The Kasadya Hellhound Series

Friday, October 24, 2014

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Conceiving Evil by @jennafoxrox

Conceiving Evil Banner 851 x 315

 

bookblast

 

clip_image002Conceiving Evil

Jenna Fox

Genre: Dark erotica/horror/suspense

contains a light BDSM theme

Publisher: Dark Hollows Press

Date of Publication: Release date October 16, 2014

Word Count: 10,577

Cover Artist: Eden Connors

Book Description:

Like everyone else after the economic crash, Abby Torrance was struggling financially. But then Dorian Lincoln, a political and business icon, sweeps her off her feet and into a life of promise. He’s a man who has enough power to change the world for the better, a man who can give hope to the masses, a man who can give Abby a baby.

But the road to Hell is paved with good intentions and Abby is having strange dreams that seem both a warning and a prophecy.

How can she give the evil undertones of her dreams any notice when she’s busy focusing on conceiving?

Available at Amazon

Add it to Your Goodreads Shelf

Conceiving Evil Teaser (7)

excerpt

Dammit to hell. I can’t even enjoy a movie.

The nighttime air bit at my skin as thoughts of him chomped at my brain. He’d polluted me like a poison that spread throughout my mind and body, seizing every thought, leaving no rest. I loved horror movies and yet I couldn’t recall a single scene. Jimmie kept glancing at me, concern etching his face all the way through the ninety-minute show.

Soon Jimmie and I walked out of the theater, my hand resting in the crook of his elbow. Bitterness raged inside, heating my face against the breeze when I saw the limo roll toward us. He found me like he always said he would, but three fucking hours late.

I knew I wasn’t Dorian’s top priority, and I’d made some progress at keeping my jealousy under control, but no woman wanted to be shoved to the side every time it was convenient for a man. I tightened my grip on Jimmie’s sleeve and pulled him along just as the driver stepped into our path. I gave the chauffeur a shotgun-glare as he motioned me to the car. “Miss Torrance, Mr. Lincoln is waiting.”

My heart skipped ten beats, I couldn’t tear my eyes away when the dark window lowered and Dorian tousled his ebony hair with his fingers. He wasn’t in his usual attire, a business suit. Tonight he presented himself in casual wear. His sharp, handsome features were expressionless.

I closed my eyes, digging deep for the strength to tell him to get lost for standing me up, but I knew the words would never make it past my lips. I was a fool to entertain the thought. One look from those black eyes sifted me like wheat. Dorian practically owned me. That man was my tempter and my savior wrapped into one.

I met him at the lowest point of my life, after my mother died of cancer. The three jobs I was working to keep my head above water and pay off her medical bills were about to do me in physically. While I was waiting tables at the country club, Dorian swooped in from out of nowhere and rescued me like an injured bird. His amazing sixth sense alerted him that life was too much for me, and he offered me a strong shoulder to cry on. The floodgates opened and I unloaded my personal problems. Dorian Lincoln promised those problems would disappear with a simple acceptance of his proposition: give him power over my body, something Bianca wouldn’t allow.

Lifting my palm to Jimmie’s cheek, I smiled. “Thanks for the movie. I’ll call you next week.”

“He’s a prick. You deserve better, Abby!” Jimmie yelled, as I eased myself inside the limo.

Dorian opened a small refrigerator under the seat, his hands cupping the base of a champagne glass. “You’ve wasted no time finding another way of entertaining yourself this evening.”

“You wasted no time in standing me up,” I scoffed.

When I left his office that afternoon, Dorian said he wanted me for some ‘quality time.’ Eight-thirty rolled around before I realized he was a no-show. The food got cold and eventually the long stemmed candles I lit for dinner burned out, along with my patience.

“Meetings...clients,” he said.

Top secret meetings and clients were always the excuse. The coldness in his voice was a sword to my heart, a reminder of my temporary ranking in his life. I held on tight to his promise of our relationship becoming more when the time was right.

His stony expression broke into a devious grin. “You look beautiful in that dress and your enthusiasm is charming. But watching you masturbate will reimburse me, Miss Torrance.”

My stomach dropped and quivered as I pressed my thighs together. He was going to punish me.

I tugged at the straps of the red shoes he’d bought me, eyeing him as he sipped from the flute and moved his gaze toward the window. Overtaken by the need to be the object of his fascination, I almost begged him to turn those onyx eyes back on me. His attention was the only thing that kept me from going under.

“Dorian, please I-”

My words were cut off with the sharp turn of his head. Relief came in a warm caress, but suspicion moved in with a lift of his brow. The small amount of light coming through the tinted windows deepened the masculine angles of his face, lending them a sternness that echoed in his voice.

“No other men. I thought I was quite clear about that when we discussed the terms of our agreement, three months ago.”

“Jimmie is just a friend.”

“Jimmie is a man. A distraction.”

“A distraction from being pissed. I don’t like being stood up.”

I sounded so offended, but I had no right. Closing my eyes I regrouped, reminding myself that I freely agreed to make myself available to him. Dorian kept up his end of the arrangement. He took care of me, changed my life for the better. My phone stopped ringing from creditors, he gave me a great job at his company, and I had food on the table in a fabulous apartment. He seemed to know my every need before I voiced them. I could push aside my hostility and take his punishment and occasional negligence.

“You are mine, all mine.” he announced.

His words, saturated with power and ownership, sustained my hungry heart. I could hold out as long as it took, accepting the way things had to be until Bianca was more emotionally stable, and Dorian could ask her for a divorce. I had waited longer on losers, lazy assholes who wouldn’t work in a pie factory. This time I had struck gold.

Reaching over, I grabbed the seat when Dorian impatiently knocked on the divider and the limo picked up speed.

  Conceiving Evil Teaser (2)

  authorinterview

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

First of all, thanks for having me, Jeanine!

I didn’t get serious about writing until I was in my late thirties. When I was younger I would pen short stories, and as a child I would write short poems.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

After I published my second book. Until then, I felt like I was just playing around with a dream.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

I never had the desire to be traditionally published until I self published my third book. When I wrote the fourth book, Conceiving Evil, I pitched it to publishers on a whim, fully expecting rejection. When two presses showed interest, I was floored and ecstatic because it’s such a dark story. I thought nobody in the romance community would want it. I’m glad I put it out there.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

Yes, I help teachers in an elementary school. Nobody knows what Mrs. Fox does after hours.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

Conceiving Evil. Not your feel good romance. It’s dark, thought provoking and hot. Will send a sexy shiver down your spine.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

Dark Hollows Press. I must say I’m impressed with DHP, they have a wonderful, professional staff.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

That all depends on how developed the characters and scenes are inside my head. I don’t write everyday and I don’t put pressure on myself to write. Reading is the most valuable tool a writer has, and for me the words come when they want. I have no control over it. It could take me three months to write 10K words or it could take two hours. I’m simply amazed at some authors who berate themselves for not writing a set amount of words a day. I don’t want writing to become something I have to do versus something I want to do.

What can we expect from you in the future? ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

You can expect more of the same. Erotica with subtle horror.

What genre would you place your books into?

I guess it would have to be erotica, although true erotica won’t work if the sex is taken out of the plot. I use graphic sexual descriptions in my books, but my stories would still work without it.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

I wanted a challenge. Erotica is one of the hardest genres to write.

Do you have a favorite character from your books?

And why are they your favorite? Hunt Blackwater. He overcame a tough childhood and persevered through some dire circumstances he had no control over.

How long have you been writing?, and who or what inspired you to write?

I wasn’t serious about it until the last few years. Ten years prior, a friend encouraged me to take a bigger step forward after she read a short story I wrote.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

No routine. I write when the words come. There are days/weeks I don’t write at all. I mostly read.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Yes I do. Shouldn’t every author? When somebody takes the time to buy, read and review your book the least you can do is see what they have to say.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

It’s different each time. Sometimes I don’t have a title until I’m forced to make one, and sometimes I have a title while I’m writing.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

There were many times I was well into writing a book before I decided on the ‘official’ name of a character. One time I got half way through a first draft and decided to change a main character’s name. When I started the rewrite, the change was time consuming.

Are character names and place names decided after their creation?

Or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them? It always starts with a faceless, nameless person. I have a need to know their faults before I can build on other things, like their occupation and physical traits.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

Sometimes, but with Conceiving Evil those things fell into place as I got half way through the first draft.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

I don’t always make it a point to bring out a moral or a lesson. In Sealed in Blood, I used a situation where the main character placed their trust in all the wrong people.

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

I totally love eReaders, they’re a bookstore at your fingertips. You can even change fonts and take notes, but nothing replaces the smell and feel of a real book.

What is your favorite book and Why? Have you read it more than once?

My favorite book was Heaven is Real by Todd Burpo. I read it one time, might read it again someday.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

Some of them do, some don’t. I think it depends on the talent of directors, screenwriters and actors. However, I thought Stephen King’s Carrie was a much better movie than book. I’ve watched Carrie a million times, but only read the book once.

Your favorite food is?

Ice cream.

Your favorite singer/group is?

Ah, so many! I’m a product of the 80’s, so Rick Springfield rates pretty high on the scale.

Your favorite color is?

Purple

Your favorite Author is?

Stephen King

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

  abouttheauthor

clip_image004

Jenna Fox is a civilized hillbilly, mother, author and wife residing in Eastern Tennessee. She enjoys reading and jotting down poetry in her spare time. Besides juggling a busy family life, Fox reviews and critiques for other authors and crafts her own dark erotic tales. Stories always feature a mysterious alpha male with unexpected twists to shock the reader. She believes in HFN and HEA endings, although not always in a romantic or conventional way.

Her work is born from real life experiences, an overactive imagination and a consuming caffeine addiction. Sometimes she finds herself writing sex scenes on fast food napkins and store receipts while waiting in traffic, but she’s always guilty of keeping her mind in the gutter. Fox is a listener of hard rock music and a watcher of classic slasher films. In short, she’s a writer, a storyteller, able to make a boo-boo all better with just one kiss and a proud, world class expert at screwing up recipes and scaring away closet monsters. She believes in ghosts and God and is absolutely convinced chocolate soothes the savage beast.

Find Jenna online:

Blog: http://jennafoxwrites.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jenna.fox.545402

Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/jennafoxwrites

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/jennafoxrox/

Twitter: @jennafoxrox https://twitter.com/jennafoxrox

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/26071712-jenna-fox

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Jenna-Fox/e/B00DHL9N9I/

Book Blast & Giveaway: Promises to Keep by @patricia_sands

banner
Presented by:
Sparkle Blog Button
Join our mailing list for great book news - http://eepurl.com/ZnJir
 
 
book info

covergifTitle: Promises To Keep
Series: Love In Provence # 2
Author: Patricia Sands
Audience: Adult
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Formats: E- Book
Pages: 200 pages
ISBN: 978-0-9919313-3-0
Date Published: September 2014
 










 
blurb
Falling in love with the south of France was no surprise to Katherine. Choosing to walk away from her past and start over was completely unexpected. A new country, a new lover, and the promise of a bright future beginning in mid-life … who knew?
Now there were the exciting dreams of restoring the property on the Cap, of beginning a new career, of experiencing the traditions of Christmas in Provence, of falling even more deeply in love with the man who inspired these hopes.
It was all so perfect, until it wasn’t.
She had embraced new possibilities in life and given her heart only to discover something was being kept from her. Something terrible from her lover’s past. Something that could destroy everything.
What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger, had become her mantra. Would it be enough?


book links
clip_image003clip_image005clip_image006clip_image008clip_image010
 
 
excerpt
In the walled courtyard where he had parked, Philippe held the car door open for her. It was a courtesy that seemed to be second nature to him, and Kat appreciated it every time. Then he went to unlock the gate. On his way back to the car, he paused and plucked a folded paper from behind the wiper on the driver’s side. His jaw tightened and he quickly looked around the courtyard. He scrunched the paper and shoved it into the pocket of his jeans before sliding heavily into his seat. Kat had never seen him angry before.
“What was that?” she asked.
“Rien du tout. Nothing, nothing at all,” he answered abruptly.
Putting her hand on his arm, Katherine repeated her question. “I saw the look on your face. It looked like it was something, not nothing.”
Philippe exhaled loudly before he covered her hand with his and lifted it to his lips. “Sorry, Minou. It’s nothing to worry about, and I’m sorry I spoke so sharply.”
“But –”
He squeezed her hand, but he looked pained and his voice had an unfamiliar edge to it. “Seriously, we don’t need to talk about it. It’s just some business from a long time ago that I thought was finished …”
A hush hung in the air. Then Philippe started the engine and they drove off.
Torn between wanting to know what was bothering him but not wanting to push, Katherine stayed quiet as Philippe navigated the town’s narrow streets and drove them into the countryside.
She had learned years earlier, after being scolded and humiliated by James, that she needed to stay out of some matters. Her throat tightened at the memory. His verbal attacks had felt physical, like a kick in the stomach, and completely foreign to her. She had not experienced or witnessed anything like it before she married him. It had crushed her.
Now she struggled to banish those painful memories. She looked straight ahead, taking some deep breaths but saying nothing, until she knew exactly what it was she wanted to say.
She turned to Philippe and touched his cheek lightly. “You know I’m here if you want to talk about it.”
He nodded, staring intently at the road. “Frankly, I hope we never have to talk about it. It’s something that should not be part of our life together. I’m sorry you saw this.”
After a moment, he glanced at her and tried to smile. “I will make it go away, I promise.”
 
giveaway
   
about the author
clip_image012Patricia Sands lives in Toronto, Canada, when she isn’t somewhere else. An admitted travel fanatic, she can pack a bag in a flash and be ready to go anywhere … particularly the south of France. With a focus on travel, women’s issues and ageing, her stories celebrate the feminine spirit and the power of friendship. Encouraging women of all ages to stare down the fear factor and embrace change, Patricia has heard from readers (men too!) ages 20 to 83.
Her award-winning debut novel The Bridge Club was published in 2010 and her second novel, The Promise of Provence recently received a 2014 National Indie Excellence Finalist Award in Literary Fiction. An Amazon Hot New Release in April 2013, The Promise of Provence was also a USA Best Book 2013 Finalist ~ Women’s Fiction. Patricia returned to France in September 2013 for a book signing, hosted by Heidi’s English Bookshop in Antibes. While there, she also spent a month researching her next novel, Promises To Keep, released September, 2014.
Thanks to reader requests, these two most recent novels set in the south of France are now the beginning of the Love In Provence series. There are six novels planned.
In June 2014, Patricia led two 10-day tours of the French Riviera and the countryside of Provence. These trips were based on The Promise of Provence, with the Women’s Travel Network. Let her know if you would like to go next summer! She is already counting the days to the next tour which is scheduled from June 22 to July 4, 2015.
Find out more at Patricia’s Facebook Author Page, Amazon Author Page, Goodreads or her blog where you will find links to her books, social media, and monthly newsletter. The latter, sent once a month, contains special giveaways as well as her photography and information about the south of France, her home away from home. She would love to hear from you!


media links
clip_image013clip_image003[1]clip_image015clip_image017
 
 
follow the tour
Tour Schedule - One Week Blog Tour for Promises to Keep by Patricia Sands from Oct 20 to 28, 2014.
Oct 20
Sassy Southern Book Blog - Promo
A Cauldron of Books - Promo & Top Ten
Indy Book Fairy - Promo
Oct 21
3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, & Sissy, Too! - Promo
The Adult Cover (And Everything in Between) - Promo
Deal Sharing Aunt - Promo
Oct 22
Author Sandra Love - Promo & Author Interview
Angels with Attitude Book Reviews - Promo & Author Interview 
French Village Diaries - Review
Oct 23
Fictional Rendezvous Book Blog - Promo
The Avid Reader - Promo & Author Interview
Oct 24
Book Nook Nuts - Promo
The Idle Musings of a Writer's Mind - Promo & Top Ten
Eclipse Reviews - Promo
Oct 25
Bound 2 Escape - Promo
Night Owl Reviews - Promo
Portals to New Worlds - Promo & Author Interview
Oct 27
Rustys Reading - Promo
Patricia D. Eddy - Promo
Darkest Cravings - Promo & Top Ten
Oct 28
Kelly P's Blog - Promo
Booky Ramblings of a Neurotic Mom - Promo & Top Ten

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Seraphina - Initiation by @Sheena_Hutch

Seraphina Initiation Banner TOUR 851 x 315_thumb[1]

bookblast

 

clip_image002_thumb[1]Seraphina: Initiation

Seraphina Series

Book Two

Sheena Hutchinson

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy

Publisher: Hutchinson Publishing

Date of Publication: 10/20/2014

ISBN: 1502319608

ASIN: B00NE4Q7J2

Number of pages: 200

Word Count: 60,000

Cover Artist: Andrea Garcia

Book Description:

Seraphina Cross is unexpectedly thrown into this crazy, spiritual world of Angels versus Demons. Never did she expect to meet Nate who was just a figment of her imagination until last week. Now she finds herself moving in with him because of her innate responsibility to protect her loved ones from harm.

Finally beginning to feel at home in her new house and with her new relationship. Nate begins training Sera in all that she can do, surprising even himself at times.

Just when she is starting to feel safe and powerful, the Devil finds a new way to attack her at her most vulnerable.

When her dreams are no longer a gift, can Sera control the powers needed to defeat what's coming before Lucifer fulfills his promise to her?

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/GFFT-_DAuZk

Available at Amazon Amazon UK

  excerpt

Climbing the three steps, I turn to Nate and state, “I want to cook!” as I push him into his seat in the breakfast nook.

“Are you sure?” he asks me knowing full well I have no culinary skills and we could conjure a meal in seconds. I could attempt to conjure a meal, but to be honest I crave some normalcy.

“How bad can I screw up eggs?” I joke over my shoulder as I’m checking the cabinets for a frying pan. When I find it I open the refrigerator for some eggs. As I open the door, I feel the cold hit my bare legs and I’m suddenly fully aware I’m wearing nothing but a short, sheer, silk nightgown. I’m beginning to feel Nate’s eyes all over me. I take a calming breath, grab a few eggs, and turn to the stove pretending not to notice. I turn the flame on when he finally speaks.

“I feel useless! Can’t I do something?” he asks with a smirk I know implies more than he says.

“Uh, you can make the toast!” I turn around and joke, but he rises. Passing me so close he just barely makes contact, but I can sense his body heat radiating towards me. He pops a few slices of toast into the toaster before I feel his body heat behind me again. My body stiffens when my senses begin to go haywire. Then I feel his fingers touch my waist through my nightgown sliding themselves lightly up and down the side of my body. With his other hand I feel him move my hair to one side, over my shoulder as he gently places a kiss on the back of my neck. His body heat is rising behind me as he kisses down my neck to the tip of my shoulder. I close my eyes relishing in his touch and let my senses feel him. I let myself feel him, his touch, his emotions, his heat. I can sense him, and… smell him? I smell something else, something burning. I look over to see the toast hasn’t popped back up. Regrettably and slowly pulling away, I walk across to the toaster and pull out the black bread.

“I give you one job!” I joke waiving the burnt toast in his direction.

“Sorry, I was distracted!” he defends mockingly looking down like a puppy in trouble.

“Well, don’t let it happen again.” I parentally joke back as I throw the blackened bread at him playfully. He flashes me a heart-stopping smirk before sitting back in his place while I serve him his eggs. We eat breakfast in silence. It’s hard to put into human words, but it’s as if there’s some unspoken connection in the room. One that we are both aware we want, but we don’t want to act on it. So instead, we sit staring at each other, basking in the emotion the other is giving off for what seems like forever until Nate breaks the silence.

“Okay,” he leans back throwing his arms up in defeat, “I think it’s time you put some real clothes on so we can get some actual work done today!”

I giggle looking down at the nightgown that’s hugging my body before getting up to change. I’m almost down the stairs when I hear,

“Aren’t you going to clean up your mess?” Nate asks in his stern training mode voice.

“What?” I flash back around to ask in surprise.

“I think it’s time you try using your mind powers, clean this up,” he replies trying not to move his eyes lower than my hazel ones.

I sigh before closing my eyes, trying to remember how Nate explained using them. I focus my mind on all the dishes being clean and tucked back into their little places in the

cabinets before snapping my fingers. I open one eye first to check the table, when I see all the plates are missing from the table I open the other. I smile proudly, shrug my shoulders before turning around and dashing upstairs to put on something more, appropriate.

A few minutes later, I’m running down the stairs in my training clothes and my hand excitedly reaches for the front door when I hear Nate cough behind me. I turn to see him standing in the dining room. Confused, I walk towards him.

“Aren’t we going for a run?” I ask him pointing over my shoulder to the door behind

me.

“I’m sorry Sera, but we can’t go outside anymore. If you need to release some

energy I made a treadmill in the basement.”

I freeze staring past him and out the glass wall of the dining room at all the trees and the gorgeous cliff and my heart sinks. I can’t go outside anymore? I can’t feel the sun on my face? The wind in my hair? The heartbeat of the earth? I’m a prisoner in my own house. I know this is because of the bear yesterday and that this is for my own safety, but I can’t help feeling my heart drop and I know Nate can see it sprawled all over my face.

“I’m sorry Sera, but until you are trained you shouldn’t be in harm’s way… consciously, not if I can help it.”

I can’t be mad at Nate he’s only trying to protect me, but I can’t help the resentment I feel. I turn around without a word, open the basement door against the side of the staircase, and slam it behind me as I descend the stairs. When I reach the last step, I eye the plain cement basement with the treadmill in the middle of the room. He has set up a flat screen television with a picture of the forest, but it doesn’t help. Looking around, in this dreary training facility I notice there are no windows or air. I can’t help the anger I feel, but instead of thinking about it, I try and focus it. I turn the treadmill up and run. I run as fast as the stupid machine will go. I run, trying to escape all the anger, all the sadness, all the confusion and all the other weird feelings I can’t put into words. I run until all my overwhelming emotions produce a tear. I feel it begin to trace its way down my cheek. As if in slow motion, I see the singular tear drop all the way down to the belt before my foot extends and I step on it. I slam my foot down as if I’m repressing all the depressing feelings, all the anger I harbor. Somehow in all that is going on I realize the old, depressed, weak Sera is gone. She died that night in the middle of the street. The only thing that remains is Seraphina. She is strong, confident, and she is who I need to become. I slam my hand down on the ‘Stop’ button and jump off the treadmill wiping my cheek before heading upstairs, ready to learn how to become who I need to be.

authorinterview

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

No, I actually had aspirations of being a model/ actress. I even went to school for Psychology and medical billing… so you could say I dabble in a little bit of everything.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

That moment I held my first print copy—it just felt real.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

I self published online, so from conception until I clicked upload was almost a year.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

Yes, Medical reception/billing. Not as exciting believe me! I spend most of the time daydreaming about my characters.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

Seraphina: Initiation. 

Classic Good Versus Evil tale of the trials and tribulations of a Half-human/ half-Angel powerful anomaly.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

I self-published. I’m on Amazon and I just started printing paperback copies!

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

It depends how inspired I am, Seraphina Awakening (book one) took about a year. Initiation (book two) I was writing at the same time, but I needed an extra few months to really double the drama.

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

The Seraphina Series will have hopefully two more books. I’m writing a spin off two book series coming after Sera’s story. Then I’m also working on two romance novels without the paranormal aspect. It was originally just to see if I could, but they are actually turning out quite nicely. My main project that’s always in the back of my mind is a YA Dystopian series. (Like I said I like to dabble in different things!)

What genre would you place your books into?

Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy 

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

It’s what I like to read, it’s fun and there is no wrong. The best part about writing fiction is, it’s fiction! You can’t tell me this didn’t / can’t happen!

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

OOoh this is a tough one! It’s like picking your favorite child! I love Sera because she’s strong. I love Amanda because she’s everything I am not. I love Nate because he would do anything for the people he loves and I love Jack because he surprises me at every turn.

BUT … if you had a gun to my head and I had to choose, I would go with Seraphina. I feel like she’s my baby. I gave birth to this character that has blossomed off the page into this powerful woman and I hope I have enough creativity to make her story continue on and on.

How long have you been writing? and who or what inspired you to write?

I’ve been writing books for going on two years now.

A break up and a dream is what gave me the time and focus to dive right in.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I NEED COFFEE! Haha, I can write pretty much anywhere when I’m inspired. When I’m not inspired there is not a chair or a song in the world that can get me to form a sentence. You’re going to think I’m crazy, but I do my best work at a busy Starbucks with my headphones in and a fully charged laptop.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

Religiously! The good, the bad, and the ugly. It isn’t always easy, but I always try to use the bad reviews to make the books and my writing better.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

I had the idea for the story, but it wasn’t until I decided on her name that I wanted it to be self titled. It’s such a beautiful name, Seraphina. When I found out there already was a book by that title that’s when I added the subtitles.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I literally Googled “Angel Names” and Seraphina was the best one I found, Nathanael and Gabriel were two others. Amanda is loosely based off my friend Miranda, so that’s where her name came from and Jack was the name of a kid I used to babysit for, I love that name. As for the setting, I also owe to Google, did you know there is actually and town of Angelica in New York? Well, there is and the symbolism is too obvious for words. Jack’s Coffee Bean was just a play on words from Jack and the beanstalk. I originally wanted Java Jacks, but I wanted to be more original.

Are character names and place names decided after their creation? Or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?

The name of the town and coffeehouse came last, it was just a minor detail to me. The character names were the first things I researched when I started writing. I just feel like for them to be real to me they have to be named. I can’t write about someone I can’t picture and a name says a lot about a person.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

For the most part, I know my characters. Seraphina I wanted to have an amazing transformation, I wanted her to be determined and grow stronger, Nate was always the overprotective stud, Amanda is the over the top comedic relief. But Jack’s character surprised me. When I first started writing the book, he wasn’t even a secondary character. He was some guy at the coffee house, but now he has come out of the shadows into a secondary love interest.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

Of course! I love hidden messages! I’m all about the symbolism even if it’s blatantly obvious.

Seraphina: The Awakening—“Everything Happens for a Reason”

Seraphina: Initiation—“Never Give up, Never Surrender”

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

There is nothing like a good old fashioned book. I prefer paperbacks because I like to fold my books over.

What is your favorite book and Why?  Have you read it more than once?

Oooo this is a tough one! I have to say… Mortal Instruments is my top series. I love it because it’s original and the way she incorporates all the fantasy elements is pure genius.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

No! I don’t know why I’m always excited to see a book on the big screen, I go to every single one like religiously. But it’s never the same. I do like seeing whom they pick to play my characters and I like to see how my imagination measures up to those of Hollywood.

My Favorites would be: Maze Runner, It was different from the book in a lot of ways, but I just thought they did an awesome job depicting the maze and the fear. Hunger Games was a good one too, I thought the weirdos at the capital and the games were amazingly pictured.

My Worsts: The mortal instruments, don’t get me wrong I LOVED the books and I watched the movie a zillion times but they changed and left out so much! The first Twilight movie was pretty bad too.

Your favorite food is?

Anything pumpkin or covered in chocolate. 

Your favorite singer/group is?

I don’t really have a favorite. I listen to pretty much anything. The only song I am obsessed with is A Thousand Years by Christina Perri, so I guess we can call her my favorite.

Your favorite color is?

I’m a classic pink girl

Your favorite Author is?

George RR Martin. How that man keeps so many story lines, point of views, & settings straight I will never know. I bow to you Mr. Martin, you are my idol!

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

   

  abouttheauthor

 

clip_image004_thumb

Sheena is a born and raised New Yorker, even her writing can't seem to hide her hard sarcasm. She claims destiny has lead her back to her true passion for writing.

She constantly strives to be a positive role model and writes stories that empower and inspire. Sheena always roots for the underdog, believes in love at first sight, and that everyone should have their happily ever after.

While God is currently still writing her love story, she continues to put all her effort into her writing as she is constantly getting new inspiration.

For more info, updates, and fun facts visit her website at www.SheenaHutchinson.com

www.Twitter.com/Sheena_Hutch

www.Facebook.com/TheSeraphinaSeries

www.Goodreads.com/SheenaHutch

www.amazon.com/author/sheenahutchinson

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Book Blast, Giveaway & Interview: Dark Curse by @isaiyanmorrison

Dark Curse Banner 851 x 315_thumb[1]

bookblast

 

clip_image002_thumb[1]Dark Curse

Deamhan Chronicles

Book 2

Isaiyan Morrison

Genre: Adult Paranormal

ISBN 069226325X

ISBN 13 978-0692263259

ASIN: B00MO1T7O8

Number of pages: 202

Word Count: 79,000

Cover Artist: John Cosentino

Book Description:

The Deamhan world is in disarray. Freed from Limbo, Lucius, the once feared and Ancient Lugat, goes on a killing spree to wipe out any remaining traitors in the city of Minneapolis.

Meanwhile The Brotherhood's return along with the growing population of vampires riles up the remaining Deamhan who choose to stay behind rather than abandon the city. The body count continues to pile up forcing both humans and Deamhan to pick a side.

Either allow Lucius to free the Pure Ones, the first living Deamhan from Limbo, or take him out and cripple their already fragile presence in the city.

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/_Qbm8FQCXVE

Amazon Print Amazon Kindle

excerpt

Anastasia's eyes meandered over them. They were young, no older than ten years max. When she attempted to scour their minds, a barrier blocked her. The female Ramanga rushed at Anastasia in Deamhan speed but she quickly moved out of the way, grabbing the back of her shirt and tossing her several feet in the air and onto the roof of a parked car. The Metusba catapulted himself at Remy but he jumped several feet into the air, avoiding his attack.

Anastasia rushed at the Metusba and she sank her teeth into the base of his neck, ripping at his flesh. He screamed, pushed her away, and fell to the pavement on his knees.

From the roof of the car, the Ramanga flew at Remy with fists raised and her mouth opened, revealing her fangs.

“I've never hit a pretty woman before.” Remy smiled.

She swung and he ducked, feeling the brisk wind travel over his head. Her punches continued nonstop but with each punch Remy evaded, the faster the punches came. He finally found an opening and his fist connected with her stomach. The Ramanga's feet wavered but she immediately found her footing and she swerved to the left, avoiding Remy's rising left punch. She raised her knee, striking Remy's in the chin and he fell back on the pavement.

She quickly maneuvered herself on top of him, striking him over and over again with her fists. Remy's head jerked from right to left, feeling his cheeks burn with each hit until Anastasia wrapped her arm around his attacker's neck and threw her off of him.

She helped Remy to his feet and they ran off in Deamhan speed with the two Deamhan following them. Their stride took them under a freeway, splashing through knee high water, and they turned sharply left. They passed through stop and go traffic, side streets, sidewalks, and eventually near the banks of the Mississippi River.

They took the river south, leaving the city, and entered a desolate area filled with rotting cornstalks and farmhouses. They stopped in the quiet area, being only a few miles from Blind Bluff Manor. They turned around but the two Deamhan were nowhere in sight.

“That wasn't hard.” Remy scanned the area across the river. He looked to the left at the tall dirt and rock infested embankment. “I think we lost them.”

Anastasia wasn't so sure. She looked up just in time to see the female jumping down at them. She tackled Anastasia and they both fell into the wild currents of the river.

Anastasia felt the coolness of the water streaming over her face and into her ears. It was an awkward position, knowing that neither of them would drown because Deamhan didn’t breathe. She pushed the female back and she jumped out of the water, just in time to see the male, also in midair, and his right leg connect with the side of her face.

She landed on the sandy shore, swallowing a handful of sand. She turned over to see the female towering over her with a raised stake. For a second Anastasia’s eyes filled with uncertainty. Stakes were meaningless, unless the female aimed for her heart. However, if the female's goal was to incapacitate her, she would strike elsewhere, leaving Anastasia alive for them to toy with.

Remy rushed toward the female but she immediately turned, burrowing the stake into his left shoulder. He stumbled back and the female grabbed the stake, dislodging it, and struck again, hitting just beneath his heart.

Anastasia found her chance to make her move. Brandishing her teeth, she bit down into the female's neck and she pulled back, ripping flesh from bone. Blood gushed from her wound and she fell to the sand. Again, Remy and Anastasia took off down the banks of the Mississippi River. The river curved and winded around, bringing them to another remote spot. This time a freeway ran on both sides of the river with a bridge slightly above them. Anastasia stopped, noticing that stars no longer dotted the sky. In the darkened horizon appeared a tint of red, signaling sunrise. She had to finish this now and get to Blind Bluff Manor. They climbed the embankment and approached the freeway. They ran through the traffic, dodging semi-trucks, cars, and other passing vehicles until they made it to the other side.

Remy held his chest and he bent over. “Good thing these Deamhan can't aim to save their life.” He coughed.

Anastasia examined his wound. “You'll heal.”

They heard the swift steps of the two Deamhan approach them. Again the male launched himself at them but Anastasia tossed him aside. He slammed into a nearby abandoned granary and Anastasia looked from the corner of her eye, seeing the female raise her stake, aiming for Remy's back.

Anastasia quickly moved and she caught the female by her wrist before the stake made its impact. With her other hand she plunged her fist through the female's chest, reaching her heart. The female's eyes widened and she snarled before Anastasia ripped her heart from her chest. The Ramanga dropped to the ground and her body slowly began to dissolve into a puddle of blood, dust, and bone fragments.

Anastasia turned her attention to their male attacker, watching him limp toward them. Dark blood poured from his mouth and a long piece of wood protruded from his stomach. She walked calmly over to him. His heavy eyes wavered. “You failed.” She plunged the stake into his heart and nonchalantly she returned back to Remy, uninterested in watching the Deamhan's body wither away.

In the distance she heard a male’s voice coming from a small house on a hill. The front door opened and she saw the outline of a farmer gripping a shotgun in hand.

“Let's get going. We don't have much time.” She wrapped Remy's arm around her shoulder. She took one final look at the remains of their two attackers before sprinting in Deamhan speed for Blind Bluff Manor.

authorinterview

 

Did you always wanted to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I knew as a young child that I wanted to create stories. I wanted to transfer my thoughts and creations onto paper. At first becoming a writer wasn't what I wanted to be. I actually wanted to be an Egyptologist.

When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

After I had my first short story accepted for an online publication I thought, "Hey, I might be onto something." That's when I started to think that perhaps I could better my work and become a better writer. However, at the same time, I also felt like there was room for improvement. I still think that way and I do consider myself a writer.

How long did it take to get your first book published?

Deamhan went through a few trials and tribulations before it was published. The idea came to me over ten years ago. Research took about a year and a half. I was lazy and preoccupied with other things before I actually decided to sit down and write it. A publisher accepted it but they immediately went under before it was released. After getting the rights back, I rewrote a few scenes, added more details, and sent it out again. After a year it was accepted by Rainstorm Press so all together, I would say ten years.

Do you do another job except for writing and can you tell us more about it?

I'm currently pursuing my Masters Degree in Teaching Adult ESL. I consider myself lucky that working isn't mandatory for me at the moment. I'm a veteran of the Armed Forces so I do receive enough money to cover my educational and living expenses.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarize it in less than 20 words what would you say?

The Dark Curse tablet resurfaces, pitting Deamhan against not only their own kind but humans and vampires around them.

Who is your publisher? Or do you self-publish?

The first book in the Deamhan Chronicles was published by Rainstorm Press. I decided to self publish the second book, Dark Curse.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?

Currently it takes me about six months to write a book.  

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?

I have two more books planned in the Deamhan universe. One is currently being edited and the other book is halfway completed. I have another manuscript unrelated to the Deamhan Chronicles called Old Farmer's Road which is currently being considered for publication by another publishing company.

What genre would you place your books into?

I'd place my books within supernatural genre, more specifically Adult Supernatural.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

I prefer reading supernatural with less emphasis on romance. Although I don't mind it and I understand how popular it is, I prefer supernatural creatures to be more concerned with survival than falling in love or being infatuated with a human. In the Deamhan Chronicles, I tried to stay away from romance being the main theme because they are more concerned with survival and their idea of love or loving someone other than themselves is rare in their world. That's not to say that there isn't an underlining hint of romance.

Do you have a favorite character from your books? And why are they your favorite?

My favorite character still has to be Anastasia although another character, Remy, is a close second. She was one of the first characters that came to mind when brainstorming the first Deamhan novel. Her history is very interesting and complex. She's the type of character that has enormous room for growth in the Chronicles. She can be headstrong and yet gentle in a blink of an eye if she has to be. Many readers have told me that they find her fluky and likeable.  

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?

I have to have a cup of coffee and a smoke (yes, a bad habit) before writing. Unlike many writers, I don't need a quiet environment nor a room filled with bookcases. As long as I'm comfortable.  

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?

I do try to read every review of my books. I play close attention to longer reviews that pick apart the book. I feel that those are filled with more important information like what worked, what didn't work, what they liked, what they didn't like. I take in every consideration and try to better my writing. So far I've only received one two star review and from what the reviewer wrote, the book wasn't in a genre that she preferred. I still read her review and it helped me determine what type of audience I should market my book to. Not every reader will like a book and I understand that.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?

I usually wait until the book is completed. There have been a few times when the title comes to my first and there have been other times when a title for a manuscript escapes my mind. Usually when that happens I'll chose either a phrase or an important part of the story and read it over and over to help my scattered brain think of a title.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?

I wanted to write a supernatural novel that took place in my hometown of Minneapolis, Minnesota. So in that case, the location was easy. For character names I usually start with a name and the cultural background of that name.  In Deamhan Chronicles, I wanted to represent all races because Deamhan are representatives of vampires from different cultures. I wanted them to be unique in not only the way they looked but how they interacted with their own kind, humans, and vampires. Since Deamhan and vampires are more different than alike, it was important to create characters that emphasized these differences.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?

I usually determine certain character traits like height, eye and hair color, before writing the book. Others like if the character is shy or quiet usually sits in the back of my mind.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")

I wish! Unfortunately there is no hidden message or morals in Dark Curse. I guess I could say that the book deals with how far anyone would go to survive in a world that only benefits the strong, but that's a stretch.

Which format of book do you prefer, eBook, hardback, or paperback?

I personally prefer paperback. I have a Kindle but I already stare at a computer for most of my day. I like to give my eyes a rest. However if I have a strong desire to read a certain book, the format doesn't matter to me.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favorite/worst book to movie transfer?

I think all books have the ability to transfer to movies. Hollywood has a tendency to screw up not only books to movies but comic books to movies as well. To me a good example is Queen of the Damned. I enjoyed the book immensely but the movie was an eyesore to watch.

Your favorite food is?

Pico De Gallo. I just can't get enough of it!

Your favorite singer/group is?

The Doors. I'm a huge Jim Morrison fan.

Your favorite color is?

Black!

Your favorite Author is?

I have so many! The first author who comes to mind is Toni Morrison.

  giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

  abouttheauthor

clip_image006_thumb

Isaiyan Morrison was born and raised in Minnesota. She moved to San Diego, California while in the Navy. She now resides in Texas with her two cats, a pit bull dog, and two guinea pigs. Dark Curse is the second book in the Deamhan Chronicles.

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/isaiyanmorrison

Facebook Deamhan Page: http://facebook.com/deamhanchronicles

Twitter http://twitter.com/isaiyanmorrison

Website: http://isaiyanmorrison.com

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7163501.Isaiyan_Morrison

Google+ : https://plus.google.com/u/2/b/112494687658017649418/+Isaiyanmorrison/posts