, Character Bio's, Playlist & Book Soundtrack
Paranormal Romance and Authors That Rock - Review
Nay's Pink Bookshelf - Promo, Review, Author Interview & Top Ten

Book Blast & Interview: The Legacy by Melissa Delport

Cover - The Legacy

TITLE: The Legacy

SERIES: Book 1 of The Legacy Trilogy

AUTHOR: Melissa Delport

PRINT ISBN: 978-0-620-59636-7

eISBN: 978-0-620-59637-4

PAGES: 366 pages

WORD COUNT: 99 160

GENRE: Speculative Fiction

MARKET: Adults (with crossover to the 16+ reader)

PUBLISHER: Tracey McDonald Publishers

Blurb-

One man obsessed with power.

One woman prepared to sacrifice everything to stop him.

One war that changed the world.

“World War Three lasted twelve days. Twelve days was all it took for mankind to devastate the planet and almost eradicate the human race. No victor emerged from the ashes and billions lost their lives.

We survivors lived through the bleakest of winters. A primal existence became the new order, and the little that remained of our humanity hung in the balance.

Then one man stood up and changed the world. I believed, as did everyone else, that he was the hero of our time, the man who had saved us from our own demise. His name is Eric Dane and he is the President of the New United States of America.

He is also my husband, and my greatest enemy.

I grew up oblivious to the truth, until my father found me when I was nineteen years old. He told me about the many horrifying facts that our new leader kept hidden from us. And he told me that beyond the borders the Resistance grew and fought for freedom from the oppression that Eric Dane had imposed on us.

My name is Rebecca Davis. I am twenty-six years old, and in me the Resistance has found the ultimate weapon.”

A narrative of good and evil, love and passion, right and wrong – and at the centre of the story a strong woman who is prepared to sacrifice everything for the cause she believes in.

The Legacy is an action-packed, adrenalin-inducing thrill ride which will leave you riveted long after you have turned the last page.

 

BUY LINKS

Amazon.com - HERE

Amazon.co.uk - HERE

Barnes & Noble - HERE

Kobo – HERE

 

authorinterview

 

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

 I wanted to be a forensic psychologist. I majored in Psychology and English and after a year post-grad of each, English won out. I went on to open a Logistics company, the lure of business too strong to ignore, but ultimately I came back to my passion of writing.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

 When I saw my first book in print – when I could feel it and hold it…and smell it!

How long did it take to get your first book published?

Almost two years.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

I recently sold my logistics business to write full-time. The business was a specialized transport company.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

The Legend, the final book in The Legacy Trilogy – a fast-paced, action-packed dystopian series set in post-nuclear America.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

I was fortunate enough to be signed by Tracey McDonald Publishers in December ‘13. I do also indie-publish certain novels, so I guess I follow a hybrid model of publishing: part-mainstream, part-indie. I enjoy the diversity and the challenges of both.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

 Six months. I am lucky enough to be quite prolific in my output.

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

 I am on a deadline for the final book in dystopian series, The Legacy Trilogy, so that will be next. Thereafter I am planning a fantasy series that I am excited to work on. Fantasy stretches even the most vivid imagination.

What genre would you place your books into?

Dystopian, SFF, Romance

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

 I don’t decide on a genre – I decide on a story and let it fall where it may.

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

 Rebecca Davis from The Legacy Trilogy. She has a lot of depth of character – I have written three books about her, so she is the character I know best.

How long have you been writing?, and who or what inspired you to write?

Two years, professionally. I always wanted to write, but only now in my thirties did I feel that my writing had matured enough to be taken seriously. I wrote the odd book in my teens and early twenties that will thankfully never see the light of day.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

 I ramble around my house and wherever I find a seat, I type.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Yes! I shouldn’t, but you just can’t help it. I do find that I am less obsessive now, so I only check every few weeks. Usually I like what I read, so it doesn’t bother me that much.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

 The story and the title come together and then I sit down and write. I did the same with my 3 children – they were named in-utero ;)

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

 My main characters names are researched. I try and match the meaning of the name with the character. For secondary characters, I often use the names of friends and family. Place names vary, but I use legitimate places wherever I can, unless of course the setting is manufactured.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

 My main characters are plotted before, but secondary characters are created as I go along.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

 All of my books have a very strong, confident female lead. I guess the moral is that you don’t need a man to save you J

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

I don’t mind, it’s the story I’m interested in, not the format. Being such a voracious reader, my kindle is easier on the pocket and a space-saver!

What is your favorite book and Why?  Have you read it more than once?

Harry Potter and The Twilight Saga – I can read them over and over. HP because the story is so astounding I always find something new, and TS because of Edward Cullen *swoon*

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

 I recently watch the Vampire Academy movie and I was disappointed because I am a huge fan of Richelle Mead. I thought the movie was a bit superficial. I did love the Hunger Games and Mortal Instruments adaptations though.

Your favorite food is?

Sunday roast, with loads of gravy.

Your favorite singer/group is?

 I am a music fundi! I have so many cds and I listen to anything from Abba to the Smashing Pumpkins.

Your favorite color is?

 Grey

Your favorite Author is?

 I honestly couldn’t tell you – we would be here all day. I am an avid reader and I devour fiction.

 

abouttheauthor

clip_image004Wife and mother of 3, Melissa Delport is the author of The Legacy Trilogy and the stand-alone self-published e.books Rainfall and The Traveler.

She graduated from the University of South Africa with a Bachelor’s Degree in English in 2000

At the age of twenty-four Melissa started a logistics company (Transmax) from the spare room of her flat and built it up to two fully operational depots in Durban and Johannesburg. Now, 10 years later, she has sold her business in order to write full time.

Melissa lives with her husband and three children in Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa.

The Legacy (book 1 of The Legacy Trilogy) and The Legion (book 2) are available now and the final book, The Legend, will be released early 2015.

An avid reader herself, Melissa finally decided to stop ‘watching from the sidelines’ and to do what is her passion.

“I was driving home from work when inspiration struck, and a storyline started unravelling in my head. For a few days it was all I could think about and eventually I realised that the only way to get it out of my head, was to put it all down on paper. I started writing, and that was that.”

SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS

Blog: www.melissadelport.com

The Legacy Trilogy Website: www.thelegacytrilogy.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheMelissaDelportBookClub

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/MelissaDelport

Twitter: www.twitter.com/MelissaDelport

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/MelissaDelport

Publisher’s website: www.traceymcdonaldpublishers.com